DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1–12) in the reply filed on 10/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traverse argues that searching Groups I and II would not impose an undue search burden. This argument is not persuasive because claims 13–19 recite specific process step that “the crumpling of the at least two layers in the second direction comprises using one or more first sets of rollers/second set of rollers to force portions of the at least two layers in the second direction to overlap and interlock while wrapped around the mold,” as set forth in claims 17–19. These specific process steps are not required by the product claims in Group I. In Group I, the crumpling of the layers in the second and third directions could be performed manually (e.g., sliding two hands toward each other) or by using a mold with a stationary flange and a presser to compress the layers toward the flange. Because of these additional process limitations, a separate search in a different classification—USPC B31D—is required, which would create an undue search burden for the examiner to conduct both the product (Group I) and process (Group II) searches.
Applicant has further added new claims 20–25, which include the same limitations as claims 13–19 but are now dependent from claim 1. For the same reasons discussed above, the added process limitations would necessitate searching a different class/subclass and would result in an undue search burden on the examiner. Therefore, applicant’s arguments regarding the restriction requirement are not found persuasive. Claims 20-25 are hereby withdrawn from consideration.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/03/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Higa (5,525,176).
As to claim 1, Higa discloses a product (material product 12) comprising a single continuous paper sheet (a flat sheet paper material 12) spiraled surrounding a hollow center (the flat sheet is wrapped around cylinder 60) and forming at least two layers (overlapping edge 70) that overlap in a first direction, wherein portions of the at least two layers overlap and are mechanically joined in a second direction that is approximately perpendicular to the first direction (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive.)
As to claim 2, Higa further discloses the portions of the at least two layers are mechanically joined without adhesive or stitching (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive).
As to claim 3, Higa further discloses the at least two layers are crumpled in the second direction (Figure 7).
As to claim 4, Higa further discloses wherein the at least two layers overlap and are mechanically joined in a third direction opposite of the second direction (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive.)
As to claim 5, Higa further discloses the at least two layers are crumpled in the third direction (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive).
As to claim 6, Higa further discloses a circular cross-section (the mold 60 is in the shaped of cylinder, which shows a circular cross-section of the crumpled paper, Figure 7).
As to claim 7, Higa discloses a product (material product 12) comprising a single continuous paper sheet (a flat sheet paper material 12) spiraled surrounding a hollow center (the flat sheet is wrapped around cylinder 60) and forming at least two layers (overlapping edge 70) that overlap in a first direction, wherein portions of the at least two layers overlap and are mechanically joined in a second direction (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive).
As to claim 8, Higa further discloses the portions of the at least two layers are mechanically joined without adhesive or stitching (as shown in Figures 6- 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive) and the single spiraled continuous sheet comprises paper (crimpled paper article, abstract).
As to claim 9, Higa further discloses the at least two layers are crumpled in the second direction (Figure 7).
As to claim 10, Higa further discloses wherein the at least two layers overlap and are mechanically joined in a third direction opposite of the second direction (as shown in Figure 7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive.)
As to claim 11, Higa further discloses the at least two layers are crumpled in the third direction (as shown in Figures 6-7, the tubular wrapped sheet is crumpled in the longitudinal second and third directions, such that the crumpling process at both ends causes the overlapping portion 70 to deform and mechanically interlock without the use of any glue or adhesive).
As to claim 12, Higa further discloses a circular cross-section (the mold 60 is in the shaped of cylinder, which shows a circular cross-section of the crumpled paper, Figure 7).
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736