DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia (US 2014/0180065) in view of Schuurman et al (US 2022/0304770, published as WO 2020/263092 before EFD of instant application).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 14, Garcia discloses and teaches a marker arrangement, medical device, and system for trajectory planning/management including a marker arrangement with multiple series markers along a trajectory, aligned with a source trajectory, made from a first material, coated with a second material which is detectable under MR imaging, and are capable of being detected (0022-0024, 0087, 0037).
Additionally, the inclusion of an imaging modality for detection (0022-0024), whereby the trajectory of an attached device can be ascertained by the markers (Fig 5, 0026, 0028, 0075), and the controller can assist in dose planning (0103).
Garcia fails to disclose and teach the setting of dwell time, the sizing of coating as smaller than 1 micrometer, and where the interdistance between markers is less than 3 millimeters (though they do disclose placements around 3mm apart, 0022-0024).
Attention is hereby directed to the teaching reference to Schuurman et al which expressly discloses and teaches coatings in the sub micrometer range (abs, 0005, 0006, 0042), interdistances at 3mm or less (0028-0031, 0068), and the setting and adjustment of dwell times for the determined trajectory of the medical device(s) based on the marker arrangement (0041-0045, 0049-0058).
With respect to claims 2-8, Schuurman et al discloses and teaches the patterning of markers to identify, the markers indicate radioactive seeds, the trajectory and markers span a length, and the markers include a ring coaxially aligned with the source trajectory (Fig 3-4, 0033-0036, 0051). The ring specifically is disclosed as having length between 2-3mm, outer diameter smaller than 2mm, and wall thickness can be .3mm or smaller (0029-0033, 0128). Additionally, primary reference to Garica also discloses these limitations as the markers are disclosed as 3x.9mm (0089, 0119), inner and outer rings (0023), the thickness around .25mm (0031).
With respect to claims 10 and 13, Schuurman et al discloses and teaches an inner ring with copper, brass, gold, silver (0005, also disclosed in Garcia (0119 and 0089), the use of nickel or iron oxide coatings (0005), as well as an applicator for implanting the markers (Fig 3-4).
With respect to claims 15-21, Schuurman et al discloses the detection of the markers (0038, 0047, 0076, 0059, multiple markers for placement/pattern), the comparison to stored data for the orientation/position (0049, 0054-0058), the planning and comparison to a plan for the direction/placement of the device(s) (0044-0046, 0048-0049, 0054-0055), the margin between the markers/devices, dwell time(s) (0044-0045, 0049), and the optimization under CT and MR based on the coating (0004, 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized the coating, planning system, and feedback control of Schuurman et al with the system of Garica for the purpose of facilitating brachytherapy treatment, implantation, and planning thereof (0009, claim 49, Garcia; 0044-0045, Schuurman et al).
Conclusion
/JOEL LAMPRECHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798