DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 16-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guduru (US 2019/0356047) in view of Gonzalez (US 2024/0049794).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 25, Guduru teaches electronic vapor provision device [0039] comprising: an antenna arrangement for generating radio frequency (RF) electromagnetic radiation for heating a liquid to generate a vapor for inhalation by a user, wherein the antenna arrangement comprises a first section and a second section [0036; Fig. 4]. The electrodes 138 of Guduru receive an RF signal and convert it into RF (electromagnetic) energy and thus correspond to the claimed antenna arrangement sections. Guduru teaches a controller for controlling the RF electromagnetic radiation generated by the antenna arrangement [0034]; and wicking material 132 (internal support wicking members) arranged between the first section and the second section of the antenna arrangement 138 [0036; Fig. 4].
Guduru does not teach an RF shield for shielding the user from RF electromagnetic radiation, wherein the RF shield at least in part defines a heating cavity within which the RF electromagnetic radiation generated by the antenna arrangement is contained. Gonzalez teaches an aerosol-generating device comprising an RF shield for shielding the user from RF electromagnetic radiation, wherein the RF shield at least in part defines a heating cavity within which the RF electromagnetic radiation generated by the antenna arrangement is contained [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of Guduru to reduce the possibility that a user is directly exposed to radiation as suggested by Gonzalez. Thus, the internal support structure arranged is at least partially within the heating cavity. The method of operating the device the reads on the claimed method of generating vapor.
Regarding claim 2, Guduru teaches the internal support structure comprises wick material such as cotton [0027], i.e. the internal support structure is non-shielding such that RF electromagnetic radiation is able to pass through the internal support structure.
Regarding claim 4, Guduru teaches the internal support structure comprises ceramic [0027].
Regarding claim 5, Guduru teaches the internal support structure comprises wick material such as cotton [0027], i.e. comprises a plurality of filaments or fibers.
Regarding claim 7, Guduru teaches the internal support structure is porous [0027].
Regarding claims 9-11, Guduru teaches the antenna arrangement defines an internal volume within the antenna arrangement 138, and wherein the internal support structure 132 extends within the internal volume, the internal support structure extends longitudinally within the internal volume, the internal volume extends longitudinally in the same direction as the internal support structure, and wherein the longitudinal ends of the antenna arrangement are open [Fig. 4].
Regarding claims 12-13, the electrode antenna sections of Guduru [0036] are interpreted as a first antenna and a second antenna. Regarding the same, or integral, antenna, this would have been a matter of obvious engineering choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, see In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
Regarding claims 16-17, modified Guduru teaches the RF shield comprises one or more air permeable regions which are configured to allow air and vapor to pass there through, and an air outlet comprising a mouthpiece [Gonzalez 0030; Guduru 0032].
Regarding claims 18-19, Guduru teaches air flow through the device [0032]. This implies the presence of an air inlet. In modified Guduru as applied above, the air path would extend from the air inlet, into the heating cavity through the one or more air permeable regions, through the heating cavity, out of the heating cavity through the one or more air permeable regions, and to the air outlet.
Regarding claims 22-23, Guduru teaches a signal generator for generating a radio frequency signal to provide to the at least one antenna, wherein the signal generator is configured to generate radiofrequency signals at frequences that overlap with the claimed range [0023]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 24, modified Guduru teaches the electronic vapor provision device as claimed in claim 1. Guduru teaches the device is part of a system comprising a supply of liquid which in use is vaporized to form a vapor for inhalation by a user [0032].
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guduru and Gonzalez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inoue (US 2024/0164443).
Guduru teaches the internal support structure is a wick material such as porous ceramic [0027] but does not teach graphene foam or polyimide foam. Inoue teaches a flavor inhaler wherein a porous polyimide foam is used for uniform distribution of the material held therein [0071]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use polyimide foam for the internal support structure of modified Guduru for uniform distribution of the liquid material.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guduru and Gonzalez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sears (US 2014/0209105).
Modified Guduru does not teach the internal support structure is sintered. Sears teaches an electronic smoking article comprising a sintered wick to promote radial wicking [0093]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a sintered wick for the internal support structure of modified Guduru to promote radial wicking as suggested by Sears.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guduru and Gonzalez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmidt (US 2020/0008473).
Modified Guduru does not teach the internal support structure has a liquid capacity of 0.1 to 10 μl. However, this is a conventional wick liquid capacity known in the art as taught by Schmidt [0111] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the wick internal support structure of Schmidt to achieve predictable results, e.g. wicking and vaporization of the liquid.
Claims 15 and 20-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guduru and Gonzalez as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Swiergon (US 2018/0343713).
Modified Guduru does not teach at least a portion of the internal support structure extends through a portion of the RF shield. Swiergon teaches a microwave heating apparatus wherein a heating chamber is fully enclosed by electromagnetic shielding [0058]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fully enclose the heating cavity of modified Guduru with the RF shield for the further radiation containment. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that at least a portion of the internal support structure wick would need to extend through a portion of the RF shield in order to draw liquid into the heating cavity and would have found it obvious to do so for this purpose. Furthermore, wherein the RF shield fully encloses heating chamber, the one or more air permeable regions thus would comprise a first air permeable region for air flow to enter the heating cavity and a second air permeable region for air flow to leave the heating cavity, wherein the first and second air permeable regions are arranged at opposing ends of the heating cavity.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755