Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou US 20200396591 in view of Rune US 20220174512.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, and 14, Ou a method comprising:
receiving, by an ambient internet of things (loT) device / UE from a network a paging message including information related to and information related to at least one ambient IoT device identifier; and
based on based on an identifier of the ambient IoT device being matched with the at least one ambient loT device identifier, transmitting, by the ambient loT device to the network, a response message (The UE may analyze (and/or check) a UE ID included in the paging message, such as to determine whether the UE ID matches a first UE ID associated with the first USIM or the UE ID matches a second UE ID associated with the second USIM. Responsive to a determination that the UE ID included in the paging message matches the first UE ID
associated with the first USIM or the second UE ID associated with the second USIM, UE RRC of the UE (e.g., a RRC layer of the UE) may indicate, to an upper layer (e.g., an upper layer of the UE RRC, such as NAS), that a paging message for the UE ID is received. The UE may respond to the paging message, and/or determine whether to respond to the paging message, such as
based on a service priority associated with the paging message, [0207]).
Although Ou teaches a paging message and information related to requesting sensing target / “service priority” associated with the paging message”, the reference is silent on
receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets;
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result.
Rune teaches a receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets;
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result / “occupied/clear” (Paging occasion, [0107], IE requesting a report from the UE, [0139], sensing slots, [0141], Report quantity in terms of “occupied” and/or “clear” for each sample in which CO measurement is performed, where occupied/clear is determined on the basis of whether the CO measurement for a specific sample within a monitoring window is above/below an energy threshold, wherein the energy threshold is specified as per above embodiments, [0142]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ou by receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets;
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result, as suggested by Rune. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for the network to receive sensing results from the ambient IOTs.
Regarding claims 2, 8, although Ou does not explicitly state the response message including the sensing result further includes an identifier of the UE, it would be obvious for the UE’s response to include it’s identifier so that the network knows who sent the response.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ou US 20200396591 in view of Tian US 20140146795.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, and 14, Ou a method comprising:
receiving, by an ambient internet of things (loT) device / UE from a network a paging message including information related to and information related to at least one ambient IoT device identifier; and
based on based on an identifier of the ambient IoT device being matched with the at least one ambient loT device identifier, transmitting, by the ambient loT device to the network, a response message (The UE may analyze (and/or check) a UE ID included in the paging message, such as to determine whether the UE ID matches a first UE ID associated with the first USIM or the UE ID matches a second UE ID associated with the second USIM. Responsive to a determination that the UE ID included in the paging message matches the first UE ID
associated with the first USIM or the second UE ID associated with the second USIM, UE RRC of the UE (e.g., a RRC layer of the UE) may indicate, to an upper layer (e.g., an upper layer of the UE RRC, such as NAS), that a paging message for the UE ID is received. The UE may respond to the paging message, and/or determine whether to respond to the paging message, such as
based on a service priority associated with the paging message, [0207]).
Although Ou teaches a paging message and information related to requesting sensing target / “service priority” associated with the paging message”, the reference is silent on
receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets;
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result.
Tian teaches receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets (A paging message may be transmitted during the paging slot to request the M2M device 115 to contact the base station 105 to report the current status of the device 115, [0043]);
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result (The M2M device 115 may transmit the paging response message 310 upon successfully demodulating a paging message 305. The monitoring module 705 may also monitor certain conditions. For example, the module 705 may monitor a temperature condition, a time of day condition, etc., [0096]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ou by receiving at least one requesting sensing target among a plurality of sensing targets;
based on at least one sensing result related to the at least one requesting sensing target being obtained transmitting, by the ambient IoT device to the network, a response message including the sensing result, as suggested by Tian. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for the network to receive sensing results from the ambient IOTs.
Regarding claims 2, 8, although Ou does not explicitly state the response message including the sensing result further includes an identifier of the UE, it would be obvious for the UE’s response to include it’s identifier so that the network knows who sent the response.
Regarding claims 3, 9, although Tian teaches temperature as a sensing target, the reference is silent on the paging message includes a threshold related to information related to at least one threshold for the at least one requesting sensing target, and
wherein transmitting the response message comprises based on the UE having the at least one sensing result higher than the at least one threshold, transmitting the response message is
transmitted. However, this is an obvious implementation. For instance, only transmitting the temperature measurement when the temperature is outside a normal range would have been an obvious implementation.
Regarding claims 4, 10, the plurality of sensing targets comprise at least one of a temperature, a pressure, a humidity, or a radioactive concentration (Tian: temperature, [0096]).
Regarding claims 6, 12, discarding a message / “paging message is not a patentable step.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476