DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendments to the claims, abstract, and specification filed on 06/14/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-11 have been amended. Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3: “the other units forming the pole” should be -- the other assemblies forming the pole --
Claim 9, line 2: “the assembly” should be -- the plurality of assemblies” or -- at least one of the plurality of assemblies --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 7 recites the limitation “wherein the plurality of assemblies include at least one of an assembly comprising an edge computer, an assembly comprising a radio communication apparatus configured to perform radio communication with a radio communication terminal, an assembly comprising a camera configured to capture an image of an area near the multifunctional pole, an assembly comprising a sensor, and an assembly comprising an illumination lamp” (underlined for emphasis). Since the claim recites “the plurality of assemblies include at least one of” followed by a list of different types of assemblies, the claim language suggests one of the assemblies is required to meet the claim. If the limitation is not as intended and the claim includes multiple assemblies, then the “at least one” should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WANG (CN 112483997).
Regarding claim 1, WANG discloses a multifunctional pole comprising
a plurality of assemblies (1, 2, 3, Fig.1), each of the plurality of assemblies having a predetermined function,
wherein the plurality of assemblies are coupled to each other to form the pole (as seen in Fig.1, when assembled, the assemblies 1, 2, 3 form the pole).
Regarding claim 2, WANG further discloses wherein each of the plurality of assemblies comprises a first interface (101, Fig.1) and a second interface (201, Fig.1), and when a first assembly (1, Fig.1) is coupled to a second assembly (2, Fig.1), the first interface of the first assembly is connected to the second interface of the second assembly (as seen in Fig.1, when assembled, the first interface 101 is connected to the second interface 201).
Regarding claim 7, WANG further discloses wherein the plurality of assemblies include at least one of an assembly comprising a camera (21, Fig.1) configured to capture an image of an area near the multifunctional pole, an assembly comprising a sensor (32, Fig.1), and an assembly comprising an illumination lamp (33, Fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, WANG further discloses wherein a cross-sectional shape of the assemblies in a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal direction is elliptical or oblong (as seen in Fig.1, the cross-sectional shape of the assemblies 1, 2, 3 was considered to be elliptical).
Regarding claim 11, WANG further discloses wherein the plurality of assemblies include assemblies (1, 2, 3, Fig.1) having a plurality of thicknesses, and an assembly (1, Fig.1) having a first thickness is coupled to the pole so that the assembly having the first thickness is positioned below an assembly (2, Fig.1) having a second thickness, the assembly having the second thickness being thinner than the assembly having the first thickness (as seen in Fig.1, the second thickness of the assembly 2 was considered to be thinner than the first thickness of the assembly 1 because the pole is tapered).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997), and in view of EGLO (DE 20209142).
Regarding claim 3, WANG fails to disclose wherein each of the first interface and the second interface comprises a power supply terminal configured to supply power.
However, EGLO discloses a first interface (12, Fig.4) and a second interface (11, Fig.4) includes a power supply terminal configured to supply power.
Therefore, in view of EGLO, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a power supply terminal as taught by EGLO to the first and second interface of WANG in order to provide an alternative power connection to provide power to the assemblies.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997), and in view of LAMBESIS (US 11,339,963).
Regarding claim 4, WANG fails to disclose wherein each of the first interface and the second interface comprises a communication terminal configured to perform signal communication.
However, LAMBESIS discloses a communication terminal (408, 410, 412, Fig.4) configured to perform signal communication (as seen in Figs.1A, 2A, and 4, each assembly has a power supply terminal 404, 406 and a communication terminal 408, 410, 412).
Therefore, in view of LAMBESIS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a communication terminal as taught by LAMBESIS to the assembly of WANG in order to control the assemblies such as the lighting device.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997), and in view of DOAN (US 4,200,904).
Regarding claim 5, WANG fails to disclose wherein the plurality of assemblies include an assembly comprising a traffic signal lighting device.
However, DOAN discloses a traffic signal lighting device (24, Fig.1).
Therefore, in view of DOAN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a traffic signal lighting device as taught by DOAN to the assembly of WANG in order to provide multiple functions such as illumination from the lighting device and signals from the traffic signal device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997) modified by DOAN (US 4,200,904), and in view of JONES (US 2001/0054970).
Regarding claim 6, WANG modified by DOAN as discussed above for claim 5 further discloses a control (31, Fig.1 of DOAN).
WANG modified by DOAN fails to disclose wherein the plurality of assemblies include an assembly comprising a signal lighting device control circuit configured to control the traffic signal lighting device.
However, JONES discloses a signal lighting device control circuit (58c, 104, Figs.13 and 15) configured to control a traffic signal lighting device (22, Fig.15; para[0083]).
Therefore, in view of NAME JONES it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a signal lighting device control circuit as taught by JONES to the assemblies of WANG modified by DOAN in order to control the traffic signal lighting device.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997), and in view of LI (CN 112413505).
Regarding claim 8, WANG fails to disclose discloses wherein the plurality of assemblies include an assembly comprising a power supply apparatus configured to supply power to the other units forming the pole.
However, LI discloses a power supply apparatus (17, Fig.1) configured to supply power to other units forming a pole.
Therefore, in view of LI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a power supply apparatus as taught by LI to the assembly of WANG in order to provide power.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112483997).
Regarding claim 10, WANG fails to disclose wherein respective thicknesses of the plurality of assemblies are equal to each other.
Regarding “wherein respective thicknesses of the plurality of assemblies are equal to each other”, as seen in Fig.1 of WANG, the pole is tapered such that the bottom assembly is larger and the top assembly is smaller. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that poles (such as streetlight poles or traffic light poles) typically can be either a tapered pole or a non-tapered pole. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate thicknesses of the plurality of assemblies are equal to each other to the assemblies of WANG in order to provide an alternative shape of the pole.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20200202712, US 10193320, and US 5067906 discloses a plurality of assemblies coupled to each other
Conclusion
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JONG-SUK (JAMES) LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875