DETAILED ACTION
SEMICONDUCTOR CRYSTAL WAFER MANUFACTURING DEVICE AND MANUFACTURING
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because
Figures 2-5 show solid black shading areas are not permitted except when used to represent bar graphs or color. See 37 CFR 1.84(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita (JPH11348031A) cited in IDS in view of Shinsuke (JP 2004079976 A) cited iDS and Takahashi (US20180085969A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tomita teaches a groove machining drum grindstone (21, figure 2) configured for forming a plurality of grooves (12, figure 1) surrounding an entire side surface of said semiconductor crystal ingot, wherein a plurality of portions corresponding to the plurality of grooves are formed on a side surface of the groove machining drum grindstone (“The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”);
a polishing pad (42, figure 5) being cylindrical (figure 5) and configured for polishing the plurality of concave grooves, wherein a plurality of pad grooves (43, figure 5) corresponding to said plurality portions are formed on an entire side surface of the polishing pad (“annular grooves 43 having a cross-sectional shape corresponding to the annular protrusion 12 are provided on the outer peripheral surface of the polishing pad 42”); and a wire saw (“The slicing machine may be a wire saw “) for revolving a plurality of wires arranged in said plurality grooves while advancing the plurality of wires, thereby cutting said semiconductor crystal ingot into slices (“plane becomes a predetermined plane, as shown in FIG. By cutting the block 14, a plurality of wafers 18 are cut out of the block 14”).
Tomita fails to disclose that groove machining drum grindstone is configured for forming a plurality concave grooves, and corresponding portions are convex portions, and an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin for revolving the plurality of wires is formed with bobbin grooves corresponding to said plurality of convex portions.
Shinsuke teaches a method of manufacturing semiconductor wafer (abstract) that includes grinding step that forms a plurality of annular concave grooves (2,figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have that groove machining drum grindstone is configured for forming a plurality concave grooves based on the teachings of Shinsuke. This modification would help to improve the productivity of a method of manufacturing a semiconductor wafer, and provide ultra-high prevision uniformity. (see npl pages 1-6 of Shinsuke)
Takahasi teaches ingot cutting apparatus (abstract) that includes wire saw bobbin (22a-22b, figure 1), and an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin (22a-22b, figure 1) for revolving the plurality of wires (3, figure 1) is formed with bobbin grooves corresponding (para 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin for revolving the plurality of wires is formed with bobbin grooves based on the teachings of Takahasi. This modification would help toimprove the wire saw used and ensure the wire does become significantly bent or broken (see para 0006-0031 of Takahasi)
Tomita as modified by Shinsuke and Takahashi teaches configured for forming a plurality of concave grooves (Shinsuke 2, figure 2) surrounding an entire side surface of said semiconductor crystal ingot, wherein a plurality of convex portions corresponding (Tomita discloses “The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”);to the plurality of concave grooves are formed on a side surface of the groove machining drum grindstone pad grooves corresponding to said plurality of convex portions revolving the plurality of wires (Takahashi 22a-22b, figure 1 and 3, figure 1; para 0031) is formed with bobbin grooves corresponding to said plurality of convex portions.
Regarding claim 3, Tomita teaches a groove machining step (21, figure 2) for forming a plurality of grooves (12, figure 1) surrounding an entire side surface of said semiconductor crystal ingot (“The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”); and
a cutting step for revolving wire (“The slicing machine may be a wire saw “) arranged in the plurality of grooves formed in said groove machining step while advancing the plurality of wires, thereby cutting said semiconductor crystal ingot into slices (“plane becomes a predetermined plane, as shown in FIG. By cutting the block 14, a plurality of wafers 18 are cut out of the block 14”);
the method performing the following steps before said groove machining step:
a pad groove formation step for forming a plurality of pad grooves (43, figure 5) corresponding to the plurality of convex portions on an entire side surface of a cylindrical polishing pad by using a groove machining drum grindstone, wherein a plurality of portions corresponding to said plurality of grooves are formed on a side surface of the groove machining drum grindstone, wherein the groove machining drum grindstone is used by being pressed against (figures 1-6) the semiconductor crystal ingot in said groove machining step, and the polishing pad is used to polish (“annular grooves 43 having a cross-sectional shape corresponding to the annular protrusion 12 are provided on the outer peripheral surface of the polishing pad 42”); said plurality of grooves formed by the groove machining step; and by using the groove machining drum grindstone to be used by being pressed against the semiconductor crystal ingot in said groove machining step;
wherein, in said groove machining step, said groove machining drum grindstone (“The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”); is pressed against said semiconductor crystal ingot while the groove machining drum grindstone and the semiconductor crystal ingot respectively rotating on rotation shafts parallel to each other, thereby forming the concave grooves, and the polishing pad (42, figure 5) which is formed with the pad grooves by said pad groove formation step, is pressed against said semiconductor crystal ingot (see figure 5) while the polishing pad and the semiconductor crystal ingot respectively rotating on rotation shafts parallel to each other, thereby polishing the grooves;
in said cutting step, said semiconductor crystal ingot is cut into slices by a wire saw (“The slicing machine may be a wire saw and plane becomes a predetermined plane, as shown in FIG. By cutting the block 14, a plurality of wafers 18 are cut out of the block 14”)
Tomita fails to disclose, the step for revolving a plurality of wires arranged in the plurality of concave grooves formed in said groove machining step while; wherein a plurality of convex portions corresponding to said plurality of concave grooves said plurality of concave grooves formed by the groove machining step; and bobbin grooves corresponding to said plurality of convex portions on an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin which revolves the plurality of wires and is used in said cutting step having wires respectively arranged in the plurality of bobbin grooves formed by said bobbin groove formation step.
Shinsuke teaches a method of manufacturing semiconductor wafer (abstract) that includes teaches a groove machining step for forming a plurality of concave grooves for forming. (2,figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have that includes a groove machining step for forming a plurality of concave grooves for forming based on the teachings of Shinsuke. This modification would help to improve the productivity of a method of manufacturing a semiconductor wafer, and provide ultra-high prevision uniformity. (see npl pages 1-6 of Shinsuke)
Takahasi teaches ingot cutting apparatus (abstract) that includes a cutting step for revolving a plurality of wires (3, figure 1) a bobbin groove (22a-22b, figure 1) formation step for forming bobbin grooves (22a-22b, figure 1) on an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin (22a-22b, figure 1) which revolves the plurality of wires (3, figure 1) and is used in said cutting step having wires respectively arranged in the plurality of bobbin grooves formed by said bobbin groove formation step. (para 0006-0031)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have that includes a cutting step for revolving a plurality of wires a bobbin groove formation step for forming bobbin grooves on an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin which revolves the plurality of wires and is used in said cutting step having wires respectively arranged in the plurality of bobbin grooves formed by said bobbin groove formation step. based on the teachings of Takahasi. This modification would help to improve the wire saw used and ensure the wire does become significantly bent or broken. (see para 0006-0031) of Takahashi)
Further, modified Tomita as Shinsukae and Takahashi teaches a cutting step for revolving a plurality of wires arranged(Takahashi 22a-22b, figure 1 and 3, figure 1; para 0031) in the plurality of concave grooves (Shinsuke 2, figure 2) formed in said groove machining step while; wherein a plurality of convex portions corresponding (Tomita discloses “The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”)to said plurality of concave grooves(Takahashi 22a-22b, figure 1 and 3, figure 1; para 0031).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tomita teaches in said pad groove formation step (see Tomita figure 5), said groove machining drum grindstone (see Tomita “The grinding roll 21 has a configuration in which a predetermined number of grinding disks 22, 22,... Are connected in the axial direction and integrated, and the central axis thereof is parallel to the rotation center line of the block 11. Each grinding disk 22 is a grooved disk provided with an annular groove having a sectional shape corresponding to the annular convex portion 12”) is pressed against an entire side surface of a cylindrical pad groove machining grindstone to form pad machining grooves (see Tomita 43, figure 5) corresponding to said plurality of convex portions, and said pad groove machining grindstone, in which said pad machining grooves are formed, is pressed against the entire side surface of said polishing pad to form a plurality of pad grooves corresponding to said plurality of convex portions (see Tomita figures 1-7).
Claim(s) 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomita (JPH11348031A) cited in IDS in view of Shinsuke (JP 2004079976 A) cited iDS and Takahashi (US20180085969A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3 further in view Lin (CN105437013A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Tomita teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach a pair of protective plates for protecting both end surfaces of the semiconductor crystal ingot at least when the plurality of concave grooves surrounding the entire side surface of the semiconductor crystal ingot are formed by said groove machining drum grindstone.
Lin teaches glass processing protecting device for glass processing filed that includes protection plates (2, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have that includes a cutting step for revolving a plurality of wires a bobbin groove formation step for forming bobbin grooves on an entire side surface of a wire saw bobbin which revolves the plurality of wires and is used in said cutting step having wires respectively arranged in the plurality of bobbin grooves formed by said bobbin groove formation step based on the teachings of Lin. This modification would help to improve to help reduce breakage. (see pages 2-4 of npl Lin).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tomita teaches all limitations stated above, but fails to teach wherein said semiconductor crystal ingot is rotatably supported through a pair of protective plates that protect both end surfaces of the semiconductor crystal ingot at least during said groove machining step.
Lin teaches glass processing protecting device for glass processing filed that includes protection plates (2, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Tomita to have that wherein said semiconductor crystal ingot is rotatably supported through a pair of protective plates that protect both end surfaces of the semiconductor crystal ingot at least during said groove machining step based on the teachings of Lin. This modification would help to improve to help reduce breakage. (see pages 2-4 of npl Lin).
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723