DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 9/3/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tomioka et al (WO 2020/235198 A1) and Runowski et al (“Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR)– Studies in visible and NIR range”).
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 9/3/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claim 12 is amended. No claims are cancelled. No new claims are added. Thus, claims 12-22 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomioka et al (WO 2020/235198 A1) in view of Runowski et al (“Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR)– Studies in visible and NIR range”).
Regarding claim 12, Tomioka et al discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), which is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium using light (pages 3, 4), wherein the sensor is designed to emit transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (254 nm) (page 4), comprising: a housing (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11); and a body, which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body (liquid sample) (page 13) comprises; and wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light, emits light of a longer wavelength; wherein the body is embodied for adjusting, calibrating, and/or for carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Runowski et al discloses rare-earth doped glass or crystals (like praseodymium-doped YF3:Pr3+ or aluminosilicate glasses) are standard optical materials for temperature-independent or well-defined ratiometric luminescent tracking (See Abstract and pages 4-5. Section Conclusion). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tomioka et al of discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor with Runowski et al of Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to as to provide a stable reference that does not degrade quickly under UV exposure, temperature changes, humidity, or long storage.
Regarding claim 13, Tomioka et al in view of Runowski et al discloses wherein the body is a glass body (rare-earth doped glass or crystals (like praseodymium-doped YF3:Pr3+ or aluminosilicate glasses) (See Abstract and pages 4-5. Section Conclusion). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tomioka et al of discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor with Runowski et al of Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to as to provide a stable reference that does not degrade quickly under UV exposure, temperature changes, humidity, or long storage.
Regarding claim 14, Tomioka et al in view of Runowski et al discloses wherein the glass body is doped with praseodymium (See Abstract and pages 4-5. Section Conclusion).
Regarding claim 15, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the body is plastic (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11).
Regarding claim 16, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the body is mounted in the housing via a mechanical holder (121) (page 11).
Regarding claim 17, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the body is a disk-shaped or lens-shaped (plate) (col. 2, lines 22-35 and claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing comprises a receptacle for the sensor (page 9).
Regarding claim 19, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing is substantially transparent to the transmitted light (page 6).
Regarding claim 20, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening and transmitted light impinges on the body through the opening (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tomioka et al discloses a sensor arrangement, comprising: a sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), having: at least one light source (21) (page 9), wherein the light source (21) emits transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (i.e. 254 nm) (page 9); at least one receiver (light detector (31)) (page 4), which is designed to receive received light of a wavelength of 250-500 nm (page 4); and a calibration attachment (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11); wherein the calibration attachment includes: a housing; and a body (liquid sample) (page 13), which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body; and wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light, emits light of a longer wavelength; wherein the light emitted by the body forms the received light; wherein the body is embodied for adjusting, calibrating, and/or for carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Runowski et al discloses rare-earth doped glass or crystals (like praseodymium-doped YF3:Pr3+ or aluminosilicate glasses) are standard optical materials for temperature-independent or well-defined ratiometric luminescent tracking (See Abstract and pages 4-5. Section Conclusion). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tomioka et al of discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor with Runowski et al of Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to as to provide a stable reference that does not degrade quickly under UV exposure, temperature changes, humidity, or long storage.
Regarding claim 22, Tomioka et al discloses a method of adjusting, calibrating or carrying out a functional check of an optical sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), including steps of: emitting transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm using a sensor (page 4); wherein the sensor is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium using light (pages 4, 9); exciting a calibration attachment (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11) of the optical sensor with the transmitted light, wherein the calibration attachment includes a housing and a body (liquid sample) (page 13), arranged in the housing; upon excitation, the body emitting light of a longer wavelength; and adjusting, calibrating or carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Runowski et al discloses rare-earth doped glass or crystals (like praseodymium-doped YF3:Pr3+ or aluminosilicate glasses) are standard optical materials for temperature-independent or well-defined ratiometric luminescent tracking (See Abstract and pages 4-5. Section Conclusion). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tomioka et al of discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor with Runowski et al of Praseodymium doped YF3:Pr3+ nanoparticles as optical thermometer based on luminescence intensity ratio (LIR). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this to as to provide a stable reference that does not degrade quickly under UV exposure, temperature changes, humidity, or long storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meyer et al (US 11747200 B2) discloses an optical process sensor for measuring at least one measured variable of a medium in a container includes: a housing; a light source in the housing for emitting transmission light; a light detector in the housing for receiving reception light; and an interface including a first mechanical section, which is an integrated part of the housing, and a first optical section having a first path and a first light guide, wherein the first light guide is configured such that transmission light is guided from the light source into the first path via the first light guide and decouples transmission light from the housing, and having a second path and a second light guide, wherein the second light guide is configured such that reception light is coupled into the interior of the housing and guided from the second path to the light detector via the second light guide.
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884