DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the side of the support" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, it is unclear what the applicant is referring regarding “the side of the support” as the support contains multiple sides.
Claims 2-15 are rejected due to depending on claim 1.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " the side of the third surfaces" in lines 6-7. Further, it is unclear what the applicant is referring regarding “the side the third surfaces” as the independent claim 1, only refers to one third surface and there is nothing that suggest the third surface has multiple sides within the claims or specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusunoki et al. (US 2020/0403028 A1; hereinafter “Kusunoki”).
In regard to claim 1, Kusunoki teaches a display screen (a display device 100H) (Fig. 9B and paragraph 156), comprising:
a support (a protective layer 102, a substrate 191, and a portion of adhesive layer 192 not over a coloring layer CFR function as the support) comprising first and second opposite surfaces (a top and bottom surface) and holes on the first surface (a hole in the adhesive layer containing a coloring layer CFR and a color conversion layer CCMR is shown on the top surface of the substrate in Fig. 9B) (Fig . 9B, paragraphs 177 and 179);
photoluminescent blocks (color conversion layer CCMR) in at least part of the holes (Fig. 9B and 177);
a glue layer (the portion of the adhesive layer 192 over coloring layer CFR) covering the first surface (the top surface of the substrate is shown covered by the adhesive layer in Fig. 9B) (Fig. 9B and paragraph 175);
display sub-pixels (pixels containing light-emitting diodes 110a and 110b) bonded to the support by the glue layer (the adhesive layer is shown between the light-emitting diodes 110a and 110b and the top surface of the substrate 191) (Fig. 9B and paragraphs 61), each display sub- pixel comprising third and fourth opposite surfaces (a bottom of semiconductor layer 113 and top surface of conductive layers 118a and 118b) (Fig. 9B and paragraphs 70 and 162), the third surface being on the side of the support (the bottom surface of the semiconductor layer 113 is shown towards the substrate), and electrically-conductive pads (conductive layers 118a and 118b) exposed on the fourth surface (the top surfaces of the conductive layers 118a and 118b are exposed on the top of the light-emitting diodes 110a and 110b) (Fig. 8A, Fig. 9B and paragraph 162);
a filling layer (an insulating layer 104) covering the first surface between the display sub-pixels (the insulating layer 104 is shown covering the top surface of the substrate 191 in Fig. 9B) (Fig. 8A, Fig. 9B and paragraph 161); and
electrically-conductive tracks (electrodes 112 and 116 ) extending on the filling layer and on the fourth surfaces of the display sub-pixels in electrical and mechanical contact with the electrically- conductive pads (the electrodes 112 and 116 are provided over the insulating layer 104, and the conductive layers 118a and 118b functions as plugs for the electrode 112 and the electrode 116) (Fig. 8A, Fig.9B and paragraph 163).
In regard to claim 2, Kusunoki teaches wherein each display sub-pixel comprises light-emitting diodes (LED) (a semiconductor layer 113, a light-emitting layer 114, a semiconductor layer 115 functions as the light emitting diode) (Fig. 9B and paragraph 70), closer to the third surface than to the fourth surface (the semiconductor layer 113, light-emitting layer 114, and semiconductor layer 115 is shown close to the bottom surface of the semiconductor layer 113 in Fig. 9B).
In regard to claim 3, Kusunoki teaches wherein each display sub-pixel comprises a stack of a first electronic circuit (an electrode 112 and an electrode 116 and components of the light emitting diode that are contacted) comprising the light-emitting diodes (LED) and of a second electronic circuit (transistors 120a and 120b) comprising electronic components configured to control the light-emitting diodes (Fig. 8A, Fig. 9B and paragraphs 70, 80 and 132).
In regard to claim 6, Kusunoki teaches the display screen according to claim 1, comprising blocks (a coloring layer CFB) of a material scattering the radiation emitted by the display sub-pixels in at least another portion of the holes (a coloring layer CFB can be provided over the light-emitting diode 110b) (paragraphs 128 and 183).
In regard to claim 7, Kusunoki teaches wherein the support comprises a base (the substrate 191) transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks covered with a second layer containing the holes (the substrate 191 is transparent due to the device being bottom emitting while the adhesive layer 192 layer is shown over the substrate 191 containing the hole) (Fig. 9B).
In regard to claim 12, Kusunoki teaches for the holes containing the photoluminescent blocks , a color filter layer (a coloring layer CFR) interposed between the photoluminescent blocks (color conversion layer CCR) and the bottoms of the holes (the color conversion layer CCR is shown above the coloring layer CFR in Fig. 9B) (Fig. 9B and paragraph 179).
In regard to claim 13, Kusunoki teaches herein the photoluminescent blocks contain quantum dots (the color conversion layer contains quantum dots) (paragraph 114).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki as applied to claims 1 or 7 above, in view of Kuo (US 2020/0083198 A1).
In regard to claim 4, Kusunoki doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the filling layer is reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks.
Kuo teaches a display screen (a display device 10) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 30), wherein a filling layer (second insulating layer 306) is reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels (a light-emitting unit 200) and the photoluminescent blocks (a light conversion layer 302) (Fig 9 and paragraphs 38 and 69).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Kuo to have the filling layer reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks since this is known to allow for increased light conversion efficiency within the device as taught by (Kuo paragraph 77).
In regard to claim 9, Kusunoki doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising, between the base and the second layer, a third layer transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks and having a refraction index smaller than 2.
Kuo teaches between a base (a second substrate 102b) and a second layer (second insulating layer 306) (Fig. 9 and paragraphs 55-56), a third layer (second spacer layer 318) transparent to the radiations emitted by display sub-pixels (a light-emitting unit 200) and photoluminescent blocks (light conversion layer 302) and having a refraction index smaller than 2 (the second spacer layer 318 may be transparent with a refractive coefficient may be less than 1.5) (Fig. 9 and paragraphs 38, 85).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Kuo to have , between the base and the second layer, a third layer transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks and having a refraction index smaller than 2 since this allows the device to have better light conversion efficiency by reflecting light towards the conversion layer.
In regard to claim 11, Kusunoki doesn’t explicitly teach a fourth layer, transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks, and having a refraction index smaller than 1.5, covering the bottom of each hole.
Kuo teaches comprising a fourth layer (second spacer layer 318), transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels (a light-emitting unit 200) and the photoluminescent blocks (light conversion layer 302) (Fig. 9 and paragraph 38), and having a refraction index smaller than 1.5, covering the bottom of each hole (the second spacer layer 318 may be transparent with a refractive coefficient may be less than 1.5) (Fig. 9 and paragraph 85).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Kuo to have a fourth layer, transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks, and having a refraction index smaller than 1.5, covering the bottom of each hole since this allows the device to have better light conversion efficiency by reflecting light towards the conversion layer.
Claims 5 and 7- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusunoki as applied to claims 1 above, in view of Seo at al. (US 2016/0343954 A1; hereinafter “Seo”). The rejection of claim 7 here differs from the one above as it relies on a different art to reject the claim.
In regard to claim 5, Kusunoki doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising a first layer opaque to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks opposite to the first surface and comprising openings in front of the third surface of each display sub-pixel.
Seo teaches a display screen (a display device as shown in Fig. 19A) (Fig. 19A and paragraph 52), further comprising a first layer (a light-blocking layer 1035) opaque to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels (a pixel portion 1040) and photoluminescent blocks (coloring layers 1034RBG) opposite to a first surface (the top surface of a substrate 1001) and comprising openings in front of a third surface of each display sub-pixel (a hole in the light blocking layer is shown in front of a bottom surface of the lower electrodes 1024RBG in Fig. 19A) (Fig. 19A and paragraphs 475-476).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Seo to have a first layer opaque to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks opposite to the first surface and comprising openings in front of the third surface of each display sub-pixel since this layout is well known to prevent color mixing and allows for an image to be displayed with the use of pixels of three colors as taught by Seo (paragraphs 397 and 476).
In regard to claim 7, Kusunoki teaches wherein the support comprises a base transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks covered with a second layer containing the holes.
Seo teaches a support (a support formed of a transparent base material 1033, a light-blocking layer 1035 and an overcoat layer 1036) comprises a base (an overcoat layer 1036) transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks covered with a second layer (a light-blocking layer 1035) containing the holes (Fig. 19A and paragraphs 475-476).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Seo to have the support comprises a base transparent to the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks covered with a second layer containing the holes since this allows an image to be displayed with the use of pixels of three colors while preventing color mixing as taught by Seo (paragraph 397 and 476).
In regard to claim 8, Kusunoki in view of Seo teaches wherein the second layer is reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks (as the light-blocking layer 1035 can be formed of metal, the light blocking layer would be considered reflective) (paragraph 397).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to claim above, in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0212268 A1; hereinafter “Choi”).
In regard to claim 10, Kusunoki doesn’t explicitly teach the display screen, comprising a coating, reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks, covering the lateral wall of each hole.
Choi teaches a display screen (a display device 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 74), comprising a coating (a reflective layer that reflects light can be further disposed below the first semiconductor layer 131) (Fig. 8B and paragraph 120), reflective for the radiations emitted by a display sub-pixels (pixels SP1, SP2 and SP3) and photoluminescent blocks (a color conversion layer CCLW) (Fig. 8B and paragraph 166), covering the lateral wall of each hole (concave portions 120) (Fig. 8B, paragraphs 120 and 165).
It would’ve been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Kusunoki with the teachings of Choi to have a coating, reflective for the radiations emitted by the display sub-pixels and the photoluminescent blocks, covering the lateral wall of each hole since this allows for an increase of light efficiency as taught by Choi (paragraph 120).
Conclusion
/SEYON ALI-SIMAH PUNCHBEDDELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893