DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 21–24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites:
21. The degassing module according to Claim 1, wherein an annular supporter clearance is formed between the supporter and the housing. Emphasis added.
Claim 21 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “an annular supporter clearance” refers to the “supporter clearance” of claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the “annular supporter clearance” of claim 21 refers to the “supporter clearance” of claim 1.
Claim 22 recites:
22. The degassing module according to Claim 6, wherein a supporter clearance is formed between the supporter and the housing in a radial direction, and wherein the external region includes the supporter clearance and the liquid flow space. Emphasis added.
Claim 22 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “a supporter clearance” refers to the “supporter clearance” of claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the “supporter clearance” of claim 22 refers to the “supporter clearance” of claim 1.
Claim 23 recites:
23. The degassing module according to Claim 1,
wherein a liquid flow space is formed between an outer circumferential surface of the hollow fiber membrane group and an inner circumferential surface of the housing, the liquid flow space allowing liquid to flow therethrough. Emphasis added.
Claim 23 is indefinite because it is unclear if the recitation of “a liquid flow space” refers to “a liquid flow space” in claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the “liquid flow space” of claim 23 is the same as the “liquid flow space” of claim 1.
Claim 24 is indefinite because it depends from claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4–11, 13, 15, and 17–24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al., US 2013/0327219 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Taylor teaches a liquid degassing module 100, which reads on the claimed “degassing module.” See Taylor Fig. 1, [0141]. The module 100 comprises:
A “pipe” formed from ports 112, 114 and center tube 154 including a flow path (the “in-pipe flow path”) having liquid port 112 for supplying liquid (the “liquid supply port”) and liquid port 114 for discharging liquid (the “liquid discharge port”), with the center tube 154 having a plurality of perforations (“holes”) that allow the in-flow path to be open. See Taylor Fig. 2, [0145], [0155].
A membrane mat 156 disposed around an outer circumferential side of the center tube 154 so as to cover the perforations—reading on the “hollow fiber membrane group formed by disposing a plurality of hollow fiber membranes on an outer circumferential side of the pipe so as cover the plurality of holes.” See Taylor Fig. 5, [0156].
A housing 110 (the “housing”—note that the “housing” includes casing 132 of cartridge 130 that is inserted into the housing 110) connected to an outer circumferential surface of the pipe and configured to store the membrane mat 156, as claimed. See Taylor Figs. 2, 5 [0141], [0147].
Potting 138, 140 that acts as a tubesheet for the hollow fiber membranes of membrane mat 156 (the “partition unit”) configured to partition a region of the housing 110 into a region including the inside of the hollow fiber membranes (the “internal region including an inner circumferential side space of each of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes”), and a region including the space between the hollow fiber membranes in the membrane mat 156 (the “external region including an inter-membrane space between the plurality of hollow fiber membranes”). See Taylor Figs. 2, 27, [0147].
Gas ports 124, 126 of the housing 110 for receiving sweep gas communicating with the inside of the hollow membranes—reading on “an air intake port of the housing, the air intake port communicating with the internal region.” See Taylor Fig. 2, [0145].
A baffle 155 (the “baffle”) configured to partition the in-pipe flow path of the pipe and the space between the hollow fiber membranes in membrane mat 156 in an extending direction of the pipe, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 2, [0149].
Cross threads 946 connecting the hollow fiber membranes in the membrane mat 156, which read on the “supporter.” See Taylor Fig. 41, [0184]. The cross threads 946 are capable of supporting the hollow fiber membranes against the center tube 154, as claimed, because the cross threads 946 connect the hollow fiber membranes together so they remain in a bundle instead of being separated so that they would not be able to stay against the center tube 154. Id. The cross threads 946 are spaced away from the casing 132 (part of the “housing”) in a radial direction, as claimed, as seen in Figs. 5 and 27 where the membrane mat is spaced away from the inside of the housing so that liquid can flow. Id. at [0156] (liquid can flow between baffle and interior casing). Also, a clearance (the “supporter clearance”) is formed between the cross threads 946 and the interior of casing 132 (part of the “housing”), as claimed, as seen in Figs. 5 and 27 where there is a space between the outside of the membrane mat 156 and the inside of the casing 132. Id.
Taylor differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to the location of the cross threads 946. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach the cross threads 946 being disposed on a side of the baffle 155 closer to the liquid discharge port 114 in the extending direction, as claimed.
But the cross threads 946 are spaced along the length of the hollow membrane fibers in the membrane mat 156 to connect the individual fibers together. See Taylor [0184]. It would have been obvious for cross threads 946 to be located on the membrane mat 156 in the location between the baffle 155 and the liquid discharge port 114 to connect the hollow membrane fibers together in this location of the membrane mat 156.
Regarding claim 2, Taylor teaches that the cross threads 946 are capable of supporting all of the hollow fiber membranes of membrane mat 156 against the center tube 154—reading on “the supporter is configured to support all of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes against the pipe.”
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Taylor teaches that the baffle 155 is spaced away from the housing 110, as claimed, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Tayor teaches that the baffle 155 is configured to partition an entirety of the spacing between the membranes (the “inter-membrane space”) in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor [0155].
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Taylor teaches that the liquid flow space is formed between the hollow fiber membrane mat 156 and the casing 132 (part of the “housing”), with the liquid flow space allowing liquid to flow therethrough, as claimed, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27. See Taylor [0156].
Regarding claim 7, Taylor teaches that the cross threads 946 (the “supporter”) is not disposed in the liquid flow space, as claimed, because the cross threads are disposed along the length of the membranes instead of in the space between the membranes and the inside of the casing 132 where liquid flows. See Taylor Figs. 5, 27, 41, [0156], [0184].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Taylor teaches that the baffle 155 includes:
An “inner baffle disposed on an inner circumferential side” of the center tube 154 and configured to partition the in-pipe flow path in the extending direction, as claimed, which is the portion of the baffle 155 inside the center tube 154, as seen in Fig. 5.
An “outer baffle disposed on the outer circumferential side of the” center tube 154 and configured to partition the space between the hollow membrane fibers (the “inter-membrane space”) in the extending direction, as claimed, which is the portion of the baffle 155 that extends into the membrane mat 156, as seen in Fig. 5.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Taylor teaches that the potting 138, 140 (the “partition unit”) includes:
Potting 138 (the “first sealing unit”) disposed at a first end on one side of the membrane mat 156 in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 5, [0147].
Potting 140 (the “second sealing unit”) disposed at a second end on an other side of the membrane mat 156 in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 5, [0147].
An entire region which excludes the hollow fiber membranes of the mat 156 and is between the center tube 156 and the housing 110 in a perpendicular section perpendicular to the extending direction is filled with the potting 138, 140, as claimed, which is the seal between the potting 138, 140 and the inside of the housing 110 in the area radially outward from the membrane mat 156, as seen in Fig. 27 where liquid does not flow between the inside of the housing and the potting on either end of the module.
The perforations in the center tube 154 are formed between the potting 138, 140 in the extending direction, as seen in Fig. 5.
Regarding claim 10, Taylor teaches that the gas ports 124, 126 (the “air intake port”) includes:
Intake port 124 (the “first air intake port”) formed at an opposite of the potting 140 (the “second sealing unit”) with respect to potting 138 (the “first sealing unit”) in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 2, [0144].
Intake port 126 (the “second air intake port”) formed on an opposite of the potting 138 with respect to the potting 140 in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 2, [0144].
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Taylor teaches a method of degassing a liquid comprising in the module 100 sucking sweep gas, such as air, through side port 124 (part of the “air intake port”), and suppling liquid from port 112 (part of the “liquid supply port”) to the in-flow path, as claimed. See Taylor [0141], [0143].
Regarding claim 21, Taylor teaches a ring-shaped clearance (the “annular supporter clearance”) is formed between the cross threads 946 (the “supporter”) and the inside of the casing 132 (part of the “housing”), which is the clearance between the membrane mat 156 and the inside of the casing 132, as seen in Fig. 5 and by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27. See Taylor [0156].
Regarding claim 22, Taylor teaches a clearance (the “annular supporter clearance”) is formed between the cross threads 946 (the “supporter”) and the inside of the casing 132 in a radial direction, which is the clearance between the membrane mat 156 and the inside of the casing 132, as seen in Fig. 5 and by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27. See Taylor [0156]. The “external region” (the region including the space between the hollow fiber membranes in membrane mat 156) includes the clearance and the liquid flow space, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27.
Regarding claim 23, Taylor teaches that the liquid flow space is formed between an outer circumferential surface of the membrane mat 156 and an inner circumferential surface of the casing 132, with the liquid flow space allowing liquid to flow therethrough, as claimed, as seen in Fig. 5 and by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27. See Taylor [0156].
Regarding claim 24, Taylor teaches that the potting 138, 140 (the “partition unit”) includes:
Potting 138 (the “first sealing unit”) disposed at a first end on one side of the membrane mat 156 in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 5, [0147].
Potting 140 (the “second sealing unit”) disposed at a second end on an other side of the membrane mat 156 in the extending direction, as claimed. See Taylor Fig. 5, [0147].
Also, the liquid space extends, in the extending direction, between the potting 138, 140, as claimed, as seen by the fluid arrows in Fig. 27.
Further, the cross threads 946 (the “supporter”) is not disposed in the liquid flow space, as claimed, because the cross threads are disposed along the length of the membranes instead of in the space between the membranes and the inside of the casing 132 where liquid flows. See Taylor Figs. 5, 27, 41, [0156], [0184].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sikar et al., US 12,121,860 B2 (hollow fiber membrane module); Tanizaki et al., US 10,583,664 B2 (hollow fiber membrane module); Sengupta et al., US 2006/0081524 A1 (membrane contactor); de Winter, US 6,183,639 B1 (hollow fiber membrane module comprising sleeve sections 44 to support fiber bundles 22).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776