. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashizume et al (JP2012117655).
In reference to claim 1, Hashizume teaches a floating disc brake device comprising: an inner pad (58) configured to be disposed on an axially inner side of a rotor; an outer pad (58) configured to be disposed on an axially outer side of the rotor; a support (38, 32) configured to be fixed to a vehicle body and configured to support the inner pad and the outer pad such that the inner pad and the outer pad are movable in an axial direction; and a caliper body (12) supported to be movable in the axial direction with respect to the support, wherein the support includes an inner guide portion (40a,) configured to support the inner pad such that the inner pad is movable in the axial direction, and an outer guide portion (40b, 30) configured to support the outer pad such that the outer pad is movable in the axial direction, outer side portions of the caliper body includes a cylinder (where piston 15 is disposed), and includes an inner body portion configured to be disposed on the axially inner side of the rotor and an outer body portion (18) configured to press the outer pad during braking, and the outer body portion includes a through hole (18a) that opens only in the axial direction in at least one of a portion facing the outer guide portion in the axial direction and a portion facing the outer guide portion in the axial direction; and a pad clip (68) disposed between the outer pad and the outer guide portion, wherein a portion of the pad clip is configured to be inserted into the through hole (see figure 2). Please note that the language of configured to is used. As is clearly seen in the figures of the reference, the spring portions of the pad claim are sized in manner that they are able to fit in the through hole (see figure 2). In addition, the pad clip, given BRI can be considered to be between a potion of the pad and the support which includes the slide pin or the ears of the support 40b when viewed in the axial direction.
IN reference to claim 3, Hashizume teaches the floating disc brake device according to claim 1, wherein the through hole has a shape and a size into which the portion of the pad clip can be inserted substantially without a gap. Please note that the clip does not have a gap as depicted on the upper side of figure 2. It appears the that clip is contacting the hole 18A on the upper side resulting in no gap. In addition, the clip widens as it moves toward the center and thus if inserted in the hole, would result in no gap due to the increased width. Note that the claim also uses the language “can be”.
In reference to claim 8, Hashizume teaches the floating disc brake device according to any one of claims 1, wherein the outer body portion has a circumferential dimension larger than a circumferential dimension of the support. Please note that since the circumferential dimension is not defined in the claim, an dimension meets the claim. It is recommended that this feature be amended to be more narrowly defined.
In reference to claim 14, Hashizume teaches the floating disc brake device according to any one of claims I, wherein a central axis of the through hole and a central axis of the rotor are parallel to each other.
In reference to claim 15, Hashizume teaches the outer body portion has two of the through hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume et al (JP2012117655).
In reference to claim 5-6, Hashizume fails to teach the claimed shape of the hole.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to change the shape of the hole of Hashizume as an obvious matter of design choice since it has been held that changes in shape are obvious absent persuasive evidence that the shape is significant. Further, it would have also been obvious to try as there are only a finite amount of shapes that would be able to be machined or formed in the body of Hashizume in order to perform the same function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 9-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments have been carefully considered, but the language of “between” is broad enough to read on the reference. Note that applicant does not specify a direction when stating that the parts are between each other. Please note that the amendment to claim 1, also prompted the allowable subject matter in claim 4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVON C. KRAMER
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3746
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741