Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wolff discloses a dust collecting pile, (see FIG. 2: evacuation station 100) comprising: a pile base (see annotated FIG. 3 below) provided with a dust inlet in a top surface of the pile base; (see FIG. 3: opening of intake 118 is in a top surface of the pile base)
a pile body disposed on the pile base, and comprising a fan cavity and a dust bin; (see annotated FIG. 3 below: pile body disposed on the pile base, and comprises a cavity for air mover 117 and housing 101)
a fan disposed in the fan cavity and configured to form a negative pressure in the dust bin; (air mover 117 disposed in the cavity and is capable of generating negative pressure in housing 101; see also ¶[0048]) and
a bag support disposed in the dust bin, (conduit 308, which supports the opening of the bag, disposed in housing 101) wherein a dust outlet port is provided in a sidewall of the bag support, (see FIG. 5: opening 338 defined by seal 316 in a sidewall of conduit 308)
and the dust outlet port is in connection with the dust inlet through a dust channel (see FIG. 3: opening 338 is in connection with intake 118 through connected conduits 122, 124, and 114; see also ¶[0050]).
Wolff does not disclose that the bag support further comprises a sliding baffle slidably provided on the sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover the dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position.
Morin, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to vacuum docking stations, teaches a sliding baffle slidably provided on a sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, (flow control device 1250 on a sidewall of conduit 304 sliding between a first position, shown in FIG. 12B, and a second position, shown in FIG. 12A; see Morin ¶[0079]-[0081])
wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover a dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position (flow control device 1250 covers the dust outlet, identified in annotated FIG. 12B of Morin below, in the first position and exposes the dust outlet in the second position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag support of Wolff to comprise a sliding baffle slidably provided on the sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover a dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the dust collecting pile can also filter the surrounding air when the debris is not being transferred into the pile body (see Morin ¶[0050]).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the bag support is provided with an elastic component, and the elastic component is connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position.
However, Morin further teaches that there may be an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position (“flow control device 1250 is spring biased towards the first position or the second position”; see Morin ¶[0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag support of Wolff, as modified, to further comprise an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to keep the baffle firmly in position and prevent the baffle from moving around. As the baffle is used to selectively obstruct the flow of air, the baffle would not be effective in serving its purpose if the baffle moved with the air flow.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches that in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, the fan is in a non-operating state (when flow control valve 1250 of Morin is in the position in FIG. 12B, as modified in the discussion of Claim 1 above, the air mover 126 is not operating through conduits 308 and 202; see also Morin ¶[0092]).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches a pressure relief valve disposed in the dust bin and configured to adjust air pressure in the dust bin (see Wolff ¶[0048]: a valve mechanism in evacuation station 100 that opens when a negative pressure is generated).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches a support rib disposed on an inner wall of the dust bin (see annotated FIG. 4 below). Additionally, the examiner notes that support ribs are known in the art to enhance part strength and reduce defects in injection molding.
Regarding claim 14, Wolff discloses an automatic cleaning system, (see FIG. 2) comprising: a dust collecting pile (evacuation station 100) and an automatic cleaning apparatus, (robot 200) comprising a dust box (debris bin 204) and a dust outlet, (see ¶[0047]: outlet on underside of robot 200)
wherein the dust collecting pile (evacuation station 100) comprises: a pile base (see the annotated FIG. 3 in the discussion of claim 1 above) provided with a dust inlet in a top surface of the pile base (see FIG. 3: opening of intake 118 is in a top surface of the pile base);
a pile body disposed on the pile base, (see annotated FIG. 3 in the discussion of claim 1 above: pile body disposed on the pile base) and comprising a fan cavity (a cavity for air mover 117) and a dust bin; (housing 101)
a fan disposed in the fan cavity and configured to form a negative pressure in the dust bin; (air mover 117 disposed in the cavity and is capable of generating negative pressure in housing 101; see also ¶[0048])
and a bag support disposed in the dust bin, (conduit 308, which supports the opening of the bag, disposed in housing 101) wherein a dust outlet port is provided in a sidewall of the bag support, (see FIG. 5: opening 338 defined by seal 316 in a sidewall of conduit 308)
and the dust outlet port is in connection with the dust inlet through a dust channel, (see FIG. 3: opening 338 is in connection with intake 118 through connected conduits 122, 124, and 114; see also ¶[0050])
and wherein in response to the dust outlet being docked with the dust inlet and the fan being in an operating state, garbage in the dust box is collected into the dust bin through the dust inlet (in response to dust outlet of robot 200 being docked with opening of intake 119 and the air mover 117 operating, garbage in debris bin 204 is collected into housing 101; see also ¶[0047]-[0050]).
Wolff does not disclose that the bag support further comprises a sliding baffle slidably provided on the sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover the dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position.
Morin, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to vacuum docking stations, teaches a sliding baffle slidably provided on a sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, (flow control device 1250 on a sidewall of conduit 304 sliding between a first position, shown in FIG. 12B, and a second position, shown in FIG. 12A; see Morin ¶[0079]-[0081])
wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover a dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position (flow control device 1250 covers the dust outlet, identified in annotated FIG. 12B of Morin above in the discussion of claim 1 above, in the first position and exposes the dust outlet in the second position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag support of Wolff to comprise a sliding baffle slidably provided on the sidewall and configured to be switchable between a first position and a second position, wherein the sliding baffle is configured to cover a dust outlet port in response to being in the first position and expose the dust outlet port in response to being in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the dust collecting pile can also filter the surrounding air when the debris is not being transferred into the pile body (see Morin ¶[0050]).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the bag support is provided with an elastic component, and the elastic component is connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position.
However, Morin further teaches that there may be an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position (“flow control device 1250 is spring biased towards the first position or the second position”; see Morin ¶[0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bag support of Wolff, as modified, to further comprise an elastic component connected to the sliding baffle and configured to enable the sliding baffle to tend to be in the first position.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to keep the baffle firmly in position and prevent the baffle from moving around. As the baffle is used to selectively obstruct the flow of air, the baffle would not be effective in serving its purpose if the baffle moved with the air flow.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches that in response to the sliding baffle being in the first position, the fan is in a non-operating state (when flow control valve 1250 of Morin is in the position in FIG. 12B, as modified in the discussion of Claim 1 above, the air mover 126 is not operating through conduits 308 and 202; see also Morin ¶[0092]).
Claims 2-3 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US 20190335967 A1) in view of Morin (US 20160183752 A1), further in view of Corney (US 20070214755 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches a dust bag and the dust bag comprises: a bag body; (filter bag 304 comprises a bag body)
a clamping plate fixedly connected to the bag body, (collar 312 fixedly connected to filter bag 304) wherein the clamping plate is provided with a plate opening serving as an entrance of the bag body; (collar 312 is provided with opening of conduit 308 serving as an entrance of receptacle 302; see FIG. 7)
and a sliding plate slidably connected to the clamping plate and configured to be switchable between a third position and a fourth position, (sliding cover 314 slidably connected to collar 312 and switchable between a closed position, shown in FIGS. 5-6, and an open position, shown in FIG. 10; see ¶[0063])
wherein the sliding plate is configured to cover the plate opening in response to being in the third position and expose the plate opening in response to being in the fourth position, (cover 314 covers opening of conduit 308 in the closed position and exposes the opening of conduit 308 in the open position; see ¶[0063]).
wherein the dust bag is configured to be detachably mounted on the bag support (filter bag 304 is detachably mounted via a snap fit mechanism on conduit 308; see Wolff ¶[0065]),
and in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port (in response to filter bag 304 being mounted on conduit 308, the opening of conduit 308 is docked with opening 338; see ¶[0063]).
Wolff, as modified, does not teach that in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position and the sliding plate is in the fourth position.
However, Morin teaches that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position (see Morin ¶[0019] and [0073]: during evacuation mode, filter bag 1050 must be mounted on the end of debris intake conduit 202 shown in FIG. 10B for the evacuation station to operate in the evacuation mode, and during evacuation mode, the flow control device 1250 is in the second position shown in FIG. 12A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris is contained and does not become dislodged within other parts of the dust collecting pile and causing damage to the motor and fan (see Morin ¶[0073]).
Additionally, Corney (US20070214755A1) teaches that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding plate is in a position in which a plate opening is exposed (see FIGS. 10A-10D and 11A-11D: when bag 28 is mounted on nozzle 26, top panel 48 of collar 30—shown in FIGS. 2-3—is in a position in which aperture 35 is exposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding plate is in a position in which a plate opening is exposed, as taught by Corney. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris “may be disposed without concern that dirt within bag (28) will escape” (Corney ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches that the bag support comprises a chute, (conduit 308 comprises a chute; see Wolff FIG. 1)
at least a part of the sliding baffle is located in the chute, (a part of cover 314 is in the passageway of conduit 308; see FIGS. 1 and 5)
and the sliding baffle is configured to be slidable along an extension direction of the chute, (cover 314 slides along the direction, shown in annotated FIG. 1 below, which is the direction conduit 308 extends along)
and the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute [and] the dust bag is mounted to the bag support (collar 312 and cover 314 are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction and filter bag 304 is mounted to conduit 308; see also Wolff ¶[0063]).
Wolff, as modified, does not explicitly teach that the dust bag is mounted to the bag support as a result of the clamping plate and sliding plate being insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute.
However, Corney further teaches that a clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be slidably insertable into the chute, thereby mounting the dust bag to the bag support (see Corney FIGS. 10A-10C: bottom panel 32 and top panel 48 slide into the chute that nozzle 26 leads into, thereby mounting bag 28 to nozzle 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust bag of Wolff, as modified, so that the dust bag is mounted to the bag support as a result of the clamping plate and sliding plate being insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a tight fit between the chute and dust bag so debris “may be disposed without concern that dirt within bag (28) will escape” (Corney ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches that the dust collecting pile further comprises a dust bag, (evacuation station 100 further comprises filter bag 304) and the dust bag comprises: a bag body; (filter bag 304 comprises a bag body)
a clamping plate fixedly connected to the bag body, (collar 312 fixedly connected to filter bag 304) wherein the clamping plate is provided with a plate opening serving as an entrance of the bag body; (collar 312 is provided with opening of conduit 308 serving as an entrance of receptacle 302; see FIG. 7)
and a sliding plate slidably connected to the clamping plate and configured to be switchable between a third position and a fourth position, (sliding cover 314 slidably connected to collar 312 and switchable between a closed position, shown in FIGS. 5-6, and an open position, shown in FIG. 10; see ¶[0063])
wherein the sliding plate is configured to cover the plate opening in response to being in the third position and expose the plate opening in response to being in the fourth position, (cover 314 covers opening of conduit 308 in the closed position and exposes the opening of conduit 308 in the open position; see ¶[0063])
wherein the dust bag is configured to be detachably mounted on the bag support, (filter bag 304 is detachably mounted via a snap fit mechanism on conduit 308; see Wolff ¶[0065]),
and in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port (in response to filter bag 304 being mounted on conduit 308, the opening of conduit 308 is docked with opening 338; see ¶[0063]).
Wolff, as modified, does not teach that in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position and the sliding plate is in the fourth position.
However, Morin teaches that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position (see Morin ¶[0019] and [0073]: when filter bag 1050 is mounted on the end of debris intake conduit 202 shown in FIG. 10B, the flow control device 1250 is the second position shown in 12A during evacuation mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that in response to the dust bag being mounted on the bag support, the sliding baffle is in the second position, as taught by Morin. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris is contained and does not become dislodged within other parts of the dust collecting pile and causing damage to the motor and fan (see Morin ¶[0073]).
Additionally, Corney (US20070214755A1) teaches that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding plate is in a position in which a plate opening is exposed (see FIGS. 10A-10D and 11A-11D: when bag 28 is mounted on nozzle 26, top panel 48 of collar 30—shown in FIGS. 2-3—is in a position in which aperture 35 is exposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that in response to a dust bag being mounted on a bag support, the sliding plate is in a position in which a plate opening is exposed, as taught by Corney. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the debris “may be disposed without concern that dirt within bag (28) will escape” (Corney ¶[0020]).
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, further teaches that the bag support comprises a chute, (conduit 308 comprises a chute; see Wolff FIG. 1)
at least a part of the sliding baffle is located in the chute, (a part of cover 314 is in the passageway of conduit 308; see FIGS. 1 and 5)
and the sliding baffle is configured to be slidable along an extension direction of the chute, (cover 314 slides along the direction, shown in annotated FIG. 1 in the discussion of claim 3 above, which is the direction conduit 308 extends along)
and the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute [and] the dust bag is mounted to the bag support (collar 312 and cover 314 are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction and filter bag 304 is mounted to conduit 308; see also Wolff ¶[0063]).
Wolff, as modified, does not explicitly teach that the dust bag is mounted to the bag support as a result of the clamping plate and sliding plate being insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute.
However, Corney further teaches that the clamping plate and the sliding plate are configured to be insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute, thereby mounting the dust bag to the bag support (collar 312 and cover 314 are insertable into the chute, sliding in the extension direction, thereby mounting bag 28 to nozzle 26; see Corney ¶[0015] and [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust bag of Wolff, as modified, so that the dust bag is mounted to the bag support as a result of the clamping plate and sliding plate being insertable into the chute to slide in the extension direction of the chute. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide a tight fit between the chute and dust bag so debris “may be disposed without concern that dirt within bag (28) will escape” (Corney ¶[0020]).
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1) and Corney (US20070214755A1), further in view of Bosses (US20120247384A1).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that a buckling portion is provided in the chute, the clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on the bag support.
However, Bosses teaches a buckling portion, (see FIG. 2: arms 36—flexible enough to buckle; see ¶[0017])
a clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, (see FIG. 5: bag collar mount 20 provided with slots 42 in bag collar mount 20 matching arms 36)
and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, (when bag collar mount 20 slides to the position shown in FIG. 3, the opening of bag collar mount 20 to filter bag collar 24; see ¶[0016])
and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on a bag support (arms 36 are engaged with slots 42, fixing the filter bag on a structure on inner part 16 that supports the bag; see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that a buckling portion is provided in the chute, the clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on the bag support, as taught by Bosses.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide “a readily visible visual cue to a user that the filter bag is not in place” so that “the user may save time and effort during installation of a filter bag” (¶[0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the sliding plate is provided with an unlocking lug, and the unlocking lug is configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot.
However, Bosses teaches a sliding plate provided with an unlocking lug (locking mechanism 22 provided with protrusion 34), and the unlocking lug is configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot (the protrusion 34 presses the arms 36 in a process of pulling locking mechanism 22 from the slots 42 so that the arms 36 are detached from slots 42; also see ¶[0017]: the arm 36 is pressed toward bag collar mount 20 when the protrusion 34 is depressed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding plate of Wolff, as modified, to be provided an unlocking lug configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot, as taught by Bosses.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide “a readily visible visual cue to a user that the filter bag is not in place” so that “the user may save time and effort during installation of a filter bag” (¶[0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that a buckling portion is provided in the chute, the clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on the bag support.
However, Bosses teaches a buckling portion, (see FIG. 2: arms 36—flexible enough to buckle; see ¶[0017])
a clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, (see FIG. 5: bag collar mount 20 provided with slots 42 in bag collar mount 20 matching arms 36)
and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, (when bag collar mount 20 slides to the position shown in FIG. 3, the opening of bag collar mount 20 to filter bag collar 24; see ¶[0016])
and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on a bag support (arms 36 are engaged with slots 42, fixing the filter bag on a structure on inner part 16 that supports the bag; see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that a buckling portion is provided in the chute, the clamping plate is provided with a clamping slot matching the buckling portion, and in response to the clamping plate sliding to a buckling position along the extension direction of the chute, the plate opening is docked with the dust outlet port, and the buckling portion is engaged with the clamping slot, thereby fixing the dust bag on the bag support, as taught by Bosses.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide “a readily visible visual cue to a user that the filter bag is not in place” so that “the user may save time and effort during installation of a filter bag” (¶[0005]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the sliding plate is provided with an unlocking lug, and the unlocking lug is configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot.
However, Bosses teaches a sliding plate provided with an unlocking lug (locking mechanism 22 provided with protrusion 34), and the unlocking lug is configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot (the protrusion 34 presses the arms 36 in a process of pulling locking mechanism 22 from the slots 42 so that the arms 36 are detached from slots 42; also see ¶[0017]: the arm 36 is pressed toward bag collar mount 20 when the protrusion 34 is depressed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sliding plate of Wolff, as modified, to be provided an unlocking lug configured to press the buckling portion in a process of pulling the sliding plate out of the clamping slot, thereby detaching the buckling portion from the clamping slot, as taught by Bosses.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to provide “a readily visible visual cue to a user that the filter bag is not in place” so that “the user may save time and effort during installation of a filter bag” (¶[0005]-[0006]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1), further in view of Bo (US 20200359868 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach that the fan is configured to stop operating in response to opening of the pressure relief valve.
However, Bo, in the same or similar field of endeavor related to vacuum robot docking stations, teaches that a fan is configured to stop operating in response to opening of a pressure relief valve (Step 3.4 in which the fan 107 is turned off occurs in response to steps 3.2-3.3 in which valve 204 is opened; see Bo (¶[0094]-[0096]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan of Wolff, as modified, to stop operating in response to opening of the pressure relief valve, as taught by Bo. One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the pile is “convenient to clean and will not pollute the external environment” (Bo ¶[0041]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US20190335967A1) in view of Morin (US20160183752A1), further in view of Hong (US20220287527A1).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified,
a barrel support configured to divide the pile body into the fan cavity and the dust bin; and a pull-up cover configured to be snapped to the barrel support to form the dust bin.
Hong teaches a barrel support (highlighted in annotated Hong FIG. 1B below; The examiner notes that the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in light of the specification and a “barrel support” is not defined in the specification in the application. The highlighted interior space defined by the walls of compartment 122 and side wall 124 supports the cylindrical housing 134 and is thus interpretable as a barrel support) configured to divide the pile body (canister 102) into the fan cavity (fan compartment 122) and the dust bin (debris bin 120);
and a pull-up cover configured to be snapped to the barrel support to form the dust bin (see ¶[0043] and FIG. 1C: lid 108 configured to be snapped to the top of the barrel support to form the debris bin 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, to further comprise a barrel support configured to divide the pile body into the fan cavity and the dust bin and a pull-up cover configured to be snapped to the barrel support to form the dust bin.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the fan cavity and the dust bin can both be accessed by removing the lid and “reduce a height of the docking station, which can allow the docking station to be positioned under furniture having a lower clearance” (see Hong ¶[0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated in this rejection. Wolff, as modified, does not teach a detection device disposed on at least one of the barrel support or the pull-up cover and configured to detect a snapped state between the pull-up cover and the barrel support.
However, Morin (US20160183752A1) teaches a detection device disposed on [the pile body] (sensor 420 disposed on canister 110) and configured to detect a snapped state between [the pile body and the pile base] (sensor 420 detects a snapped state between the canister 110 and base 120; see Morin ¶[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust collecting pile of Wolff, as modified, so that detection device is disposed on at least one of the barrel support or the pull-up cover and configured to detect a snapped state between the pull-up cover and the barrel support, as taught by Morin.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the user is alerted when the pull-up cover is not properly fixed to the barrel support, so that free-floating debris within the dust-collecting pile does not escape the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The examiner opines that the prior art does not disclose or render obvious “a penetrating hole is provided in a bottom wall of the barrel support, the penetrating hole is configured to connect the fan cavity with the dust bin, and the dust collecting pile further comprises a protective cover configured to be detachably buckled at the penetrating hole,” together in combination with the limitations of the base claims.
The Examiner notes that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the duct collecting pile of Wolff, modified by Morin and Hong, with a penetrating hole in a bottom wall of the barrel support configured to connect the fan cavity with the dust bin and a protective cover configured to be detachably buckled at the penetrating hole. Such a modification would require substantial redesign of the elements in the primary reference that would change the basic principle under which the primary reference was designed to operate. Incorporation of this modification would obstruct one or more functions of the dock components, such as blocking the debris flow through the conduits, and would require improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
/C.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723