DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson et al. (US 2015/0023751).
Considering claim 16, Andersson teaches a cutting tool for chip removal comprising a body and a nanolaminated coating of A and B layers thereon (abstract). The A and B layers alternate and the A layer comprises (Alx1Me11-x1)Ny1 with 0.3<x1<0.95, 0.9<y1<1.1 and Me1 is one or more of Ti, etc. (e.g. a further nitride layer) and where B is (Zr1-x2-z2Six2Me2z2)Ny2 with 0<x2<0.30, 0.90<y2<1.20, 0≤z2<0.25 and Me2 is one or more of Y,Y, Ti, etc. (e.g. a zirconium nitride layer) (Paragraph 12). Each layer in the nanolaminated coating may have a thickness between 1-50 nm and Andersson teaches where small, aperiodic and/or periodic thickness variations in the A and B layers are common due to normal process variations (Paragraph 32) (e.g. one B layer may be thicker than another).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed cutting tool this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Andersson as this is considered a conventionally known combination of nanolaminated layers of compositions and thicknesses overlapping those which are claimed conventionally known to improve wear resistance and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the composition and thicknesses overlap those which are claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 17, Andersson teaches where the B layers may have a thickness of 1-50 nm (Paragraph 12) and the ratio between a 50 nm to a 35 nm thick pair of B layers is about 1.4 overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 18, Andersson teaches where the first layer may be the A layer (Paragraph 44; Table 1) with composition overlapping that which is claimed (Paragraph 12) which has further A layers formed thereon (Paragraph 44) and may have a variation in thickness (Paragraph 32).
Considering claim 19, Andersson teaches where the bottom A layer carries B layers (Paragraph 44; Table 1).
Considering claim 20, additionally Andersson teaches where an innermost layer may be formed between the body and nanolaminated structure optionally of (Ti,Al)N (Paragraphs 37-38) and where the total thickness of the coating is between 1-20 µm (Paragraph 38) and where the nanolaminated structure has a thickness of 0.5-15 µm (Paragraph 28). This indicates where the innermost layer may have a thickness of 0.5-19.5 µm (e.g. 500-19,500 nm) and therefore a first A layer and the innermost layer may be considered the claimed base layer due to the open nature of the transitional phrase “comprising” which overlaps the claimed thickness. See MPEP 2111.03 and 2144.05.
Considering claim 21, as outlined above, Andersson teaches where the innermost layer may have a thickness of 0.5-19.5 µm and the nanolaminated structure has a thickness of 0.5-15 µm and the ratio between the two is 1 to 30. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 22-23, Andersson teaches where the base body is cemented carbide of tungsten carbide with a 6% Co binder (Paragraph 42). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 24, Andersson teaches where the A and B layers may each have a thickness of 1-50 nm (Paragraph 12) teaching a bilayer thickness of 2-100 nm. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 25, Andersson teaches where the thickness of the A and B layers may be equal (Paragraph 31) or have small thickness variations (Paragraph 32) which is consistent with that which applicant indicates as “equal individual thicknesses” per p.4 lines 17-28 of the originally filed specification. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 26, Andersson teaches where the A and B layers may have a thickness of 1-50 nm (Paragraph 12) and the ratio between a 50 nm to a 35 nm thick pair of A and B layers is about 1.4 overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 27, Andersson teaches where the nanolaminated structure may be the topmost coating (Paragraph 37) terminating with the B layer (Table 1).
Considering claim 28, Andersson teaches where the nanolaminated structure has a thickness of 0.5-15 µm (Paragraph 28) See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 29-30, Andersson teaches where the total thickness of the coating is between 1-20 µm (Paragraph 38) (e.g. 1,000 nm – 20,000 nm) which encompasses an innermost coating and the nanolaminated structure.
Considering claim 31, Andersson teaches where the A and B layers are formed by PVD (Paragraph 39). Further, the recitation of “is a physical vapor deposition layer” is considered a product-by-process limitation and is not considered to render a patentable distinction over the prior art absent a showing as to how the claimed process affects the final structure of the cutting tool. See MPEP 2113.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Selinder et al. (US 6,103,357), Johansson et al. (US 2011/0111197), and Yamamoto et al. (US 2018/0355469) teach hard film coatings with alternating ZrN layers similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784