Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-10, filed 5/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tomioka et al (WO 2020/235198 A1) and Haberstroh et al (US 8704158 B2). A Final Rejection is made necessitated by amendment to claims 12, 15, 21.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Amendment to claim, line 2, . Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 5/6/2026 has been accepted and entered. Claims 12, 15, 21 are amended. No new claims are added. No further claims are cancelled. Thus, claims 12-22 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomioka et al (WO 2020/235198 A1) in view of Haberstroh et al (US 8704158 B2).
Regarding claim 12, Tomioka et al discloses a calibration attachment for an optical sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), which is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium using light (pages 3, 4), wherein the sensor is designed to emit transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (254 nm) (page 4), comprising: a housing (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11); and a body, which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body (liquid sample) (page 13) comprises; and wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light, emits light of a longer wavelength; wherein the body is embodied for adjusting, calibrating, and/or for carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Haberstroh et al discloses a fluorescence standard for calibrating optical detectors comprising: a sample plate wherein a fluorescent mineral contains an activator (i.e. praseodymium compounds (col. 2, lines 22-35 and claim 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Tomioka e al with the teaching of Haverstroh et al of a praseodymium body, so as to enable a reliable reference standard for calibration and testing.
Regarding claim 13, Tomioka et al in view of Haverstroh et al discloses wherein the body is a glass body (col. 2, line 59). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Tomioka et al to use a glass body as taught by Haverstroh et al so as to enable stable luminescence.
Regarding claim 14, Haverstroh et al discloses wherein the glass body is doped with praseodymium (col. 2, lines 22-35).
Regarding claim 15, Haverstroh et al discloses wherein the body is a plastic body (co. 2, lines 38-49).
Regarding claim 16, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the body is mounted in the housing via a mechanical holder (121) (page 11).
Regarding claim 17, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the body is a disk-shaped or lens-shaped (plate) (col. 2, lines 22-35 and claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing comprises a receptacle for the sensor (page 9).
Regarding claim 19, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing is substantially transparent to the transmitted light (page 6).
Regarding claim 20, Tomioka et al discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening and transmitted light impinges on the body through the opening (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 21, Tomioka et al discloses a sensor arrangement, comprising: a sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), having: at least one light source (21) (page 9), wherein the light source (21) emits transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (i.e. 254 nm) (page 9); at least one receiver (light detector (31)) (page 4), which is designed to receive received light of a wavelength of 250-500 nm (page 4); and a calibration attachment (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11); wherein the calibration attachment includes: a housing; and a body (liquid sample) (page 13), which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body; and wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light, emits light of a longer wavelength; wherein the light emitted by the body forms the received light; wherein the body is embodied for adjusting, calibrating, and/or for carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Haberstroh et al discloses a fluorescence standard for calibrating optical detectors comprising: a sample plate wherein a fluorescent mineral contains an activator (i.e. praseodymium compounds (col. 2, lines 22-35 and claim 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Tomioka e al with the teaching of Haverstroh et al of a praseodymium body, so as to enable a reliable reference standard for calibration and testing.
Regarding claim 22, Tomioka et al discloses a method of adjusting, calibrating or carrying out a functional check of an optical sensor (sensor module used in water quality analysis system) (100) (pages 3, 4), including steps of: emitting transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm using a sensor (page 4); wherein the sensor is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium using light (pages 4, 9); exciting a calibration attachment (adapter (8) calibration jig included in an angle changing mechanism (12)) (page 11) of the optical sensor with the transmitted light, wherein the calibration attachment includes a housing and a body (liquid sample) (page 13), arranged in the housing; upon excitation, the body emitting light of a longer wavelength; and adjusting, calibrating or carrying out a functional check of the optical sensor (page 13, paragraph 5). Tomioka et al is silent with regards to the body comprising praseodymium. Haberstroh et al discloses a fluorescence standard for calibrating optical detectors comprising: a sample plate wherein a fluorescent mineral contains an activator (i.e. praseodymium compounds (col. 2, lines 22-35 and claim 4). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Tomioka e al with the teaching of Haverstroh et al of a praseodymium body, so as to enable a reliable reference standard for calibration and testing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884 /UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884