Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence on 02/05/2026. Applicant’s argument, filed on 02/05/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, 14, 16, 19, 24, 27, 29, 31-32, 35-38 and 40-43 are pending.
Double patenting rejection is withdrawn based on the claim amendments submitted on 02/05/2026
The is a 371 application filed on 06/13/2024 claiming priority to PCT/EP2022/086284 filed on 12/16/2022. Claimed foreign priority to EP 21306890.1 filed on 12/21/2021. The certified copy of priority has been filed on 06/13/2024.
Response to Arguments
Based on the applicant’s arguments in the response being moot no arguments are presented.
Examiner’s Note
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 14 refer to "A method for video decoding”, Claims 16, 19, 24, 27 and 29 refer to "A method for video encoding”, Claims 31, and 34-38 refer to "An apparatus for video decoding”, and Claims 32, and 39-43 refer to "An apparatus for video encoding”. Claims 16, 19, 24, 27, 29, 31-32, 35-38 and 40-43 are similarly rejected in light of rejection of claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 14, any obvious combination of the rejection of claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 14, or the differences are obvious to the ordinary skill in the art. It is well known in the art that encoding and decoding are reverse processes of video coding method/system. It is requested to keep the scope of all the independent claims similar for advancing the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (US 20220321886 A1), hereinafter Schwarz, in view of Tamse et al. (US 20240298002 A1), hereinafter Tamse, further in view of Chujoh (US 20060133481 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Schawrz discloses a method for video decoding, the method comprising (Abstract): determine a prediction type for a block in the video ([0002]); determining states used in a dependent quantization for a block of quantized coefficients (Fig. 8 and 10); and obtaining a block of coefficients by applying an inverse dependent quantization with the determined states to the block of quantized coefficients (Fig. 13).
Schawrz discloses all the elements of claim 1 but Schawrz does not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section determining a number of states.
However, Tamse from the same or similar endeavor teaches determining a number of states ([0173], [0268]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schawrz to incorporate the teachings of Tamse to improve efficiency (Tamse, [0174]). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Schawrz in view of Tamse discloses all the elements of claim 1 but they do not appear to explicitly disclose in the cited section wherein the determined number of states is based on the determined prediction type.
However, Chujoh from the same or similar endeavor teaches wherein the determined number of states is based on the determined prediction type ([0010]-[0014], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schawrz in view of Tamse to incorporate the teachings of Chujoh to reduce computational complexity (Chujoh, Abstract). Similar reasoning/motivation of modification can be applied/extended to the other related/dependent claims.
Regarding claim 4, Schawrz in view of Tamse discloses the method of claim 1-,further comprising: wherein the number of states used in the dependent quantization is based on an indicator of a scan position of a last significant coefficient in the block of coefficients; and determining an indicator of a number of coded coefficients in the block of coefficients based on the indicator of the scan position of the last significant coefficient (Schawrz, [0224]-[0228]).
Regarding claim 9, Schawrz in view of Tamse discloses the method of claim 1,further comprising determining wherein the number of states used in the dependent quantization is based on (Schawrz, [0224]-[0228], Tamse, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 12, Schawrz in view of Tamse discloses the method of claim 1,further comprising determining wherein the number of states used in the dependent quantization is based on a quantization parameter (Schawrz, [0224]-[0228], [0238]-[0244], Tamse, Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 14, Schawrz in view of Tamse discloses the method of claim 1,further comprising determining wherein the number of states used in the dependent quantization is based on a size of transform (It is obvious to the ordinary skill in the art).
Regarding claim 16, 19, 24, 27, 29, 31-32, 35-38 and 40-43, please check Examiner’s note.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mohammad J Rahman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487