DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application filed on 14 June 2024 (including amendment filed simultaneously). Claims 1-34 are now pending in the present application. This office action is made Non-Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on
14 June 2024
are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by Khoshnevisan et al. (hereinafter Khoshnevisan) (US 2021/0410155 A1).
Regarding claims 12, 1, 18, and 29, Khoshnevisan discloses a UE (e.g., 106) for wireless communication { (see Figs. 1-2 & 17) }, comprising:
a memory (e.g., 1705) { (see Fig. 17) }; and
one or more processors (e.g., 1704), coupled to the memory (e.g., 1705), configured to { (see Fig. 17) }:
receive a first one or more physical sidelink shared channel communications associated with a first set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities, of a plurality of physical sidelink shared channel priorities, and associated with a first feedback message codebook, wherein the first feedback message codebook is specific to the first set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities and is associated with a first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13), where the system provides communication via sidelink and has channel priority };
receive a second one or more physical sidelink shared channel communications associated with a second set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities, of the plurality of physical sidelink shared channel priorities, and associated with a second feedback message codebook, wherein the second feedback message codebook is specific to the second set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities and is associated with a second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; Figs. 6-13) },
wherein the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource and the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource are at least partially overlapping in time { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; Figs. 6-13) }; and
transmit a feedback message in one of the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource or the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource, wherein the feedback message conveys feedback for at least one of the first set of physical sidelink shared channel communications or the second set of physical sidelink shared channel communications based at least in part on respective sets of physical sidelink shared channel priorities { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13), where the system provides communication via sidelink and has channel priority }.
Regarding claims 2, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource configuration is common to the plurality of physical sidelink shared channel priorities { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 3, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource configuration includes a set of resource blocks (RBs), wherein the set of RBs is split into a plurality of physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource block groups (RBGs) based at least in part on a set of sub-channels and on the respective sets of physical sidelink shared channel priorities, and wherein each RBG, of the plurality of RBGs, includes a plurality of RBs, of the set of RBs, and is associated with a sub-channel and with a set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 4, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein a mapping between the sub-channel and an RBG comprises a frequency first, priority second order { (see pg. 6, [0065]; pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 5, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein a mapping between the sub-channel and an RBG comprises a priority first, frequency second order { (see pg. 6, [0065]; pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 6, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine a size of a physical sidelink feedback channel resource pool for the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource and the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource based at least in part on at least one of: a quantity of resource blocks (RBs) in a physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource block group (RBG), a quantity of RBs for a physical sidelink feedback channel resource, a quantity of cyclic shift pairs, or a quantity of physical sidelink feedback channel resources available for multiplexing feedback information in a physical sidelink feedback channel transmission { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 7, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: select, using a hash function and based at least in part on a UE identifier and on a groupcast identifier associated with a physical sidelink feedback channel resource pool, the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource and the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 8, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein a coding rate is based at least in part on at least one of a physical sidelink feedback channel format or a physical sidelink shared channel priority { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 9, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource configuration comprises first physical sidelink feedback channel resources configured for the first set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities and second physical sidelink feedback channel resources configured for the second set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 10, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the first physical sidelink feedback channel resources and second physical sidelink feedback channel resources are subject to at least one of frequency division multiplexing or time division multiplexing { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 11, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 9, wherein the first physical sidelink feedback channel resources and the second physical sidelink feedback channel resources are configured in at least one of: different physical resource blocks, or different slots { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 13, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 12, wherein the first set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities are a set of high priorities and the second set of physical sidelink shared channel priorities are a set of low priorities relative to the set of high priorities, and wherein feedback for the first set of physical sidelink shared channel communications is included in the feedback message, and feedback for the second set of physical sidelink shared channel communications is dropped from the feedback message based at least in part on the respective sets of physical sidelink shared channel priorities { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 14, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 12, wherein first feedback for the first set of physical sidelink shared channel communications and second feedback for the second set of physical sidelink shared channel communications are multiplexed into the feedback message { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 15, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the first feedback and the second feedback are separately encoded and separately mapped to resource elements of the one of the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource or the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 16, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 14, wherein the first feedback and the second feedback are concatenated, jointly encoded, and jointly mapped to resource elements of the one of the first physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource or the second physical sidelink feedback channel feedback resource { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Regarding claims 17, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE of claim 12, wherein whether the feedback message conveys feedback for the first set of physical sidelink shared channel communications or the second set of physical sidelink shared channel communications is based at least in part on at least one of a radio resource control configuration or a static pre-configuration { (see pg. 8, [0080, 0083]; pg. 5, [0053]; Figs. 1-2 & 6-13) }.
Conclusion
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
12 June 2026