DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the response filed on 12/29/25. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 1-15 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“water delivery system” (cl. 7): “The water delivery system comprises a fluid passage for delivering heated water to the water delivery head 40, which in turn delivers the heated water to the brew chamber 18. The water delivery head comprises a water distribution disc. The water distribution disc provides an area of water delivery to the ground coffee. The water delivery head may further comprise a filter that enables the passage of water while also retaining the ground coffee so that it may be compacted during tamping.”, para. [0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan (US 20170215451)
With regard to claim 1, Tan teaches a system for analyzing coffee beans (FIG. 5), comprising:
an emitter (122) for emitting an infrared (IR) pulse (121)(“the signal 121 may be any suitable signal, such as an optical signal, an acoustic signal or any other suitable type of electromagnetic signal. An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume”, para. [0050]); a receiver (124) for detecting the pulse reflected by a coffee bean (“The transmitter 122 of the sensor arrangement 120 is typically arranged to transmit a signal 121 towards the coffee beans 10, with the receiver 124 of the sensor arrangement 120 typically arranged to detect a reflection 123 of the transmitted signal 121.”, para. [0044]; a light sensor (220) for sensing a color of a coffee bean (“a further sensor 220 may be present in the compartment 110 as schematically shown in FIG. 5, which further sensor 220 is arranged to determine the colour of the coffee beans 10 in the compartment 110. The further sensor 220 is communicatively coupled to the controller 130 such that the controller 130 can further control the heating arrangement of the coffee roasting apparatus 100 in response to the further sensor 220. As the process of coffee bean colour determination is well-known per se, this will not be explained in any further detail for the sake of brevity only. It is simply noted that any suitable coffee bean colour determination sensing arrangement may be used.”, para. [0065]); a distance sensor (120/122/124) for determining a distance between the light sensor and the coffee bean (“An increase in the volume of coffee beans 10 in the compartment 110 during the roasting process caused by the expansion of the coffee beans 10 as indicated by the transition from the left panel to the right panel in FIG. 2 will lead to a reduction of the free volume or head space, i.e. a reduction of the height H to H′, this reduction in head space can be determined from a reduction of the time-of-flight of the signal 121 and its reflection 123 from the transmitter 122 to the receiver 124: H=(V*t)/2 wherein V is the signal speed and t is the time-of-flight of the signal 121 and its reflection 123.”, para. [0046]); and a processor (130) adapted to calibrate the sensed color to obtain a calibrated color , wherein the calibrated level of color represents a roast intensity of the coffee bean, and wherein the calibrated level of color is obtained based on a pairing identified from pre-stored relationships between the determined distance and a measured reflecting intensity value from the coffee bean (“In an embodiment, the coffee roasting apparatus 100 may be controlled by a combination of the aforementioned volume monitoring and at least one other parameter, such as time, bean color and/or temperature.”, para. [0063]; “FIG. 6 shows an experimental graph showing changes in the volume V of Mandheling coffee beans (dots) and changes in the colour of these coffee beans (squares) as a function of roasting time. The volume scale (in ml) is depicted on the left-hand vertical axis and the colour scale (in Hunterlab colour coordinates) is depicted on the right-hand vertical axis of the graph. The horizontal axis (or x-axis) depicts the roasting time (in minutes). This graph clearly demonstrates that the roasting colour may be used as an auxiliary parameter to determine the progress of the roasting process of the coffee beans 10.”, para. [0066]; “the coffee roasting apparatus 100 may further comprise a data storage element such as a RAM or Flash memory, look-up table or the like that is communicatively coupled to the controller 130 for storing a roasting profile of the coffee beans 10. The coffee roasting apparatus 100, e.g. by means of the controller 130 or by means of a separate signal processor, may be adapted to program a roasting profile as detected by the monitored volume changes of the coffee beans 10 into the data storage element.”, para. [0071]) (emphasis added).
Tan does not explicitly utilize the term “darkness” (instead utilizing the term “coffee bean colour determination”; however, it is submitted that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the terms are equivalent as the citation explicitly states: “the controller 130 may terminate the roasting process if the volume of the coffee beans 10, or the increase of this volume, exceeds a defined threshold, e.g. a predefined threshold or a user-defined threshold, in order to prevent the beans becoming too darkly roasted”, para. [0062] and “the controller 130 may be adapted to engage the heating arrangement for a set period of time upon completion of the first cracking process as detected by the aforementioned volume changes in the coffee beans 10. The set period of time may correspond to a user-defined degree of roasting of the coffee beans 10, where a longer period of time typically corresponds to a darker roast of the coffee beans 10. To this end, the controller 130 may include or may have access to a look-up table or the like in which a time period is defined as a function of roasting degree. The controller 130 may further include a timer for controlling the heating arrangement in accordance with the set period of time. As it is well-known per se to control a heating arrangement of coffee roasting apparatus 100 using time as a control parameter, this will not be explained in further detail for the sake of brevity only. It is simply noted that the time control aspect of the aforementioned embodiment may be implemented in any suitable manner.”, para. [0064].
With regard to claim 2, Tan teaches the light sensor (220) is for measuring a reflectance from the coffee bean (“the sensor arrangement may comprise a sensor adapted to transmit a signal into the compartment towards said coffee beans and to detect a reflection of said signal. From the detected reflection, a time-of-flight of the signal for instance may be derived, which can be translated into a distance the signal has travelled through the compartment, which distance is a measure of the aforementioned head space. Such a signal for instance may be an optical signal or an acoustic signal….”, para. [0016])
With regard to claim 3, Tan teaches the distance sensor comprises a time of flight sensor (“transmitter 122 and receiver 124 may cooperate in any suitable manner. For instance, the receiver 124 may be arranged to detect a single signal pulse transmitted by the transmitter 122 or may be arranged to detect a series of signal pulses transmitted by the transmitter 122, wherein t or At is determined using an average time of flight of the series of pulses.”, para. [0049].
With regard to claim 4, Tan teaches the time of flight sensor comprises a light source, and wherein the time of flight sensor uses the light sensor to determine a time of flight (“The signal 121 may be any suitable signal, such as an optical signal, an acoustic signal or any other suitable type of electromagnetic signal. An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume but may be relatively expensive to realize, whereas an acoustic signal such as an ultrasound signal can be produced more cheaply but may be less accurate than an optical signal. The signal 121 may have any suitable shape, such as a single pulse or a series of pulses per coffee bean volume determination….”), para. [0050]. Furthermore, the citation additionally teaches in an alternative embodiment the aforementioned limitation(s): “An example alternative embodiment is schematically depicted in FIG. 7, in which the sensor arrangement 120 is replaced by a sensor arrangement 310 having a plurality of optical sensors 320 along a side wall of the compartment 110. Such optical sensors 320 may for instance be arranged to detect a light level at the height of the sensor 320 in the compartment 110, with the optical sensor 320 being covered by the volume of coffee beans 10 indicating a diminished light level. The controller 130 may be arranged to detect which of the optical sensors 320 report such a diminished light level, which information may be translated into a volume of the coffee beans 10 due to the fact that the optical sensors 320 have a fixed (height) position along the side wall of the compartment 110….”, para. [0067]-[0068].
With regard to claim 5, Tan teaches the light source comprises an infrared laser, and wherein the light sensor is adapted to sense infrared light (“The signal 121 may be any suitable signal, such as an optical signal, an acoustic signal or any other suitable type of electromagnetic signal. An optical signal such as a laser signal or an infrared signal affords more accurate determination of the coffee bean volume but may be relatively expensive to realize, whereas an acoustic signal such as an ultrasound signal can be produced more cheaply but may be less accurate than an optical signal. The signal 121 may have any suitable shape, such as a single pulse or a series of pulses per coffee bean volume determination….”), para. [0050].
With regard to claim 6, Tan teaches the processor is adapted to output a roast level from the calibrated level of darkness (“The set period of time may correspond to a user-defined degree of roasting of the coffee beans 10, where a longer period of time typically corresponds to a darker roast of the coffee beans 10. To this end, the controller 130 may include or may have access to a look-up table or the like in which a time period is defined as a function of roasting degree. The controller 130 may further include a timer for controlling the heating arrangement in accordance with the set period of time.”, para. [0064]).
With regard to claim 7, Tan teaches a coffee machine (“The coffee roasting apparatus 100 may be integrated in a coffee brewing apparatus”, para. [0073]) comprising: a water reservoir; a water heater; a water pump (each of the aforementioned elements are implicitly disclosed as being essential elements for a coffee machine as detailed in para. [0073]); a coffee bean reservoir (110)(“coffee beans 10 in the compartment 110”, para. [0065]); a coffee grinder having a ground coffee outlet (“coffee bean grinder”, para. [0065]; “the coffee brewing apparatus may be arranged to automatically transfer a portion of the roasted coffee beans into the coffee bean grinder for grinding, after which the ground coffee is automatically transported into the coffee brewing stage for brewing a fresh cup of coffee”, para. [0073]); a coffee vessel for receiving ground coffee from the coffee grinder (“coffee bean grinder”, para. [0065]; “the coffee brewing apparatus may be arranged to automatically transfer a portion of the roasted coffee beans into the coffee bean grinder for grinding, after which the ground coffee is automatically transported into the coffee brewing stage for brewing a fresh cup of coffee”, para. [0073]); a water delivery system for delivering heated water to the coffee vessel (implicitly taught by every coffee brewing apparatus); the analyzing system of claim 6 for determining a roast level of coffee beans in the coffee bean reservoir (see comments above for claims 6 and 1); and a controller (130) for controlling coffee brewing (para. [0065] & [0073]).
With regard to claim 8, Tan teaches the controller (130) is adapted to control, in dependence on the determined roast level, at least one of: coffee brewing parameters; coffee grinding parameters; and the dosing of ground coffee to the coffee vessel (“the controller 130 may terminate the roasting process if the volume of the coffee beans 10, or the increase of this volume, exceeds a defined threshold, e.g. a predefined threshold or a user-defined threshold, in order to prevent the beans becoming too darkly roasted. For instance, the controller 130 may terminate the roasting process if, after completion of the first cracking stage, as for instance indicated by a reduction in the rate of volume expansion of the coffee beans 10, the volume of the coffee beans 10 has expanded by a predefined or user-defined amount to ensure that the coffee beans 10 have the desired degree of roasting. Alternatively, the controller 130 may terminate roasting process upon the initial volume of the coffee beans 10 having increased by a set amount, i.e. having increased to a target volume that is larger than the initial volume, as the amount of volume increase is indicative of the degree of roasting of the coffee beans 10….”, para. [0062])
With regard to claim 9, Tan teaches the controller is adapted to provide an output to a user indicating one or more of: the determined roast level; coffee recipe advice for the determined roast level; coffee taste options for the determined roast level; and a detected change in the coffee bean type (“The controller 130 may be responsive to a user interface 150, which for instance may facilitate a user specifying the desired roasting degree of the coffee beans 10 in any suitable manner, e.g. using a dial, a series of buttons, a programmable display, which may be a touch-screen display and so on. Any suitable type of user interface 150 may be used for this purpose.”, para. [0055]).
With regard to claim 10, Tan teaches the processor of the analyzing system is further adapted to determine a quantity of coffee beans in the coffee bean reservoir based on the determined distance (“As the head space can be associated with a volume Vhead of the compartment 110, the total volume Vtat of the compartment 110 can be expressed as Vtot=Vbeans+Vhead, wherein Vbeans is the volume portion of the compartment volume occupied by the coffee beans 10. As any change, i.e. reduction, in the measured head space volume Vhead is caused by a change in the coffee bean volume Vbeans, the measured Vhead can be directly translated into the coffee bean volume: Vtat−Vhead=Vbeans, given that the total volume Vtot of the compartment 110 is typically known. In other words, H˜Vhead, such that the determination of H can de directly translated into Vhead.”, para. [0047]).
With regard to claim 11, Tan teaches the controller is adapted to control, in dependence on the determined quantity of coffee beans, coffee grinding (“The coffee roasting apparatus 100 may be integrated in a coffee brewing apparatus further comprising a coffee bean grinder and a coffee brewing stage. For instance, the coffee brewing apparatus may be arranged to automatically transfer a portion of the roasted coffee beans into the coffee bean grinder for grinding, after which the ground coffee is automatically transported into the coffee brewing stage for brewing a fresh cup of coffee.”, para. [0073]).
With regard to claim 12, Tan teaches the controller is adapted to determine, in dependence on the determined quantity of coffee beans, which coffee recipes can be completed (“n an embodiment, the coffee roasting apparatus 100 may further comprise a data storage element such as a RAM or Flash memory, look-up table or the like that is communicatively coupled to the controller 130 for storing a roasting profile of the coffee beans 10. The coffee roasting apparatus 100, e.g. by means of the controller 130 or by means of a separate signal processor, may be adapted to program a roasting profile as detected by the monitored volume changes of the coffee beans 10 into the data storage element. Such a stored roasting profile may be used during later roasts, e.g. to verify the desired roasting level by comparing the determined relative or absolute volume change against the stored roasting profile, to determine how far advanced the actual roasting process has progressed.”, para. [0071]).
With regard to claim 13, Tan teaches the controller is adapted to implement automatic bean ordering, in dependence on the determined quantity of coffee beans (“In an embodiment, the coffee roasting apparatus 100 may further comprise a data transmission device, e.g. a wireless or wired transmitter, for transmitting roasting data to an external source, e.g. over a wireless link and/or over the Internet or the like. This information for instance may be used to improve the embedded roasting profiles of future coffee roasting apparatuses.”, para. [0072]).
With regard to claim 14, Tan teaches the controller is adapted to provide an output signal indicating remaining quantity of coffee beans (“The controller 130 may be arranged to detect which of the optical sensors 320 report such a diminished light level, which information may be translated into a volume of the coffee beans 10 due to the fact that the optical sensors 320 have a fixed (height) position along the side wall of the compartment 110. Alternatively, the sensor arrangement 310 may include a signal processor communicatively coupled to the optical sensors 320 to convert the sensor signals of the optical sensors 320 into a signal indicative of the volume of the coffee beans 10 and to forward this indicative signal to the controller 130.”, para. [0068]).
With regard to claim 15, Tan teaches a coffee grinding system (“coffee bean grinder”, para. [0065]; “the coffee brewing apparatus may be arranged to automatically transfer a portion of the roasted coffee beans into the coffee bean grinder for grinding, after which the ground coffee is automatically transported into the coffee brewing stage for brewing a fresh cup of coffee”, para. [0073]), comprising: a coffee bean reservoir (110) for coffee beans (“coffee beans 10 in the compartment 110”, para. [0065]); a coffee grinder (“coffee bean grinder”, para. [0065]; “the coffee brewing apparatus may be arranged to automatically transfer a portion of the roasted coffee beans into the coffee bean grinder for grinding, after which the ground coffee is automatically transported into the coffee brewing stage for brewing a fresh cup of coffee”, para. [0073]); the analyzing system of claim 6 for determining a roast level of coffee beans in the coffee bean reservoir (see comments above for claims 6 and 1; and a controller for controlling the coffee grinder settings based on the roast level (para. [0065] & [0073]).
Response to Arguments
The following comments are presented in response to the office action response of 12/29/25. As an initial matter, it is submitted that the Examiner’s prior arguments and claim limitation correlations are applicable to the newly amended claim limitations. Assuming it was determined that the Applicant’s arguments regarding the “processor” of claim 1 were determined to be persuasive, it is submitted that claim 1 is directed toward a system for analyzing coffee beans, and as such, is directed toward multiple structural components or elements. In view of the foregoing, it is respectfully submitted that a patentability analysis upon a system claim in directed toward the structural limitations of the claim. Furthermore, the arguments presented at pgs. 6-8 of Applicant’s office action response of 12/29/25 are directed toward the “processor” limitation related to functional limitations. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the combined teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114. Furthermore, the structural limitations (e.g, emitter, receiver, light sensor, distance sensor, etc.) are taught by the cited prior art as detailed above and in prior office action(s).
The following comments were presented in response to the arguments presented by the Applicant in the response of 07/30/25 and are reproduced hereafter as they may be relevant to the instant office action. The prior art rejections have been adapted as appropriate in view of the newly presented claim amendments.
The following comments were presented by the Examiner in response to Applicant's arguments filed 02/14/25, and are reproduced hereafter as they are relevant to the instant office action. The Applicant asserts at pg. 6 of the Office Action Response of 02/14/25 with regard to the cited prior art (Tan) that “the coffee roasting apparatus includes a color sensor that is used to monitor roasting progress … Tan also describes a distance sensor for measuring a beans volume and distance ….” (emphasis added). The Applicant additionally contends at pg. 6 of the Office Action Response of 02/14/25 that: “Tan further describes a graph showing changes in the volume of coffee beans and changes in the color of the coffee beans as a function of roasting time. The graph demonstrates that the roasting color may be used as an auxiliary parameter to determine the progress of the roasting process of the coffee beans. Thus, although Tan uses both parameters color and volume to determine the progress of the roasting process, Tan nowhere suggests that the volume parameter is used to calibrate the color parameter.” (emphasis added). The Examiner respectfully maintains their instant position with the previously presented prior art rejections.
As an initial matter, the written description of the instant patent application was reviewed in its
entirety to determine whether a specific definition has been provided for the term “calibrate” and the Examiner determined that a specific definition was not provided. The written description expressly states: “The processor calibrates the sensed level of darkness using the determined distance, thereby to obtain a calibrated level of darkness. The calibrated level of darkness then represents a roasting intensity of the coffee beans” (para. [0097]; “The calibration with distance makes the darkness level measurement more accurate”, para. [0103]. Accordingly, the Examiner’s interpretation of the subject claim 1 recitation of “a processor adapted to calibrate the sensed level of darkness using the determined distance, thereby to obtain a calibrated level of darkness” is consistent with the aforementioned cited portions of the instant patent application’s written description. Furthermore, the cited prior art provides such a teaching, namely: “in an embodiment, the coffee roasting apparatus 100 may be controlled by a combination of the aforementioned volume monitoring and at least one other parameter, such as time, bean color and/or temperature” (emphasis added), para. [0063].
With regard to independent claims 7 and 15 the Applicant indicated the aforementioned claims recite similar recitations and the presented arguments are applicable herein, and somewhat similarly, the Examiner’s arguments presented above are also applicable toward independent claims 7 and 15. With regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant did not present any new arguments regarding the dependent claims, and as such, the Examiner maintains their position with regard to these claims as presented in the Office Action of 10/30/24.
To help expedite patent prosecution, the Examiner is amendable to conducting an Examiner Interview if the Applicant so desires as indicated hereafter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761