DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re claim 20, claim 20 recites, inter alia, “generate the instruction torque so as to keep the vehicle on which the steering mechanism is mounted in a lane” in lines 2-4 and also “generate the instruction torque in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator at least in the lane keeping control” in lines 4-6. It seems that there are two distinct torques that are generated within the claim, the first generation is dependent upon keeping the vehicle within a lane, and the second dependent upon an amount of torque that the driver applies to the steering wheel (i.e. in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator) while in the lane keeping control, however, both of these generated torques are referred to as instruction torque. This creates a problem, where it is unclear in the claim if there are two distinct torques that are generated, of if there is only a singular torque that is generated, and that the singular torque is based upon two different factors, the first being an amount of torque required to keep the vehicle within the lane, and the second factor being in consideration of an amount of torque applied by the driver to the steering wheel (i.e. in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator at least in the lane keeping control). Claims 21-34 are further rejected for dependance upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner note: In re claims 20-34, see the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection above. Due to the outstanding 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection, as explained above, the prior art has been applied to the claims as best understood.
Claims 18-22, 29-30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tominga et al. (U.S. 20230068573).
In re claim 18, Tominga teaches a control device (abstract) to control a steering mechanism (fig. 2; steering control system; [0079]; note: steering control system is not numbered in fig. 2, with components explained in [0079]) mounted on a vehicle (fig. 2; host vehicle 1; [0064, 0066]), the control device comprising:
a motor (fig. 2; EPS motor 5; [0079]); and
an assist controller (fig. 2; steering control unit 200; [0079]) to generate
an instruction torque (fig. 8, fig. 11; line T2, input torque; [0123; 0143]) to be input to the motor in consideration of a mechanical characteristic of an arm of a steering operator (fig. 8, fig. 11; line T3, driver torque by a driver; [0143]; note: also see [0123] and equation 17).
In re claim 19, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 18, wherein
the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator includes
a characteristic that the steering operator adapts a rigidity of the arm according to a state of the vehicle (fig. 8, fig. 11; line T3, driver torque by a driver; [0143]; note: also see [0123] and equation 17; note: the waviness in line T3, as shown in at least fig. 8 and fig. 11, indicates that the steering operator is adapting a rigidity of their arm (i.e. an amount of driver applied torque, to the steering wheel) according to a state of the vehicle).
In re claim 20, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 18, wherein
the assist controller is configured or programmed to execute lane keeping control (as shown in fig. 7; A host vehicle X is travelling on a straight road, and LKAS is in operation; [0122]; note: LKAS refers to lane keep assist system, as indicated in [0008]) to
generate the instruction torque (input torque) so as to keep the vehicle on which the steering mechanism is mounted in a lane (when a driver is releasing his hands from the steering wheel, an autonomous driving system can generate an automatic driver torque which is required for the lane keeping; [0116]; A host vehicle X is travelling on a straight road, and LKAS is in operation. For that reason, the autonomous driving system is performing the steering control so that the vehicle may travel on a lane center; [0122]), and
generate the instruction torque in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator at least in the lane keeping control (fig. 8, fig. 11; line T3, driver torque by a driver; [0143]; note: also see [0123] and equation 17).
In re claim 21, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 20, wherein
the assist controller is configured or programmed to
include a corrector (fig. 1; torque correction computing part 201A; [0070]) to perform correction (fig. 8; gain K; [0123]; note: correction is accomplished via gain K; further note: in the art, the terms weight and gain are somewhat used interchangeably, as a multiplier to an input, so as to achieve a desired output) in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering person (as indicated in [0123]), and to
generate the instruction torque in consideration of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator by performing correction by the corrector in the lane keeping control (as indicated in [0123] and equation 17).
In re claim 22, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 21, wherein
the corrector (fig. 1; torque correction computing part 201A) is configured or programmed to
correct a target torque (target steering wheel angle computing part 220 computes a target steering wheel angle for maintaining the center of a host vehicle driving lane, based on the information from the lane information acquisition part 130; [0072]; automatic driver torque computing part 230 computes an automatic driver torque for making a real steering wheel angle follow the target steering wheel angle which is computed in the target steering wheel angle computing part 220; [0073]; Here, as indicated in [0072-0073], the automatic driver torque calculated for making the real steering angle follow the target steering wheel angle is an amount of correction torque, that is required to make the real steering angle follow the target steering wheel angle) obtained on a basis of a signal from an imaging device that images the lane (fig. 1; The lane information acquisition part 130 is, for example, a front camera; [0068]; fig. 2; front camera 131; [0079; 0085]).
In re claim 29, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 20, wherein
the assist controller (fig. 2; steering control unit 200; [0079]) is configured or programmed to
generate the instruction torque (fig. 8, fig. 11; line T2, input torque; [0123; 0143]) in consideration of a vehicle characteristic based on a relationship between a steering angle and a yaw rate indicating a change in a yaw angle of the vehicle on which the steering mechanism is mounted in the lane keeping control (fig. 1-2; steering control unit 200 is connected with the EPS motor 5, the driver torque sensor 111, the steering wheel angle sensor 121, the yaw rate sensor 122, the speed sensor 123, the acceleration sensor 124, the front camera 131, the GNSS sensor 132, the navigation gear 133, the LiDAR 134, and the LiDAR use map 135; [0082]; The steering wheel angle sensor 121 detects the angle of the steering wheel 2. The yaw rate sensor 122 detects the yaw rate of the host vehicle 1. The speed sensor 123 detects the speed of the host vehicle 1. The acceleration sensor 124 detects the acceleration of the host vehicle 1. Here, it is assumed that the vehicle information acquisition part 120 is constituted by the steering wheel angle sensor 121, the yaw rate sensor 122, the speed sensor 123, and the acceleration sensor 124; [0084]; the steering control device may be further provided with a curvature compensation torque computing part, which computes a curvature compensation torque, based on the curvature of the driving lane of a host vehicle, and the speed of the host vehicle, where the curvature compensation torque is required in order to make a steady circular turn at the speed mentioned above and at the curvature mentioned above. In addition, the steering control device may compute an additional driver torque, based on the driver support torque, the automatic driver torque, and the curvature compensation torque; [0267]; Here, it seems that the instruction torque is at least partly based on a relationship between a steering angle and a yaw rate indicating a change in a yaw angle of the vehicle).
In re claim 30, Tominga teaches the control device according to claim 29, wherein
the assist controller (fig. 1; 200) is configured or programmed to include
a vehicle characteristic compensator (fig. 1; additional driver torque computing part 270; [0186]) to compensate for the vehicle characteristic (additional driver torque computing part 270 computes an additional driver torque, based on the driver support torque, the automatic driver torque, and the curvature compensation torque. And, the steering control device controls so that the steering use actuator 310 may generate the additional driver torque; [0186; 0271]; an additional driver torque T.sub.EPS is computed in the additional driver torque computing part 270. For example, the additional driver torque T.sub.EPS is computed as the sum of the automatic driver torque T.sub.Auto and the support driver torque T.sub.Assist; [0118]).
In re claim 34, Tominga teaches a lane keeping system comprising:
an imaging device to image a lane (fig. 1-2; The lane information acquisition part 130 is, for example, a front camera; [0068]; a front camera 131; [0079]); and
the control device according to claim 20 (see claim 20 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-28 and 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The prior art of record fails to show or reasonably teach in combination a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 23, including
reduce a predetermined frequency component of the target torque on a basis of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator;
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 25, including
change a phase of the target torque based on the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator;
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 27, including
a transfer function C(s) of the corrector is expressed by:
c
s
=
a
s
+
b
c
s
+
d
1
e
s
+
f
where, s represents a Laplace transducer, and a, b, c, d, e, and f represent coefficients relating to the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator;
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 28, including
a transfer function of the corrector changes based on a steering torque;
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 31, including
a transfer function Pn-1(s) of the vehicle characteristic compensator is expressed by:
where, s represents a Laplace transducer, and gn, hn, kn, mn, and rn represent coefficients relating to the vehicle characteristic
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 32, including
the transfer function of the vehicle characteristic compensator changes based on a speed of the vehicle;
or a vehicle control system having the recited elements, as required by claim 33, including
a target steering angle obtained based on a signal from an imaging device that images the lane is input to the second vehicle characteristic compensator; and
in the lane keeping control,
the assist controller is configured or programmed to
generate the instruction torque on a basis of
the steering angle output from the first vehicle characteristic compensator and
the target steering angle output from the second vehicle characteristic compensator.
Conclusion
The prior art of Tsubaki (U.S. 20190002019) teaches an analogous power steering apparatus (abstract) and further teaches reducing a predetermined frequency component of the target torque (the handle damping section 216 in the steering angle control section 200X outputs a signal, which the frequency components with reference to the torsion bar torque Tt having the predetermined frequency or less are cut-offed; [0096]; The cut-off frequency of the high pass filter is set based on the handle vibration frequency due to the spring characteristics of the torsion bar and the inertia moment of the handle. For example, it is set in a range of “12.5±5 [Hz]”; [0097]). However, the frequency components of this torque are not reduced on a basis of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator.
The prior art of Limpibunterng et al. (U.S. 20130190988) teaches a steering torque supply device that supplies a steering torque to a steering device coupled to a steered wheel and a steering transmission ratio variation device that changes a steering transmission ratio, the control includes: setting a target state quantity for keeping the vehicle in a target lane; controlling the steering transmission ratio variation device so that a state quantity of the vehicle becomes the set target state quantity; controlling the steering torque supply device so that a steering reaction restriction torque that restricts a steering reaction torque generated in the steering device is supplied with the steering device as the steering torque when the vehicle is kept within the target lane; and correcting the steering reaction restriction torque on the basis of a steering input when the steering input from a driver of the vehicle is produced. However, the frequency components of this torque are not reduced on a basis of the mechanical characteristic of the arm of the steering operator.
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747