DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I: Claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenspan et al. (US 6,756,060).
With respect to Claim 1, Greenspan teaches a wound dressing (Column 3, Lines 1-3; Column 15, Line 29), comprising: a conformable matrix, comprising: collagen, bioactive glass; and an additive comprising at least one of cellulose or alginate (Column 3, Lines 1-3; Column 6, Lines 46-48; Column 7, Lines 18-42).
With respect to Claim 4, the examiner notes that claim 1 requires either cellulose or alginate, and therefore alginate is not necessarily required by the claims. Greenspan teaches that the additive comprises cellulose (see the rejection above; Column 7, Lines 31-42). However, it is noted that Greenspan further teaches that alginate may be included in the conformable matrix (Column 12, Lines 42-44).
With respect to Claims 6 and 8, Greenspan teaches that the conformable matrix may comprise a gel, sponge, scaffold, or sheet/film (C(column 6, Lines 48-48; Column 7, Lines 18-37) and be disposed in or within a carrier, such that the matrix is disposed on a wound dressing (Column 7, Lines 18-37; Column 15, Line 29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Greenspan
With respect to Claim 7, Greenspan teaches that the conformable matrix may have a pH greater than 7.3, thereby preventing bacteria growth and reducing inflammation (Column 3, Lines 39-45; Column 8, Lines 42-52; Column 8, Lines 55-64; Column 9, Lines 35-46; Column 13, Lines 6-22; Column 14, Lines 30-63).
However, in the event that this interpretation is not clearly envisaged by Applicant, Greenspan clearly suggests that the addition of bioactive glass reduces inflammation (Column 7, Lines 9-17) and prevents bacterial growth by increasing the pH level (Column 3, Lines 39-45; Column 8, Lines 42-52; Column 8, Lines 55-64; Column 9, Lines 35-46; Column 13, Lines 6-22; Column 14, Lines 30-63). For example, Greenspan suggests that a pH of 7.6 is effective as an anti-bacterial solution (Column 9, Lines 38-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to provide bioactive glass in a quantity that raises the pH above 7.3 (for example to a level such as 7.6), as suggested by Greenspan, in order to provide a well-known means for reducing inflammation and preventing bacteria growth in the wound dressing.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenspan in view of Kenny (US 2018/0325740).
With respect to Claims 2 and 3, Greenspan teaches that the wound dressing comprises cellulose (Column 7, Lines 31-42), but is silent to the specific type of cellulose used. Greenspan, therefore, does not specifically teach the use of oxidized cellulose (Claim 2), or more specifically, oxidized regenerated cellulose (Claim 3).
However, oxidized regenerated cellulose is an extremely well-known type of cellulose for use in a wound dressing. For example, Kenny teaches a wound dressing (paragraphs [0001], [0020], [0025] and [0056]) comprising collagen and cellulose (paragraphs [0029], [0099], and [0101]). Specifically, the cellulose may be chosen from a variety of art-established cellulose materials, including oxidized regenerated cellulose (paragraphs [0029], [0099], and [0101]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Greenspan’s wound dressing to use oxidized regenerated cellulose as the cellulose material, as suggested by Kenny, in order to provide a well-known cellulose material for use in a wound dressing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenspan in view of McCarthy et al. (US 2009/0130186).
With respect to Claim 5, Greenspan teaches the wound dressing for use with wounds or burns of claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the conformable matrix further comprises glycerol.
McCarthy teaches a wound dressing for use treating a wound or burn (paragraph [0002]), wherein inclusion of Glycerol in the matrix provides increased absorption and swelling [0085]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify Greenspan’s wound dressing to include glycerol in the conformable matrix, as suggested by McCarthy, in order to increase absorption and swelling capacity of the dressing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Day (US 2006/0233887) teaches a wound dressing comprising a conformable matrix of collagen, bioactive glass, and cellulose or alginate.
Banker (US 5,780,618) teaches an oxidized cellulose material used to form films, gels, or carriers.
/PHILIP R WIEST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781