DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The amendment submitted 6/14/2024 has been accepted and entered. Claims 1-11 are cancelled. New claims 12-22 are added. No claims are amended. Thus, claims 12-22 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamimura et al (EP 2653854 A1) in view of Prilla et al (CN 111295580 B).
Regarding claims 12-13, Kamimura et al discloses a calibration attachment (27b) for adjusting, calibrating, or carrying out a functional check of an optical sensor (1) (optical measuring system) (paragraph [0031]), which is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium by means of light, wherein the sensor is designed to emit transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (i.e. fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Section: Solution to Problem, first paragraph), comprising: a housing; and a body, which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light; emits light of a longer wavelength. (i.e. including a frame member and a fluorescent body provided in an inner side of the frame member to emit fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Fig. 1 and Abstract). Kamimura et al is silent with regards to the calibration attachment material and body material as claimed. Prilla et al discloses calibration of detection device, comprising: a body made of glass or plastic (page 22, paragraph 2); and calibrating using nanoparticles in solution; nanoparticle has formula:
; wherein: Ln corresponds to one or more luminescent lanthanide ions (page 46, claim 1); the lanthanide ion is selected from Eu, Dy, Sm, Pr, Nd, Er, Yb, Ce, Ho, Tb, Tm, and mixtures thereof (page 46, claim 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Kamimura et al with the body comprising praseodymium, as taught by Prilla et al, so as to improve fluorescent properties.
Regarding claim 14, Prilla et al discloses where the glass body is doped with praseodymium (page 22, paragraph 2) (calibrating using nanoparticles in solution; nanoparticle has formula:
; wherein: Ln corresponds to one or more luminescent lanthanide ions (page 46, claim 1); the lanthanide ion is selected from Eu, Dy, Sm, Pr, Nd, Er, Yb, Ce, Ho, Tb, Tm, and mixtures thereof (page 46, claim 10).
Regarding claim 15, Prilla et al discloses calibration of detection device, comprising: a body made of glass or plastic (page 22, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 16, Kamimura et al discloses wherein the body is mounted in the housing via mechanical holder (See Section Embodiment. Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 17, Kamimura et al discloses wherein the body is configured as a three-dimensional object (disk or lens shape)(See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Kamimura et al discloses wherein the housing comprises a receptacle adapted to retain the sensor (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Kamimura et al discloses wherein the housing is substantially transparent to the transmitted light (paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 20, Kamimura et al discloses wherein the housing comprises an opening and transmitted light impinges on the body (See Fig. 1, Abstract and Section: Solution to Problem, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 21, Kamimura et al discloses a sensor arrangement (1) (optical measurement system) (See Fig. 1), comprising: a sensor (2) having: at least one light source (22), wherein the light source emits transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm (i.e. fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Section: Solution to Problem, first paragraph); at least one receiver, which is designed to receive received light of a wavelength of 250-500 nm; and a calibration attachment includes: a housing; and a body, which is arranged in the housing; wherein the body, after excitation with the transmitted light; emits light of a longer wavelength. (i.e. including a frame member and a fluorescent body provided in an inner side of the frame member to emit fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Fig. 1 and Abstract). Kamimura et al is silent with regards to the calibration attachment material and body material as claimed. Prilla et al discloses calibration of detection device, comprising: a body made of glass or plastic (page 22, paragraph 2); and calibrating using nanoparticles in solution; nanoparticle has formula:
; wherein: Ln corresponds to one or more luminescent lanthanide ions (page 46, claim 1); the lanthanide ion is selected from Eu, Dy, Sm, Pr, Nd, Er, Yb, Ce, Ho, Tb, Tm, and mixtures thereof (page 46, claim 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Kamimura et al with the body comprising praseodymium, as taught by Prilla et al, so as to improve fluorescent properties.
Regarding claim 22, Kamimura et al discloses a method of adjusting, calibrating or carrying out a functional check of an optical sensor, including step of: emitting transmitted light at least of a wavelength in the range of 200-450 nm using a sensor (i.e. fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Section: Solution to Problem, first paragraph), wherein the sensor is designed to measure at least one measured variable in a medium using light; exciting a calibration attachment of the optical sensor with the transmitted light, wherein the calibration attachment includes a housing and a body arranged in the housing (i.e. including a frame member and a fluorescent body provided in an inner side of the frame member to emit fluorescent light using excitation light having a wavelength in a wavelength band different from a scattering light measurement wavelength band) (See Fig. 1 and Abstract). Kamimura et al is silent with regards to the calibration attachment material and body material as claimed. Prilla et al discloses calibration of detection device, comprising: a body made of glass or plastic (page 22, paragraph 2); and calibrating using nanoparticles in solution; nanoparticle has formula:
; wherein: Ln corresponds to one or more luminescent lanthanide ions (page 46, claim 1); the lanthanide ion is selected from Eu, Dy, Sm, Pr, Nd, Er, Yb, Ce, Ho, Tb, Tm, and mixtures thereof (page 46, claim 10). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Kamimura et al with the body comprising praseodymium, as taught by Prilla et al, so as to improve fluorescent properties.
Conclusion
/F.P.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884