DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nowroozi et al. (US 2017/0065753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nowroozi et al. discloses a breast pump (see Fig. 7 showing a fluid expression device which is a breast pump), comprising: a breast shield (Fig. 7 soft contiguous structure 1) for fitting over at least (see fitting over at least as described in p. 10, col 2, [088], lines 8-14, this vacuum 26, combined with the variable thickness of the soft, contiguous structure 1 can allow the asymmetrical collapse of the inferior aspect 17 (tongue) and lateral (buccal) aspects 18 & 1 9 of the oropharyngeal portion 4 of the structure 1 around the received nipple without constricting the nipple, and minimizing nipple movement during expression) the nipple (p. 10, col 2, [088], lines 8-14, nipple) of a breast (see the nipple belonging to a breast as described in p. 10, col 2, [0087], lines 20-21, upon placing the device over the mother's nipple-areola complex) thereby to create a cavity over at least (see that baseline pressure is transmitted “directly into the internal volume 25 of the oropharyngeal portion of the soft, contiguous structure 1” where in the nipple is “received” within the structure and the soft, contiguous collapse “around the received nipple without constricting the nipple” thereby indicating that the internal volume 25 defines a cavity over at least the nipple as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13, As seen in FIG. 7, baseline pressure can be transmitted from a vacuum 26, through a bottle 29 & 30 if necessary, or directly into the internal volume 25 of the oropharyngeal portion of the soft, contiguous structure 1. Thus, the device can apply a continuous baseline pressure using a vacuum 26, and solenoid valves 27 & 28, coupled directly to the internal volume 25 of the soft, contiguous structure 1. This vacuum 26, combined with the variable thickness of the soft, contiguous structure 1 can allow the asymmetrical collapse of the inferior aspect 17 (tongue) and lateral (buccal) aspects 18 & 19 of the oropharyngeal portion 4 of the structure 1 around the received nipple without constricting the nipple) the nipple (p. 10, col 2, [088], lines 8-14, nipple); a first diaphragm (Fig. 8B inferior aspect 17) between a pressure delivery inlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ below, pressure delivery inlet) for connection to a pressure source (Fig. 7 vacuum pump 26), and the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13); a valve arrangement (Fig. 7 one-way valves 36 and one-way valve 32) and a second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) between the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) and the pressure delivery inlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ below, pressure delivery inlet), wherein the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) and the second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) are adapted to generate (p. 10, col 2, [0087], line 15, generate), from a pressure (p. 10, col 2, [0087], line 16, pressure) received at the pressure delivery inlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ below, pressure delivery inlet), a baseline pressure (p. 10, col 2, [0087], line 15-16, baseline mean pressure) to be applied to the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13), the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) comprising a first one-way valve (Fig. 7 one-way valve 36) in a forward direction (see forward direction with one-way direction as seen in Fig. 7) from the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) to an internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32); and a valve system (see Fig. 7 solenoid valve 27 and solenoid valve 28) for venting (see venting for maintaining the desired baseline pressure as valve arrangement regulates pressure by changing the operating states of solenoid valves 27 and 28. After the baseline pressure is achieved, “one solenoid valve will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system.” The valve 28 provides a flow path that relieves further evacuation of the downstream/internal volume thereby allowing venting as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 16-24, the solenoid valves are used to maintain the desired baseline pressure. One solenoid valve 27 can be open during baseline pressure generation, while the second solenoid valve 28, can be closed during baseline pressure generation. The pressure can be measured, for example, with a pressure transducer 31 placed in line with the baseline vacuum. Once the baseline pressure desired by the user has been achieved, one solenoid valve 27 will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system) the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) to ambient surroundings (see valve 28 opens a vent path to the outside atmosphere (ambient surroundings), relieving the internal volume rather than further evacuating it as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-23, one solenoid valve 27 will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system) wherein the valve system (27 and 28) is adapted to vent (see such venting above as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 16-24) the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) when the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) is at a pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, pressure) above the pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, pressure) of the ambient surroundings (see valve 28 opens a vent path to the outside atmosphere (ambient surroundings), relieving the internal volume rather than further evacuating it as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-23, one solenoid valve 27 will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system) by at least a first threshold pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure) or when the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) is at a pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, pressure) below the pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, pressure) of the ambient surroundings (see valve 28 opens a vent path to the outside atmosphere (ambient surroundings), relieving the internal volume rather than further evacuating it as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-23, one solenoid valve 27 will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system) by at least a second threshold pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure), and wherein the second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) is between the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) and the pressure delivery inlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ below, pressure delivery inlet).
Regarding claim 2, Nowroozi discloses further comprising a pressure source (26) having a pressure outlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ above, pressure outlet) for connection to the pressure delivery inlet (see inlet to vacuum 26 in Fig. 7), and a milk collection container (waiting receptacles 29 and 30).
Regarding claim 3, Nowroozi discloses the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) has an outlet (see tip of hosing extending into the waiting receptacle in Fig. 7) for delivering milk (p. 11, col 2, [0091], line 34, milk) to the milk collection container (29 and 30), and the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) and the second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) apply the baseline pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure) to the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) via an internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the milk collection container.
Regarding claim 4, Nowroozi discloses the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above) outlet (see tip of hosing extending into the waiting receptacle in Fig. 7) has an outlet valve (see such outlet valve in one-way valve 36 in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Nowroozi discloses comprising a release valve (Fig. 7 solenoid valve 27) for releasing the pressure (opening solenoid valve 28 releases pressure by venting the pressure path, thereby functioning as a release valve as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-24, Once the baseline pressure desired by the user has been achieved, one solenoid valve 27 will close while the other solenoid valve 28 will open, allowing the vacuum 26 to continue drawing air without further decreasing the pressure in the system) at the pressure delivery inlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ below, pressure delivery inlet).
Regarding claim 6, Nowroozi discloses the release valve (Fig. 7 solenoid valve 27) comprises an electrically controllable valve (valve 27 is a solenoid valve which uses an electrically controllable valve assembly that uses the solenoid to control airflow or vacuum as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 16-24).
Regarding claim 7, Nowroozi discloses the second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) has a bias (inferior aspect returns to an elevated position and is elevated higher than its starting position, thereby applying positive pressure to the internal volume, indicative of a diaphragm having a bias as described in p. 12, col 1, [0097], lines 1-9, the actuation of the inferior aspect 17 can begin at a slightly lower elevation, such that upon returning to the elevated position, the inferior aspect 17 is elevated higher than the position in which it began. In this way, the additional elevation will increase the pressure slightly above the baseline pressure inside the internal volume 25 of the structure 1 (for example from −60 mm Hg to −50 mm Hg) such that fluid will be further encouraged to flow into the receptacle 29 & 30) to apply positive pressure (p. 12, col 1, [0097], line 5, pressure slightly above baseline pressure) to the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32).
Regarding claim 8, Nowroozi discloses the valve system (27 and 28) comprises: a second one-way valve (see Fig. 7 one-way valve 32) in a forward direction (see forward direction with one-way direction as seen in Fig. 7) from the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30) of the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32) to the ambient surroundings (see valve 28 opens a vent path to the outside atmosphere (ambient surroundings), relieving the internal volume rather than further evacuating it as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-23); and a third one-way valve (see Fig. 7 one-way valve 36) in a forward direction (see forward direction with one-way direction as seen in Fig. 7) from the ambient surroundings (see valve 28 opens a vent path to the outside atmosphere (ambient surroundings), relieving the internal volume rather than further evacuating it as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 20-23) to the internal volume (see internal volume of waiting receptacles 29 and 30).
Regarding claim 9, Nowroozi discloses the first to third one-way valves (see Fig. 7 valve 36, valve 32, and other valve 36) are passive valves (valve 36 is disclosed as a one-way valve that may be implemented using various passive valve types including micro one-way air check valve, micro one-way disc valve, one way poppet valve, one way pressure relief valve, micro tesla valve, and micro v-type flange ball valve as described in p. 11, col 1, [0089], lines 17-24, this valve 36 can be, but is not limited to, a micro one-way air check valve, a micro solenoid valve, a micro pneumatic valve, a micro air release valve, a micro-resistance ball type check valve, a micro one-way disc valve, a one-way poppet valve, a one-way pressure relief valve, a micro Tesla valve or valvular conduit, or a micro v-type flange ball valve. Additionally, valve 32, is a one-way valve that operates passively as it equalizes pressure between the vacuum source and the actuation mechanism as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28, a connection containing a one-way valve 32 is placed within the console 33 between the vacuum 26 and the actuation mechanism 34 to equalize the pressure within the soft structure 1 and the rigid external housing 2).
Regarding claim 10, Nowroozi discloses the third one-way valve (see other valve 36 in Fig. 7 one-way valve 36) is an adjustable valve (valve 36 is a one-way valve that may be implemented using various valve types as described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28. Among these valve types is a one-way pressure relief valve which is able to adjust to change the pressure at which the valve opens for the user) that is adjustable (see one-way pressure relief valve among other valve types in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28) to give a user the ability to choose (see giving user ability to choose with one-way pressure relief valve among other valve types in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28) the second threshold pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure).
Regarding claim 11, Nowroozi discloses the third one-way valve (see other valve 36 in Fig. 7 one-way valve 36) is controllable to adjust (see controllable to adjust with one-way pressure relief valve among other valve types in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28) the second threshold pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure) based on data (see p. 11, col 1, [0090], line 4, data) relevant to a physical activity (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 2, various suckling cycles) of a user (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 3, mammalian infants) of the breast pump (Fig. 7); optionally wherein the data (see p. 11, col 1, [0090], line 4, data) comprises a type of physical activity (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 2, various suckling cycles) of the user (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 3, mammalian infants) and/or an intensity level (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 5, peak pressure magnitudes) of physical activity (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 2, various suckling cycles) of the user (see p. 11, col 1, [0091], line 3, mammalian infants).
Regarding claim 12, Nowroozi discloses the third one-way valve (36) comprises a pressure control valve (see one-way pressure relief valve among other valve types in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 25-28) which opens in response to a pressure difference equal to (see opens in response to a pressure difference equal to in p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure) the second threshold pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure).
Regarding claim 13, Nowroozi discloses the second threshold pressure is in the range 1 kPa to 10 kPa (see actuation mechanism operates using a baseline vacuum pressure ranging from -20mm Hg to -80 mm Hg which corresponds to approximately 2.7kPa to 10.7kPa in magnitude encompassing the claimed range of 1kPa to 10kPa as described in p. 12, col 2, [0104], lines 4-7, the actuation of the inferior aspect 17 of the soft, contiguous structure 1 is accomplished with a vacuum drawing between the baseline pressure ( −20 to −80 mm Hg) and the peak pressure (−90 to −250 mm Hg)).
Regarding claim 14, Nowroozi discloses comprising a wearable breast pump (see wearable retention mechanisms that secure the breast pump to the user’s body for hands-free pumping as described in p. 10, col 2, [0087], lines 25-29, alternatively, embodiments of the device can include a bra-insert to hold the device in place. Some embodiments can include shoulder and torso harnesses, or other strapping fabrics and mechanisms to hold the device in place to allow for hands-free expression).
Regarding claim 15, Nowroozi discloses a method (p. 12, col 2, [0101], line 2, methods) of operating a breast pump (see Fig. 7 showing a fluid expression device which is a breast pump), wherein the breast pump (Fig. 7) comprises: a pressure source (26); a first diaphragm (17) between an outlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ above, pressure outlet) of the pressure source (26) and a cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) creatable over at least (see creatable over at least as described in p. 10, col 2, [088]) the nipple (p. 10, col 2, [088], lines 8-14, nipple); a valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32); and a second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) between the outlet (see ‘Modified Fig. 7’ above, pressure outlet) of the pressure source (26) and the valve arrangement (36, 36, and 32), wherein the method (p. 12, col 2, [0101], line 2, methods) comprises: using the first diaphragm (17) to transfer a pressure source (26) pressure (see pressure as described in p. 11, col 2-1, [0091], line 26) from the pressure source (26) to set the breast pump (Fig. 7) into a state which, when the cavity (see cavity as mentioned above, and described in p. 10, col 2, [0088], lines 1-13) is created, permits implementing of a milk expression cycle (see milk expression as described in p. 11, col 2-1, [0091], lines 26-35), wherein setting the breast pump (Fig. 7) into said state further comprises using the second diaphragm (see the second diaphragm, inferior aspect, which is in the second structure 1 in Fig. 7) to transfer a baseline pressure (see p.10, col 2, [088], line 15, to maintain the desired baseline pressure) from the pressure source (26), wherein the method (p. 12, col 2, [0101], line 2, methods) does not include operation (operation can be stopped by not attaching the breast pump to the breast as is required for operation as described in p. 10, col 2, [0087], lines 20-21) of the breast pump (Fig. 7) to cause expression of milk (p. 11, col 2, [0091], line 34, milk).
Conclusion
/ISSA JAMIL GHANNOUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783