DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the relay communications device" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the relay communications device” refers back to the “a relay node” limitation recited in line 1.
Regarding claims 2-3, 6-7, and 13-16 also recite the limitation “the relay communications device” and are indefinite for the same reason. Further claims 2-16 are also rejected on the basis of being dependent upon rejected claim 1.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the relay communications device" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the relay communications device” refers back to the “a relay node” limitation recited in line 1.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the relay communications device" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitation “the relay communications device” refers back to the “a relay node” limitation recited in line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jha et al. (WO 2017/119919 A1)(hereinafter “Jha”)(cited in IDS filed June 14, 2024).
Regarding claim 1, Jha discloses a method of operating a communications device acting as a relay node configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network and to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a plurality of remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 110) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 116 (“a plurality of remote communication devices”), or the UE group leader 116 (“a relay node”) can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130. [0074]: a group leader (e.g., UE 1 16) can be selected or designated by the eNB 102, which can then coordinate D2D/ProSe group communication among the group as a facilitator, relay, or gateway for data.), the method comprising
accumulating a plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 1 10) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 1 16, or the UE group leader 1 16 can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130. The UEs of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can further provide the measurements to the UE group leader 116 or another UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 via the one or more D2D/ProSe channels 130 in order to aggregate the group link measurements and quality monitoring among the D2D/ProSe group 140 at 302. In addition, the aggregate link quality measurement reporting can be generated to the eNB 102 via the one or more network channels 236 via the group leader UE 116 or from UEs individually at 306. [0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can collect the measurement reports from the UE devices that are a part of, or as current members of the D2D/ProSe group via a group identifier or communicative coupled via D2D/ProSe links 130, or example, by using D2D/ProSe interface message exchange. The D2D/ProSe group leader 1 16 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102.),
generating an accumulated measurement report comprising indications of a selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports ([0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102. [0058]: the source eNB 102 can ask a D2D/ProSe group leader 116 to send measurement report(s) on behalf of the D2D/ProSe group 140. The D2D/ProSe group leader 116, then, sends aggregated group measurement report at 306, which can include several measurements, such as a worst device's measurement value from among the D2D/ProSe group 140, measurement values from each UE device 110, 116 or other device from in the D2D/ProSe group 140, one or more average measurement values across the D2D/ProSe group 140 and the measurement report from the device requesting HO.), and
transmitting, to the wireless communications network, the generated accumulated measurement report ([0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102.).
Regarding claim 2, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses selecting the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports based on determining that the remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports should perform a group handover with the relay communications device from a first infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network to a second infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network (Fig. 3, [0052]: the eNB 102 can set different thresholds for a group HO trigger 303 when UE devices are in D2D/ProSe group communication. In addition, the D2D/ProSe group HO trigger 303 can occur earlier via the UE group leader 116 or other UE than the individual HO trigger (i.e. when the device is not operating in group communication mode) so that the D2D/ProSe group 140 gets more time to complete the D2D/ProSe group handover before any cellular link 218, 236 in the group fails. [0053]: the UE group leader 116 can initiate D2D/ProSe group HO based on the aggregate group trigger or D2D/ProSe group HO trigger 303 on behalf of the group via a group HO request 304. [0055]: the group HO trigger 303 can occur or include various different triggers. For example, in an event when link quality of any one UE device in the D2D/ProSe group 140 falls below a threshold value… for a period of time…, the D2D/ProSe group trigger could be communicated to the eNB 102. Each UE device could evaluate this trigger as a quality link threshold value, and once such an event trigger occurs, the individual UE device 110, 116 or other D2D/ProSe group member device can send the group HO request 303 to the eNB 102 directly or through the group leader 116.).
Regarding claim 4, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses wherein the accumulated measurement report comprises indications of one or more of:
identifiers associated with each of the remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims),
the number of remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims),
the measurements of each of the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports ([0058]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116, then, sends aggregated group measurement report at 306, which can include several measurements, such as a worst device's measurement value from among the D2D/ProSe group 140, measurement values from each UE device 110, 116 or other device from in the D2D/ProSe group 140, one or more average measurement values across the D2D/ProSe group 140 and the measurement report from the device requesting HO.), and
one or more events that have been triggered on the basis of the measurements (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 5, Jha discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses receiving, from the wireless communications network in response to the transmitted accumulated measurement report, a group handover command indicating that a group handover is to be performed to a specified target node (Fig. 3, [0065]: at 310 the source eNB 102 can send the HO command to all UE devices 110, 116 in the D2D/ProSe group 140 via cellular interface communication (e.g., links 236, 21 8). For example, if the D2D/ProSe group 140 size is big, or over a certain threshold value for a size, the source eNB 102 can use a broadcast / multicast message operations to send the D2D/ProSe group HO message, which can have the HO command or communication command to all devices.).
Regarding claim 7, Jha discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses wherein the target node is a second infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network, and the group handover is to be performed by the relay communications device and one or more of the remote communications devices from a first infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network to the second infrastructure equipment ([0060]: At 308, the source eNB 102 can select the best eNB as target eNB 104 (“the target node” and “second infrastructure equipment) based on aggregate measurement report(s) from the D2D/ProSe group 140. The target eNB 104 could be selected such that none of the devices in the D2D/ProSe group 140 has link quality worse than a threshold value).
Regarding claim 8, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses transmitting reference signals to the remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: initially the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 110) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 1 16, or the UE group leader 116 can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130.), and
receiving the measurement reports from the remote communications devices, the measurements indicated by the measurement reports having been performed by the remote communications devices on the transmitted reference signals (Fig. 3, [0050]: the UEs of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can further provide the measurements to the UE group leader 1 16 or another UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 via the one or more D2D/ProSe channels 130 in order to aggregate the group link measurements and quality monitoring among the D2D/ProSe group 140 at 302.).
Regarding claim 9, Jha discloses all features of claim 8 as outlined above.
Jha also discloses wherein the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurements reports are those received from the remote communications devices during a predetermined period ([0055]: the group HO trigger 303 can occur or include various different triggers. For example, in an event when link quality of any one UE device in the D2D/ProSe group 140 falls below a threshold value…for a period of time…, the D2D/ProSe group trigger could be communicated to the eNB 102. Each UE device could evaluate this trigger as a quality link threshold value, and once such an event trigger occurs, the individual UE device 110, 116 or other D2D/ProSe group member device can send the group HO request 303 to the eNB 102 directly or through the group leader 11 6.).
Regarding claim 17, Jha discloses a communications device acting as a relay node (Fig. 8, [0098]: access (user) equipment 110, 116, 102, 104) comprising
transceiver circuitry (Fig. 8, [0099]: receiver/transmitter 810.) configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network and to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a plurality of remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 110) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 116 (“a plurality of remote communication devices”), or the UE group leader 116 (“a relay node”) can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130. [0074]: a group leader (e.g., UE 1 16) can be selected or designated by the eNB 102, which can then coordinate D2D/ProSe group communication among the group as a facilitator, relay, or gateway for data.), and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry (Fig. 8, [0101]: a processor 816.)
to accumulate a plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 1 10) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 1 16, or the UE group leader 1 16 can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130. The UEs of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can further provide the measurements to the UE group leader 116 or another UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 via the one or more D2D/ProSe channels 130 in order to aggregate the group link measurements and quality monitoring among the D2D/ProSe group 140 at 302. In addition, the aggregate link quality measurement reporting can be generated to the eNB 102 via the one or more network channels 236 via the group leader UE 116 or from UEs individually at 306. [0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can collect the measurement reports from the UE devices that are a part of, or as current members of the D2D/ProSe group via a group identifier or communicative coupled via D2D/ProSe links 130, or example, by using D2D/ProSe interface message exchange. The D2D/ProSe group leader 1 16 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102.),
to generate an accumulated measurement report comprising indications of a selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports ([0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102. [0058]: the source eNB 102 can ask a D2D/ProSe group leader 116 to send measurement report(s) on behalf of the D2D/ProSe group 140. The D2D/ProSe group leader 116, then, sends aggregated group measurement report at 306, which can include several measurements, such as a worst device's measurement value from among the D2D/ProSe group 140, measurement values from each UE device 110, 116 or other device from in the D2D/ProSe group 140, one or more average measurement values across the D2D/ProSe group 140 and the measurement report from the device requesting HO.), and
to transmit, to the wireless communications network, the generated accumulated measurement report ([0059]: The D2D/ProSe group leader 1 16 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102.).
Regarding claim 26, Jha discloses an infrastructure equipment forming part of a wireless communications network (Fig. 3, [0050]: source or serving BS 102.) comprising
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device (Fig. 9, [0107]: the electronic device 900 may be, implement, be incorporated into, or otherwise be a part of … an evolved NodeB (eNB). The electronic device 900 may include application circuitry 902, baseband circuitry 904, Radio Frequency (RF) circuitry 906, front-end module (FEM) circuitry 908 and one or more antennas 910, coupled together at least as shown.) acting as a relay node for relaying signals between the infrastructure equipment and a plurality of remote communications devices (Fig. 3, [0050]: the one or more UEs (e.g., UE 110) of the D2D/ProSe group 140 that are not a UE group leader 116 (“a plurality of remote communication devices”), or the UE group leader 116 (“a relay node”) can process or generate measurements of cellular quality on corresponding cell network channels. Each respective network device or UE of the D2D/ProSe group 140 can be configured to generate measurements of the network channels as well as for the one or more D2D/ProSe channels / links 130. [0074]: a group leader (e.g., UE 1 16) can be selected or designated by the eNB 102, which can then coordinate D2D/ProSe group communication among the group as a facilitator, relay, or gateway for data.), and
controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry (Fig. 9, [00108]: the application circuitry 902 may include one or more application processors.) to
receive, from the relay communications device, an accumulated measurement report comprising indications of a selected one or more of an accumulated plurality of measurement reports, the accumulated plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices ([0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102. [0058]: the source eNB 102 can ask a D2D/ProSe group leader 116 to send measurement report(s) on behalf of the D2D/ProSe group 140. The D2D/ProSe group leader 116, then, sends aggregated group measurement report at 306, which can include several measurements, such as a worst device's measurement value from among the D2D/ProSe group 140, measurement values from each UE device 110, 116 or other device from in the D2D/ProSe group 140, one or more average measurement values across the D2D/ProSe group 140 and the measurement report from the device requesting HO. [0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 116 can aggregate measurement reports from other devices and send the results to the eNB 102.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jah in view of Paladugu et al. (US 2023/0247513 A1)(hereinafter “Paladugu”).
Regarding claim 3, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Although Jha discloses performing a group handover based on accumulated measurement reports (Abstract: aggregated measurement reports (306) of channel link quality can be used to request or initiate the D2D group handover and be provided via a UE group leader (116) or individually from UE devices(110) of the D2D/ProSe group. ), Jha fails to disclose selecting the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports based on determining that the remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports should perform a group handover from the relay communications device to another relay communications device. However, Paladugu discloses selecting the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports based on determining that the remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports should perform a group handover from the relay communications device to another relay communications device (Fig. 6, [0068]: the relay UE 104 may move from the coverage area of the first base station 102-a to the second base station 102-b. The relay UE 104 may also provide relay connections (PC5 connection) to one or more remote UEs (e.g., first remote UE 106-a and second remote UE 106-b). In some aspects, the remote UEs 106 may maintain the PC5 connection with the relay UE 104 during the handover process or they may trigger a handover to another relay UE or direct Uu path to a target base station 102.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accumulating of the plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices to determine whether group handover should be performed, as taught by Jha, by selecting the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports based on determining that the remote communications devices associated with the selected one or more of the accumulated plurality of measurement reports should perform a group handover from the relay communications device to another relay communications device, as taught by Paladugu. Doing so allows for selecting a particular UE as the best candidate to function as a relay UE for improving communication system performance (See Paladugu [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Jha discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Jha fails to disclose wherein the target node is another relay communications device, and the group handover is to be performed by a plurality of the remote communications devices from the relay communications device to the other relay communications device. However, Paladugu discloses wherein the target node is another relay communications device, and the group handover is to be performed by a plurality of the remote communications devices from the relay communications device to the other relay communications device (Fig. 6, [0068]: the relay UE 104 may move from the coverage area of the first base station 102-a to the second base station 102-b. The relay UE 104 may also provide relay connections (PC5 connection) to one or more remote UEs (e.g., first remote UE 106-a and second remote UE 106-b). In some aspects, the remote UEs 106 may maintain the PC5 connection with the relay UE 104 during the handover process or they may trigger a handover to another relay UE or direct Uu path to a target base station 102. [0099]: in some examples, the method may include selecting a relay UE from the plurality of candidate relay UEs prepared by the target base station for the first UE based in part on measurement of sidelink discovery reference signals received power (SD-RSRP) between the first UE and each of the plurality of candidate relay UEs.) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accumulating of the plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices to determine whether group handover should be performed, as taught by Jha, to include that he target node is another relay communications device, and the group handover is to be performed by a plurality of the remote communications devices from the relay communications device to the other relay communications device, as taught by Paladugu. Doing so allows for selecting a particular UE as the best candidate to function as a relay UE for improving communication system performance (See Paladugu [0045]).
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jah in view of Sabouri-Sichani et al. (US 2022/0248481 A1)(hereinafter “Sabouri-Sichani”).
Regarding claim 11, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jin fails to disclose receiving reference signals from the remote communications devices, and performing the measurements on the received reference signals to generate the plurality of measurement reports. However, Sabouri-Sichani discloses receiving reference signals from the remote communications devices, and performing the measurements on the received reference signals to generate the plurality of measurement reports ([0091]: UE2 and/or UE3 may transmit (sidelink unicast or group cast) a reference signal to UE1 and/or other apparatuses acting as relay node, i.e. one or more apparatuses acting as a remote node transmits a reference signal at least to one other apparatus, for example to the apparatus acting as the relay node, in the device group, and the receiving one or more apparatuses may perform the above described estimations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accumulating of the plurality of measurement reports each indicating measurements of a communications channel between the relay communications device and one of the remote communications devices, as taught by Jha, to include receiving reference signals from the remote communications devices, and performing the measurements on the received reference signals to generate the plurality of measurement reports, as taught by Sabouri-Sichani. Doing so allows for determining a more accurate measurement of sidelink quality between the relay communications device and the remote communications devices (See Sabouri-Sichani [0081]).
Regarding claim 14, Jha discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Jha discloses identification of relay communications devices and remote communications devices through identifiers ([0059]: the D2D/ProSe group leader 1 16 can collect the measurement reports from the UE devices that are a part of, or as current members of the D2D/ProSe group via a group identifier or communicative coupled via D2D/ProSe links 130, or example, by using D2D/ProSe interface message exchange.). Jha fails to specifically disclose transmitting, to another relay communications device via an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network, an indication of identifiers associated with one or more of the plurality of remote communications devices. However, Sabouri-Sichani discloses transmitting, to another relay communications device via an infrastructure equipment of the wireless communications network, an indication of identifiers associated with one or more of the plurality of remote communications devices (Figs. 9-10, [0073]: in the illustrated examples of FIGS. 9 and 10, the information exchange within the device group uses sidelink. It is a straightforward solution for one skilled in the art to implement the principles described with FIGS. 9 and 10 to implementations in which there is no separate device comprising the controlling entity but the apparatus acting as a relay node performs the controlling entity functionality and/or in which implementations the relaying related information, for example measurement reports and capability reports, is shared between apparatuses regardless of their role (for example UE3 may receive messages 9-2 and/or messages 9-9 from UE1 and UE2). Accordingly, Sabouri-Sichani discloses a UE sending message(s) to another UE through yet another UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of sending UE identifiers between UEs, as taught by Jha, to include sending message(s) from a UE to another UE through yet another UE, as taught by Sabouri-Sichani. Doing so allows for reducing signaling overhead in the communication system (See Sabouri-Sichani [0113]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jah in view of Sabouri-Sichani and further in view of Paladugu.
Regarding claim 12, Jah in view of Sabouri-Sichani discloses all features of claim 11 as outlined above.
Jha in view of Jah in view of Sabouri-Sichani fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the received reference signals comprises an indication of an identifier associated with the remote communications device from which it was received. However, Paladugu discloses wherein each of the received reference signals comprises an indication of an identifier associated with the remote communications device from which it was received ([0067]: the sidelink measurement report may correspond to a measured channel quality (e.g., sidelink-reference signal receive power (RSRP)) between the remote UE and the relay UE. The sidelink measurement report may also include explicit or implicit relay UE identifier. Accordingly, Paladugu discloses the use of identifiers for the transmission of signals between the relay communications device and the remote communications devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the receiving reference signals from the remote communications devices, as taught by the Jha and Sabouri-Sichani combination, to include an indication of an identifier associated with the remote communications device, as taught by Paladugu. Doing so allows for the remote communications device to unique identify the measurements associated with each of the remote communications devices.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463