DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot based on the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-17, 21-23, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2020/0053675 A1 by Khoryaev et al. (previously presented, hereafter referred to as Khoryaev), in view of US 2020/0107234 A1 by Kim et al. (hereafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Khoryaev teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0007]), comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 3 (320, 360)); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 3 (305, 320, 360)), configured to:
receive a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0084]; “In accordance with some embodiments, the UE 102 may be configured for carrier aggregation using a primary component carrier (CC) and a secondary CC.”);
…;
receive, …, a resource allocation associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on at least one of the first resource pool or the second resource pool … (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may attempt to detect a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) from another UE 102 on the primary CC.”); and
perform the sidelink communication in accordance with the resource allocation (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is detected: determine, based on the detected SLSS, a common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC for vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) sidelink transmissions in accordance with the carrier aggregation. The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is not detected: transmit an SLSS to enable determination of the common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC by the other UE 102. The SLSS may be transmitted on the primary CC.”).
Khoryaev does not appear to specifically disclose transmit, to a network entity, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication. Khoryaev further fails to specifically disclose from the network entity and based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches transmit, to a network entity, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0126]-[0129]). In addition, Kim further teaches from the network entity and based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0089]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the UE of Khoryaev with the UE of Kim in order to configuring and controlling a carrier for device-to-device direct communication in a wireless communication system (Kim ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on both the first resource pool and the second resource pool, and wherein performing the sidelink communication includes transmitting a duplicated communication using both the first component carrier and the second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0103] and ¶ [0138]; “In some cases, data may be duplicated on multiple CCs as part of a V2V sidelink transmission in accordance with carrier aggregation of the multiple CCs.”).
Regarding claim 3, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 2.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the sidelink communication is at least one of a groupcast communication, a broadcast communication, or a unicast communication with another UE (see at least ¶ [0002]; “Some embodiments relate to vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication. Some embodiments relate to transmission of sidelink signals, including V2V sidelink signals.”).
Regarding claim 4, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the sidelink communication is the unicast communication with the other UE (see at least ¶ [0002]; “Some embodiments relate to vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication. Some embodiments relate to transmission of sidelink signals, including V2V sidelink signals.”), and wherein the other UE is associated with an unknown carrier capability (see at least ¶ [0091]; “In some embodiments, the signaling may be included in a UE-EUTRA capability field of a UE-EUTRA-Capability information element (IE), although embodiments are not limited usage of this field or this element. It should be noted that some embodiments may not necessarily include this operation.”).
Regarding claim 5, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on a determination of whether to use the first component carrier or the second component carrier for the sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9 (925) and ¶ [0102]; “At operation 925, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs for a V2V sidelink transmission by the UE 102.”).
Regarding claim 6, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the determination is based at least in part on a carrier capability of one or more other UEs receiving the sidelink communication (see at least ¶ [0102]; “At operation 925, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs for a V2V sidelink transmission by the UE 102. In a non-limiting example, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs based at least partly on a service type of the V2V sidelink transmission and service types supported by the primary CC and the secondary CCs. In another non-limiting example, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs based at least partly on a service priority of the V2V sidelink transmission and service priorities supported by the primary CC and the secondary CCs. In another non-limiting example, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs based at least partly on traffic loadings of the primary CC and the secondary CCs.”).
Regarding claim 7, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 6.
In addition, Khoryaev wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive an indication of the carrier capability of the one or more other UEs from the one or more other UEs (see at least ¶ [0091]; “In some embodiments, the signaling may be included in a UE-EUTRA capability field of a UE-EUTRA-Capability information element (IE), although embodiments are not limited usage of this field or this element. It should be noted that some embodiments may not necessarily include this operation.”).
Regarding claim 8, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 6.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine the carrier capability of the one or more other UEs based at least in part on an identifier associated with a transmission received from the one or more other UEs (see at least ¶ [0091]; “In some embodiments, the signaling may be included in a UE-EUTRA capability field of a UE-EUTRA-Capability information element (IE), although embodiments are not limited usage of this field or this element. It should be noted that some embodiments may not necessarily include this operation.”).
Regarding claim 9, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the determination is based at least in part on a type of an application being transmitted using the sidelink communication (see at least ¶ [0159]; service specific CC load).
Regarding claim 10, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the determination is based at least in part on whether a message being transmitted using the sidelink communication is a unicast communication, a groupcast communication, or a broadcast communication (see at least ¶ [0002]; “Some embodiments relate to vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communication. Some embodiments relate to transmission of sidelink signals, including V2V sidelink signals.”).
Regarding claim 11, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the determination is based at least in part on at least one channel congestion parameter (see at least ¶ [0133]; “In some embodiments, partitioning on primary or secondary carriers (or based on priority) can be also used for the purpose of congestion control and load balancing across CCs based on V2X service or service type priority per CC.”).
Regarding claim 12, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the at least one channel congestion parameter includes at least one channel busy ratio (CBR) (see at least ¶ [0160]; “In some embodiments, a metric such as a channel busy ratio (CBR) (or similar) evaluated over the predefined time interval on predetermined resources may be used.”).
Regarding claim 13, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 12.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the at least one CBR includes a first CBR associated with the first component carrier and a second CBR associated with the second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0190]; “… loads of the primary CC and the secondary CC based on an overload indicator or channel busy ratio (CBR) measurements of the primary CC and the secondary CC.”).
Regarding claim 14, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: measure a first channel congestion parameter associated with the first component carrier; and measure a second channel congestion parameter associated with the second component carrier, wherein the determination is based at least in part on the first channel congestion parameter and the second channel congestion parameter (see at least ¶ [0190]; “… loads of the primary CC and the secondary CC based on an overload indicator or channel busy ratio (CBR) measurements of the primary CC and the secondary CC”).
Regarding claim 15, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 14.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to a network entity, the first channel congestion parameter and the second channel congestion parameter, wherein the determination is performed by the network entity based at least in part on the first channel congestion parameter and the second channel congestion parameter (see at least ¶ [0190]; “… loads of the primary CC and the secondary CC based on an overload indicator or channel busy ratio (CBR) measurements of the primary CC and the secondary CC”).
Regarding claim 16, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 14.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to a network entity, an indication of the determination of whether to use the first component carrier or the second component carrier for the sidelink communication, wherein the determination is performed by the UE based at least in part on the first channel congestion parameter and the second channel congestion parameter, and wherein the indication of the determination does not include the first channel congestion parameter or the second channel congestion parameter (see at least ¶ [0190]; “… loads of the primary CC and the secondary CC based on an overload indicator or channel busy ratio (CBR) measurements of the primary CC and the secondary CC”).
Regarding claim 17, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1. In the obvious combination, Kim further teaches wherein the indication of the one or more component carriers is transmitted in a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an indication of whether the first component carrier and the second component carrier are permitted to be used for the sidelink communication, and wherein the indication of the one or more component carriers is based at least in part on a carrier capability of another UE receiving the sidelink communication (see at least ¶ [0049]; “Control information transmitted on the PUCCH may include an HARQ ACK/NACK, a CQI representing a downlink channel state, an RI for Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO), a Scheduling Request (SR) requesting UL resource allocation. A PUCCH for one UE occupies one RB in each slot of a subframe.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Regarding claim 21, Khoryaev teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see at least Fig. 4 and ¶ [0008], ¶ [0028]), comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 4 (420); memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 4 (405, 420), application processor, memory), configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may attempt to detect a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) from another UE 102 on the primary CC.”) …; and
transmit, to the UE …, an indication of a resource allocation associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on at least one of the first resource pool or the second resource pool … (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is detected: determine, based on the detected SLSS, a common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC for vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) sidelink transmissions in accordance with the carrier aggregation. The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is not detected: transmit an SLSS to enable determination of the common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC by the other UE 102. The SLSS may be transmitted on the primary CC.”).
Khoryaev does not appear to specifically disclose receive, from the UE, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication. Khoryaev further fails to specifically disclose based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches receive, from the UE, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0126]-[0129]). In addition, Kim further teaches based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0089]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the UE of Khoryaev with the UE of Kim in order to configuring and controlling a carrier for device-to-device direct communication in a wireless communication system (Kim ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 22, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on both the first resource pool and the second resource pool, and wherein the sidelink communication includes a duplicated communication transmitted using both the first component carrier and the second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0103] and ¶ [0138]; “In some cases, data may be duplicated on multiple CCs as part of a V2V sidelink transmission in accordance with carrier aggregation of the multiple CCs.”).
Regarding claim 23, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on a determination of whether to use the first component carrier or the second component carrier for the sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9 (925) and ¶ [0102]; “At operation 925, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs for a V2V sidelink transmission by the UE 102.”).
Regarding claim 26, Khoryaev teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 3), comprising:
receiving a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0084]; “In accordance with some embodiments, the UE 102 may be configured for carrier aggregation using a primary component carrier (CC) and a secondary CC.”);
…;
receiving, …, a resource allocation associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on at least one of the first resource pool or the second resource pool … (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may attempt to detect a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) from another UE 102 on the primary CC.”); and
performing the sidelink communication in accordance with the resource allocation (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is detected: determine, based on the detected SLSS, a common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC for vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) sidelink transmissions in accordance with the carrier aggregation. The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is not detected: transmit an SLSS to enable determination of the common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC by the other UE 102. The SLSS may be transmitted on the primary CC.”).
Khoryaev does not appear to specifically disclose transmit, to a network entity, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication. Khoryaev further fails to specifically disclose from the network entity and based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches transmit, to a network entity, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0126]-[0129]). In addition, Kim further teaches from the network entity and based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0089]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the UE of Khoryaev with the UE of Kim in order to configuring and controlling a carrier for device-to-device direct communication in a wireless communication system (Kim ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 27, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 26.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on both the first resource pool and the second resource pool, and wherein performing the sidelink communication includes transmitting a duplicated communication using both the first component carrier and the second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0103] and ¶ [0138]; “In some cases, data may be duplicated on multiple CCs as part of a V2V sidelink transmission in accordance with carrier aggregation of the multiple CCs.”).
Regarding claim 28, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 26.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on a determination of whether to use the first component carrier or the second component carrier for the sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9 (925) and ¶ [0102]; “At operation 925, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs for a V2V sidelink transmission by the UE 102.”).
Regarding claim 29, Khoryaev teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration of a first resource pool associated with a first component carrier and a second resource pool associated with a second component carrier (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may attempt to detect a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) from another UE 102 on the primary CC.”) …; and
transmit, to the UE …, an indication of a resource allocation associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on at least one of the first resource pool or the second resource pool … (see at least ¶ [0084]; “The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is detected: determine, based on the detected SLSS, a common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC for vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) sidelink transmissions in accordance with the carrier aggregation. The UE 102 may, if the SLSS from the other UE 102 is not detected: transmit an SLSS to enable determination of the common time synchronization for the primary CC and the secondary CC by the other UE 102. The SLSS may be transmitted on the primary CC.”).
Khoryaev does not appear to specifically disclose receiving, from the UE, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication. Khoryaev further fails to specifically disclose based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches receiving, from the UE, an indication of one or more component carriers, of the first component carrier and the second component carrier, on which the UE is permitted to perform a sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0126]-[0129]). In addition, Kim further teaches based at least in part on the indication of the one or more component carriers … associated with the one or more component carriers (see at least Fig. 9, ¶ [0052] and ¶ [0089]-[0092]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the UE of Khoryaev with the UE of Kim in order to configuring and controlling a carrier for device-to-device direct communication in a wireless communication system (Kim ¶ [0001]).
Regarding claim 30, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the method of claim 29.
In addition, Khoryaev teaches wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on a determination of whether to use the first component carrier or the second component carrier for the sidelink communication (see at least Fig. 9 (925) and ¶ [0102]; “At operation 925, the UE 102 may select the primary CC or one of the secondary CCs for a V2V sidelink transmission by the UE 102.”).
7. Claim(s) 18-20, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev in view of Kim, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2019/0182840 A1 by Feng et al. (hereafter referred to as Feng).
Regarding claim 18, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 17.
Khoryaev in view of Kim fails to specifically disclose wherein the indication is based at least in part on at least one of a carrier used to transmit the scheduling request, a carrier index indication provided with the scheduling request, a carrier bitmap provided with the scheduling request, or a logical channel identifier included in a buffer status report associated with the scheduling request.
In the same field of endeavor, Feng teaches wherein the indication is based at least in part on at least one of a carrier used to transmit the scheduling request, a carrier index indication provided with the scheduling request, a carrier bitmap provided with the scheduling request, or a logical channel identifier included in a buffer status report associated with the scheduling request (see at least ¶ [0098]-[0100]; “Thus, in such a case, the UE has to request the resources for each individual transmission, and in the following the different steps of the request/grant procedure are exemplarily listed for this Mode 1 resource allocation: [0098] Step 1: UE sends SR (Scheduling Request) to eNB via PUCCH; [0099] Step 2: eNB grants UL resource (for UE to send sidelink BSR) via PDCCH, scrambled by C-RNTI; [0100] Step 3: UE sends D2D/sidelink BSR indicating the buffer status via PUSCH; Step 4: eNB grants D2D resource (for UE to send data) via PDCCH, scrambled by D2D-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev in view of Kim with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Regarding claim 19, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Khoryaev in view of Kim does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to a network entity, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an identifier associated with another UE receiving the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on the identifier associated with the other UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Feng teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, to a network entity, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an identifier associated with another UE receiving the sidelink communication, wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on the identifier associated with the other UE (see at least ¶ [0098]-[0100]; “Thus, in such a case, the UE has to request the resources for each individual transmission, and in the following the different steps of the request/grant procedure are exemplarily listed for this Mode 1 resource allocation: [0098] Step 1: UE sends SR (Scheduling Request) to eNB via PUCCH; [0099] Step 2: eNB grants UL resource (for UE to send sidelink BSR) via PDCCH, scrambled by C-RNTI; [0100] Step 3: UE sends D2D/sidelink BSR indicating the buffer status via PUSCH; Step 4: eNB grants D2D resource (for UE to send data) via PDCCH, scrambled by D2D-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev in view of Kim with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Regarding claim 20, Khoryaev in view of Kim and Feng teaches the apparatus of claim 19.
In the obvious combination, Feng teaches wherein the identifier associated with the other UE is one of a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) or a sidelink interface identifier (see at least ¶ [0098]-[0100]; “Thus, in such a case, the UE has to request the resources for each individual transmission, and in the following the different steps of the request/grant procedure are exemplarily listed for this Mode 1 resource allocation: [0098] Step 1: UE sends SR (Scheduling Request) to eNB via PUCCH; [0099] Step 2: eNB grants UL resource (for UE to send sidelink BSR) via PDCCH, scrambled by C-RNTI; [0100] Step 3: UE sends D2D/sidelink BSR indicating the buffer status via PUSCH; Step 4: eNB grants D2D resource (for UE to send data) via PDCCH, scrambled by D2D-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Regarding claim 24, Khoryaev teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Khoryaev does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the UE, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an indication of whether the first component carrier and the second component carrier are permitted to be used for the sidelink communication.
In the same field of endeavor, Feng teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the UE, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an indication of whether the first component carrier and the second component carrier are permitted to be used for the sidelink communication (see at least ¶ [0098]-[0100]; “Thus, in such a case, the UE has to request the resources for each individual transmission, and in the following the different steps of the request/grant procedure are exemplarily listed for this Mode 1 resource allocation: [0098] Step 1: UE sends SR (Scheduling Request) to eNB via PUCCH; [0099] Step 2: eNB grants UL resource (for UE to send sidelink BSR) via PDCCH, scrambled by C-RNTI; [0100] Step 3: UE sends D2D/sidelink BSR indicating the buffer status via PUSCH; Step 4: eNB grants D2D resource (for UE to send data) via PDCCH, scrambled by D2D-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Regarding claim 25, Khoryaev in view of Kim teaches the apparatus of claim 21.
Khoryaev in view of Kim does not appear to specifically teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the UE, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an identifier associated with another UE receiving the sidelink communication, and wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on the identifier associated with the other UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Feng teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the UE, a scheduling request associated with the sidelink communication, wherein the scheduling request includes an identifier associated with another UE receiving the sidelink communication, and wherein the resource allocation is based at least in part on the identifier associated with the other UE (see at least ¶ [0098]-[0100]; “Thus, in such a case, the UE has to request the resources for each individual transmission, and in the following the different steps of the request/grant procedure are exemplarily listed for this Mode 1 resource allocation: [0098] Step 1: UE sends SR (Scheduling Request) to eNB via PUCCH; [0099] Step 2: eNB grants UL resource (for UE to send sidelink BSR) via PDCCH, scrambled by C-RNTI; [0100] Step 3: UE sends D2D/sidelink BSR indicating the buffer status via PUSCH; Step 4: eNB grants D2D resource (for UE to send data) via PDCCH, scrambled by D2D-RNTI.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Khoryaev and Kim with Feng in order to improve radio resource selection and sensing for V2X transmissions.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465