DETAILED ACTION
According to a preliminary amendment filed on June 14, 2024, the applicants have amended claims 1-18 and furthermore, have added new claims 19 and 20.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for salts of C1-C6 alkyl vanillin and compounds of formula (I), does not reasonably provide enablement for solvates of C1-C6 alkyl vanillin and compounds of formula (I). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The following eight different factors (see Ex parte Foreman, 230 USPQ at 547; Wands, In re, 858.F. 2d 731, 8 USPQ 2d 1400, Fed. Cir. 1988) must be considered in order for the specification to be enabling for what is being claimed:
Quantity of experimentation necessary, the amount of direction or guidance provided, presence or absence of working examples, the nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art, the predictability or unpredictability and the breadth of claims. In the instant case, the specification is not enabling based on atleast four of the above mentioned eight different factors such as quantity of experimentation necessary, the amount of direction or guidance provided, presence of working examples, state of the prior art, unpredictability and the breadth of claims.
There is no teaching or guidance present in the specification for preparing any specific solvates of C1-C6 alkyl vanillin and compounds of formula (I). Preparation of specific solvates of any compound is a very specialized field and involves their characterization using different techniques such as infrared spectrum, XRD powder diffraction etc. There is no teaching or guidance present in the specification regarding any specific solvents used for preparing specific solvates and their characterization using any techniques such as XRD powder diffraction or infrared spectrum etc. There is not even a single example present for preparing any specific solvate of C1-C6 alkyl vanillin and compounds of formula (I). Healy (Adv. Drug Deliv. Rev.) teaches that differences in solid forms (hydrates, solvates or polymorphic forms) often leads to differences in thermodynamic parameters and physiochemical properties such as solubility, dissolution rate, stability and mechanical properties (see abstract and table 1 on page 28). Therefore, in absence of such teachings, guidance, presence of working examples and unpredictability, it would require undue experimentation to select specific solvates of C1-C6 alkyl vanillin and compounds of formula (I) with enhanced stability properties.
Claims 8, 9, 12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation formula (IV), and the claim also recites preferably laurylethyl arginate and capryloyl glycine which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 12 recites the broad recitation hydrocarbon radical, and the claim also recites including from 8 to 40 carbon atoms which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 14 recites the broad recitation dyestuffs, and the claim also recites such as pigments which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "non-ionic surfactant" in claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "cosmetic composition" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Aleksandrovna (RU 2613838 C1, cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Aleksandrovna discloses oxalate electrolyte. The electrolyte comprising vanillin and ethylene diamine disuccinic acid (see English translation of the abstract) disclosed by Aleksandrovna anticipates the instant claims when the sequestering agent is ethylene diamine disuccinic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warr (EP 1964541 A1, cited on applicant’s form 1449).
Warr discloses preservative compositions. The cosmetic compositions disclosed in claims 1-11 (specifically claims 3-10) by Warr meet all the limitations of instant claims when the sequestering agent is either ethylene diamine disuccinic acid or tetrasodium glutamate diacetate except that Warr does not teach using specifically C1-C6 alkyl vanillin as fragrance raw material with a cosmetic function. However, the generic teachings of Warr do teach using ethyl vanillin as one of the fragrance raw material (see claims 1-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use ethyl vanillin as fragrance raw material with either ethylene diamine disuccinic acid or tetrasodium glutamate diacetate in cosmetic composition disclosed by Warr with reasonable expectation of success.
/CHARANJIT AULAKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621