DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: both claim "…is built into each of the…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6 – 9, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfetsch et al (DE 102015222098 A1, hereinafter Pfetsch, where paragraph numbers below correspond to the English translation appended to attached document, “DE_102015222098_A1_Pfetsch_et_al”) in view of Li et al (CN 108147325 A, hereinafter Li, where paragraph numbers below correspond to the English translation appended to attached document, “CN_108147325_A_Li_et_al”).
Regarding claim 1, Pfetsch discloses [an independent electronic steering axle] (complete assembly shown in Fig. 2; paragraph 0025), comprising:
[a swing axle (30), wherein the swing axle is rotatably connected to a vehicle body (40)] (Figs. 1 – 3; paragraphs 0015, 0024, 0025);
[wheel frames (20a), wherein the wheel frames are respectively arranged at two ends (E1, E2) of the swing axle] (Annotated Fig. 2, below), [upper parts (U) of the wheel frames are respectively rotatably connected to the two ends of the swing axle through rotary support members (RS), and a lower part of each of the wheel frames is mounted with a steering wheel (20)] (Ann. Fig. 2; paragraph 0024 discloses that the wheel frames and the steering wheels pivot via “gear meshing”);
[steering motors (26), wherein the steering motors are respectively arranged at the two ends of the swing axle] (Ann. Fig. 2; paragraph 0024);
[each of the steering motors is electrically connected to a motor controller (102a, 102b), and the motor controller is electrically connected to a main controller (100)] (Fig. 4; paragraph 0026);
[feedback assemblies (108), wherein the feedback assemblies are respectively arranged at the two ends of the swing axle] (paragraph 0013 discloses each of the feedback assemblies as a sensor unit for detecting steering angle within a respective “turntable drive”; paragraph 0024 discloses each turntable drive as element 22; Ann. Fig. 2 illustrates that the feedback assemblies are respectively arranged at the two ends of the swing axle within respective element 22) and [each of the feedback assemblies is electrically connected to the main controller] (Fig. 4; paragraph 0027);
however, Pfetsch does not appear to explicitly disclose a rotary rack wheel, a steering gear or that the feedback assemblies are drivingly connected to the rotary rack wheel, although Pfetsch does disclose in paragraph 0024 that the steering motors are in rotational communication with the wheel frames via “gear meshing”.
Li teaches that it was old and well known in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for [an independent electronic steering axle (113) to include a rotary rack wheel (113a) mounted on a wheel frame (112)] (Fig. 5; paragraph 0048), wherein: [a power output shaft of a steering motor (142) is provided with a steering gear (141) engaged with the rotary rack wheel via element (143)] (Fig. 5; paragraph 0048); and [a feedback assembly (120) is drivingly connected to the rotary rack wheel and electrically connected to a controller] (Fig. 5; paragraphs 0016, 0050 – 0053).
Li further teaches:
element 143 is a reducer and the power output shaft of each of the steering motors is drivingly connected to the reducer, the steering gear engaged with the rotary rack wheel is mounted on an output shaft of the reducer (Fig. 5; paragraph 0048);
the feedback assemblies of Li (120) comprising:
at least one of encoders (123) and potentiometers (124), wherein at least one of the encoders and the potentiometers are respectively arranged at the two ends of the swing axle and electrically connected to the main controller, and an input shaft (121a) of each of at least one of the encoders and potentiometers is provided with a feedback gear (121) engaged with the rotary rack wheel (Figs. 5 and 7; paragraph 0053); and
the rotary rack wheel and the steering gear are configured in gear structures engaged with each other (Fig. 5; paragraph 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the independent electronic steering axle disclosed by Pfetsch to include: a rotary rack wheel (113a, Li) mounted onto each of the wheel frames (20a, Pfetsch), wherein a power output shaft of each of the steering motors (26, Pfetsch) is provided with a steering gear (141, Li) respectively engaged with the rotary rack wheel mounted on respective wheel frames via respective reducers (143, Li); and feedback assemblies of Li (120, Li) as described above, wherein the feedback assemblies of Li (120, Li) are respectively arranged at the two ends of the swing axle, and each of the feedback assemblies of Li (120, Li) is drivingly connected to the respective rotary rack wheel and electrically connected to the main controller (100, Pfetsch).
One skilled in the art would be motivated to have feedback assemblies drivingly connected to the rotary rack wheel to provide information to the main controller of the Pfetsch/Li device for at least the purpose of accurate steering responsiveness as taught by Li (paragraphs 0016, 0056), and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Examiner-annotated Fig. 2 of Pfetsch
Regarding claim 8, Pfetsch further discloses [a four-fulcrum counterbalance forklift (10), comprising the independent electronic steering axle according to claim 1] (Figs. 1 – 3; paragraph 0025).
Regarding claims 2 and 17 (similar limitations, different dependency), Pfetsch further discloses that [the swing axle is rotatably connected to the vehicle body through a connecting shaft and a connecting base (32) on a symmetrical axis] (Ann. Fig. 2; paragraph 0024; the symmetrical axis is understood as an axis extending longitudinally through the center of the connecting shaft and the connecting base, 32).
Regarding claims 6 and 9 (similar limitations, different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claims, including encoders structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Regarding claims 7 and 13 (similar limitations, different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claims, including potentiometers structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Claims 3, 4, 10, 11, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfetsch in view of Li, and further in view of Wang et al (CN 203111302 U), hereinafter Wang, where paragraph numbers below correspond to the English translation appended to attached document labeled, “CN_203111302_U_Wang_et_al”.
Regarding claims 3 and 18 (similar limitations different dependency), Pfetsch as modified by Li above includes most limitations including the reducer and its engagement with the steering gear as recited (see details in the 35 USC 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above), however, the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li does not appear to further disclose a motor encoder built into the steering motor.
Wang teaches that it was old and well known in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include [a motor encoder (11) electrically connected to a motor controller (13) built into a steering motor (10)] (Fig. 1; paragraphs 0030 and 0033).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the electronic steering axle system disclosed by the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li to incorporate a motor encoder (11, Wang) built into each of the steering motors (26, Pfetsch), wherein the motor encoders (11, Wang) are electrically connected to respective motor controllers (102a and 102b, Pfetsch).
An ordinary artisan would be motivated to modify the Pfetsch/Li device according to the teachings of Wang for at least the purpose of, according to Wang in paragraph 0024, achieving precise power steering, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results. Furthermore, one skilled in the art would appreciate at least one of the following added advantageous benefits that Wang discloses in paragraph 0020: easy installation and debugging, high reliability and safety, low cost, and a simple structure.
Regarding claims 4 and 19 (similar limitations different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claims, including the rotary rack wheel and the steering gear configured in gear structures as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Regarding claims 10 and 11 (similar limitations, different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claims, including encoders structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Regarding claims 14 and 15 (similar limitations, different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claims, including potentiometers structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Claims 5, 12, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfetsch, Li, Wang, and further in view of Schuetzeneder (US 2019/0308860 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 20 (similar limitations different dependency), the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li/Wang does not appear to further disclose sprocket structures and a chain.
Schuetzeneder teaches that it was old and well known in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for [a rotary rack wheel (36) and a steering gear (34) to be configured in sprocket structures and drivingly connected by a chain (37)] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0078 – 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of independent electronic steering axles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Pfetsch/Li/Wang axle system to incorporate the rotary rack wheel (36), the steering gear (34), and the chain (37) because, as taught by Schuetzeneder, chains are robust and not sensitive to dirt (Schuetzeneder – paragraph 0016), and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 12, the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claim, including encoders structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Regarding claim 16, the modified combination of Pfetsch/Li already discloses all limitations of the claim, including potentiometers structured and functioning as recited (see details in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of parent claim 1, above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Pub. 20010008985 A1 – Figs. 1, 13; paragraphs 0070 – 0071;
US Pub. 2007/0095594 A1 – Figs. 1 – 4;
US Pat. 7861820 B1 – Figs. 3A – 3C, col. 6 lines 15 – 63;
US Pub. 2011/0048834 A1 – Fig. 1; and
US Pub. 2020/0317256 A1 – Fig. 15, paragraphs 0064 – 0065.
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611