Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Comte in WO2014132122
Regarding Claim 1-2: Comte teaches the creation of lithium aluminosilicate-type (See Paragraph 18-19 and Figure 1) glass-ceramic sheets having a thickness from 4-6 mm. The glass-ceramic sheet of Comte is a plate as claimed as it is a planar sheet of glass that may be used as a cooktop (See Paragraph 3-8, 32-34; See Original Disclosure para 002-004). The glass-ceramic contains SnO2 as a fining agent (See Paragraph 22 and 30) and may contain Fe2O3, V2O5, and Cr2O3 as colorants (See Paragraph 29). Comte teaches that the content of SnO2 may range from 0.2 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 30). Comte teaches that the content of V2O5 may range from 0 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 48), the content of Fe2O3 may range from 0.12 to 0.4 wt% (See Paragraph 50), and the content of Cr2O3 may range from 0.01 to 0.04 wt% (See Paragraph 49). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of these components. Overlapping ranges have been held to present a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Comte is silent in terms of an inequality 1000*(2Fe2O3-SnO2)*(V2O5/2) being between 14 and 40 (or 20 to 35; See Claim 2); however, as Comte teaches an overlapping range of each of Fe2O3, SnO2, and V2O-5, the composition of Comte would necessarily also overlap the claimed inequality and would only require those of ordinary skill in the art to select from the overlapping portion of the range that provide such an overlap.
It is additionally noted that the discussed components (Fe, V, Sn, and Cr) are components of a glass that are recognized by the prior art as being included to influence the aesthetic qualities of the glass. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide these components within the ranges taught in the prior art to adjust the colour and transparency of the glass such that an aesthetically pleasing material is produced (See MPEP 2144.04(I)).
Regarding Claim 3 and 12: Comte teaches that the content of V2O5 may range from 0 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 48). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of V2O5 content. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 4: Comte teaches that the content of Fe2O3 may range from 0.12 to 0.4 wt% (See Paragraph 50). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of Fe2O3 content. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5 and 13: Comte teaches that the content of SnO2 may range from 0.2 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 30). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of SnO2 content. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 6 and 14: Comte teaches that the content of Cr2O3 may range from 0.01 to 0.04 wt% (See Paragraph 49). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of Cr2O3 content. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 7 and 15: Comte is silent in terms of the inequality Fe2O3/(V2O5*SnO2) ranging from 7 to 15 (or 8 to 15; See Claim 15), exclusive. However, Comte teaches an overlapping content of Fe2O3, V2O5, and SnO2. As Comte teaches an overlapping range of each of the values within the formula, the result of the inequality would necessarily overlap over the range of compositions taught by Comte. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8 and 16: Comte teaches that the glass-ceramic composition comprises in weight%: 60-72% SiO2, 18-23%Al2O3, 2.5-4.5% Li2O, 1.5-4% TiO2, 0-3% ZnO, 0-3% MgO, and 0-2.5% ZrO2. All other components may be 0 wt% (other than the coloring components discussed above; See Paragraph 27). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of glass compositions. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 9: Comte teaches that the plate (sheet) of glass-ceramic may be used to form an article such as a cooktop (See Paragraphs 3-8). The glass sheet formed is also considered an article.
Regarding Claim 10: Comte teaches the creation of lithium aluminosilicate-type (See Paragraph 18-19 and Figure 1) glass-ceramic sheets having a thickness from 4-6 mm. Prior to crystallization this glass-ceramic is a glass plate as claimed (See Paragraph 23 and 27). The glass sheet of Comte is a plate as claimed as it is a planar piece of glass that may be used as a cooktop (See Paragraph 3-8, 32-34). The glass contains SnO2 as a fining agent (See Paragraph 22 and 30) and may contain Fe2O3, V2O5, and Cr2O3 as colorants (See Paragraph 29). Comte teaches that the content of SnO2 may range from 0.2 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 30). Comte teaches that the content of V2O5 may range from 0 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 48), the content of Fe2O3 may range from 0.12 to 0.4 wt% (See Paragraph 50), and the content of Cr2O3 may range from 0.01 to 0.04 wt% (See Paragraph 49). Comte thus teaches an overlapping range of these components. Overlapping ranges have been held to present a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed. Comte is silent in terms of an inequality 1000*(2Fe2O3-SnO2)*(V2O5/2) being between 14 and 40 (or 20 to 35; See Claim 2); however, as Comte teaches an overlapping range of each of Fe2O3, SnO2, and V2O-5, the composition of Comte would necessarily also overlap the claimed inequality and would only require those of ordinary skill in the art to select from the overlapping portion of the range that provide such an overlap.
It is additionally noted that the discussed components (Fe, V, Sn, and Cr) are components of a glass that are recognized by the prior art as being included to influence the aesthetic qualities of the glass. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide these components within the ranges taught in the prior art to adjust the colour and transparency of the glass such that an aesthetically pleasing glass is produced (See MPEP 2144.04(I)).
Regarding Claim 11: Comte teaches a method for manufacturing the glass ceramic plate discussed above in terms of claim 1. Comte teaches that a glass of the target composition (and containing an overlapping range of SnO2, V2O5, Fe2O3, Cr2O3 as is discussed above in terms of claims 1 and 10) is formed from raw materials (See Paragraph 32). This glass goes through a ceramization (cerammed) in a furnace to create the glass-ceramic plate as claimed (See Paragraph 33).
Regarding Claim 17: Comte teaches that the content of SnO2 may range from 0.2 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 30). Comte teaches that the content of V2O5 may range from 0 to 0.3 wt% (See Paragraph 48), the content of Fe2O3 may range from 0.12 to 0.4 wt% (See Paragraph 50), and the content of Cr2O3 may range from 0.01 to 0.04 wt% (See Paragraph 49). Comte teaches an amount of each of these components that overlaps the range that is instantly claimed.
Comte is silent in terms of the inequality Fe2O3/(V2O5*SnO2) ranging from 8 to 15, exclusive; however, Comte teaches an overlapping content of Fe2O3, V2O5, and SnO2. As Comte teaches an overlapping range of each of the values within the formula, the result of the inequality would necessarily overlap over the range of compositions taught by Comte. Overlapping ranges have been held to establish a prima facie case of obviousness over the prior art. Those of ordinary skill in the art would only need to select from the overlapping portion of the range to arrive at the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20140141959- Comp Ex D inequality is equal to 45.156. 20140141227- comp Ex C SnO2 content is 0.35. It is noted that both of these examples are comparative. ‘959 and ‘227 are noted as teaching similar glasses and show a variety of Cr, V, Sn, and Fe contents and all teach the function and interaction between these components. ‘227 teaches the claimed second inequality (See Para 34) and teaches examples falling within the first inequality (See Examples). 20140238971 is also noted as providing teachings similar to ‘122 above.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734