DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
The claims refer to “a releasable interlock” introduced in claim 1 as both “the interlock” and “the releasable interlock”. Throughout the claims this should either be referred to as one or the other.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “discharge mechanism” in claim 1-3 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 should be reworded as it is not clear what the scope of the claim is as currently worded. It is unclear if the claim is attempting to state that the locking element is engaged to impede a movement of the driver, or perhaps there is a limitation missing at the end of the claim.
Claim 17 should be reworded as it is not clear what the scope of the claim is as currently worded. Claim 17 requires a locking spring to be coupled to at least one of the locking element. It appears as if there is another element missing. Further “wherein the counter locking structure and operable to urge” is unclear. Is the counter locking structure operable to urge? Is the locking element operable to urge?
Regarding claim 16, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the trigger head”.
Regarding claim 18, there is lack of antecedent basis for “the trigger head”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Oechsel et al. (FR 2793707 A1). The examiner notes the translation is relied upon in the rejection set forth below.
Regarding claim 1, Oechsel discloses: A fluid dispensing device comprising:
- a housing (10) to accommodate a container (20) filled with a fluid (Description on page 1, first paragraph);
- an outlet orifice (11);
- a discharge mechanism (60) operable for spray discharging multiple doses of the fluid via the outlet orifice (11) (page 3, paragraph 4);
- a mechanical energy storage (30) coupled to the discharge mechanism (60), reversibly transferable between a preloaded state (first locking position second locking position) and an unloaded state and configured to store mechanical energy in the preloaded state effective to produce the spray discharging of the fluid (page 5, paragraphs 4-5),
- a releasable interlock (65) configured to retain the mechanical energy storage (from spring 30) in the preloaded state (page 4, paragraph 3); and
- a trigger mechanism (50, 51) operationally engageable with the interlock (65) (see figure 1 for example, page 5 paragraph 1 and 5) and operable
i) to release a first portion of the mechanical energy stored in the mechanical energy storage (30) when actuated for a first time (page 5 paragraphs 4-5), and ii) to release at least a second portion of the mechanical energy stored in the mechanical energy storage (30) when actuated for a second time (page 6, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 2, Oechsel further discloses wherein the releasable interlock (65) is configured to retain the mechanical energy storage (30) at least a first partially loaded state after a first actuation of the trigger mechanism (page 6, paragraph 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Oechsel further discloses wherein the releasable interlock (65) is configured to retain the mechanical energy storage (30) in at least a second partially loaded state in response to a second actuation of the trigger mechanism (page 6, paragraph 2; page 4, line 1).
Regarding claim 4, Oechsel further discloses wherein the discharge mechanism (60) comprises a driver (60) operationally coupled to the mechanical energy storage (30) and movable relative to one of the container (20) and the outlet orifice (11) to effectuate the spray discharging of the fluid (figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Oechsel further discloses wherein the driver (60) is longitudinally slidably guided in or on the housing (10) along a longitudinal direction (up down as shown in figures 1-3) between a biased position and an unbiased position (figures 1-3; page 4, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Oechsel further discloses wherein when the driver (60) is in the biased position the mechanical energy storage (30) is in the preloaded state and when the driver (60) is in the unbiased position the mechanical energy storage is in the unloaded state (page 4, paragraph 3-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 7, Oechsel further discloses wherein the driver (60) is operable to transfer the mechanical energy storage (30) into the preloaded state when moved into the biased position (page 4, paragraph 3-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 8, Oechsel further discloses wherein the mechanical energy storage (30) is operable to transfer and/or to move the driver (60) towards the unbiased position when the interlock (65) is released (page 4, paragraph 3-page 5, paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 9, Oechsel further discloses wherein the driver (60) is operationally engageable with the interlock (65) and wherein the interlock (65) is operable to retain the driver (60) in at least a first intermediate position located between the biased position and the unbiased position (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 15, Oechsel further discloses wherein the trigger mechanism (50, 51) comprises a trigger head (57) to mechanically engage with at least one of the releasable interlock (65) and the driver (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Oechsel further discloses wherein the fluid dispensing device further comprises the container (20) filled with the fluid and connected to the outlet orifice (11) in a fluid transferring manner (see figures 1-3; page 5 paragraph 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11, 13-14, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Oechsel further discloses wherein one of the interlock (65) and the driver comprises a locking element (end of 65 locks into recesses 15, 16; page 4, paragraph 3) however the other one of the interlock and the (60) does not comprises a counter locking structure, wherein the counter locking structure comprises at least a first and a second counter locking element complementary shaped to the locking element. There would be no reason absent impermissible hindsight to make this modification.
Claims 11-14 and 16-18 are dependent off of claim 10 and thus also contain allowable subject matter. The examiner notes however that there are 112b issues that need to be addressed as set forth above for certain claims.
Regarding claim 19, Oechsel further discloses wherein the trigger mechanism (50, 51) comprises a trigger member (57) and a trigger spring (the arm of 50),and wherein the trigger spring (the arm of 50) is operable to return the trigger member (57) into an initial position or initial configuration when disengaged from the driver (see figure 2). Oechsel does not disclose wherein the trigger spring is biased when at least a portion of the trigger member moves along the longitudinal direction (z) while engaged with the driver. The trigger member of Oechsel does not move along the longitudinal direction and there would be no reason to modify the trigger member of Oechsel to move along the longitudinal direction (z) while engaged with the driver.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bach et a. (US 2012/0260913 A1)
/VICTORIA MURPHY/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785