DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 7, 13, and 16 are amended. Claim 10 is canceled. Claims 1-9, 11, and 13-16 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramani et al., US 2021/0012463 in view of Souza et al., US 2022/0240879.
Regarding claim 1, Ramani discloses a computer-implemented method for denoising medical image data (fig. 3; para 0031 and 0042; methods and systems to reduce noise and artifacts in images acquired in multi-energy CT imaging (e.g., spectral CT imaging), comprising:
obtaining an input dataset (figs. 2a-2b; para 0039; multi-spectral projections and fig. 3, element 62; para 0040; acquiring multi-energy scan datasets) comprising:
first basis image data of a region of interest of a subject (fig. 1, element 24; para 0033; a subject), comprising image domain data responsive to a first type of material in the region of interest (fig. 2b; para 0039; basis material images) and/or spectra of energy passing through or generated in the region of interest (fig. 2a; para 0039; basis material projections); and
second basis image data of the region of interest of the subject comprising image domain data responsive to a second type of material in the region of interest (fig. 2b; para 0039; basis material images) and/or spectra of energy passing through or generated in the region of interest (fig. 2a; para 0039; basis material projections), wherein the first and second basis image data are generated by a computed tomography scanner (fig. 1; para 0004 and 0032; a CT scanner); and
processing the input dataset (figs. 2a-2b; para 0039; proposed method) using a machine-learning algorithm to generate a first denoised basis image responsive to the first type of material and/or spectra of energy, and a second denoised basis image responsive to the second type of material and/or spectra of energy (para 0042; the method 58 further includes performing denoising (e.g., via joint and individual treatment or processing) of the images 64 in the spectral and/or spatial domains utilizing a deep learning-based denoising network to generate a plurality of denoised arbitrary basis images or vectors of the denoised arbitrary basis images 68).
Ramani further discloses the X-ray controller 38 may be configured to provide fast-kVp switching of the X-ray source 12 so as to rapidly switch the source 12 to emit X-rays at the respective polychromatic energy spectra in succession during an image acquisition session. For example, in a dual-energy imaging context, the X-ray controller 38 may operate the X-ray source 12 so that the X-ray source 12 alternately emits X-rays at the two polychromatic energy spectra of interest, such that adjacent projections are acquired at different energies (i.e., a first projection is acquired at high energy, the second projection is acquired at low energy (para 0035).
Ramani discloses claim 1 as enumerated above, but Ramani does not explicitly disclose the CT scanner operating in a low dosage mode as claimed.
However, Souza discloses X-ray based imaging devices may be configured to selectively operate in a normal-dose mode and a low-dose mode. The low-dose mode may expose the patient to a lower amount of radiation than the normal-dose mode. Embodiments of the present disclosure may utilize low-dose imaging that exposes the patient to 75% or less of the amount of radiation to which a patient would be exposed in a normal-dose mode (para 0060).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Ramani and Souza as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate X-ray based imaging devices may be configured to selectively operate in a normal-dose mode and a low-dose mode as taught by Souza into the invention of Ramani for the benefit of achieving the reduction in radiation exposure (Souza: para 0060).
Regarding claim 2, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the input dataset further comprises combined image data of the region of interest of the subject, wherein the combined image data is generated, by the computed tomography scanner, using projection data obtained from all detection elements of the computed tomography scanner (para 0033).
Regarding claim 3, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the machine-learning algorithm is an artificial neural network formed of a plurality of layers (para 0028).
Regarding claim 4, the computer-implemented method of claim 3, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein processing the input dataset using the machine-learning algorithm comprises setting values of the first layer of the artificial neural network to include all values of the first basis image data and all values of the second basis image data (fig. 4; para 0045).
Regarding claim 5, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the first basis image data comprises a single first basis image, and the second basis image data comprises a single second basis image (fig. 4; para 0045).
Regarding claim 6, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the first basis image data comprises a plurality of first basis images, each first basis image being two-dimensional, and the second basis image data comprises a plurality of second basis images, each second basis image being two-dimensional (para 0044 and 0050).
Regarding claim 7, the computer-implemented method of claim 6, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the plurality of first basis images comprises fewer than 10 first basis images, and the plurality of second basis images comprises fewer than 10 second basis images (figs. 2a-2b; para 0039; Ramani discloses obtaining multiple basis material images; therefore it is within the capability of Ramani to obtain fewer than 10 basis material images).
Regarding claim 8, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the first basis image data only comprises at least one photoelectric image, and the second basis image data only comprises at least one Compton-scatter image (para 0032 and 0035; low energy polychromatic emission spectra (i.e., photoelectric image) and high energy polychromatic emission spectra (i.e., Compton-scatter image)).
Regarding claim 9, the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein the machine-learning algorithm is a residual machine-learning algorithm that produces noise imaging data (para 0055).
Regarding claim 11, the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Ramani in the combination further disclose wherein:
the input dataset comprises one or more sets of additional basis image data of the region of interest of the subject, each set of additional basis image data comprising image domain data responsive to a respective different type of material in the region of interest and/or spectra of energy passing through or generated in the region of interest (para 0032); and
processing the input dataset using a machine-learning algorithm further generates, for each set of additional basis image data, a respective additional denoised basis image, being a denoised image responsive to the respective type of material and/or spectra of energy of the corresponding set of additional basis image data (para 0032 and 0042).
Regarding claim 13, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 2 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 3 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11, and 13-16 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665