DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Okamoto (US2008/0050593).
Okamoto teaches a porous zirconia powder having a total pore volume (Fresh), measured by the mercury intrusion method using a pore distribution measurement device (Pore Master 60-GT) with a measurement range of 0.0036-10.3 µm, is 1.05 ml/g, and the content ZrO2 in the porous zirconia powder being 72 wt.% (para.[0021], [0063], example 1, Fig. 3, table 1 and claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 1, as for the claimed Formula (1), Okamoto disclosed Fig 3 shows Vp10 ( noted 10 nm is 0.01 µm, x-axis is 1E-2, looking up 1E-2 vertical direction on the Fig 3) is around 0.9523, similarly, Vp100 (noted 100 nm is 0.1 µm, x-axis is 1E-1, looking up 1E-1 vertical direction on the Fig 3) is around 0.529, Vp6000 (noted 6000 nm is 6 µm on X-axis) is about 0, therefore, Okamoto disclosed (Vp10-100)/(Vp100-6000) is within or overlaps with that of instantly claimed Formula (1) range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP§ 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 2, Okamoto disclosed Fig 3 shows Vp5 ( noted 5 nm is 0.005 µm, i.e., 5E-3, in between 1E-3 and 1E-2 of axis, and its vertical value in between 0.9523 and 1.0581,while Okamoto already discloses Vp10, Vp100, Vp6000 as discussed above, therefore, Okamoto disclosed (Vp10-100)/(Vp5-6000) is within or overlaps with that of instantly claimed Formula (2) range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP§ 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 3, Okamoto already discloses Vp5, Vp10 and Vp 6000 as discussed above, therefore, Okamoto disclosed (Vp5-10)/(Vp5-6000) is within or overlaps with that of instantly claimed Formula (3) range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP§ 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 4, Okamoto already discloses Vp5, Vp100 and Vp6000 as discussed above, therefore, Okamoto disclosed (Vp100-6000)/(Vp5-6000) is within or overlaps with that of instantly claimed Formula (4) range thus renders a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP§ 2144. 05 I).
Regarding claim 5, Okamoto already discloses Vp5 and Vp6000 as discussed above, therefore, Okamoto disclosed Vp5-6000 is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 6, Okamoto already discloses such limitations as discussed above.
Regarding claim 7, Okamoto does not expressly teach the zirconia powder having a particle diameter D50 after a crushing treatment being 0.05 µm or more and 1.5 µm or less, however, Okamoto already teaches a same or substantially the same porous zirconia powder as that of instantly claimed, therefore, after going through a same or substantially the same crushing treatment would be expected to have same or substantially the same particle diameter D50 as that of instantly claimed because exposing a same crushing treatment to a same or substantially the same zirconia powder would lead to a same or substantially the same crushed zirconia powder/particles, i.e. zirconia powder having same or substantially the same particle diameter D50 as that of instantly claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For example, MATSUMOTO to (WO2022/107900) (English equivalent document US2023/0125091) teaches a zirconia-based porous body comprising an oxide of a rare earth element, wherein when a pore volume in a pore distribution range of 30 nm or more and 200 nm or less after heating at 1150° C. for 12 hours under atmospheric pressure is defined as pore volume A and a pore volume in a pore distribution range of 30 nm or more and 200 nm or less before heating is defined as pore volume B, the pore volume A is 0.10 ml/g or more and 0.40 ml/g or less, and a pore volume retention ratio X in a pore distribution range of 30 nm or more and 200 nm or less represented by formula (1) below is 25% or more and 95% or less.
/JUN LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732