DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a 371 national stage entry of PCT/US2022/052842.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Applicant’s preliminary amendment, filed January 3, 2025, has been fully considered.
Claims 5-6, 13-14, 20-21, 24-27 have been canceled by the Applicant.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: inconsistent capitalization of the term “Claim” within the preamble of dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities: punctuation on canceled claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical errors in step (a.) and step (b.). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 16-19, 22-23, and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities: inconsistent punctuation following the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper capitalization of the term “calcium” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
MPEP § 608.01(m): “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995).”
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: improper capitalization of the term “calcium” in line 2. Appropriate correction is required.
MPEP § 608.01(m): “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations. See Fressola v. Manbeck, 36 USPQ2d 1211 (D.D.C. 1995).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: obtaining a solids product from produced water.
Regarding Claim 1, the phrase "wherein forming the reaction mixture optionally comprises" in lines 5-6 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 4, the phrase "wherein, optionally, the organo-metallic catalyst comprises" in lines 3-4 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 9, the phrase "optionally 45 to 85% by mass of particles" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 10, the phrase "optionally a second stage comprising" in line 5 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 10, the phrase "optionally a third stage comprising" in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 10, the phrase "optionally a fourth stage comprising" in line 9 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 11, the phrase "optionally a fifth stage comprising" in line 11 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 12, the phrase "optionally further comprising one or more of" in line 7 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding Claim 12, the phrase "wherein the encapsulated mixed carbonate optionally comprises" in line 9 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 15-19 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: producing a product from step (b); formation of solids from a solution.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the process” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the product of (b)” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the solids that are formed from the solution” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the solution” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the solids” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the solids” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “where the pH is raised and maintained greater than 10, greater than 11 or greater than 12” in lines 1-2.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 23 recites the broad recitation “greater than 10” and the claim also recites “greater than 12” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “where the gas stream containing CO2 is diffused in the geological solution at a pressure greater than 40 psi, greater than 100 psi, greater than 200 psi, or greater than 400 psi” in lines 2-4.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, Claim 23 recites the broad recitation “greater than 40 psi” and the claim also recites “greater than 400 psi” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: producing a solution from step (b); formation of solids in step (c).
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the solution from (b)” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Moreover, the aqueous geological solution from step (a) was previously admixed with a hydroxide solution in step (b); therefore, it is unclear how and/or how much of the aqueous geological solution remains to be admixed in step (c).
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the solids” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the solids” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the solids” in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2019/0300711).
Claim 1. Yuan discloses A method (Abstract; [0006]) comprising:
obtaining a solids product from produced water ([0056] “styrenic polysilicon phenylate resin composition further comprises an inorganic filler”; [0057]; [0065] components of the resin comprising the inorganic filler are dispersed in a solvent), the solids product comprising at least one carbonate of a Group 2 alkaline earth metal ([0057] “the inorganic filler is anyone selected from the group consisting of aluminum hydroxide, boehmite, silica, talcum powder, mica, barium sulfate, lithopone, calcium carbonate, wollastonite, kaolin, brucite, diatomaceous earth, bentonite, pumice powder, and a mixture of at least two selected therefrom”);
mixing the solids product with a siloxane resin to produce a reaction mixture ([0063] “the styrenic polysilicon phenylate resin composition … can be prepared by stirring and mixing the components thereof”; [0077] “the main chain structure of the styrenic polysilicon phenylate resin … contains siloxy group structures and benzene ring structures”);
forming the reaction mixture to produce a preform ([0067]; [0083] “The processed varnish was poured into a mold”); and
heating the preform to cure the siloxane resin ([0069]; [0083] “After the molding, the mold was vacuum laminated and cured in a press for 90 minutes at a curing pressure of 32 kg/cm2 and a curing temperature of 200° C., to obtain a flake cured product having a thickness of 0.5-2.0 mm.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2019/0300711) in view of Oba (US 2010/0249308).
Claim 2. Yuan discloses The method of Claim 1. Yuan does not disclose wherein the reaction mixture comprises 60 to 95% by mass of the solids product and 5 to 40% by mass of the siloxane resin. However, Oba teaches a curable polyorganosiloxane composition, wherein the reaction mixture comprises 60 to 95% by mass of the solids product ([0009] – [0016]: 100 parts by weight of non-treated ground calcium carbonate parts and 200 parts by weight of a non-treated precipitated calcium carbonate would amount to ~75% when sum of parts A-E ≈410 parts), and 5 to 40% by mass of the siloxane resin ([0009] – [0016]: 100 parts by weight of a substantially straight-chain polyorganosiloxane would amount to ~25% when sum of parts A-E ≈410 parts). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yuan to produce a reaction mixture comprising solids and resin in the amounts as taught by Oba, in order to formulate a desired mating effect ([0023]; [0024]).
Claim 3. Yuan discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the reaction mixture comprises a peroxide initiator ([0054]). Yuan does not disclose a peroxide initiator in an amount of 1 to 3 parts per hundred weight of the siloxane resin. However, Oba teaches wherein the reaction mixture comprises a peroxide initiator in an amount of 1 to 3 parts per hundred weight of the siloxane resin ([0012]: 10 parts by weight of a condensation reaction catalyst where sun of part A-E ≈410 would be ~2.5 parts per hundred). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concentration of peroxide in Yuan to the amount as taught by Oba, in order to enhance curing of the resin.
Claims 2-4 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2019/0300711).
Claim 2. Yuan discloses The method of Claim 1. Yuan does not disclose wherein the reaction mixture comprises 60 to 95% by mass of the solids product and 5 to 40% by mass of the siloxane resin. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the concentration of solids and resin in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3. Yuan discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the reaction mixture comprises a peroxide initiator ([0054]); however, Yuan does not disclose wherein the reaction mixture comprises a peroxide initiator in an amount of 1 to 3 parts per hundred weight of the siloxane resin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the concentration of peroxide in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1. Yuan discloses wherein the reaction mixture comprises an organo-metallic catalyst ([0052]; [0053]), but Yuan does not disclose an organo-metallic catalyst in an amount of 0 to 2 parts per hundred weight of the siloxane resin, wherein, optionally, the organo-metallic catalyst comprises one or more of zinc, cobalt, tin, manganese, boron, or iron. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the concentration of catalyst in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 7. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1. Regarding the limitation: further comprise drying the solids product at 90 to 120 degrees Celsius for 6 to 48 hours, Yuan discloses drying ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the drying time and temperature in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 8. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1. Regarding the limitation: further comprising crushing or milling the solids product to a particle size less than 1 to 2 mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the particles size of the solids in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 9. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1. Regarding the limitation: wherein the solids product comprises 15 to 55% by mass of particles sized at less than 45 micrometers; and optionally 45 to 85% by mass of particles sized at less than 355 micrometers. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the particles size of the solids in Yuan to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 10. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1. Regarding the limitation: wherein heating the preform comprises: a first stage comprising heating the preform for 0.5 to 6 hours at 100 to 115 degrees Celsius, optionally a second stage comprising heating the preform for 0.5 to 6 hours at 130 to 140 degrees Celsius, optionally a third stage of the multiple heating stages comprises heating the preform for 0.5 to 6 hours at 155 to 180 degrees Celsius, optionally a fourth stage of the multiple heating stages comprises heating the preform for 1 to 4 hours at 200 to 220 degrees Celsius, and optionally a fifth stage of the multiple heating stages comprises heating the preform for 1 to 4 hours at 240 to 280 degrees Celsius, Yuan discloses curing the mold ([0069]); it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the curing time and temperature of Yuan to the range(s) as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 11. Yuan discloses The method of claim 1, wherein heating the preform to cure the siloxane resin results in a cured part, and wherein the method further comprises cutting or shaping the cured part to produce a final part ([0083]).
Claims 15-19, 22-23, and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara et al. (US 2012/0309877).
Claim 15. Fujiwara discloses A method of removing carbon dioxide from a gas stream ([0040]; synthetic calcium carbonate is produced by reacting calcium hydroxide with carbon dioxide gas) comprising the steps of
a. obtaining an aqueous geological solution contain one or more group 2 divalent cations ([0040]; [0044]; calcium oxide can be produced by calcining raw limestone in combination with coke or the like, wherein carbon dioxide gas is generated during calcination);
b. admixing a group 1 hydroxide base with the aqueous geological solution to raise the pH to 9 or greater and maintain pH throughout the process ([0050]; potassium or sodium may be combined with the calcium hydroxide mixture in various amounts, wherein pH would be maintained through control of the acid and base amounts);
c. admixing a gas stream with the product of (b) containing carbon dioxide to form solid group 2 hydroxides and carbonates ([0042]; filler calcium carbonate can be produced by reacting the carbon dioxide gas with calcium hydroxide);
d. removing the solids that are formed from the solution ([0040]; [0065]; slurry of the surface-treated calcium carbonate subjected to dehydration);
e. drying the solids ([0040]; [0065]; slurry of the surface-treated calcium carbonate subjected to dehydration then dried);
f. grinding the solids ([0065]; calcium carbonate can be obtained in powder form, wherein grinding is well known method for obtaining a powder from a reaction);
g. admixing the solids with a siloxane resin to produce a reaction mixture ([0070; [0073]; plasticizer formed on the calcium carbonate to form a two-pack polyurethane sealant, wherein plasticizer can be dimethyl polysiloxane);
h. forming the reaction mixture to produce a preform ([0138]; sealant is poured into aluminum plate space making a preform); and
i. heating the preform to cure the siloxane resin ([0138]; sealant is cured at an increased temperature over 14 days).
Claim 16. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15 where the aqueous geological solution contains at least 2 group 2 divalent cations ([0074]).
Claim 17. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15, where the aqueous geological solution contains at least 1 % Calcium ions by mass (See claim objection; [0091]; [0138]).
Claim 18. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15 where the aqueous geological solution contains at least 0.5% Calcium ions by mass and 0.01 % one other group 2 divalent cation (See claim objection; [0074]; [0091]; [0138]).
Claim 22. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15, where the gas stream containing CO2 is diffused through a frit or stone to mix with the geological solution ([0039]; [0040]).
Claim 23. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15. Regarding the limitation: where the gas stream containing CO2 is diffused in the geological solution at a pressure greater than 40 psi, greater than 100 psi, greater than 200 psi, or greater than 400psi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to optimize the pressure in Fujiwara to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 28. Fujiwara discloses The method of claim 15. Regarding the limitation: where the solids are removed and washed with water, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to wash the preform in Fujiwara with a solution, such as an acid or water, in order to produce a clean product as a matter of obvious engineering design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 29. Fujiwara discloses A method of removing carbon dioxide from a gas stream ([0040]; calcium carbonate produced from reaction including carbon dioxide gas) comprising the steps of
a. obtaining an aqueous geological solution containing one or more group 2 divalent cations ([0040]; [0044]; calcium oxide can be produced by calcining raw limestone in combination with coke or the like, wherein carbon dioxide gas is generated during calcination);
b. admixing with the aqueous geological solution from (a) a group 1 hydroxide solution between 5 and 15 weight% alkali hydroxide with a gas stream containing carbon dioxide ([0042]; [0050]; potassium or sodium can be added with the calcium hydroxide mixture in various amounts; filler calcium carbonate can be produced by reacting the carbon dioxide gas with calcium hydroxide);
c. admixing the solution from (b) with the aqueous geological solution (a) to achieve a pH greater than 9 ([0042]; [0050]; potassium or sodium may be combined with the calcium hydroxide mixture in various amounts, wherein pH would be maintained through control of the acid and base amounts;
d. removing the solids that are formed from (c) ([0040]; [0065]; slurry of the surface-treated calcium carbonate subjected to dehydration);
e. drying the solids ([0040]; [0065]; slurry of the surface-treated calcium carbonate subjected to dehydration then dried);
f. grinding the solids ([0065]; calcium carbonate can be obtained in powder form, wherein grinding is well known method for obtaining a powder from a reaction);
g. admixing the solids with a siloxane resin to produce a reaction mixture ([0070]; [0073]; plasticizer formed on the calcium carbonate to form a two-pack polyurethane sealant, wherein plasticizer can be dimethyl polysiloxane);
h. forming the reaction mixture to produce a preform ([0138]; sealant is poured into aluminum plate space making a preform); and
i. heating the preform to cure the siloxane resin ([0138]; sealant is cured at an increased temperature over 14 days).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 contains allowable subject matter, but is dependent upon a rejected base claim; the claim would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and if any issues under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) were corrected.
Conclusion
/CRYSTAL J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738