CTNF 18/719,626 CTNF 80578 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements filed on 6/13/2024 and 4/18/2025 have been considered. Drawings The drawings filed on 6/13/2024 are accepted. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 12 and 13 objected to because of the following informalities: “severing” should be “serving” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claims 1-4, 7, 9-12, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. A single means/step claim, i.e. where a means/step recitation does not appear in combination with another recited means/step, is subjected to an undue breath rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. In re Hyatt, 708F.2d712, 714-715, 218 USPQ 195, 197 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (MPEP 2164.08(a)). A single means claim which covered every conceivable means for achieving the stated purpose was held nonenabling for the scope of the claim because the specification disclosed at most only those means known to the inventor. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-14, 17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US-12,101,669 hereinafter, Wang) . Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for obtaining information (Abstract), comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1 [UE]), configuration information (Fig. 8 [S202]), wherein the configuration information is used to indicate at least one neighboring cell (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID”) and a satellite parameter (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Polarization method”) corresponding to at least one neighboring cell. (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell, Col. 15 lines 35-40, Col. 16 lines 51-56 “the polarization method indication information may be used to indicate polarization methods of a plurality of neighboring cells of a serving cell, and the target cell to which the user equipment is handed over is one of the plurality of neighboring cells” and Col. 17 lines 8-10) Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the neighboring cell comprises at least one of: ephemeris information of a satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; an ephemeris information format of the satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; a network-controlled common timing advance (TA); timer information; frequency compensation information; or a polarization mode. (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell and Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches wherein the neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the neighboring cell comprises at least one of: ephemeris information of a satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; an ephemeris information format of the satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; a common timing advance (TA); timer information; frequency compensation information; a polarization mode; (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell and Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) or an uplink transmission timing offset (K_offset). Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches wherein receiving the configuration information comprises: receiving the configuration information from a serving cell (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 and Fig. 8 [Serving base station, S202]) or from the neighboring cell. Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches wherein receiving the configuration information from the severing cell comprises: receiving first configuration information sent, in a broadcasting manner, by the serving cell, wherein the terminal is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state or an RRC-inactive state (Col. 2 lines 49-61), and the first configuration information is used to indicate the at least one neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the at least one neighboring cell; (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) or receiving second configuration information sent, based on an RRC signaling (Col. 2 lines 30-33 and Fig. 8 [S202]), by the serving cell (Fig. 8 [Serving base station]), wherein the terminal is in an RRC connected state (Col. 2 lines 34-48), and the second configuration information is used to indicate at least one neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the at least one neighboring cell. (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches in response to receiving the first configuration information and the second configuration information, performing a Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement on the neighboring cell according to the second configuration information. (Fig. 8 [S203], Fig. 11 [Cell measurement] and Col. 18 lines 34-50) Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches wherein receiving the configuration information from the neighboring cell comprises: receiving the configuration information of a neighboring carrier of the neighboring cell. (Col. 33 [Table 9] BWP, Cell ID and Polarization Method) Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches performing a Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement on the neighboring cell based on the configuration information. (Fig. 8 [S203], Fig. 11 [Cell measurement] and Col. 18 lines 34-50) Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a method for obtaining information Abstract), comprising: sending configuration information by a network device of a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) (Fig. 8 [S202], Fig. 9 [Serving Base Station, RRC message]), wherein the configuration information is used to indicate at least one neighboring cell (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID”) and a satellite parameter (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Polarization Method”) corresponding to the at least one neighboring cell. (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell, Col. 15 lines 35-40, Col. 16 lines 51-56 “the polarization method indication information may be used to indicate polarization methods of a plurality of neighboring cells of a serving cell, and the target cell to which the user equipment is handed over is one of the plurality of neighboring cells” and Col. 17 lines 8-10) Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches wherein the neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the neighboring cell comprises at least one of: ephemeris information of a satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; an ephemeris information format of the satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; a network-controlled common timing advance (TA); timer information; frequency compensation information; or a polarization mode. (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell and Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches wherein the neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the neighboring cell comprises at least one of: ephemeris information of a satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; an ephemeris information format of the satellite corresponding to the neighboring cell; a common timing advance (TA); timer information; frequency compensation information; a polarization mode; (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 i.e. polarization method of neighbor/target cell and Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) or an uplink transmission timing offset (K_offset). Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches wherein receiving the configuration information comprises: receiving the configuration information from a serving cell (Col. 14 line 63 through Col. 15 line 4 and Fig. 8 [Serving base station, S202]) or from the neighboring cell. Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches wherein receiving the configuration information from the severing cell comprises: receiving first configuration information sent, in a broadcasting manner, by the serving cell, wherein the terminal is in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) idle state or an RRC-inactive state (Col. 2 lines 49-61), and the first configuration information is used to indicate the at least one neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the at least one neighboring cell; (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) or receiving second configuration information sent, based on an RRC signaling (Col. 2 lines 30-33 and Fig. 8 [S202]), by the serving cell (Fig. 8 [Serving base station]), wherein the terminal is in an RRC connected state (Col. 2 lines 34-48), and the second configuration information is used to indicate at least one neighboring cell and the satellite parameter corresponding to the at least one neighboring cell. (Col. 16 [Table 3] “Cell ID” and “Polarization method”) Regarding claim 14, the additional limitations of claim 14 are not applicable to the selected Markush group listed rejected in claim 12. Regarding claim 17, the limitations of claim 17 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 1. See additionally processor, memory and computer program. (Fig. 19 [801, 802] and Col. 28 lines 27-45) Regarding claim 19, the limitations of claim 19 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 1. See additionally Col. 6 lines 39-51. Regarding claim 20, the limitations of claim 20 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 9. See additionally processor memory and computer program in Fig. 20 [901, 902] and Col. 28 lines 48-65. Regarding claim 21, the limitations of claim 21 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 9. See additionally Col. 29 lines 52-61. Regarding claims 22 and 23, the limitations of claims 22 and 23 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 2 and 3 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-11,902,815 to Hong which discloses communication through non-terrestrial networks to a user equipment, see Fig. 10. US-11,997,710 to Gao et al. which discloses transmitting system information of neighbor cells to a UE. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW C SAMS whose telephone number is (571)272-8099. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30-5 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached at (571)272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Matthew C Sams/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 2 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 3 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 4 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 5 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 6 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 7 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 8 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 9 Art Unit: 2646 Application/Control Number: 18/719,626 Page 10 Art Unit: 2646