DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the patent office has not established that it would pose an undue burden to examine the full scope of the claimed invention. This is not found persuasive because the inventions require a different filed of search (for example, searching different groups/subgroups or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). Further, the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 1 recites “density in the range of from 0,01 to 1 g/cm3”. It appears that the claim should recite “density in a range of from 0.01 to 1 g/cm3”. Claim 1 also recites “diameter in the range of from 15 to 70 µm”. It appears that the claim should recite “diameter in a range of from 15 to 70 µm”. Claim 1 also recites “average size in the range of from 50 to 100 µm”. It appears that the claim should recite “average size in a range of from 50 to 100 µm”. Claim 1 also recites “wherein the total quantity of the coating in the range of from 2 to 100 g/m2”. It appears that the claim should recite “wherein a total quantity of the coating is in a range of from 2 to 200 g/m2”.
Claim 5 recites “the coating adjusts the pH at the surface of the composition”. It appears that the claim should recite “the coating adjusts a pH at a surface of the composition”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a density in the range of from 0,01 to 1 g/cm3”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range of from 0,02 to 0,05 g/cm3, in particular in the range of from 0,02 to 0,04 g/cm3” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 1 also recites the broad recitation “an average diameter in the range of from 15 to 70 µm”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range of from 25 to 65 µm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 1 also recites the broad recitation “the coating is in the range of from 2 to 100 g/m2”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range of from 3.5 to 9 g/m2” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 2 recites the broad recitation “the average size of at least 70%”, and the claim also recites “preferably of at least 80%, in particular of at least 90%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Claim 3 recites the broad recitation “group comprising nature and/or synthetic polymers or mixtures thereof”, and the claim also recites “in particular polysaccharides, glucosaminoglycanes, proteins and/or synthetic polymers or mixtures thereof” which is the narrower statement of the limitation. Claim 5 recites the broad recitation “pores to a range of from 3,0 to 9,0”, and the claim also recites “preferably in the range of from 6,0 to 8,0” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claims are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hedrich et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0251574).
Regarding claim 1, Hedrich et al. teach a composition comprising a porous material (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0017]), wherein said porous material comprises a biomaterial (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0017]) and comprises a plurality of open and interconnected pores with pore surfaces (page 2, paragraph [0032]), wherein said pores have a size of 5 to 500 µm which read on Applicant’s claimed average diameter in the range of from 15 to 70 µm, preferably in the range of from 25 to 65 µm (page 6, paragraph [0093]), characterized in that said porous material is coated with an electrostatically chargeable powder comprising particles (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0011], page 6, paragraph [0085]).
Hedrich et al. do not disclose wherein said porous material has a density in the range of from 0.01 to 1 g/cm3, preferably in the range of from 0.02 to 0.05 g/cm3, in particular in the range of from 0.02 to 0.04 g/cm3, wherein said particles have an average size in the range from 50 to 100 µm, and wherein the total quantity of the coating is in the range of from 2 to 100 g/m2, preferably in the range of from 3.5 to 9 g/m2. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in density, particle size and quantity involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the density, particle size and quantity of coating of Hedrich et al. in order to improve hemostasis (Hedrich et al., page 1, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Hedrich et al. do not disclose wherein the average size of at least 70%, preferably of at least 80%, in particular of at least 90% of said particles exceeds the average diameter of said pores. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in particle size involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the particle size of Hedrich et al. in order to improve hemostasis (Hedrich et al., page 1, paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, Hedrich et al. teach wherein said porous material is selected from the group comprising natural or synthetic polymers, in particular polysaccharides or synthetic polymers (page 1, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Hedrich et al. teach wherein said porous material is collagen (page 1, paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Hedrich et al. teach wherein the coating adjusts the pH at the surface of the composition (page 6, paragraphs [0085], [0087]) and the surface of the pores to about 8 which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of from 3.0 to 9.0 (page 6, paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Hedrich et al. teach wherein said powder comprises a salt (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0011], page 6, paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Hedrich et al. teach wherein said powder comprises a compound that is sodium bicarbonate (page 6, paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, Hedrich et al. teach wherein the porous material is coated with a layer of a polymer (page 1, paragraphs [0010], [0011]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/24/2026