DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0002920, filed on 01/07/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1- 13 and 15 are pending and claims 14 and 16-17 are canceled according to preliminary claim amendment filed on 06/13/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. US20240313900A1, hereinafter Choi, (Choi et al. KR 10-2021-0192886 filed 12/30/2021, hereinafter Choi’886).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
(Choi: Summary and para. [0512-0515] and FIG. 19 , a terminal may include a transceiver which refers to a terminal receiver 1900 and a terminal transmitter 1910, a memory, and a terminal processor 1905. According to the communication method of the terminal described above, the transceiver 1900 or 1910, the memory, and the terminal processor 1905 of the terminal may operate. Para. [0515] memory may store a program and data necessary for operation of the terminal)
receiving configuration information on a serving cell for configuring a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Choi: para. [0306] configuring the number of HARQ processes for BWPs having different subcarrier spacings (SCSs) or different BWPs of one serving cell. Choi’886: para. [0008 & 0037-0038])
in which different numbers of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes are set;
(Choi: para. [0497] terminal may receive first information from the base station, in S1810. That is, the base station may transmit the first information to the terminal. The first information may be information for configuring the number of HARQ processes associated with a PDSCH. Choi’886: para. [0336-0357])
receiving at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the serving cell; and
(Choi: para. [0502-0503] terminal may receive a PDSCH, based on the first BWP or the second BWP, in S1840 of Fig. 18. Choi’886: para. [0406])
transmitting HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH,
(Choi: para. [0504] terminal may generate an HARQ-ACK codebook for the received PDSCH, and transmit information including the HARQ-ACK codebook to the base station through an uplink channel. Choi’886: para. [0407])
wherein, based on a specific HARQ-ACK codebook scheme being indicated to the UE,
(Choi: para. [0371] terminal may receive DCI 1520 indicating transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in the downlink serving cell 1500. The terminal may receive, from the DCI, an indication of a PUCCH 1521 resource for transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The terminal may transmit the 8-bit Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook on the PUCCH resource, and para. [0450]. Choi’886: para. [0388-0389])
the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on a specific number of HARQ processes for the plurality of BWPs
(Choi: para. [0327] when nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH is a value that is not greater than 16 (e.g., n2, n4, n6, n10, n12, or n16), a value indicated in nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH may be used as the number of HARQ processes in all BWPs. Choi’886: para. [0358])
or
a number of HARQ processes for a specific BWP among the plurality of BWPs.
(Choi: para. [0308-0312] number of HARQ processes may be configured for each BWP. Choi’886: para. [0009 & 0352])
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the specific HARQ-ACK codebook scheme is indicated by downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the at least one PDSCH.
(Choi: para. [0502-0503] terminal may receive a PDSCH, based on the first BWP or the second BWP, in S1840 of Fig. 18. para. [0503] base station may transmit the PDSCH to the terminal. For example, PDSCH may be scheduled by the DCI. Choi’886: para. [0406])
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting capability information on a maximum number (UE capability of X HARQ processes) of HARQ processes supported by the UE,
(Choi: para. [0325-0327] BWP having a subcarrier spacing other than 480 kHz or 960 kHz may use a smaller value among nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH and X (e.g., min(nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH, X)) as the number of HARQ processes. Here, X is the number of HARQ processes that the terminal may use in the BWP. For example, X may be 16. For another example, the X value may be a value reported as UE capability (corresponds to claim limitation “maximum number of HARQ processes”) by the terminal to the base station. Choi’886: para. [0356-0358])
wherein a number of different HARQ processes set in the plurality of BWPs is set based on the maximum number of HARQ processes. (Choi: para. [0327] when nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH is a value that is not greater than 16 (e.g., n2, n4, n6, n10, n12, or n16), a value indicated in nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH may be used as the number of HARQ processes in all BWPs. Choi’886: para. [0356-0358])
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, based on the HARQ-ACK information being determined based on the specific number of HARQ processes, the HARQ-ACK information includes ACK information
(Choi: para. [0386-0388] terminal may be configured with enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission. For example, when index 0 is indicated in DCI 1620 for triggering enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission, an enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook 1621 to be transmitted by the terminal may include only HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {0, 1, 2, 3} and may not include HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {4, 5, 6, 7} from among 8 HARQ processes. For example, when index 1 is indicated in DCI 1630 for triggering enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission, an enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook 1631 to be transmitted by the terminal may include only HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {4, 5, 6, 7} and may not include HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {0, 1, 2, 3} from among 8 HARQ processes. Choi’886: para. [0425])
or negative ACK (NACK) information corresponding to HARQ process indexes according to the specific number of HARQ processes.
(Choi: para. [0411-0412] If a PDSCH received by the terminal corresponds to CBG-based transmission, but the product of the number of CBGs and the number of TBs is smaller than Nmax, bits corresponding to preceding CBG numbers in the first half of Nmax bits among the Nmax bits include HARQ-ACK of as many CBGs as the number of CBGs of the first TB, and bits corresponding to preceding CBG numbers in the remaining half of Nmax bits among the Nmax bits include HARQ-ACK of as many CBGs as the number of CBGs of the second TB. Here, the remaining bits may be NACK (or 0). Choi’886: para. [0449])
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the specific BWP is an active BWP among the plurality of BWPs configured in the serving cell. (Choi: para. [0415] the terminal may determine a BWP activated at a specific time point, and may generate a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, based on the activated BWP. If the terminal determines the first BWP to be an active BWP, the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be generated based on first HARQ processes of the first BWP. If the terminal determines the second BWP to be an active BWP, the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be generated based on second HARQ processes of the second BWP. Choi’886: para. [0454])
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the specific BWP is one of a first activated BWP,
(Choi: para. [0415] the terminal may determine a BWP activated at a specific time point, and may generate a Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook, based on the activated BWP. If the terminal determines the first BWP to be an active BWP, the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be generated based on first HARQ processes of the first BWP. If the terminal determines the second BWP to be an active BWP, the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may be generated based on second HARQ processes of the second BWP. Choi’886: para. [0454])
an initial BWP,
(Choi: para. [0062] terminal before a radio resource control (RRC) connection may be configured with an initial bandwidth part (BWP) for initial access, by the base station via a master information block (MIB). Choi’886: para. [0040])
or
a default BWP for the serving cell. (Choi: para. [0398] some BWPs may include a default BWP. Choi’886: para. [0435])
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the specific BWP is configured or indicated to the UE through higher layer signaling in relation to determination of the HARQ-ACK information.
(Choi: para. [0061] base station may transfer the information to the terminal via higher-layer signaling, for example, radio resource control (RRC) signaling. At least one bandwidth part among the configured one or multiple bandwidth parts may be activated. Whether the configured bandwidth part is active may be transferred from the base station to the terminal in a semi-static manner via RRC signaling or may be dynamically transferred via downlink control information (DCI). Choi’886: para. [0080 & 0087])
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the HARQ-ACK information includes ACK information or NACK information (Choi: para. [0411-0412] If a PDSCH received by the terminal corresponds to CBG-based transmission, but the product of the number of CBGs and the number of TBs is smaller than Nmax, bits corresponding to preceding CBG numbers in the first half of Nmax bits among the Nmax bits include HARQ-ACK of as many CBGs as the number of CBGs of the first TB, and bits corresponding to preceding CBG numbers in the remaining half of Nmax bits among the Nmax bits include HARQ-ACK of as many CBGs as the number of CBGs of the second TB. Here, the remaining bits may be NACK (or 0). Choi’886: para. [0406]) corresponding to one or more HARQ process indexes included in a specific entry,
(Choi: para. [0386-0388] terminal may be configured with enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission. For example, when index 0 is indicated in DCI 1620 for triggering enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission, an enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook 1621 to be transmitted by the terminal may include only HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {0, 1, 2, 3} and may not include HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {4, 5, 6, 7} from among 8 HARQ processes. For example, when index 1 is indicated in DCI 1630 for triggering enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook transmission, an enhanced Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook 1631 to be transmitted by the terminal may include only HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {4, 5, 6, 7} and may not include HARQ-ACK information for HARQ processes of {0, 1, 2, 3} from among 8 HARQ processes. Choi’886: para. [0425])
and
wherein a candidate entry group for indicating the specific entry is respectively configured for a plurality of BWPs for which the different numbers of HARQ processes are set. (Choi: para. [0308-0312] number of HARQ processes may be configured for each BWP. Choi’886: para. [0009 & 0352])
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the specific entry is indicated by a DCI scheduling the at least one PDSCH. (Choi: para. [0497] terminal may receive first information from the base station, in S1810. That is, the base station may transmit the first information to the terminal. The first information may be information for configuring the number of HARQ processes associated with a PDSCH. Choi’886: para. [0336-0357])
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the DCI scheduling the at least one PDSCH includes a field (Choi: para. [0497] terminal may receive first information from the base station, in S1810. That is, the base station may transmit the first information to the terminal. The first information may be information for configuring the number of HARQ processes associated with a PDSCH. Choi’886: para. [0336-0357]) indicating a HARQ process number, and (Choi: para. [0497] terminal may receive first information from the base station, in S1810. That is, the base station may transmit the first information to the terminal. The first information may be information for configuring the number of HARQ processes associated with a PDSCH. Choi’886: para. [0336-0357])
wherein a number of bits of the field is based on the specific number of HARQ processes or the number of HARQ processes for the specific BWP. (Choi: para. [0371] terminal may receive DCI 1520 indicating transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in the downlink serving cell 1500. The terminal may receive, from the DCI, an indication of a PUCCH 1521 resource for transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The terminal may transmit the 8-bit Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook on the PUCCH resource, and para. [0450]. Choi’886: para. [0388-0389])
Regarding claim 13, Choi teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to: (Choi: Summary and para. [0512-0515] and FIG. 19 , a terminal may include a transceiver which refers to a terminal receiver 1900 and a terminal transmitter 1910, a memory, and a terminal processor 1905. According to the communication method of the terminal described above, the transceiver 1900 or 1910, the memory, and the terminal processor 1905 of the terminal may operate. Para. [0515] memory may store a program and data necessary for operation of the terminal) and Choi teaches all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 13 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: (Choi: Summary, Fig. 20 and para. [0519] base station receiver 2030 and a base station transmitter 2010, a memory (not illustrated), and a base station processor 2005 (or a base station controller or processor). Para. [0520] memory may store a program and data necessary for operation of the base station. The memory may store control information or data included in a signal transmitted or received by the base station)
transmit configuration information on a serving cell for configuring a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs)
(Choi: para. [0306] configuring the number of HARQ processes for BWPs having different subcarrier spacings (SCSs) or different BWPs of one serving cell. Choi’886: para. [0008 & 0037-0038])
in which different numbers of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes are set;
(Choi: para. [0497] terminal may receive first information from the base station, in S1810. That is, the base station may transmit the first information to the terminal. The first information may be information for configuring the number of HARQ processes associated with a PDSCH. Choi’886: para. [0336-0357])
transmit at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) in the serving cell; and
(Choi: para. [0502-0503] terminal may receive a PDSCH, based on the first BWP or the second BWP, in S1840 of Fig. 18. Choi’886: para. [0406])
receive HARQ-ACK information for the at least one PDSCH,
(Choi: para. [0504] terminal may generate an HARQ-ACK codebook for the received PDSCH, and transmit information including the HARQ-ACK codebook to the base station through an uplink channel. Choi’886: para. [0407])
wherein, based on a specific HARQ-ACK codebook scheme being indicated to a user equipment,
(Choi: para. [0371] terminal may receive DCI 1520 indicating transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook in the downlink serving cell 1500. The terminal may receive, from the DCI, an indication of a PUCCH 1521 resource for transmission of the Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook. The terminal may transmit the 8-bit Type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook on the PUCCH resource, and para. [0450]. Choi’886: para. [0388-0389])
the HARQ-ACK information is determined based on a specific number of HARQ processes for the plurality of BWPs
(Choi: para. [0327] when nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH is a value that is not greater than 16 (e.g., n2, n4, n6, n10, n12, or n16), a value indicated in nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH may be used as the number of HARQ processes in all BWPs. Choi’886: para. [0358])
or
a number of HARQ processes for a specific BWP among the plurality of BWPs. (Choi: para. [0308-0312] number of HARQ processes may be configured for each BWP. Choi’886: para. [0009 & 0352])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Yang et al. US 20200358487 A1,hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the specific number of HARQ processes is a maximum number of HARQ processes (Choi: para. [0325-0327] BWP having a subcarrier spacing other than 480 kHz or 960 kHz may use a smaller value among nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH and X (e.g., min(nrofHARQ-ProcessesForPDSCH, X)) as the number of HARQ processes. Here, X is the number of HARQ processes that the terminal may use in the BWP. For example, X may be 16. For another example, the X value may be a value reported as UE capability (corresponds to claim limitation “maximum number of HARQ processes”) by the terminal to the base station. Choi’886: para. [0356-0358])
or
Choi does not explicitly teach: a minimum number of HARQ processes among numbers of HARQ processes set for the plurality of BWPs.
Yang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: a minimum number of HARQ processes among numbers of HARQ processes set for the plurality of BWPs.
(Yang: para. [0261] default value may be predefined as the minimum (or maximum) of values configurable as the number of DL HARQ processes) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Yang in the method of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for efficiently allocating PUCCH resources for an HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to reception of a plurality of DL data in a plurality of CCs, and transmitting the HARQ-ACK feedback, in the case where CA is configured between a plurality of CCs (and/or an A/N transmission delay is indicated dynamically) in an NR system (Yang: para. [0131]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Choi et al. WO2021187845A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D1 in PCT search report; translation provided for citation), hereinafter Choi’845.
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein, based on the HARQ-ACK information being determined based on the specific number of HARQ processes, (Choi: para. [0308-0312] number of HARQ processes may be configured for each BWP. Choi’886: para. [0009 & 0352])
Choi does not explicitly teach: the HARQ-ACK information includes NACK information corresponding to a HARQ process index excluding a HARQ process index for an active BWP among HARQ process indexes according to the specific number of HARQ processes.
Choi’845 from the same or similar fields of endeavor teach: the HARQ-ACK information includes NACK information corresponding to a HARQ process index excluding a HARQ process index for an active BWP among HARQ process indexes according to the specific number of HARQ processes. (Choi’845: para. [0157-0158] The type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may include HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to all HARQ process numbers. That is, the type-3 HARQ-ACK codebook may also include a HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to a HARQ process number not received by the UE. In this case, the HARQ-ACK bit corresponding to the HARQ process number not received by the UE may indicate NACK) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Choi’845 in the method of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for efficient ACK/NACK transmission is achieved by transmitting the ACK/NACK bit for downlink control information at a position set to transmit the ACK/NACK bit for the semi-persistent scheduling downlink shared channel (Choi’845: para. [0032 & 0205]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418