DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on June 25, 2026.
No Claims have been amended.
No Claims have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 8 of the applicant’s arguments/remarks that Jactat does not disclose “the inactive state being associated with maintaining a registration management state, a connection management state, and beam information for the UE at the wireless communication network”.
Jactat discloses the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell paging (Page 4, lines 27-28). The above features are substantially the same the inactive state being associated with maintaining a registration management state, a connection management state, and beam information for the UE at the wireless communication network as claimed by the instant application.
Based on the above disclosures and others Jactat discloses the inactive state being associated with maintaining a registration management state, a connection management state, and beam information for the UE at the wireless communication network as claimed.
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that independent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jactat et al. (WO 2019/047958, hereinafter Jactat).
Regarding claims 1,23, Jactat discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)(Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a processor(page 16, lines 10-13); and
a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus(page 7, lines 24-29) to:
receiving, from a network device, an indication to enter an inactive state for radio resource control communications with a wireless communications network, the inactive state associated with maintaining a registration management state, a connection management state, and beam information for the UE at the wireless communications network(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-28,which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered);
entering the inactive state based at least in part on receiving the indication, wherein entering the inactive state comprises retaining the beam information at the UE(Page 4,line27 page 5,lines 5,which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered); and monitoring, within the inactive state, for one or more paging messages from the wireless communications network according to the beam information(Page 4,line 27 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-28,which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered).
Regarding claims 12,27, Jactat discloses method for wireless communication at a network device(Figs. 1-3), comprising:
a processor(page 16, lines 10-13); and
a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus(page 7, lines 24-29) to:
transmitting an indication for a user equipment (UE) to enter an inactive state for radio resource control communications with a wireless communications network, the inactive state associated with retaining beam information at the UE(Page 4, line 27, page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-28, which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered);
maintaining a registration management state, a connection management state, and the beam information for the UE at the wireless communications network based at least in part on transmitting the indication to enter the inactive state(Page 4,line 27 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-28,which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered); and
transmitting, for the UE in the inactive state, one or more paging messages according to the beam information(Page 4,line 27 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-28,which recites the UE is in an inactive or idle state then the UE is registered on a specific beam of a specific cell for paging.The UE is in transition from a connected state to an idle or inactive state the UE which is configured by a network to monitor a paging message on a registered beam shall store the last registered beam for paging monitoring and shall become beam registered).
Regarding claims 2,13,24, Jactat discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: changing from the inactive state to a second inactive state that is associated with maintaining the registration management state and the connection management state for the UE at the wireless communications network, wherein changing from the inactive state to the second inactive state comprises releasing the beam information at the UE(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 3,14, Jactat discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: determining a change in location of the UE or a change in a beam of the UE(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2); and transmitting, to the network device, an indication of the change in the location of the UE or the change in the beam of the UE based at least in part on determining the change in location or beam, wherein changing from the inactive state to the second inactive state is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the change in location or beam to the network device(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 4,15, Jactat discloses the method of claim 2, wherein changing from the inactive state to the second inactive state is based at least in part on a value of a timer associated with the inactive state(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 5,16,25,29, Jactat discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: changing from the second inactive state to an active state for radio resource control communications with the wireless communications network(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claim 6, Jactat discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: changing from the inactive state to an active state for radio resource control communications with the wireless communications network(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 7,26, Jactat discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving, after changing from the inactive state to the active state, a downlink transmission from the wireless communications network based at least in part on the beam information retained at the UE(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 8, 19, Jactat discloses the method of claim 1, wherein entering the inactive state is based at least in part on a movement state of the UE, a movement history of the UE, or any combination thereof(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 9,20, Jactat discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: transmitting, to the network device, a request to enter the inactive state based at least in part on the movement state of the UE, the movement history of the UE, or any combination thereof, wherein receiving the indication to enter the inactive state is based at least in part on transmitting the request to enter the inactive state(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 10,17,21, Jactat discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing a radio access network notification area update with the wireless communications network while in the inactive state(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2); and updating the beam information retained at the UE based at least in part on performing the radio access network notification area update(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claims 11, 18,22, Jactat discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the beam information comprises an indication of one or more downlink beams for paging the UE in the inactive state(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claim 28, Jactat discloses the apparatus of claim 27, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: update the UE from the inactive state to a second inactive state at the wireless communications network, wherein updating the UE from the inactive state to the second inactive state comprises releasing the beam information for the UE from the wireless communications network and maintaining the registration management state and the connection management state for the UE at the wireless communications network(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Regarding claim 30, Jactat discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, after updating the UE from the inactive state to the active state, a downlink transmission based at least in part on the beam information retained at the wireless communications network(Page4,line2 7 page 5,lines 5, page 13, lines 21-2).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418