DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the extension direction” in line 10, but an extension direction is not previously introduced. It is recommended that the limitation be amended to recite --an extension direction--.
Claim 1 recites “attached to one of the opposite ends of the covering” in lines 19-20, but ends of the covering are not previously introduced. It is recommended that the limitation be amended to recite --attached to one of two opposite ends of the covering--, or a similar recitation.
Claim 7 recites “An arrangement according to claim 1”, which should be replaced with --The arrangement according to claim 1--.
Claim 8 recites “for receipt of an elongated support element” in line 4. In the context of the disclosure, it is understood that this limitation is not introducing a second elongated support element in addition to the element introduced in claim 1. It is recommended that the limitation be amended to recite --for receipt of the elongated support element--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schieble (EP 2826943) in view of Judkins (U.S. Patent No. 5,205,333). Note: A copy of a machine translation of the Schieble patent document has been provided with this Office action. References to the disclosure of Schieble are directed to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Schieble discloses an arrangement (20) for at least partially covering a window (11, 12), wherein the arrangement comprises a covering (22) adapted for being arranged in different intermediate extension states between a retracted state and an extended state for covering the window to different extents (paragraph 0015) [FIG. 1], wherein the covering comprises a plurality of first sheet element sections which are connected to each other via their edges so that the first sheet element sections form a zigzag shape between opposite ends of the covering in its extension direction (paragraphs 0015-0016 disclose a pleated blind including folds, which reads on a plurality of first sheet element sections connected to each other via their edges to form a zigzag shape; Figure 1 further illustrates the adjacent sheet element sections delineated by horizontal folds), wherein the arrangement comprises an elongated support element (21), wherein the covering is supported by the elongated support element (via engagement between clamping element 40 and the support element 21) and movably arranged in a longitudinal direction of the elongated support element between the different extension states in the extension direction (paragraph 0016 discloses movement of the covering along a longitudinal direction of the support element 21) characterized in that the arrangement comprises at least one covering end piece (40) attached to one of the opposite ends of the covering [FIG. 1], wherein the covering end piece comprises a through hole for receipt of the elongated support element in a sliding manner (the through hole is defined in the clamping element 40 as shown in Figure 2 and described in paragraphs 0016-0017) and that the covering end piece is adapted to position the covering in the different extension states along the elongated support element via friction (paragraph 0016 discloses frictional engagement between the rod21 and the clamping element 40).
Schieble does not disclose a plurality of second sheet element sections connected to the first sheet element sections.
Nonetheless, Judkins discloses an arrangement for at least partially covering a window, the arrangement comprising a covering (14) comprising a plurality of first sheet element sections (front pleats of the covering material 14) and a plurality of second sheet element sections (rear pleats of the covering material 14 defined by rear tabs 22) which are connected to the first sheet element sections so that they project substantially perpendicularly relative to the extension direction of the covering [FIGS. 1-3], wherein at least one of the second sheet element sections is connected to every second transition between two adjacent first sheet element sections in the zigzag shape (the connection between the rear tabs 22 defining the second sheet element sections and every second transition of the zigzag shape of the first sheet element sections of the covering 14 is shown in at least Figures 2-3A, wherein the rear, second sheet element sections 22 are positioned at the rear folds and not at the front folds of the pleated covering) and wherein an edge of the at least one second sheet element section is free [FIG. 3].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering of Schieble to include the second sheet element sections and configuration taught by Judkins, in order to provide means to obscure the support element behind the covering when it is deployed, so as to provide a more aesthetic and cleaner outward appearance for the assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Schieble discloses the covering and first sheet element sections, but does not disclose the second sheet element sections.
Nonetheless, Judkins discloses a covering wherein all the first sheet element sections and all the second sheet element sections of the covering are formed by a single sheet element (column 4, lines 64-66 discloses that the covering shown in Figure 1 is formed of a single piece of material) [FIGS. 1-4].
As set forth with respect to claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering of Schieble to include the second sheet element sections and configuration taught by Judkins, in order to provide a covering that can obscure the support element behind the first sheet element sections to provide a more aesthetic and cleaner outward appearance.
Regarding claims 3-6, Schieble discloses the covering and the first sheet element sections, but does not disclose the second sheet element sections or that the first sheet element sections are provided in pairs.
Nonetheless, Judkins discloses a covering, wherein the plurality of first sheet element sections comprises a plurality of pairs (pairs defined by adjacent sections of the front pleats of the covering 14, shown in at least Figure 3A; see annotated drawing below) of adjacent first sheet element sections, which are delimited by a fold line, wherein the adjacent first sheet element sections in each pair are adapted to be arranged in different relative inclination relationships via the fold line for allowing the covering to be arranged in different extension states [FIGS. 16A-16D]; wherein the plurality of second sheet element sections comprises a plurality of pairs of adjacent second sheet element sections (pairs defined by adjacent sections of the rear folds defining the tabs 22, shown in at least Figure 3; see annotated drawing below), wherein the adjacent second sheet element sections in each pair are rigidly connected toe each other so that the are in a same relative inclination relationship irrespective of the extension state of the covering (column 3, lines 25-29; the pairs of second sheet element sections defining the tabs 22 are rigidly connected to each other via a double-weld joint 24, thereby securing each section in the pair to the other section in the pair such that their inclination angle relative to each other is fixed); wherein the adjacent second sheet element sections in each pair are rigidly connected on top of each other so that their extension planes are in parallel with each other (via joint 24; column 10, lines 17-30); wherein adjacent pairs of first sheet element sections and second sheet element sections are delimited by a fold line [FIG. 3A].
As set forth with respect to claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering of Schieble to include the second sheet element sections and configuration taught by Judkins, in order to provide a covering that can obscure the support element behind the first sheet element sections to provide a more aesthetic and cleaner outward appearance.
Regarding claims 7-9, Schieble discloses that the first sheet element sections are formed by a fabric (paragraph 0015 discloses a fabric panel); apertures (27) arranged in-line with each other in the extension direction of the covering [FIG. 1] (paragraph 0016) for receipt of an elongated support element (21); and wherein the elongated support element is adapted to interact with the covering (paragraphs 0015-0016), but Schieble does not disclose the second sheet element sections.
Nonetheless, Judkins discloses a covering including first and second sheet element sections formed by a fabric (column 3, lines 25-29), wherein the plurality of second sheet element sections comprises at least one set of apertures (26) arranged in-line with each other for receipt of an elongated support element (28); and wherein the elongated support element is adapted to interact with the covering via the second sheet element sections [FIGS. 1-3A].
As set forth with respect to claim 1 above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering of Schieble to include the second sheet element sections and configuration taught by Judkins, in order to provide a covering that can obscure the support element behind the first sheet element sections to provide a more aesthetic and cleaner outward appearance.
Regarding claim 10, Schieble discloses that the elongated support element is at least substantially rigid (paragraphs 0009-0010).
Regarding claim 11, Schieble discloses that the arrangement comprises at least one elongated support element end piece (26) rigidly attached to one end of the elongated support element [FIG. 1] and wherein the at least one elongated support element end piece is adapted to be attached to a wall defining the window so that the elongated support element may be arranged across the window [FIG. 1] (paragraphs 0009, 0016).
Regarding claim 13, Schieble discloses that the arrangement comprises at least one elongated transverse support element (24), which is adapted to extend in a transverse direction of the covering [FIG. 1] and comprises an engagement portion (237) for engagement with one of the opposite ends of the covering (paragraph 0023) in its extension direction so that the covering may be moved to different extension states via movement of the transverse support element (movement of the covering is disclosed in at least paragraphs 0018 and 0023).
Regarding claim 14, Schieble discloses that the at least one covering end piece (40) and the at least one elongated transverse support element comprise complimentary shaped engagement means so that the at least one covering end piece may be attached to the covering via the at least one elongated transverse support element (paragraph 0016).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schieble (EP 2826943) in view of Judkins (U.S. Patent No. 5,205,333), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Doehlemann (U.S. Patent No. 5,275,221).
Regarding claim 12, Schieble, as modified above, discloses that the at least one covering end piece (40) contacts an external surface of the elongated support element (21) [FIG. 2], and further discloses a clamping engagement (paragraph 0016), but does not explicitly disclose a spring-biased member.
Nonetheless, Doehlemann discloses an arrangement including a covering end piece [FIG. 1] including a spring-biased member (disc 8, biased by spring 9) for contacting an external surface of an elongated support element (1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the covering end piece of Schieble, as modified above, to include the spring-biased configuration taught by Doehlemann, in order to improve the clamping engagement provided by the end piece, so as to ensure that the covering is securely held in a desired place, or to allow for the use of larger and/or heavier coverings.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634