Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 7/01/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Drawing, set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 4/14/2026 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 7/01/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8, filed 7/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-8, of the remarks, filed on 7/01/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1, that “Bohne does not disclose or suggest the claimed diagnostic mechanism and therefore does not cure the deficiencies of Martin.
Bohne is directed to diagnosing whether an energy reservoir (battery) is correctly connected to a vehicle electrical system by deliberately modifying the electrical system voltage (U1) and observing battery-side or system-side quantities, such as battery current (Is), battery voltage (Us), or terminal voltage (UKL15) (Bohne, paragraphs [0001], [0005], and [0018]-[0020]). In particular, Bohne raises the system voltage above a characteristic battery threshold (Remarks-Page 7) and determines whether a battery charging current flows as an indicator of proper battery connection (Bohne, paragraph [0023]).
Further, the diagnostic target in Bohne is exclusively the battery connection. Bohne infers whether the energy reservoir is connected based on battery current or battery/system voltage behavior under manipulated system voltage conditions (Bohne, paragraphs [0019]-[0023]). Bohne does not diagnose whether a selectively operable connecting circuit correctly couples a supply voltage to a consumer.
Bohne does not determine an applied supply voltage at a downstream consumer and does not measure a voltage whose presence or absence depends on operation of a connecting or switching circuit. Accordingly, Bohne does not teach the above-noted features of independent claim 1. Independent claim 13 includes similar features.
For the foregoing reasons, the cited references, taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose or render obvious the subject matter of the independent claims 1 and 13. Accordingly, there is no prima facie obviousness of the independent claims, which are therefore allowable.
For at least the reasons that the dependent claims inherit all the limitations of their respective independent claims, they are also allowable. Applicant therefore respectfully requests that the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 be rescinded and the claims passed to allowance.
Claims 14 and 15 are new. Support for claims 14 and 15 is found in at least paragraphs [0005] and [0012]-[0015] of the present application. Neither Martin nor Bohne, alone or in combination, teach the limitations of claims 14 and 15 (Remarks-Page 8).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-8 (stated above), filed 7/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 4/14/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Claim recites, “wherein the computer device (110) is configured to determine an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer (204), and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) based on the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2)”. Primary Reference Martin already discloses a second supply source “Similarly, the second subnetwork 120 can supply a second supply unit 124 (e.g. B. a battery and/or a DC/DC converter); Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4) provide a second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer “Fig. 2a and Fig. 2b Each shows a device 200 for supplying energy to the partial consumers 211, 221, 212 of a (fault-tolerant) total consumer of a vehicle; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-5”. “The second sub-consumer 221 may be coupled to the second supply unit 124 by default; Paragraph [0064]”. Therefore, Martin discloses that a second supply voltage supplies a second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer. However, Martin does not disclose that the computer device (110) is configured to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) based on the determined applied second supply voltage. Therefore, Bohne is introduced to show that the supply voltage can be used to determine the correct operation of the connecting device. Bohne discloses, “If the setpoint voltage Uset is regulated to be higher than the gassing voltage Ug, a charging current into energy reservoir 10 will become established. A current Is that is very much greater than zero (Is>>0) thus flows. This then indicates a correct operating state with none of the fault situations 31 to 35. If the current Is remains near zero, however (Is=0), then current flow is interrupted, indicating a conductor interruption. The first, third, and fourth fault situations 31, 33, 34 can be detected by diagnosing the current Is; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-17”. Bohne determines the charging current depending on the set point voltage and the value of the current determines the connectivity of the conductor to the vehicle (and vehicle can be a sub-consumer). Therefore, Bohne discloses the claim language that the supply voltage can be used to determine the correct operation of the connecting device. Applicant’s argument, “Bohne does not determine an applied supply voltage at a downstream consumer and does not measure a voltage whose presence or absence depends on operation of a connecting or switching circuit” is not persuasive. Figure 2 of Bohne shows that the point 16 and 18 is connecting the energy reservoir 10 with the vehicle electrical vehicle system 11 as the consumer depending on voltage which generates current. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Bohne does not disclose or suggest the claimed diagnostic mechanism and therefore does not cure the deficiencies of Martin is not persuasive as explained above that Bohne is introduced to show only that to determine the correct operation (connected or not connected) of the connecting circuit based on the determined applied second supply voltage. Martin discloses all the limitations of independent claim 1 and Bohne is introduced to show only the above recited limitation. Therefore, combination of Martin and Bohne discloses the claim limitation for claim 1.
Applicant argues that the diagnostic target in Bohne is exclusively the battery connection. However, it is not necessary that both references should solve the same problem. Bohne is introduced to show only that the voltage can be used to check connectivity of the supply with the consumer. Energy system of Bohne is used the value of voltage to determine the connectivity with the vehicle system which can be a consumer for the broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below).
Similarly, applicant’s argument for independent claim 13 is not persuasive as stated above. Applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims 2-11 is also not persuasive because of the same reason as stated above.
Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. Bohne still can be applied to reject the claim limitation. Therefore Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 still can be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
New Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because the claim limitation is not clear, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
New claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “wherein diagnosing the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) further comprises determining a difference between the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2) at a first point in time at the second consumer (204) and the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2) at a second point in time at the second consumer (204).” The meaning of the language “the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2) at a first point in time at the second consumer” and “the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2) at a second point in time at the second consumer” is unclear. It is not clear what is the meaning of “at a first point in time” and “a second point in time”. It is not clear which point is considered as the first point and which point is considered as the second point. It is not clear how the first point and second point are related with time. Therefore, the claim language is not clear.
Clarification is required so that the scope of the claim is clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHÄFER MARTIN et al. (Hereinafter, “Martin”) in the Patent Application Publication Number DE 102019112706 A1 in view of Bohne et al. (Hereinafter, “Bohne”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20180067157 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Martin, teaches a supply circuit having a computer device (The device also includes a (hardware- and/or software-based) control unit; Paragraph [0021] Line 1) for diagnosing a connecting circuit (a method and a device for supplying an electrical consumer of a vehicle from two separate supply units; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), for power electronics in a vehicle (an energy supply device is described for a total electrical consumer
and/or for a first electrical consumer. The total consumer and/or the first consumer are each equipped to provide a specific function, in particular for the operation of a (motor) vehicle; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4; Fig. 1 an exemplary supply network of a vehicle. Fig. 2a and
Fig. 2b each an exemplary device for supplying energy to partial consumers of a safety-relevant
total electrical consumer of a vehicle; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-9),
wherein the supply circuit [200] in Figure 2a comprises a first and a second supply source (The first subnetwork 110 can supply a first supply unit 114 (e.g. B. a battery and/or a DC/DC converter). Similarly, the second subnetwork 120 can supply a second supply unit 124 (e.g. B. a battery and/or a DC/DC converter); Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4) for supplying a first and a second consumer (Fig. 2a and Fig. 2b Each shows a device 200 for supplying energy to the partial consumers 211, 221, 212 of a (fault-tolerant) total consumer of a vehicle; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-5),
wherein the first supply source [114] is configured to provide a first supply voltage for the first consumer [212] (Furthermore, the total consumer can have a second sub-consumer 221, which is connected to the second sub-network 120 for energy supply. Furthermore, the total consumer may include another sub-consumer 212, which may also be connected to the first sub-network 110 and/or to the first supply unit 114; Paragraph [0046] Line 12-15) after the first supply source is switched on and to provide a third supply voltage [ for the connecting circuit [201] (The first partial consumer 211 can be coupled to the first supply unit 114 via a first switching element 201), wherein the third supply voltage (The first partial consumer 211 can therefore be temporarily coupled to both the first supply unit 114 (via the closed first switching element 201) and the second supply unit 124 (via the closed second switching element 202); Paragraph [0064] Line 7-9) can also be provided to the second consumer [221] by means of the connecting circuit [201],
wherein the second supply source (104) is configured to provide a second supply voltage for the second consumer [221] after the second supply source [124] is switched on (For example, the total consumer can have a first sub-consumer 211, which is connected to the first subnetwork 110 for energy supply via the switching element 201 and can be connected to the second subnetwork 120 via the electrical elements 206, 205 and the switching element 202 or via the switching element 203; Paragraph [0046] Line 8-11);
wherein the connecting circuit [201] comprises a switching element and is configured to electrically connect the third supply voltage [124] to the second consumer [221] by closing the switching element [203, 202] and to disconnect the third supply voltage [124] from the second consumer [221] by opening the switching element (In normal operation, the first switching element 201 can be closed and the second and third switching elements 202, 203 can be open, so that the first partial consumer 211 possibly alone) is supplied with electrical energy from the first supply unit 114 (and not from the second supply unit 124); Paragraph [0048] Line 1-4), wherein the supply circuit (100) comprises a computer device [control unit 103,203] (The device also includes a (hardware- and/or software-based) control unit; Paragraph [0021] Line 1).
Martin fails to teach wherein the computer device is configured to determine an applied second supply voltage on the second consumer, and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit on the determined applied second supply voltage.
Bohne teaches the method according to the present invention for detecting the connection between an energy reservoir and the vehicle electrical system, preferably of a motor vehicle; Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5),
wherein the computer device is configured to determine an applied second supply voltage on the second consumer, and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit on the determined applied second supply voltage (Once the electrical system voltage U1 has reached the setpoint voltage Uset>Ug, preferably two different test criteria are ascertained. As the first test criterion, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 is detected with the aid of sensor (diagnosis B1). If sensor 12 is still available or is correctly connected to vehicle electrical system 11 and/or to energy reservoir 10, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 can be used for diagnostic purposes. If the setpoint voltage Uset is regulated to be higher than the gassing voltage Ug, a charging current into energy reservoir 10 will become established. A current Is that is very much greater than zero (Is>>0) thus flows. This then indicates a correct operating state with none of the fault situations 31 to 35. If the current Is remains near zero, however (Is=0), then current flow is interrupted, indicating a conductor interruption. The first, third, and fourth fault situations 31, 33, 34 can be detected by diagnosing the current Is; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to recognize even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay, to detect correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system, to detect a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Martin in view of Bohne, because Bohne teaches to determine an applied second supply voltage on the second consumer, and diagnoses the correct operation of the connecting circuit on the determined applied second supply voltage recognize even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay (Paragraph [0003]), detects correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system (Paragraph [0001]), detects a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 2, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the switching element [202], 203] of the connecting circuit [201] is open as long as the third supply voltage [124] is not applied to the connecting circuit [201] (Figure 2 shows the switching element [202], 203] of the connecting circuit [201] is open as long as the third supply voltage [124] is not applied to the connecting circuit [201]. Third supply voltage 124 is not applied to the consumer 212 or connecting circuit 201 if the switching element [202], 203] of the connecting circuit [201] is open).
.
Regarding claim 3, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the connecting circuit [201] comprises a switching delay device and is configured to close the switching element [203, 202] after a specifiable first time period after the third supply voltage [114] is applied to the connecting circuit [201] (In normal operation, the first switching element 201 can be closed and the second and third switching elements 202, 203 can be open, so that the first partial consumer 211 (possibly alone) is supplied with electrical energy from the first supply unit 114 (and not from the second supply unit 124). If a fault is detected in the first subnetwork 110 and/or at the first supply unit 114 (e.g. B. based on the sensor data of a measuring unit 116) the second switching element 202 can first be closed in order to supply the first partial consumer 211 additionally with electrical energy from the second supply unit 124 via the one or more filter and/or limiting elements 205, 206; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-8; Therefore in the normal mode connecting circuit 201 is closed then it will be open. After getting the command from the control unit connecting circuit 201 is again switched and therefore there is a switching delay device such as 205, 206 (limiting element) makes a delay to again turn on the switching element).
Regarding claim 4, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the computer device (control unit) is configured to switch on the first supply source (102) and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) if, on expiry of a specifiable switch-on duration after switching on the first supply source, the second applied supply voltage corresponds to a second specifiable voltage value (US2) and, after subsequent expiry of the first duration, the second applied supply voltage (UA2) corresponds to a third specifiable voltage value (US3) (The first partial consumer 211 can be coupled to the first supply unit 114 via a first switching element 201. Furthermore, the first sub-consumer 211 can be coupled to the second supply unit 124 via one or more electrical filter and/or limiting elements 205, 206 and via a second switching element 202. Furthermore, a third switching element 203 can be provided to bridge the one or more filter and/or limiting elements 205, 206, and to enable the first sub-consumer 211 to be coupled directly (past the one or more filter and/or limiting elements 205, 206) to the second supply unit 124 and/or to the second sub-network 120; Paragraph [0047] Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 5, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the computer device is configured to determine an applied first supply voltage on the first consumer, and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) on the basis of the determined applied first and second supply voltage (UA1, UA2) (The control unit can be configured to check whether the second supply voltage at the second supply unit is above the voltage threshold and/or above a second voltage threshold (where the second voltage threshold may be equal to or greater than the voltage threshold). It can then (possibly only then) be caused that the first consumer is coupled to the second supply unit (by closing the second switching element) if it has been determined that the second supply voltage is above the (possibly second) voltage threshold. Switching to the second supply unit may therefore only take place if it is determined that the second supply unit enables a reliable energy supply for the first partial consumer; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-8).
Regarding claim 6, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the computer device (110) is configured to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit when the first applied supply voltage (UA1) initially corresponds to a first specifiable voltage value (US1) (The control unit of the device can be configured to cause the second switching element to close first, in response to the detection that the first supply voltage has reached or fallen below the voltage threshold; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-3) and the second applied supply voltage (UA2) corresponds to a second specifiable voltage value (US2) (The control unit can be configured to check whether the second supply voltage at the second supply unit is above the voltage threshold and/or above a second voltage threshold (where the second voltage threshold may be equal to or greater than the voltage threshold); Paragraph [0030] Line 1-3) and, after subsequent expiry of the first time period, the second applied supply voltage (UA2) corresponds to a third specifiable voltage value (US3) and the first applied supply voltage (UA1) in particular corresponds to the first specifiable voltage value (US1) (It can then (possibly only then) be caused that the first consumer is coupled to the second supply unit (by closing the second switching element) if it has been determined that the second supply voltage is above the (possibly second) voltage threshold. Switching to the second supply unit may therefore only take place if it is determined that the second supply unit enables a reliable energy supply for the first partial consumer; Paragraph [0030] Line 4-8).
Regarding claim 7, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the first supply source [114] is switched on first (The control unit can be configured to ensure that the first switching element is closed during normal operation. Furthermore, it is possible to cause the second and third switching elements to be open; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-3), The control unit can also be configured to detect whether the first supply voltage at the first supply unit reaches or falls below a voltage threshold (Paragraph [0023] Line 1-2), and the second supply source [124] is switched on only after the first time period and a second specifiable time period have elapsed (The control unit of the device can be configured to cause the second switching element to close first, in response to the detection that the first supply voltage has reached or fallen below the voltage threshold; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-3; this is the second specifiable time period have elapsed after the first time period and second supply source is switched on).
Regarding claim 8, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the connecting circuit comprises a current measuring device [116] in Figure 1 for determining a load current through the closed switching element and is configured to open the switching element when the determined load current exceeds a first specifiable current value (In the first subnetwork 110, one or more first electrical consumers 111 are arranged. The one or more first electrical consumers 111 may be certified and/or designed according to a specific ASIL level and/or may place a specific ASIL level on the availability of the power supply. The one or more first electrical consumers 111 can each have one or more measuring units 116 which are configured to measure the current and/or voltage at the respective consumer 111. Based on the current and/or voltage measurement, (e.g. B. by means of a control unit 103) direct monitoring of possible lts of the respective electrical consumer 111 and/or the associated electrical lines and/or contacts; Paragraph [0041] Line 6-15).
Regarding claim 9, Martin teaches a drive train of a vehicle having a supply circuit (a method and a device for supplying an electrical consumer of a vehicle from two separate supply units; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2) according to claim l (see rejection of claim 1)
Regarding claim 10, Martin teaches a vehicle having a drive train (a method and a device for supplying an electrical consumer of a vehicle from two separate supply units; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2) according to claim l (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Martin teaches a method for operating a supply circuit for power electronics in a vehicle (a method and a device for supplying an electrical consumer of a vehicle from two separate supply units; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), according to claim l (See rejection of claim 1).
Martin fails to teach said method comprising the following steps: -determining an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer; diagnosing (550) the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) on the basis of the determined applied second supply voltage (UA1, UA2).
Bohne teaches the method according to the present invention for detecting the connection between an energy reservoir and the vehicle electrical system, preferably of a motor vehicle (Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5), said method comprising the following steps:
-determining an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer diagnosing (550) the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) on the basis of the determined applied second supply voltage (Once the electrical system voltage U1 has reached the setpoint voltage Uset>Ug, preferably two different test criteria are ascertained. As the first test criterion, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 is detected with the aid of sensor (diagnosis B1). If sensor 12 is still available or is correctly connected to vehicle electrical system 11 and/or to energy reservoir 10, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 can be used for diagnostic purposes. If the setpoint voltage Uset is regulated to be higher than the gassing voltage Ug, a charging current into energy reservoir 10 will become established. A current Is that is very much greater than zero (Is>>0) thus flows. This then indicates a correct operating state with none of the fault situations 31 to 35. If the current Is remains near zero, however (Is=0), then current flow is interrupted, indicating a conductor interruption. The first, third, and fourth fault situations 31, 33, 34 can be detected by diagnosing the current Is; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to recognize even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay, to detect correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system, to detect a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Martin in view of Bohne, because Bohne teaches diagnosing the correct operation of the connecting circuit recognizes even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay (Paragraph [0003]), detects correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system (Paragraph [0001]), detects a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 13, Martin, teaches non-transitory, computer-readable medium comprising instructions which, when executed by the a computer device (110) of the a supply circuit (100) cause the computer to (The device also includes a (hardware- and/or software-based) control unit; Paragraph [0021] Line 1; a method and a device for supplying an electrical consumer of a vehicle from two separate supply units; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2; an energy supply device is described for a total electrical consumer and/or for a first electrical consumer. The total consumer and/or the first consumer are each equipped to provide a specific function, in particular for the operation of a (motor) vehicle; Paragraph [0012] Line 1-4; Fig. 1 an exemplary supply network of a vehicle. Fig. 2a and Fig. 2b each an exemplary device for supplying energy to partial consumers of a safety-relevant total electrical consumer of a vehicle; Paragraph [0040] Line 3-9), wherein the supply circuit [200] in Figure 2a comprises a first and a second supply source (The first subnetwork 110 can supply a first supply unit 114 (e.g. B. a battery and/or a DC/DC converter). Similarly, the second subnetwork 120 can supply a second supply unit 124 (e.g. B. a battery and/or a DC/DC converter); Paragraph [0044] Line 1-4) for supplying a first and a second consumer (Fig. 2a and Fig. 2b Each shows a device 200 for supplying energy to the partial consumers 211, 221, 212 of a (fault-tolerant) total consumer of a vehicle; Paragraph [0046] Line 1-5),
wherein the first supply source [114] is configured to provide a first supply voltage for the first consumer [212] (Furthermore, the total consumer can have a second sub-consumer 221, which is connected to the second sub-network 120 for energy supply. Furthermore, the total consumer may include another sub-consumer 212, which may also be connected to the first sub-network 110 and/or to the first supply unit 114; Paragraph [0046] Line 12-15) after the first supply source is switched on and to provide a third supply voltage [ for the connecting circuit [201] (The first partial consumer 211 can be coupled to the first supply unit 114 via a first switching element 201), wherein the third supply voltage (The first partial consumer 211 can therefore be temporarily coupled to both the first supply unit 114 (via the closed first switching element 201) and the second supply unit 124 (via the closed second switching element 202); Paragraph [0064] Line 7-9) can also be provided to the second consumer [221] by means of the connecting circuit [201],
wherein the second supply source (104) is configured to provide a second supply voltage for the second consumer [221] after the second supply source [124] is switched on (For example, the total consumer can have a first sub-consumer 211, which is connected to
the first subnetwork 110 for energy supply via the switching element 201 and can be
connected to the second subnetwork 120 via the electrical elements 206, 205 and the
switching element 202 or via the switching element 203; Paragraph [0046] Line 8-11);
wherein the connecting circuit (120) comprises a switching element and is configured to electrically connect the third supply voltage [124] to the second consumer [221] by closing the switching element [203, 202] and to disconnect the third supply voltage [124] from the second consumer [221] by opening the switching element (In normal operation, the first switching element 201 can be closed and the second and third switching elements 202, 203 can be open, so that the first partial consumer 211 (possibly alone) is supplied with electrical energy from the first supply unit 114 (and not from the second supply unit 124); Paragraph [0048] Line 1-4).
Martin fails to teach said method comprising the following steps: -determining an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer; diagnosing (550) the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) on the basis of the determined applied second supply voltage (UA1, UA2).
Bohne teaches the method according to the present invention for detecting the connection between an energy reservoir and the vehicle electrical system, preferably of a motor vehicle (Paragraph [0007] Line 2-5), said method comprising the following steps:
determine (520) an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on a second consumer (204); diagnose (550) the correct operation of a connecting circuit (120) based on the
determined applied second supply voltage (UA1, UA2), (Once the electrical system voltage U1 has reached the setpoint voltage Uset>Ug, preferably two different test criteria are ascertained. As the first test criterion, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 is detected with the aid of sensor (diagnosis B1). If sensor 12 is still available or is correctly connected to vehicle electrical system 11 and/or to energy reservoir 10, the current Is flowing through energy reservoir 10 can be used for diagnostic purposes. If the setpoint voltage Uset is regulated to be higher than the gassing voltage Ug, a charging current into energy reservoir 10 will become established. A current Is that is very much greater than zero (Is>>0) thus flows. This then indicates a correct operating state with none of the fault situations 31 to 35. If the current Is remains near zero, however (Is=0), then current flow is interrupted, indicating a conductor interruption. The first, third, and fourth fault situations 31, 33, 34 can be detected by diagnosing the current Is; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-17). The purpose of doing so is to recognize even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay, to detect correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system, to detect a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Martin in view of Bohne, because Bohne teaches diagnosing the correct operation of the connecting circuit recognizes even more fault situations reliably without a great deal of extra outlay (Paragraph [0003]), detects correct connection of at least one energy reservoir to a vehicle electrical system (Paragraph [0001]), to detect a compensating effect in the form of a current delivery or current draw (Paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 15, Martin teaches a supply circuit,
wherein the computer device (The device also includes a (hardware- and/or software-based) control unit; Paragraph [0021] Line 1) diagnoses the correct operation of the connecting circuit [201] without a direct physical connection between the computer device and the connecting circuit [201] (In normal operation, the first switching element 201 can be closed and the second and third switching elements 202, 203 can be open, so that the first partial consumer 211 possibly alone) is supplied with electrical energy from the first supply unit 114 (and not from the second supply unit 124); Paragraph [0048] Line 1-4; Therefore the computer device diagnoses the correct operation of the connecting circuit [201] without a direct physical connection between the computer device and the connecting circuit [201] as shown in Figure 2a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feldtkeller (US 20050017764 A1) discloses, “Drive Circuit For A Switch In A Switching Converter-[Abstract] The invention relates to a drive circuit for providing a drive signal (S3) for a switch in a switching converter in a manner dependent on a control signal (S2), the drive circuit comprising at least two groups (22, 30) of circuit components, each group having at least one circuit component, and the circuit components being coupled to one another and designed to provide the drive signal (S3) from the control signal (S2). In this case, voltage is supplied to the circuit components of the first group by means of the control signal, while voltage is supplied to the circuit components of the second group (30) by means of a supply voltage at a supply terminal (K2). [0036] FIG. 2 schematically shows a first exemplary embodiment of a drive circuit according to the invention in a switched-mode power supply, in which case, for a better understanding of the use of such a drive circuit in a switched-mode power supply, input and output terminals and also input and output signals of the drive circuit in accordance with FIG. 2 are designated in a manner corresponding to the input and output terminals and input and output signals of the drive circuit 12 in accordance with FIG. 1. [0038] The drive circuit contains two groups of circuit components, which are illustrated schematically in FIG. 2 by blocks bearing the reference symbols 22 and 30. Said circuit components are coupled to one another and designed to provide the drive signal S3 from a control signal S50 derived from the control signal S2. The connection which is illustrated in FIG. 2 between the circuit groups 22, 30 merely schematically illustrates the coupling of the circuit components assigned to the individual circuit groups 22, 30. [0039] In the exemplary embodiment, a second voltage regulator 21 is connected to the internal voltage supply node N1 and provides, from the supply voltage V1, a regulated supply voltage V2 for supplying voltage to the circuit components of the second group 22. [0040] In the exemplary embodiment, the second group of circuit components 30 is assigned a third voltage regulator 31, which is connected to the supply terminal K2 and provides a regulated supply voltage V3 for some of the circuit components of the second group 30, which are jointly designated by the reference symbol 32 in FIG. 2. Other circuit components of said second group 30, which are jointly designated by the reference symbol 33, are directly connected to the supply terminal K2. The circuit components which are directly connected to the supply terminal K2 comprise for example a driver circuit serving to convert a logic signal S32, which is generated in the drive circuit and according to which the switch (reference symbol T in FIG. 1) is to be closed and opened, to a potential suitable for driving the switch, for example a MOSFET-However Feldtkeller does not disclose wherein the supply circuit (100) comprises a computer device (110), and wherein the computer device (110) is configured to determine an applied second supply voltage (UA2) on the second consumer (204), and to diagnose the correct operation of the connecting circuit (120) based on the determined applied second supply voltage (UA2).”
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858