DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 30-44, and the species of a) ammonium bicarbonate and b) glutamic acid, in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all groups together would not impose a search or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because search burden is not a criteria for requiring a restriction under 371. The Examiner demonstrates that the distinct groups lacked unity of invention as the special technical feature of the groups did not make a contribution over the prior art, as such restriction is proper. Applicant traverses the species election as the Office has not established that the disclosed species for compound ii and iv fail to share a special technical features that defines a contribution over the prior art. This is not persuasive because the examiner established in the office action mailed 3/3/2026 that each compounds of ii and iv do not make contribution over the prior art as such unity between the species of compound ii and the species of compound iv lack unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 34, 40 and 45-49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected groups and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/27/2026.
Applicant states that claims 30-33 and 35-44 read on the elected species. The examiner has determined that claim 40 does not read on the elected species as it requires both a carbonate and bicarbonate system (i.e. a combination), however, Applicant elect ammonium bicarbonate (i.e. single species).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because there is only one figure and the drawing refers to it as "Fig. 1". However, 37 CFR 1.84(u)(I) indicates when there is only one drawing, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation FIG must not appear. Therefore, the figure must be referred to as The Figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 4 of the specification recites “Fig. 1” this should recite “The Figure”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 41 is objected to because of the following informalities: Structures 16 and 26 in claim 41 have added lines that seem out of place, for example, :
or
.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-33, 37-39, 42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the total amount of chemical oxidizing agent," however the claim from which this depends recites “at least one chemical oxidizing agent” this it’s unclear if the total amount is limited to one, more than one or all oxidizing agents of claim 1, or if it include any and all oxidizing agents present in the composition. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one chemical oxidizing agent is…” Claim 33 recites “the total amount of compound ii)” however the claim from which depends recites “at least one compound ii), this it’s unclear if the total amount is referring to the total amount of one, more than one or all compounds ii. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one compound ii)…”
Claim 37 and 38 recites “the total amount of silicate” however the claim from which depends recites “at least one silicate, this it’s unclear if the total amount is referring to the total amount of one, more than one or all silicates. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one silicate…”
Claims 38 and 39 recites the limitation "the weight". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 recites “the total amount of chemical oxidizing agent” however the claim from which depends recites “at least one chemical oxidizing agent, this it’s unclear if the total amount is referring to the total amount of one, more than one or all chemical oxidizing agent. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one chemical oxidizing agent is…”.
Claim 42 recites “the total amount of amphoteric or zwitterionic compound” however the claim from which depends recites “at least one amphoteric or zwitterionic compound, this it’s unclear if the total amount is referring to the total amount of one, more than one or all amphoteric or zwitterionic compound. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one amphoteric or zwitterionic compound …”.
Claim 44 recites “the total amount of coloring agent” however the claim from which depends recites “at least one coloring agent, this it’s unclear if the total amount is referring to the total amount of one, more than one or all coloring agent. For purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as reciting “the total amount of the at least one coloring agent …”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30-33, 36-37 and 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderheggen (US 2017/0340549), as evidenced by SciFinder. Anderheggen is cited on the 7/12/2024 IDS.
Anderheggen discloses a composition for oxidative hair lightening (title). The working examples teach a composition No.4 comprising a 1:2 mixture of a developer emulsion and a blonding powder formulation.
Regarding claim 30i and 31-32: The mixture comprises 3% hydrogen peroxide based on the total weight of the formulation.
Regarding claim 30iii and 36-37: The mixture comprises 12% sodium silicate (i.e. alkali metal silicate) based on the total weight of the formulation.
Regarding claim 30iv and 41-42: The mixture comprises .133% l-arginine (compound 12 as evidenced by SciFinder) based on the total weight of the formulation.
However, Example No 4 comprises 14% of persulfates (ammonium and potassium persulfate) as the oxidizing agent a of Anderheggen and not a carbonate as required by instant claim 30ii.
Anderheggen teaches that the oxidizing agent can be chosen from sodium percarbonates, ammonium peroxodisulfate (also known as ammonium persulfate), potassium peroxodisulfate (also known as potassium persulfate), etc. As such it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute the ammonium and potassium persulfate in example No. 4 with sodium percarbonate as its prima facie obvious to substitute one art recognized equivalent for another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 33: The above makes obvious a mixture comprising 14% sodium percarbonate.
Regarding claim 43: Anderheggen teaches the mixture of blonding powder and oxidation composition (i.e. composition comprising the hydrogen peroxide) to be prepared such that it has a pH in the range of 8-11.5 [0101].
Claim(s) 30-33 and 35-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolton (EP 1669107) and Anderheggen (US 2017/0340549). Bolton is cited on the 3/2/2026 IDS.
Bolton teaches an oxidative hair coloring and bleaching composition comprising an oxidizing agent, a source of carbonate ions, an alkalizing agent, preformed dyes at a pH of 9.5.
Regarding claims 30i and 31-32: Example 6 of Boltons thickened aqueous solution formulation (pg. 15) comprises 5.95% hydrogen peroxide.
Regarding claims 30ii and 33: Example 6 of Bolton comprises 8% ammonium carbonate.
Regarding claims 30iv and 41-42: Example 6 of Bolton comprises 6% glutamic acid (elected species).
Example 6 of Bolton comprises 0% persulfates, which reads on “less than 10%” which embraces 0%.
Regarding claim 30iv and 35: As noted above Example 6 of Bolton teaches ammonium carbonate, however Bolton teaches that the source of carbonate is preferably chosen from ammonium carbonate, ammonium hydrocarbonate and ammonium hydrogen carbonate (i.e. ammonium bicarbonate, elected species). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute the ammonium carbonate in example 6 with ammonium hydrogen carbonate as its prima facie obvious to substitute one art recognized equivalent for another with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 43: Example 6 of Bolton has a pH of 9.
Regarding claim 44: Example 6 of Bolton teaches the use of performed dyes, including HC yellow 2 (i.e. direct dye), in amounts greater than 0.1%, however, Bolton teaches that the performed dyes can be used in amounts ranging from 0.01-10 [0041], thus a skilled artisan would recognize that the amount of dye used in example 6 isn’t limited to the exemplified amounts but could be used in any of the taught ranges.
Bolton teaches the composition to comprise a source of alkalizing agent and this is used in amounts of 0.1-10%. However, Bolton does not teach the composition to comprise a silicate as recited by instant claims 30iii and 36-37.
Anderheggen discloses a composition for oxidative hair lightening (title). The working examples demonstrate compositions comprising hydrogen peroxide, carbonates and amino acids (i.e. arginine).
Anderheggen teaches the composition to comprise an inorganic alkalizing agent in an amounts of 1-60%, a preferred alkalizing agent is sodium metasilicate [0076].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bolton with those of Anderheggen. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to use 0.1-10% of sodium silicate as taught by Anderheggen as the alkalizing agent of Bolton as Anderheggen teaches that sodium silicate is a suitable alkalizing agent for use in composition comprising hydrogen peroxide, carbonates and amino acids and its prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition based on its recognized suitability in the prior art.
Regarding claim 38: The above makes obvious a composition comprising 8% of a bicarbonate and 0.1-10% sodium silicate, this results in a weight ratio of bicarbonate to silicate of 8:0.1-10, which overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 39: The above makes obvious a composition comprising 8% of a bicarbonate and 5.95% hydrogen peroxide, this results in a weight ratio of bicarbonate to silicate of 8:5.95, which overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Double Patenting
Claims 30-33, 35-39 and 41-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 31-49 of copending Application No. 18876564 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose compositions comprising an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide, an alkali metal silicate, an alkali metal bicarbonate and an amphoteric or zwitterionic compound such as glutamic acid. These are all present in overlapping amounts. The compositions also comprise less than 10% of persulfates.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 30-33, 35-39 and 41-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 31-48 of copending Application No. 18876572 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose compositions comprising an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide, an alkali metal silicate, an alkali metal bicarbonate and an amphoteric or zwitterionic compound such as glutamic acid. These are all present in overlapping amounts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 30-33, 35-39 and 41-44 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25-41 of copending Application No. 18876577 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose compositions comprising an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide, an alkali metal silicate, an alkali metal bicarbonate, coloring agent such as direct dye and an amphoteric or zwitterionic compound such as glutamic acid. These are all present in overlapping amounts. The compositions also comprise less than 10% of persulfates. The compositions also comprise less than 5% of persulfates and have overlapping pH.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 30-33, 35-39 and 41-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 31-50 of copending Application No. 18876432(reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose compositions comprising an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide, an alkali metal silicate, an alkali metal bicarbonate, coloring agent such as direct dye and an amphoteric or zwitterionic compound such as glutamic acid. These are all present in overlapping amounts. The compositions also comprise less than 10% of persulfates.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 30-33, 35-39 and 41-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 31-48 of copending Application No. 18876591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose compositions comprising an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide, an alkali metal silicate, an alkali metal bicarbonate, coloring agent such as direct dye and an amphoteric or zwitterionic compound such as glutamic acid. These are all present in overlapping amounts. The compositions also comprise less than 5% of persulfates.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613