Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 15, 30, 32, 34, 58, 66 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hajimiri (US-11128179-B2).
Regarding claims 1, 58, 66 and 74, Hajimiri discloses a small satellite, including:
a satellite body having a rectangular tile shape (satellite modules/102 1A to NM, Fig. 3), with a substantially flat front side having a length and width and being separated from a substantially parallel back side by a depth (spacer 118 in Fig. 4a), wherein the depth is equal to or less than a third of the length and the width;
an antenna array on the front side (transmitter 114/antenna, Fig. 4a); and
a solar array (at the back of each module 102, there is photo cell 113-solar array) including at least one solar panel extendable from the back side in a generally lateral direction.
support structure having a cross-like shape, the support structure including a plurality of support beams and a first connecting panel and a second connecting panel coupled to the plurality of support beams; (Some embodiments of movable elements are interrelated by hinges, such as, frictionless, latch able, ligament, and slippage hinges, among others. Some embodiments of structures are pre-stressed and/or provided with supportive frameworks to reduce out-of-plane macro- and micro-deformation of the lightweight structures, col. 7, lines 32-37)(a light weight yet supportive structure).
Regarding claim 2, Hajimiri discloses wherein the at least one solar panel is extendable from the back side in a direction generally parallel to a plane of the front side (see Fig. 3, satellite module 102 has one side with antenna and back side solar panel extendable at least horizontally).
Regarding claim 9, Hajimiri discloses wherein the solar array includes a solar panel fixed to the back side and wherein, in a non-extended position of the solar array, one solar panel faces away from the satellite body (solar panel is facing away from the satellite body/antenna since it is located at the back side).
Regarding claim 15, Hajimiri discloses wherein the antenna array covers substantially a whole of the front side (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 30, Hajimiri discloses wherein the satellite has a mass in the range of 5kg to 500kg (a 60×60 m satellite module would have a weight of 360 kg, col. 25, lines 15-16).
Regarding claim 32, Hajimiri discloses wherein the satellite is configured for deployment into low Earth orbit (Fig. 6e is for LEO).
Regarding claim 34, Hajimiri discloses providing the satellite of claim l as a payload to a satellite launch vehicle (satellite modules are compactable such that the size of the satellite module in one or more dimensions may be reduced during delivery to overcome payload space constraints and then expanded into its final operating configuration, col. 25. Lines 20-24).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 7,11,16, 21-22, 26-27, 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARRY K LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Tel: (571) 270-1338
Fax: (571) 270-2338
Email: harry.liu@uspto.gov