DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the continued examination filed on 07/20/2026. Claims 1-13 are pending; claims 1-3,6-7, 13 have been amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first engagement portion” and “second engagement portion” in claim 1 and 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “positioning structure is configured to achieve relative fixation of the first planetary gear train and the rotatable axle in the rotation direction through snap-fit.” in claim 3; and “positioning structure is configured to achieve relative fixation of the two planetary gear trains in the rotation direction through snap-fit.” in claim 7. These claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Prong A: claim use nonce term “structure” for performing the claimed function. Prong B: “structure” is modified by functional language which is “ to achieve relative fixation of the first planetary gear train and the rotatable axle in the rotation direction through snap-fit” in claim 3 and “achieve relative fixation of the two planetary gear trains in the rotation direction through snap-fit” in claim 7. Prong C: while “snap-fit” suggest fastening concept, it does not identify any specific structural component; thereof, the limitation from both claims do not include any structural recitation for performing the claimed function. Thereof, these claims are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (see ¶[0049]-[0050] of PGPUB version).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1, 6 and 13 recites “the differential mechanism is switchable between a locked state and a released state; wherein when the differential mechanism is in the locked state, a driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed to each other in the rotation direction, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N−1; when the differential mechanism is in the released state, the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are able to rotate independently, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N,…, switch between the locked state and the released state is achieved by means of a locking mechanism or a positioning structure, the locking mechanism or the positioning structure includes a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position, wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction, and in the disengaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are permitted to rotate independently.” The recitation lacks corresponding enabling disclosure in view of Wands factors: 1-Predictability of the art: From the specification the specification ¶[0059] of PGPUB version expressly teaches “a locking mechanism is provided between the driven wheel of the planetary gear train and the rotatable axle, and the locking mechanism is configured to restrict the relative rotation between the driven wheel of the planetary gear train and the rotatable axle.” and ¶[0060] of PGPUB version discloses “The positioning structure can achieve relative fixation of the planetary gear train and the rotatable axle in the rotation direction through snap-fit” but does not have any disclosure of how such functions are implemented mechanically (e.g. how the driven wheel and rotating mechanism are locked and unlocked state to yield the claimed degree of freedom states.); the specification does not disclose how the pin is moved or what actuate the pin or cause the pin to move from locked to release position or how the engagement portions interface with driven wheel and rotating mechanism. 2-Amount of direction provided by the inventor: The specification describes ¶0051] and ¶0061] describes “The positioning hole can be locked by a pin that moves axially, thereby achieving relative fixation of the planetary gear train and the rotatable axle in the rotation direction”; however, the specification provides no operative guidance of how the pin is moved or what actuate the pin or cause the pin to move from locked to release position or any control or actuation mechanism; 3- Existence of Working examples: no working example or embodiment is provided to demonstrate how DOF as claimed from locked to release state can be achieved.
The dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency from claim 1 and 6.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 6, 13 recites “the differential mechanism is switchable between a locked state and a released state; wherein when the differential mechanism is in the locked state, a driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed to each other in the rotation direction, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N−1; when the differential mechanism is in the released state, the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are able to rotate independently, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N… switch between the locked state and the released state is achieved by means of a locking mechanism or a positioning structure, the locking mechanism or the positioning structure includes a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position, wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction, and in the disengaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are permitted to rotate independently.” The specification describes different locking arrangements which includes snap fit claw, key/keyway, position hole and pin (see ¶[0061]-[0062] of USPGPUB version) , but it does not identify which structures constitutes the claimed first and second engagement portion. Secondly, the phrase “a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position” is unclear whether both engagement portions are axially movable or one of the engagement portions moves relative to other. The claim defines N as the number of drive units in line 3 but then later use N to define the degree of freedom of overall regulating mechanism without providing any standard how to determine the DOF of that mechanism. Thereof, the scope of the claim remains unclear.
The dependent claims are also rejected due to their dependency from claims 1, 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapadia (US 20220125529 A1 cited from IDS) in view of Himmelmann (US 20080076614)
Claim 1: Kapadia discloses a degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism (20; Fig.2), comprising a handle (26. The term “handle” does not have any special definition in the specification, the term is given its ordinary meaning as any structure by which something is held, controlled or supported. In this case, carriage 26 is structural supports and houses the drive components.), a drive unit group (22a-22d),
the drive unit group (22a-22d) comprises N drive units, wherein N is 3 or 4 (there are 4 drive motors; 22a-22d, see ¶[0032]), and each drive unit (22a-22d) is rotatably four drive motors 22a, 22b, 22c, 22d each have a rotatable motor shaft 40a, 40b, 40c, 40d, 40e) provided on (see ¶[0032]) the handle (26); differential mechanism (62a, 66a, 64a) is provided on the handle (26).
Kapadia does not disclose a differential mechanism comprises a first planetary gear train and a corresponding rotating mechanism; any two gears of the first planetary gear train are configured to independently rotate and are respectively coupled to one of the drive units; the differential mechanism is switchable between a locked state and a released state; wherein when the differential mechanism is in the locked state, a driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed to each other in the rotation direction, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N−1; when the differential mechanism is in the released state, the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are able to rotate independently, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N; switch between the locked state and the released state is achieved by means of a locking mechanism or a positioning structure, the locking mechanism or the positioning structure includes a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position, wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction, and in the disengaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are permitted to rotate independently.
Himmelmann teaches a drive unit (12; Fig.2) having a drive unit group (42, 36, 50) and a differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14); the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14) comprises a first planetary gear train (26, 28, 30, 32) and a corresponding rotating mechanism (14); any two gears (32/30 or 32/26 or 26/30) of the first planetary gear train are configured to independently rotate and are respectively coupled to one (36 or 50) of the drive units (36,50, 42); the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32,14) is switchable between a locked state (46 is engaged) and a released state (e.g. 46 is disengaged); wherein when the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32,14) is in the locked state, a driven wheel (32) of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are fixed to each other in the rotation direction (rotate the same direction and speed when clutch 46 is engaged, see¶[0031]), such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N−1 (e.g. since there are 3/4 drive units as inputs into differential. when the clutch is engaged; two members are locked together. Thereof, the degree of freedom is N-1=3 or 2.); when the differential mechanism is in the released state (46 is disengaged), the driven wheel (32) of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are able to rotate independently (they are not fixed to each other so they can rotate at different direction relative to each other when the clutches are disengaged), such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N (e.g. since there are 3/4 drive units as inputs into differential. Thereof, the degree of freedom is 3 or 4.); switch between the locked state (46 is engaged) and the released state (46 is disengaged) is achieved by means of a locking mechanism (46) 46 is engaged) and a disengaged position (46 is disengaged), wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel (32) and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction (e.g. rotate the same direction and speed when clutch 46 is engaged, ¶[0031]), and in the disengaged position (46 is disengaged) the driven wheel (32) and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are permitted to rotate independently (¶[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace differential mechanism of Kapadia (62a, 66a, 64a) with differential mechanism comprises planetary gearset (26, 28, 30, 32) and a corresponding rotating mechanism (14) and include locking mechanism (46 and 54) as taught by Himmelmann for the purpose higher torque capacity, reduced gear stress and switchable gear ratios.
Claim 2: Kapadia as modified by Himmelmann discloses the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein N is 3 (e.g. since there are 3/4 drive units as inputs into differential. Thereof, the degree of freedom is 3 or 4);
the rotating mechanism (14-Himmelmann) is a rotatable axle, and the rotatable axle (14) and the first planetary gear train (26, 28, 30, 32-Himmelmann) are coaxially and rotatably provided on the handle (26-Kapadia); the gear (one of 26, 30) of the first planetary gear train (26, 28, 30, 32-Himmelmann) is bidirectionally(ccw/cw) driven by the drive unit (22a-Kapadia) coupled with the planetary gear (32); the rotatable axle (14-Himmelmann) is coupled with one drive unit (22a); the rotatable axle (14-Himmelmann) is bidirectionally (ccw/cw) driven by the drive unit (22a-Kapadia) coupled with the rotatable axle (14-Himmelmann); a locking mechanism (46;54- Himmelmann) is provided between the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train (26, 28, 30, 32-Himmelmann) and the rotatable axle (14- Himmelmann) (e.g. as 46 is engaged the torque is provided between planetary gear set and shaft 14), and the locking mechanism (46,54 is engaged) is configured to restrict the relative rotation between the driven wheel (32- Himmelmann) of the first planetary gear train and the rotatable axle (14) (¶[0031]).
Claim 10: Kapadia as modified by Himmelmann discloses the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein a transmission mechanism (65-Kapadia) is connected between the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14- Himmelmann) and the drive unit group (22a-22d-Kapadia), and the transmission mechanism (65-Kapadia) comprises a flexible pulley-cable transmission mechanism or a rigid transmission mechanism (e.g. The drive belt 65 may be flexible or rigid-see ¶0035] of Kapadia).
Claim 11: Kapadia as modified by Himmelmann discloses the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the handle (26-Kapadia; see Fig.2) is detachably provided with a protective cover (28-Kapadia. As 28 as exterior sleeve covers/surrounds part of the region of drive unit 20 as shown in Fig.2), and the protective cover (28-Kapadia) and the handle (26-Kapadia) together form a cavity for accommodating the drive unit (22a-22d) and the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 1-Himmelman).
Claim 12: Kapadia as modified by Himmelmann discloses a surgical instrument (1; Fig.1), comprising an end tool (10), a cable (65-Kapadia), and the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism (12; Fig.2) according to claim 1; the drive unit (22a-22d) is connected to the end tool (10) via the cable (65) to drive the end tool (¶[0042]: a rotation of the first drive gear 64a causes the first drive shaft 66a to rotate, thereby rotating the first driven member of the electromechanical instrument 10 to actuate an associated function of the surgical instrument 10.); wherein the surgical instrument (1; Fig.1) is configured to adjust the degree of freedom of the end tool (10) through the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism (12).
Claim 13: Kapadia discloses a degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism, comprising a handle (26. The term “handle” does not have any special definition in the specification, the term is given its ordinary meaning as any structure by which something is held, controlled or supported. In this case, carriage 26 is structural supports and houses the drive components), a drive unit group (22a-22d), and a differential mechanism (62a, 66a, 64a);
the drive unit group (22a-22d) comprises N drive units, wherein N is 3 or 4 (there are 4 drive motors; 22a-22d, see ¶[0032]), and each drive unit (22a-22d) is rotatably
the differential mechanism (62a, 66a, 64a) is provided on the handle (26).
Kapadia does not disclose differential mechanism comprises a first planetary gear train and a corresponding rotating mechanism; any two gears of the first planetary gear train are configured to independently rotate and are respectively coupled to one of the drive units; the differential mechanism is switchable between a locked state and a released state; wherein when the differential mechanism is in the locked state, a driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed to each other in the rotation direction, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N-1; when the differential mechanism is in the released state, the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism are able to rotate independently, such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N, to ensure that cables configured for connecting with and being driven by the drive units remain tensioned under any operating conditions, switch between the locked state and the released state is achieved by means of a locking mechanism or a positioning structure, the locking mechanism or the positioning structure includes a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position, wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction, and in the disengaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are permitted to rotate independently; switch between the locked state and the released state is achieved by means of a locking mechanism or a positioning structure, the locking mechanism or the positioning structure includes a first engagement portion and a second engagement portion configured to be axially moved between an engaged position and a disengaged position, wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction, and in the disengaged position the driven wheel and the corresponding rotating mechanism are permitted to rotate independently.
Himmelmann teaches a drive unit (12; Fig.2) having a drive unit group (42, 36, 50) and a differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14); the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14) comprises a first planetary gear train (26, 28, 30, 32) and a corresponding rotating mechanism (14); any two gears (32/30 or 32/26 or 26/30) of the first planetary gear train are configured to independently rotate and are respectively coupled to one (36 or 50) of the drive units (36,50, 42); the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14) is switchable between a locked state (46 is engaged) and a released state (e.g. 46 is disengaged); wherein when the differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32,14) is in the locked state, a driven wheel (32) of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are fixed to each other in the rotation direction (rotate the same direction and speed when clutch 46 is engaged, see¶[0031]), such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N−1 (e.g. since there are 3/4 drive units as inputs into differential. when the clutch is engaged; two members are locked together. Thereof, the degree of freedom is N-1=3 or 2.); when the differential mechanism is in the released state (46 is disengaged and 54 is engaged), the driven wheel (32) of the first planetary gear train and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are able to rotate independently (as shown in Fig.7, they are not fixed to each other so they can rotate at different direction relative to each other when the clutches are disengaged), such that the degree of freedom of the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is N (e.g. since there are 3/4 drive units as inputs into differential. Thereof, the degree of freedom is 3 or 4.); switch between the locked state (46 is engaged) and the released state (46 is disengaged) is achieved by means of a locking mechanism (46) 46 is engaged) and a disengaged position (46 is disengaged), wherein in the engaged position the driven wheel (32) and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are fixed relative to each other in a rotational direction (e.g. rotate the same direction and speed when clutch 46 is engaged, ¶[0031]), and in the disengaged position (46 is disengaged) the driven wheel (32) and the corresponding rotating mechanism (14) are permitted to rotate independently (¶[0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace differential mechanism of Kapadia (62a, 66a, 64a) with differential mechanism (26, 28, 30, 32, 14) comprises planetary gearset (26, 28, 30, 32) and a corresponding rotating mechanism (14) and include locking mechanism (46 and 54) as taught by Himmelmann for the purpose higher torque capacity, reduced gear stress and switchable gear ratios.
Kapadia discloses cable (65) but does not disclose cables.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add more cables in order increase controllable degrees of freedom of the instrument, improve precision of motion, reduce risk of cable fatigue or failure. Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skilled the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
As the combined Kapadia in view of Himmelmann would create a drive system to “ensure that cables (65) configured for connecting with and being driven by the drive units (22a-22d) remain tensioned under any operating conditions” as claimed.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapadia (US 20220125529 A1 cited from IDS) in view of Himmelmann (US 20080076614) as further in view of Lindemann (US 20080240849 A1)
Claim 5: Kapadia as modified by Himmelmann does not disclose wherein a coaxially arranged positioning hole is provided between the driven wheel of the first planetary gear train and the rotatable axle, and the positioning hole is configured to be locked by a pin that moves axially, thereby achieving relative fixation of the first planetary gear train and the rotatable axle in the rotation direction.
Lindemann teaches a gear (72; Fig.5a), a shaft (74) and coaxially arranged positioning hole (76) is provided between the gear (72) and the shaft (74) and the positioning hole (76) is configured to be locked by a pin (78) that moves axially, thereby achieving relative fixation of the gear (72) and the shaft (76) in the rotation direction (as both shaft 76 and gear 72 rotate together).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a positioning hole (76-Lindemann) passes through gears (32 and 30- Himmelmann) and pin (78-Lindemann) between the driven wheel (32- Himmelmann) and rotatable axle (14- Himmelmann) as taught by Lindemann for the purpose no slippage, preventing relative rotation, torque from the gear can directly transmits to shaft.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The previous drawing objections have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to Fig.6 and specification.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the previous rejections under 35 USC §112(a) and (b) have been considered; however, the amended independent claims do not overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112 (see rejections above)
Applicant’s remarks regarding the previous rejections under 35 USC §103 have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues the difference B-“the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism comprises a handle, the differential mechanism is provided on the handle, each drive unit is rotatably or linearly movably provided on the handle”.
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees as explained above, the term “handle” is interpreted under BRI because it does not have any definition in the specification and the claim does not limited to a manually grasped handle. Kapadia’s carriage 26 supports the drive arrangement and houses the motors 22a-22d. thereof, 26 is reasonably corresponds to the claimed “handle”.
Secondly, applicant argues “Kapadia discloses a drive unit for a surgical robotic system, including a motor and multiple drive shafts. The output of the motor is transmitted to the drive shafts through components such as a ring gear (teeth ring), causing the drive shaft to rotate. However, in the present application, the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism is for end tool (i.e., a surgical tool), refer to paragraph [0029] for understanding, the drive unit is the drive shaft, and each drive shaft can be driven by a separate motor, converting the rotational motion at the motor drive end into linear motion on the cable, but does not involve the power transmission structure between the motor and the drive shaft, only involving the power transmission between the drive shaft and the cable. This further indicates that the drive unit (drive shaft) of the present application and the drive shaft of Kapadia define different structures, and the present application and Kapadia belong to different structures”.
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees because the claim requires “A degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism, comprising a handle, a drive unit group, and a differential mechanism; the drive unit group comprises N drive units, wherein N is 3 or 4, and each drive unit is rotatably or linearly movably provided on the handle; the differential mechanism is provided on the handle”. The claim does not exclude motor gears, belts, and ring gears being intermediate members between drive units and handle.
Applicant argues the difference A and C are not disclosed by Himmelmann.
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees because in applicant’s application the specification provides no operative guidance of how the pin is moved or what actuate the pin or cause the pin to move from locked to release position or any control or actuation mechanism; thereof, as best understood, Himmelmann discloses the claimed limitation because when 46 is engaged, carrier and ring rotate together. Under planetary relationship, sun gear consequently rotates together with planet gears 32 and because 14 is driven by 30. The shaft 14 and planet gears 32 and 30 rotate without relative rotation. When clutch 46 is disengaged, the differential relation rotation is permitted. Thus Himmelmann teaches the claimed lock mechanism and its operations. Himmelmann also teaches engagement portions 46a and 46b (see claims 1, 13 above) moveable between engaged and disengaged positions.
Applicant argues " Kapadia does not involve the degree-of-freedom regulating mechanism, and does not involve the switching of the degree of freedom, and Himmelmann does not belong to the medical field, the two (Kapadia and Himmelmann) belong to different technical fields, and there are obstacles to combine Himmelmann with Kapadia. Even if they are combined, substantial design improvements are needed for their combination. Thus, the solution of the amended claim 1 is not obvious.”
In response to this argument, examiner respectfully disagrees because Kapadia discloses using multiple rotary drive units and differential mechanism to transmit power to outputs. Himmelmann teaches a planetary transmission for selectively locks or unlock independently drive rotational members. Both references includes differential mechanism and transmitting power from inputs to outputs. Himmelmann’s transmission is reasonably pertinent to the problem of regulating inputs to a differential mechanism in surgical tool and the combination does not require bodily incorporation of Himmelmann’s entire transmission.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Beck (US 20200384847) discloses two planetary gearset with locking mechanism SP1 but does not DOF that switches between N and N-1 via locking mechanism.
Conclusion
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655a