Drawings
Drawings have been reviewed and accepted.
Specification
The specification filed on 06/14/24 has been entered. Specification has been reviewed and accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted filed on 06/26/24 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hollis et al. (US20130144558, herein Hollis), in view of Austin et al. (US20190353985, herein Tucker)
Regarding claim 1, Hollis teaches A dive computer, comprising; a pressure sensor, a screen, a processor unit ([0112] FIG. 14. The dive computer 10.14 includes a light 230.14, a light sensor 232.14, a global positioning system (GPS) receiver 16.14, a digital camera 32.14, a memory 14.14, an input/output interface 20.14, a keypad 24.14, a display 26.14, a communications port 28.14, a microphone 30.14, a pressure transducer 22.14, and a processor), wherein the processor unit is configured to control the screen and receive a pressure measurement from the pressure sensor ([0118] The processor can receive signals from sensors indicating tank air pressure, water pressure, time elapsed, temperature or other sensor measurements. The processor can use the received signals to determine which warnings to present to the diver, [0135] the dive computer includes a display and the dive computer is configured to display digital information such as web pages, games, email and other digital information received via the telephone network to which the dive computer can connect in addition to information typically associated with a dive computer), and a call member, wherein the call member is configured to perform at least one of processes of emitting a sound wave, emitting light or generating vibration …when operated ([0063] a dive computer including a microphone, speaker, and telephone antenna, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash); wherein the processor unit is configured to operate the call member when the processor unit detects that a predetermined trigger condition is met ([0114] For instance, if it is dark underwater, the output generated by the light sensor is below a predetermined threshold, therefore, the processor turns the backlight on. If the signal indicates that there is a sufficient level of ambient light, then the processor can respond by keeping the backlight off and preserving the dive computer battery, [0115] Examples of warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression).
Hollis does not teach to call fish
Austin teaches to call fish ([0043] the nose cap may have an external design that generates an underwater noise in a mechanical sense, such as humming or whistle that mimics the sound of bait fish or other fish attractant sounds to lure fish intended to catch)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hollis’s teaching of a dive computer with speakers that produce high pitch chirping warning sounds with Austin’s teaching of a generating a humming whistle sound to attract fish. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a dive computer with speakers that produce high pitch chirping warning sounds and humming whistle sounds to attract fish. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve user experience with diving by attracting different species of fish.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, wherein the call member comprises an audio call member to emit the sound wave (Hollis, [0063] a dive computer including a microphone, speaker, and telephone antenna, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 2, wherein the said audio call member is a buzzer or speaker (Hollis, [0063] a dive computer including a microphone, speaker, and telephone antenna, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1 wherein the call member comprises a vibration call member (Hollis, [0063] a dive computer including a microphone, speaker, and telephone antenna, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 4, wherein the vibration call member is a vibration motor (Hollis, [0063] a dive computer including a microphone, speaker, and telephone antenna, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash). (i.e. speakers produce vibrations with the sound)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, wherein the call member comprises a light call member (Hollis, [0112] The dive computer 10.14 includes a light 230.14, [0137] the audio warning can be a high pitched chirping sound. In many embodiments, the audio warning can be a constant high pitched sound. In a variety of embodiments, the video warning can be a powerful repeating flash)..
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 6, wherein the light call member is the screen (Hollis, [0113] the light can illuminate the dive computer when the diver presses a button on the keypad and/or automatically when the light sensor indicates the need for the light. The light sensor can measure the ambient light underwater. In many embodiments, the light or a backlight illuminates the dive computer display. In several embodiments, the light includes one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising an input unit, wherein the input unit is configured to allow a user to send commands to the processor unit (Hollis, [0068] The input/output interface 20 is connected to a number of devices that can be used to communicate with a user or other devices. In a variety of embodiments, these devices include a pressure transducer 22, a keypad 24, a display 26, a communications port 28, and a microphone 30, [0095] user input is detected, then the previous or next depth and time measurements are identified (118) as a point of interest), and the predetermined trigger condition is a predetermined input signal received from the input unit ([0114] if it is dark underwater, the output generated by the light sensor is below a predetermined threshold, therefore, the processor turns the backlight on. If the signal indicates that there is a sufficient level of ambient light, then the processor can respond by keeping the backlight off and preserving the dive computer battery, [0115] warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression, [0118] Another set of warnings can be presented after the dive computer is programmed by the diver).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, wherein the pressure measurement taken from the pressure sensor of the predetermined trigger condition has exceeded a predetermined threshold value (Hollis, [0115] Examples of warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression, [0118] The processor can receive signals from sensors indicating tank air pressure, water pressure, time elapsed, temperature or other sensor measurements. The processor can use the received signals to determine which warnings to present to the diver. One set of warnings can be presented to the diver by default. Another set of warnings can be presented after the dive computer is programmed by the diver).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising an acceleration sensor associated with the processor unit (Hollis, [0108] Drift currents can also be compensated for using measurements made by configurations of accelerometers), wherein the acceleration sensor is configured to send received measurements to the processor unit ([0109] the process illustrated in FIG. 11A is used to adjust or scale the course obtained using recorded water speed and bearing measurements in response to the latitude and longitude measurements obtained at the origin and termination of a dive, [0136] accelerometer information for performing dead reckoning); and the predetermined trigger condition is that the received measurements taken from the acceleration sensor meet the predetermined conditions ([0136] accelerometer information for performing dead reckoning … the dive computer application is configured to interrupt the media player with alerts and/or to notify the diver of the completion of a decompression stop, [0115] Examples of warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression, [0027] the sensor information is selected from the group including tank air pressure, water pressure, time elapsed, and temperature).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising a counter associated with the processor unit, wherein the counter is configured to count a certain time; and the predetermined trigger condition is that the counter counts a predetermined trigger time (Hollis, [0136] During sustained decompression stops, the media player capabilities of the mobile phone handset can be utilized to view video or listen to audio while the dive computer application is executing in the background to monitor decompression time, [0131] the surface calculation can ensure that the diver stays at her decompression stops for at least the required decompression time, [0133] decompression stops is calculated by the communication device based on the information indicative of depth of submersion and time elapsed during submersion).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising: an input unit, wherein the input unit is configured to allow a user to send a command to the processor unit (Hollis, [0096] Speech commands can be used to control the function of the dive computer and speech can be either recorded or converted to text in order to provide description or annotation to a point of interest. In embodiments where speech can be recorded, the recording of speech can be initiated by the pressing of a button on the keypad 24 or by a voice command recognizable by the dive computer); and an acceleration sensor associated with the processor unit, wherein the acceleration sensor is configured to send received measurements to the processor unit ([0108] Drift currents can also be compensated for using measurements made by configurations of accelerometers); wherein the predetermined trigger condition is a predetermined input command received from the input unit ([0114] if it is dark underwater, the output generated by the light sensor is below a predetermined threshold, therefore, the processor turns the backlight on. If the signal indicates that there is a sufficient level of ambient light, then the processor can respond by keeping the backlight off and preserving the dive computer battery, [0115] warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression, [0118] Another set of warnings can be presented after the dive computer is programmed by the diver); and the pressure measurement taken from the pressure sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value, and the received measurements taken from the acceleration sensor meet predetermined conditions ([0115] warnings that can be generated by a dive computer include air time remaining falling below a predetermined threshold and/or a rate of ascension that is incompatible with safe decompression, [0118] The processor can receive signals from sensors indicating tank air pressure, water pressure, time elapsed, temperature or other sensor measurements. The processor can use the received signals to determine which warnings to present to the diver. One set of warnings can be presented to the diver by default. Another set of warnings can be presented after the dive computer is programmed by the diver).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising a communication unit, wherein the communication unit is configured to allow the processor unit to communicate with a mobile device (Hollis, [0005] a communications device configured to communicate with external devices, [0146] transmitting dive data from one dive computer to another, or from one to multiple devices such as personal computers, telephones, and/or server systems) .
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 1, further comprising a connection member for fixing the dive computer to a user (Hollis, [0050] FIG. 10A is a side view of a diver equipped with a dive computer attached to an air tank and a wrist mounted display device in accordance with practice of the present invention) .
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hollis and Austin teach The dive computer according to claim 14, wherein the connection member is in a form of a watch strap or wristband (Hollis, [0050] FIG. 10A is a side view of a diver equipped with a dive computer attached to an air tank and a wrist mounted display device in accordance with practice of the present invention) .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Russell (US20200060250) discloses a fishing rod vibration system with sensory feedback controller.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert, Fennema can be reached on (571) 272-2748 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YVONNE T FOLLANSBEE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117