DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 8-16 and 18-20 are currently pending. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the drawing objections, claim objections, and some of the 35 USC 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/25/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argued that “The Office Action correlates the camera window support member 470 and the camera window 410 of Kim to the decoration frame of the present invention, the groove formed in the camera window support member 470 of Kim to the groove of the present invention, and the first transparent area 412 of Kim to the light passing opening of the present invention.
However, in Kim, the groove is formed in the camera window support member 470, while the first transparent area 412 is formed in the camera window 410. The camera window support member 470 and the camera window 410 are separate components. That is, the groove and the first transparent area are respectively formed in two separate components, and are not formed in the same outer surface. Therefore, Kim does not disclose the feature that "the groove and the at least one light passing opening are arranged in a same surface of the metal decoration frame."
In Mao, the decorative member 400 serves as an antenna radiator. Wu does not explicitly mention a decorative member; the antenna module is installed on the conductive inner rear wall of a conductive cavity and faces the dielectric cover layer 122, meaning the antenna module is arranged inside the dielectric cover layer 122. In Cooper, the antenna module 80 is installed on the inner side of the dielectric cover layer 104. In Dong, the antenna 30 is disposed between the camera bracket 20 and the decorative lens 80.
Consequently, none of the cited references disclose the aforementioned distinguishing technical feature. The cited references, either individually or in combination, do not suggest or render obvious the claimed subject matter.
Therefore, amended claim 1 is allowable over the cited prior art. Claims 2-9 and 11-20, which depend therefrom, are likewise allowable over the cited prior art.”
The arguments are moot because claim 1 is now being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong, US-20240186701-A1 in view of Wang et al, WO-2022063021-A1 as explained below.
Moreover, Applicant argued that “In Dong, the antenna 30 is disposed between the camera bracket 20 and the decorative lens 80… The cited references, either individually or in combination, do not suggest or render obvious the claimed subject matter”.
Examiner respectfully disagree because the antenna 30 disposed in a groove of the surface S1 of decoration frame 20 (fig. 6, para [0063]) and the one light passing opening K1-K4 are disposed in the decoration frame 20 (para [0061]) so the groove and the at least one light passing opening are arranged in a same surface of the decoration frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the groove being spaced from each light passing opening" in lines 6-7 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this each light passing opening and the at least one light passing opening recited previously are the same or different. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as "the groove being spaced from each of the at least one light passing opening".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong, US-20240186701-A1 in view of Wang et al, WO-2022063021-A1 (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses the following:
a terminal rear cover, comprising:
a rear cover body (10, fig. 6) comprising an opening (fig. 6 below);
a decoration frame (20) coupled to the rear cover body (10) and covering the opening (fig. 6),
the decoration frame (20) comprising a groove (para [0063]) and at least one light passing opening (K1-K4, fig. 6, para [0061]), and the groove being spaced from each of the at least one light passing opening (fig. 6); and
an ultra-wideband (UWB) antenna (30) embedded in the groove (para [0063]),
wherein the groove and the at least one light passing opening are arranged in a same surface of the decoration frame (S1 of decoration frame 20, para [0061], [0063]).
Dong does not disclose the decoration frame is a metal decoration frame.
Wang suggests the decoration frame (6, figs. 4-5) is a metal decoration frame (page 5, para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the decoration frame taught in Dong to be metal as suggested in Wang as claimed for the purpose of using the metal decoration frame as a ground plane and providing the connection between the antenna and the ground plane (page 5, para 5) in order to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 9, Dong discloses the terminal rear cover according to claim 1, further comprising: a protective piece (80, fig. 6) arranged at a side of the decoration frame (20), and the protective piece covering the decoration frame (fig. 6).
Dong does not disclose the decoration frame is a metal decoration frame.
Wang suggests the decoration frame (6, figs. 4-5) is a metal decoration frame (page 5, para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the decoration frame taught in Dong to be metal as suggested in Wang as claimed for the purpose of using the metal decoration frame as a ground plane and providing the connection between the antenna and the ground plane (page 5, para 5) in order to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 10, Dong discloses the following:
an electronic device, comprising:
a camera module (para [0061]: The light hole K1 may be opposite to a camera, and is configured to mount the camera) comprising at least one lens (it is implied that the camera module would comprise a lens); and
a terminal rear cover (figs. 5-6), comprising: a rear cover body (10) comprising an opening (fig. 6 above);
a decoration frame (20) coupled to the rear cover body (10) and covering the opening (fig. 6), the decoration frame (20) comprising a groove (para [0063]) and at least one light passing opening (K1-K4, fig. 6, para [0061]), and the groove being spaced from each light passing opening (fig. 6); and
an ultra-wideband (UWB) antenna (30) embedded in the groove (para [0063]),
wherein each of the at least one light passing opening is arranged corresponding to the at least one lens (para [0061]), and
wherein the groove and the at least one light passing opening are arranged in a same surface of the decoration frame (S1 of decoration frame 20, para [0061], [0063]).
Dong does not disclose the decoration frame is a metal decoration frame.
Wang suggests the decoration frame (6, figs. 4-5) is a metal decoration frame (page 5, para 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the decoration frame taught in Dong to be metal as suggested in Wang as claimed for the purpose of using the metal decoration frame as a ground plane and providing the connection between the antenna and the ground plane (page 5, para 5) in order to prevent voltage fluctuation and reduce electrical noise due to interference between different components in the circuit to improve the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 11, Dong discloses wherein the opening penetrates through the rear cover body (10, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Dong discloses wherein the opening is in a shape of a ring or a square (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Dong does not disclose wherein the rear cover body includes a metal rear cover body, a plastic rear cover body, or a glass rear cover body.
Wang suggests wherein the rear cover body includes a metal rear cover body, a plastic rear cover body, or a glass rear cover body (page 2, para 3 of Background technique section).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the glass rear cover body as suggested in Wang in the terminal rear cover taught in Dong as claimed for the purpose of improving signal reception because glass is transparent to radio signal, improving the electronic device’s aesthetic look and reducing interference with the transmitted and received signals of the antenna.
Regarding claim 15, Dong discloses wherein the decoration frame (20, fig. 6) is coupled to an outer side of the rear cover body surrounding the opening (fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 20, Dong discloses wherein the protective piece (80, fig. 6) adopts a light transmission protective piece (para [0071]: To protect and beautify the camera, in some embodiments, as shown in FIG. 6, the electronic device further includes a decorative lens 80, it is implied that the protective piece 80 must transmit light so that the light can go through for the camera modules and the camera flash disposed in light passing holes K1-K4 can operate).
Claims 2, 4-5, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong and Wang as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Kim et al, KR-20210152289-A (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the UWB antenna comprises a conductive unit, a dielectric substrate and a metal grounding plate, the conductive unit is arranged at a side of the dielectric substrate, the metal grounding plate is arranged at an opposite side of the dielectric substrate, the groove comprises a through groove, and the UWB antenna is arranged in the through groove.
Kim suggests wherein the UWB antenna comprises a conductive unit (512, 514 disposed on layer 541, fig. 16a), a dielectric substrate (page 26, para 3: a dielectric material disposed between the first layer 541 and the second layer 542) and a metal grounding plate (542, page 26, para 3), the conductive unit (512, 514 of layer 541) is arranged at a side of the dielectric substrate (page 26, para 3), the metal grounding plate is arranged at an opposite side of the dielectric substrate (page 26, para 3), the groove comprises a through groove (fig. 6), and the UWB antenna (500) is arranged in the through groove (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dielectric substrate as suggested in Kim to the antenna taught in Dong and Wang as claimed for the purpose of providing isolation between signals radiating from the conductive unit and the metal grounding plate in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the conductive unit comprises a plurality of elongated grooves recessed inwardly from at least one side edge.
Wang suggests wherein the conductive unit (512-516, fig. 5) comprises a plurality of elongated grooves recessed inwardly from at least one side edge (fig. 5 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the elongated grooves as suggested in Wang to the antenna taught in Dong and Wang as claimed for the purpose of achieving the desired radiating characteristics because changing the shape of the conductive unit will change the radiating characteristics of the antenna.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the UWB antenna operates in a fifth channel and a ninth channel of a UWB frequency band, a center frequency of the fifth channel is around 6.5 GHz, and a center frequency of the ninth channel is around 8 GHz.
Kim discloses wherein the UWB antenna operates in a fifth channel and a ninth channel of a UWB frequency band, a center frequency of the fifth channel is around 6.5 GHz, and a center frequency of the ninth channel is around 8 GHz (page 16, para 1: at least one patch 512-516 operates in 3GHz-10GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the UWB antenna taught in Dong and Wang to operate in the fifth and ninth channel as suggested in Kim as claimed for the purpose of having an antenna being able to operate in multiple frequency bands in order to communicate with different devices in different frequency bands simultaneously.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the metal decoration frame is coupled to an inner ring of the opening.
Kim discloses wherein the metal decoration frame (470, fig. 6) is coupled to an inner ring of the opening (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the metal decoration frame taught in Dong and Wang to couple to an inner ring of the opening as suggested in Kim as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from the need to form a smooth connection between the opening and the metal decoration frame and provide a better sealing to the electronic device.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the metal grounding plate is exposed relative to the rear cover body.
Kim discloses wherein the metal grounding plate (fig. 16a shows the metal grounding plate 542 being in the bottom of the antenna 500) is exposed relative to the rear cover body (380, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the metal grounding plate exposed relative to the rear cover body as suggested in Kim to the terminal rear cover taught in Dong and Wang as claimed for the purpose of reducing the thickness of the decoration frame and the antenna protruding outside the rear cover body in order to improve the cosmetic look for the electronic device.
Regarding claim 19, Dong does not disclose wherein the conductive unit comprises a plurality of conductive units arranged on the dielectric substrate, and the plurality of conductive units are spaced from each other.
Wang discloses the conductive unit (3, figs. 4-6) comprises a plurality of conductive units (13), and the plurality of conductive units are spaced from each other (figs. 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conductive unit taught in Dong to comprise a plurality of conductive units as disclosed in Wang as claimed for the purpose of having a wider signal coverage because antenna array having more antenna elements will generate wider beam signals.
Although the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose the plurality of conductive units are arranged on the dielectric substrate, but one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that there is usually a dielectric substrate to mount the conductive units on and to isolate with the ground plane disposed on the opposite surface of the dielectric substrate.
Kim applied as a teaching reference discloses the plurality of conductive units (512, 514 disposed on layer 541, fig. 16a) are arranged on the dielectric substrate (page 26, para 3: a dielectric material disposed between the first layer 541 and the second layer 542).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dielectric substrate as suggested in Kim to the antenna taught in Dong and Wang as claimed for the purpose of providing isolation between signals radiating from the conductive unit and the metal grounding plate in order to maintain the antenna performance.
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong and Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al, US-20200227821-A1 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein the UWB antenna comprises a conductive unit and a dielectric substrate, and the conductive unit is arranged at a side of the dielectric substrate; and the groove comprises a recess, a bottom wall of the recess is attached to a side of the dielectric substrate facing away from the conductive unit, and the UWB antenna is grounded through the metal decoration frame.
Wu suggests wherein the UWB antenna (40, fig. 9) comprises a conductive unit (110) and a dielectric substrate (120), and the conductive unit is arranged at a side of the dielectric substrate (fig. 9); and the groove comprises a recess (140), a bottom wall of the recess (142) is attached to a side of the dielectric substrate (120) facing away from the conductive unit (110), and the antenna (40) is grounded through the metal decoration frame (para [0086]-[0087]: the heat spreader 148 couples to the bottom wall of the recess 142 and the hear spreader 148 serves as the ground for the antenna 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ground the UWB antenna taught in Dong and Wang to the metal decoration frame as suggested in Wu as claimed for the purpose of completing the antenna circuitry in order to perform wireless communication.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dong and Wang does not disclose wherein an opening direction of the recess is toward an outer side of the terminal rear cover.
Wu suggests wherein an opening direction of the recess (140, fig. 9) is toward an outer side of the terminal rear cover (126).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the opening of the recess taught in Dong and Wang being toward an outer side of the terminal rear cover as suggested in Wu as claimed for the purpose of avoiding blocking the electromagnetic signals radiating from the antenna in order to improve the antenna performance.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong, Wang and Kim as applied to claims 2 and 5 above, and further in view of Cooper et al, US-20200021011-A1 (hereinafter Cooper).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses wherein the conductive unit (13 of antenna 3, figs. 4-6) is in a rectangular shape (figs. 4-6).
The combination of Dong, Wang and Kim does not disclose an equivalent length of the conductive unit in a first direction is one-half of a wavelength of the center frequency of the fifth channel, an equivalent length of the conductive unit in a second direction is one-half of a wavelength of the center frequency of the ninth channel, and the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction.
Cooper discloses an equivalent length of the conductive unit (88, Fig. 8, para [0088]) in a first direction is one-half of a wavelength of the center frequency of the fifth channel (6.5GHz, para [0088]), an equivalent length of the conductive unit in a second direction (90) is one-half of a wavelength of the center frequency of the ninth channel (8GHz, para [0088]), and the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the length of the conductive unit taught in Dong, Wang and Kim to be one-half of a wavelength of the fifth and ninth channels as disclosed in Cooper as claimed for the purpose of being able to radiate the electromagnetic signals in two different frequencies in order to increase the operating frequency range and improve the quality of the wireless communication.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Dong, Wang and Kim does not disclose wherein the dielectric substrate comprises a liquid crystal polymer substrate.
Cooper suggests wherein the dielectric substrate comprises a liquid crystal polymer substrate (fig. 8, para [0084]: Patch substrates 84 may include liquid crystal polymer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use liquid crystal polymer as suggested in Cooper to the dielectric substrate of the antenna taught in Dong, Wang and Kim as claimed for the purpose of having a substrate with low dielectric constant, being stable in high frequency environment and being easy to fabricate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845