DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (SRINIVAS GUDUMASU (INTERDIGITAL) ET AL.: “[43.1] On Temporal Scalability Support in ISO/IEC 23090-18”, 136. MPEG MEETING; 20211011 – 20211015; ONLINE; (MOTION PICTURE EXPERT GROUP OR ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11), nol. M58436 1 December 2021 (2021/12/01), XP030302450, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://dms.mpeg.expert/doc_end_user/documents/136_OnLine/wg11/m58436-v2-m58436-v2-m58436.zip m58436-v2-m58436/m58436 - on Temporal Scalability Support in 23090-18_V2.docx [retrieved on 2021-12-01]).
-Regarding claims 1, 9 and 10, D1 discloses a method performed by a reception device of point cloud data, the method comprising: obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file including the point cloud data (G-PCC bitstream, decoding dependency, section 2.1); obtaining number information on temporal levels present in samples of a track in the G-PCC file from a scalability information box of the G-PCC file (num_temporal_levels signaled in the GPCCScalabilityInfoBox, section 2.2.2); and obtaining first level information on the temporal levels from the scalability information based on the number information, wherein the first level information is obtained by a number less than a value indicated by the number information (level_idc, GPCCScalabilityInfoBox for each temporal layer indexed by I < num_temporal_levels, section 2.2.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (SRINIVAS GUDUMASU (INTERDIGITAL) ET AL.: “On Temporal Scalability Support in ISO/IEC 23090-18”, 136. MPEG MEETING; 20211011 – 20211015; ONLINE; (MOTION PICTURE EXPERT GROUP OR ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11), nol. M58436 1 December 2021 (2021/12/01), XP030302450, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:http://dms.mpeg.expert/doc_end_user/documents/136_OnLine/wg11/m58436-v2-m58436-v2-m58436.zip m58436-v2-m58436/m58436 - on Temporal Scalability Support in 23090-18_V2.docx [retrieved on 2021-12-01]) in view of D2 (SEJIN OH (DOLBY): “Aspects need to be improved in draft text of FDSIISO/IEC 23090-18”, 136. MPEG MEETING; 20211011 – 20211015; ONLINE; (MOTION PICTURE EXPERT GROUP OR ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11), no. m58118 14 October 2021 (2021-10-14), XP030298830, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://dms.mpeg.expert/doc_end_user/documents/136_OnLine/wg11/m58118-v3-m58118_r2.zip m58118_r2.docx [retrieved on 2021-10-14]).
-Regarding claim 2, D1 is silent to teaching that second level information corresponding to the value indicated by the number information is level information on a temporal level having a highest level value among the temporal levels, and wherein the second level information is determined based on third level information obtained from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file. However, the claimed limitation is well known in the art as evidenced by D2.
In the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches second level information corresponding to the value indicated by the number information is level information on a temporal level having a highest level value among the temporal levels, and wherein the second level information is determined based on third level information obtained from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file (GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, where the syntax element level_idc is signaled, pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of D1 with the teaching of D2 in order to prove improvement on the profile indication.
-Regarding claim 3, the combination further discloses the second level information is determined to be the same value as the third level information (D2, level_idc in the decoder configuration box and the level_idc of the highest temporal layer signaled in the scalability information box, pages 1-2).
-Regarding claim 4, the combination further discloses obtaining compatibility information on a simple profile applied to samples of the track and samples of another track from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file, wherein the samples of the other track belong to a lower temporal level than the samples of the track (D2, GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, section 1.1).
-Regarding claim 5, the combination further discloses obtaining compatibility information on a dense profile applied to samples of the track and samples of another track from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file, wherein the samples of the other track belong to a lower temporal level than the samples of the track (D2, GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, section 1.1).
-Regarding claim 6, the combination further discloses obtaining compatibility information on a predictive profile applied to samples of the track and samples of another track from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file, wherein the samples of the other track belong to a lower temporal level than the samples of the track (D2, GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, section 1.1).
-Regarding claim 7, the combination further discloses obtaining compatibility information on a main profile applied to samples of the track and samples of another track from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file, wherein the samples of the other track belong to a lower temporal level than the samples of the track (D2, GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, section 1.1).
-Regarding claim 8, the combination further discloses obtaining third level information on temporal levels of samples of the track and samples of another track from a decoder configuration box of the G-PCC file, wherein the samples of the other track belong to a lower temporal level than the samples of the track (D2, GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord, section 1.1).
Conclusion
/PING Y HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664