DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Rajasekaran et al. (US 20190099151).
Regarding claim 1, Rajasekaran teaches an X-ray image processing system, comprising:
an X-ray image input interface configured to receive original X-ray images taken by an X-ray imaging system 102 comprising an X-ray source 104 and an X-ray detector 108;
a computing unit connected to the X-ray image input interface and configured to; obtain at least one original X-ray image 116 from the X-ray image input interface (para 15-16);
obtain information 122 relating to the relative detector pose of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source (para 17);
obtain a point of interest 110 in the original X-ray image, wherein the point of interest is an anatomical structure or a part within an anatomical structure (para 17); and
apply a perspective transformation to the original X-ray image to obtain a transformed X-ray image, wherein the transformed X-ray image corresponds to a perspective where the X-ray detector is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest; and an X-ray image output interface configured to transmit the transformed X-ray image (perspective projection, para 19-23).
Regarding claim 2, Rajasekaran teaches the information 122 124 relating to the relative detector pose comprises a relative position and a relative orientation of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source (para 17-18).
Regarding claim 3, Rajasekaran teaches the information relating to the relative detector pose has been provided by input (para 18, 46).
Regarding claim 4, Rajasekaran teaches the computing unit is configured to interactively obtain the information relating to the relative detector pose comprising, in particular a direction and an amount of an X-ray detector tilt, by user input (para 18, 46, 64).
Regarding claim 5, Rajasekaran teaches the computing unit is configured to obtain the information relating to the relative detector pose by at least one of the following: an analysis of a calibration X-ray image taken with the same relative detector pose as the original X-ray image and a plurality of non-anatomical markers inserted between the X-ray source and the X-ray detector; an analysis of collimation borders of the X-ray beams on the X-ray detector; a comparison to one or more further X-ray images taken in a longitudinal study; and a direct geometric determination based on at least one image obtained by a stereo camera and/or a depth camera (para 45+).
Regarding claim 6, Rajasekaran teaches the computing unit is configured to interactively obtain the point of interest by user input (para 46, 64).
Regarding claim 7, Rajasekaran teaches the computing unit is configured to obtain the point of interest by finding a pre-determined or determinable anatomical structure using computer vision (para 46, 64).
Regarding claim 8, Rajasekaran teaches the perspective transformation comprises a mapping of image points of the original X-ray image to a virtual X-ray detector that is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest (para 23+).
Regarding claim 11, Rajasekaran teaches a method for processing an X-ray image, comprising: obtaining at least one original X-ray image taken by an X-ray imaging system comprising an X-ray source and an X-ray detector; obtaining information relating to the relative detector pose of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source; obtaining a point of interest in the original X-ray image, wherein the point of interest is an anatomical structure or a part within an anatomical structure; and applying a perspective transformation to the original X-ray image to obtain a transformed X-ray image wherein the transformed X-ray image corresponds to a perspective where the X-ray detector is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest (para 15-23).
Regarding claim 12, Rajasekaran teaches the information relating to the relative detector pose is obtained by at least one of the following: an external input; an interactive user input; an analysis of a calibration X-ray image taken with the same relative detector pose as the original X-ray image and a plurality of non-anatomical markers inserted between the X-ray source (2) and the X-ray detector (3); an analysis of collimation borders of the X-ray beams on the X-ray detector; a comparison to one or more further X-ray images taken in a longitudinal study; and a direct geometric determination based on at least one image obtained by a stereo camera and/or a depth camera (para 45+).
Regarding claim 13, Rajasekaran teaches the point of interest is obtained interactively by user input (para 18, 46, 64).
Regarding claim 14, Rajasekaran teaches the point of interest is obtained by finding a pre-determined or determinable anatomical structure using computer vision (para 18, 46, 64).
Regarding claim 15, Rajasekaran teaches the perspective transformation comprises a mapping of image points of the original X- ray image to a virtual X-ray detector that is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X- ray source to the point of interest (para 23+).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 11-13 and 15 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yardi et al. (EP3771431).
Regarding claim 1, Yardi teaches an X-ray image processing system, comprising:
an X-ray image input interface 191 configured to receive original X-ray images (image with a tilt) taken by an X-ray imaging system 102 comprising an X-ray source 104 and an X-ray detector 108;
a computing unit 192 connected to the X-ray image input interface 191 and configured to; obtain at least one original X-ray image 118 from the X-ray image input interface 191;
obtain information relating to the relative detector pose of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source (para 36);
obtain a point of interest (one of the crossing points of the anti-scatter grid, figure 10-12) in the original X-ray image, wherein the point of interest is an anatomical structure or a part within an anatomical structure; and
apply a perspective transformation to the original X-ray image to obtain a transformed X-ray image, wherein the transformed X-ray image corresponds to a perspective where the X-ray detector is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest; and an X-ray image output interface configured to transmit the transformed X-ray image (para 65, 81, a central crossing point of the anti-scatter grid in figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 2, Yardi teaches the information relating to the relative detector pose comprises a relative position and a relative orientation of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source (figures 2-4 and 10-12).
Regarding claim 3, Yardi teaches the information relating to the relative detector pose has been provided by input (para 33).
Regarding claim 4, Yardi teaches the computing unit is configured to interactively obtain the information relating to the relative detector pose comprising, in particular a direction and an amount of an X-ray detector tilt, by user input (para 33).
Regarding claim 5, Yardi teaches the computing unit is configured to obtain the information relating to the relative detector pose by at least one of the following: an analysis of a calibration X-ray image taken with the same relative detector pose as the original X-ray image and a plurality of non-anatomical markers inserted between the X-ray source and the X-ray detector; an analysis of collimation borders of the X-ray beams on the X-ray detector; a comparison to one or more further X-ray images taken in a longitudinal study; and a direct geometric determination based on at least one image obtained by a stereo camera and/or a depth camera (figures 10-12, collimation borders).
Regarding claim 6, Yardi teaches the computing unit is configured to interactively obtain the point of interest by user input (para 33).
Regarding claim 8, Yardi teaches the perspective transformation comprises a mapping of image points of the original X-ray image to a virtual X-ray detector that is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest (figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Yardi teaches a method for processing an X-ray image, comprising: obtaining at least one original X-ray image taken by an X-ray imaging system comprising an X-ray source and an X-ray detector; obtaining information relating to the relative detector pose of the X-ray detector relative to the X-ray source; obtaining a point of interest in the original X-ray image, wherein the point of interest is an anatomical structure or a part within an anatomical structure; and applying a perspective transformation to the original X-ray image to obtain a transformed X-ray image wherein the transformed X-ray image corresponds to a perspective where the X-ray detector is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X-ray source to the point of interest (para 65, 81, a central crossing point of the anti-scatter grid in figures 10-12).
Regarding claim 12, Yardi teaches the information relating to the relative detector pose is obtained by at least one of the following: an external input; an interactive user input; an analysis of a calibration X-ray image taken with the same relative detector pose as the original X-ray image and a plurality of non-anatomical markers inserted between the X-ray source (2) and the X-ray detector (3); an analysis of collimation borders of the X-ray beams on the X-ray detector; a comparison to one or more further X-ray images taken in a longitudinal study; and a direct geometric determination based on at least one image obtained by a stereo camera and/or a depth camera (figures 10-12, collimation borders).
Regarding claim 13, Yardi teaches the point of interest is obtained interactively by user input (para 33).
Regarding claim 15, Yardi teaches the perspective transformation comprises a mapping of image points of the original X- ray image to a virtual X-ray detector that is perpendicular to an X-ray beam from the X- ray source to the point of interest (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yardi in view of Tu et al. (US 20230172577).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Yardi fails to teach the computing unit is configured to obtain the point of interest by finding a pre-determined or determinable anatomical structure using computer vision.
Tu teaches computing unit is configured to obtain the point of interest by finding a pre-determined or determinable anatomical structure using computer vision (para 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the finding of Yardi with the finding as taught by Tu, since it would provide better image positioning.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884