Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 4, 6-7, 9-11, 13-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Takahashi et US Patent Application (20170186371, hereafter “Takahashi”.
Regarding claim 1 Takahashi teaches a display element comprising: a substrate that includes a light emitting element disposed therein, The display panel 721 includes the element substrate 722 includes a pixel array, ... [Takahashi para 0255]; and has a light emitting surface A base substrate of the counter substrate 723 is preferably a substrate having a function of sealing a display element. [Takahashi para 0060] The counter substrate 723 includes a color filter and a black matrix, for example. [Takahashi para 0255]; a drive integrated circuit including a drive circuit that controls driving of the light emitting element the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256 and see Fig. 35A ] The display unit 720 includes a display panel 721, an FPC 728, and an SD-IC (source driver IC) 770.; and a flexible substrate, By using flexible substrates as the base substrates of the element substrate 722 … can be flexible [Takahashi para 0261]; wherein the drive integrated circuit is disposed on one surface of the substrate, he SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256] and the flexible substrate is disposed on a surface of the drive integrated circuit, a plurality of SD-ICs 770 corresponding to the number of source lines in the pixel array is/are used. [Takahashi para 0255] the surface not facing the substrate. The light emitting surfface is item 723 which is not facing the element surface 722 see Fig 35A
Regarding claim 2 Takahashi teaches claim 1 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein a first conductive structure that relays electrical connection with the drive circuit is disposed in the drive integrated circuit, and the flexible substrate is electrically connected to the first conductive structure. The FPC 728 and the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256]
Regarding claim 4 Takahashi teaches claim 2 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein the first conductive structure includes a wiring line formed on a side surface of the drive integrated circuit. the connection destination (the SD-IC 200) of the wirings ML03841 to ML05760 changes every three wirings between the IC_3U and the IC_3D. The connection destination (the SD-IC 200) of the wirings SL2561R to SL3840R changes every two wirings between the IC_3U and the IC_3D. The same applies to the wirings SL2561G to SL3840G and the wirings SL2561B to 3840B. [Takahashi para 0321]
Regarding claim 6 Takahashi teaches a display element comprising: a substrate that includes a light emitting element disposed therein, The display panel 721 includes the element substrate 722 includes a pixel array, ... [Takahashi para 0255];and has a light emitting surface A base substrate of the counter substrate 723 is preferably a substrate having a function of sealing a display element. [Takahashi para 0060] The counter substrate 723 includes a color filter and a black matrix, for example. [Takahashi para 0255]; a drive integrated circuit including a drive circuit that controls driving of the light emitting element the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256 and see Fig. 35A ] The display unit 720 includes a display panel 721, an FPC 728, and an SD-IC (source driver IC) 770.; and a flexible substrate, By using flexible substrates as the base substrates of the element substrate 722 … can be flexible [Takahashi para 0261]; wherein the drive integrated circuit is disposed on one surface of the substrate, a plurality of SD-ICs 770 corresponding to the number of source lines in the pixel array is/are used. [Takahashi para 0255 and see Fig. 35A] and the flexible substrate is disposed on a surface of the substrate, the surface being opposite to the light emitting surface. The light emitting surface is item 723 which is not facing the element surface 722 see Fig 35A
Regarding claim 7 Takahashi teaches claim 6 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein a second conductive structure (FPC 728) that relays electrical connection with the drive integrated circuit is disposed in the substrate, and the flexible substrate is electrically connected to the second conductive structure. The SD-IC 770 and a pixel array are electrically connected to the FPC 728 [Takahashi para 0321]
Regarding claim 9 Takahashi teaches claim 6 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein a counter substrate that covers the light emitting surface of the substrate is provided, The counter substrate 723 includes a color filter and a black matrix, for example. [Takahashi para 0255] and the drive integrated circuit is disposed on a side of the light emitting surface of the substrate, t the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256 and see Fig. 35A ] and a position of a surface not facing the substrate among surfaces of the drive integrated circuit is aligned with a position of an exposed surface of the counter substrate. The light emitting surface is item 723 which is not facing the element surface 722 see Fig 35A
Regarding claim 10 Takahashi teaches claim 6 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein the drive integrated circuit is disposed on a surface of the substrate, The display panel 721 includes the element substrate 722 includes a pixel array, ... [Takahashi para 0255] A base substrate of the counter substrate 723 is preferably a substrate having a function of sealing a display element the surface being opposite to the light emitting surface. The light emitting surface is item 723 which is not facing the element surface 722 see Fig 35A
Regarding claim 11 Takahashi teaches claim 10 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein the substrate includes a circuit, a third conductive structure that relays electrical connection with the circuit is disposed in the substrate, and the drive integrated circuit is electrically connected to the third conductive structure. The driver IC 771 includes a current sensing unit (CMU) 790, a source driver unit (SDU) 791, [Takahashi para 0257]
Regarding claim 13 Takahashi teaches a display element comprising: a substrate that includes a light emitting element disposed therein, The display panel 721 includes the element substrate 722 includes a pixel array, ... [Takahashi para 0255] and has a light emitting surface A base substrate of the counter substrate 723 is preferably a substrate having a function of sealing a display element. [Takahashi para 0060] The counter substrate 723 includes a color filter and a black matrix, for example. [Takahashi para 0255]; a drive integrated circuit including a drive circuit that controls driving of the light emitting element the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256 and see Fig. 35A ] The display unit 720 includes a display panel 721, an FPC 728, and an SD-IC (source driver IC) 770 and a conductive connecting member that relays electrical connection with outside, wherein the drive integrated circuit is disposed on one surface of the substrate, the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256] and the conductive connecting member is disposed on a surface of the drive integrated circuit, the surface not facing the substrate. The light emitting surface is item 723 which is not facing the element surface 722 see Fig 35A
Regarding claim 14 Takahashi teaches claim 13 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein a fourth conductive structure that relays electrical connection with the drive circuit is disposed in the drive integrated circuit, and the conductive connecting member is electrically connected to the fourth conductive structure. The driver IC 771 includes a …, and a gate driver unit (GDU) 792. [Takahashi para 0257]
Regarding claim 16 Takahashi teaches claim 13 in addition Takahashi teaches wherein the conductive connecting member includes a wire. the connection destination (the SD-IC 200) of the wirings ML03841 to ML05760 changes every three wirings between the IC_3U and the IC_3D. The connection destination (the SD-IC 200) of the wirings SL2561R to SL3840R changes every two wirings between the IC_3U and the IC_3D. The same applies to the wirings SL2561G to SL3840G and the wirings SL2561B to 3840B. [Takahashi para 0321]
17. The display element according to claim 13, further comprising: a first substrate formed with the substrate A base substrate of the counter substrate 723 is preferably a substrate having a function of sealing a display element. [Takahashi para 0060]; and a second substrate that is different from the first substrate, and is disposed on a side of a surface opposite to a side of the light emitting surface with respect to the first substrate, By using flexible substrates as the base substrates of the element substrate 722 … can be flexible [Takahashi para 0261] wherein one end of the conductive connecting member is electrically connected to the drive integrated circuit, and another end of the conductive connecting member is electrically connected to the second substrate. The FPC 728 and the SD-IC 770 are electrically connected to the terminal portion provided in the element substrate 722. [Takahashi para 0256]
Regarding claim 18 Takahashi teaches claim 1 in addition Takahashi teaches electronic device comprising the display element according to claim 1. A touch panel device 101 illustrated in FIG. 31 includes the display unit 110 [Takahashi para 0241]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 8, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and further in view of Furubo et al., US Patent Application (20130032380), hereinafter “Furubo”
Regarding claim 3 Takahashi teaches claim 2 in addition Takahashi does not teach but Furubo teaches wherein the first conductive structure includes a through hole that has conductivity and is electrically continuous in a thickness direction of the drive integrated circuit. The main board 20 in this example includes, in a portion corresponding to the supporting protrusion 63a, a through-hole 20a which defining the cut-out. The supporting protrusion 63a projects toward the sub-board 30 through the through-hole 20a. [Furubo para 0032]
Takahashi discloses a semiconductor device includes first to fourth terminals, a switch circuit, and an integrating circuit. The integrating circuit includes an amplifier circuit having a (−) terminal, a first (+) terminal, and a second (+) terminal. The integrating circuit is configured to integrate an input signal of the (−) terminal using an average voltage of a voltage of the first (+) terminal and a voltage of the second (+) terminal as a reference voltage. The switch circuit is configured to electrically connect the (−) terminal to the second terminal, the first (+) terminal to the first terminal, the second (+) terminal to the third terminal the (−) terminal to the third terminal, the first (+) terminal to the second terminal, and the second (+) terminal to the fourth terminal. The present semiconductor device is used as a semiconductor device sensing a current flowing through a pixel in a display panel
Furubo discloses an electronic apparatus 1 includes a flat cable 70, an end 70a of which is bonded to the front surface of a sub-board 30 through an anisotropic conductive film 79, engaged portions 74A and 74B formed in the flat cable 70, and an intermediate frame 40 that engages with the engaged portions 74A and 74B to restrain the movement of the engaged portions 74A and 74B in a direction away from the electrode on the sub-board 30. Consequently, it is possible to realize a reduction in costs while maintaining connection stability between a flat cable and a circuit board.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Furubo in the art of using a semiconductor device to sense a current flowing through a pixel in a display panel and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Furubo improves Takahashi’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using holes through a substrate to route wiring through the display components.
Regarding claim 5 Takahashi teaches claim 1 in addition Takahashi does not teach
but Furubo teaches wherein the drive integrated circuit is formed with a sub board on which the drive circuit is mounted. Electronic components 34 such as an integrated circuit, a battery 31 explained below, and a battery holder 32 are mounted on the sub-board 30 (see FIG. 6). [Furubo para 0032]
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Furubo in the art of using a semiconductor device to sense a current flowing through a pixel in a display panel and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Furubo improves Takahashi’s systems, methods and/or apparatus by using additional or subboard to mount display components upon to route wiring through the display components.
Regarding claim 8 Takahashi teaches claim 7 in addition Takahashi does not teach
but Furubo teaches wherein the second conductive structure includes a first substrate through hole that has conductivity and is electrically continuous in a thickness direction of the substrate. The main board 20 in this example includes, in a portion corresponding to the supporting protrusion 63a, a through-hole 20a which defining the cut-out. The supporting protrusion 63a projects toward the sub-board 30 through the through-hole 20a. [Furubo para 0032]
Regarding claim 12 Takahashi teaches claim 11 in addition Takahashi does not teach
but Furubo teaches wherein the third conductive structure includes a second substrate through hole that has conductivity and is electrically continuous in a thickness direction of the substrate. The main board 20 in this example includes, in a portion corresponding to the supporting protrusion 63a, a through-hole 20a which defining the cut-out. The supporting protrusion 63a projects toward the sub-board 30 through the through-hole 20a. [Furubo para 0032]
The Office notes that claims 12 and 15 use the technology urubo teaches in different design choices by changing the number o boards and the placement off holes to route wiring and arrange components which are simpler design choices.
Regarding claim 15 Takahashi teaches claim 14 in addition Takahashi does not teach
but Furubo teaches wherein the fourth conductive structure includes a through hole that has conductivity and is electrically continuous in a thickness direction of the drive integrated circuit. The main board 20 in this example includes, in a portion corresponding to the supporting protrusion 63a, a through-hole 20a which defining the cut-out. The supporting protrusion 63a projects toward the sub-board 30 through the through-hole 20a. [Furubo para 0032]
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622