DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) and Species A (molten salt) in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application with claims 11-20 withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are examined herein.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “1” and “5” have both been used to designate the “crucible.”
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “5” has been used to designate both the “crucible” and the “acoustic waves.”
Analysis – 35 USC § 101
As set forth in MPEP 2107, examination requires a review of the claims and the supporting written description to determine if the application has asserted for the claimed invention any specific and substantial utility that is credible. If no assertion of a credible, specific, and substantial utility for the claimed invention is made by Applicant, and the claimed invention does not have a readily apparent, well-established utility, the claims should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 on the grounds that the invention as claimed lacks utility. To satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, an invention must provide a well-defined and particular benefit to the public and define a “real world” use of the invention as disclosed in its current form. Utilities that require or constitute carrying out further research to identify or reasonably confirm a “real world” context of use are not substantial utilities. A prima facie showing of no credible, specific, and substantial utility must establish that it is more likely than not that a person skilled in the art would not consider specific and substantial any utility or would not consider credible any specific and substantial utility asserted by Applicant for the claimed invention. The prima facie showing must contain the following elements: (i) an explanation that clearly sets forth the reasoning used in concluding that the utility is not both specific and substantial nor well-established or that the asserted specific and substantial utility is not credible; (ii) support for factual findings relied upon in reaching this conclusion; and (iii) an evaluation of all relevant evidence of record including the closest prior art.
The Present Invention and the Asserted Utility
Applicant’s claimed invention is directed towards a system which generates an acoustic resonance in a quantum incompressible fluid comprising a gas bubble of deuterium and/or tritium (see claims 1, 6). According to the disclosure, the system is “for generating neutrons with thermal fusion” (1:19-20; see also 3:6-10, 3:21-22, 6:22-24, 6:27-28, 8:18-21, 9:14-16). Specifically, Applicant’s invention purports to induce fusion reactions using “sonoluminescence” (3:12-22), an approach also known as “bubble fusion,” “cavitation-induced fusion,” or “sonofusion,” which involves “launch[ing] a high-amplitude pressure pulse into a fluid in the crucible” using a piston to allegedly “cause[] the bubble to implode so as to focus the energy and cause fusion to occur” (8:18-21).
Applicant’s asserted utility of the claimed invention is therefore a system for inducing fusion reactions using sonoluminescence.
Applicant’s Invention in view of Scientific Literature
Initiating fusion requires overcoming the Coulomb barrier, which is only known to occur at extremely high temperatures (such as temperatures in the range of 107-108 K) and at extremely high pressures (such as those present on the sun)1. Conventional fusion systems are thermonuclear (or “hot”) fusion systems which produce (or attempt to produce) these conditions in order to generate a plasma with sufficient energy to overcome this Coulombic repulsion2. Two of the main approaches for fusion are thermonuclear fusion mechanisms known as inertial confinement fusion (ICF) and magnetic confinement fusion (MCF)3,4. ICF systems use lasers to rapidly compress and heat a solid fusion fuel in order to produce (or attempt to produce) an extremely hot and dense plasma with a short confinement time2,3,4. For example, the National Ignition Facility (NIF) is the world’s largest operational thermonuclear ICF system and uses 192 of the world’s highest-energy laser systems to deliver power to a target in order to create the necessary conditions for fusion5. MCF systems use powerful magnets to confine and shape a lower density fusion fuel plasma with a longer confinement time, often employing external heating mechanisms to provide (or attempt to provide) the required temperatures for fusion reactions2,3,4,5. ITER and the Joint European Torus (JET) are MCF devices known as a tokamaks which employ various complex and sophisticated components, including powerful toroidal and poloidal magnetic field coils, in order to generate fusion reactions2,3,4.
Fusion reactions which are hypothesized or alleged to occur at conditions other than the extreme temperatures and pressures are known as cold fusion reactions or low-temperature nuclear reactions. In other words, “cold fusion” describes any nuclear fusion reaction which purportedly occurs at energies (i.e., temperatures) much lower than those known to be required. To date, there exists no independent, peer-reviewed, successful evaluation of cold fusion devices and methods. Rather, the mainstream scientific community continues to doubt the operability of cold fusion systems and the presumption that fusion may occur in a low-temperature environment is wholly unsupported by modern nuclear and plasma physics. A multi-year, multi-disciplinary study6 examined cold fusion mechanisms and “found no evidence of anomalous effects claimed by proponents of cold fusion that cannot be otherwise explained prosaically” (p. 45). See also In re Sichert, 556 F.2d 1154, 196 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1977), In re Swartz, 232 F.3d 862, 56 USPQ2d 1703 (Fed. Cir. 2000).
According to Applicant, the claimed system may operate at temperatures of between 1,000K and 2,000K (6:24-25), which is many orders of magnitude lower than what is necessary to achieve nuclear fusion. Moreover, while ICF and MCF systems are incredibly complex and rely on mechanisms such as inertial or magnetic confinement in order to contain plasma and prevent direct contact of the hot plasma with solid structures of the fusion system, Applicant’s system “may be implemented on a bench-top scale” (3:9-10; see also 9:8-10) and requires no such mechanisms for containing the temperatures of hundreds of millions of degrees Kelvin known to be required for causing fusion reactions; Applicant’s invention purportedly achieves fusion simply using a heater, a piston, and a crucible containing a quantum incompressible fluid and a gas bubble of fusion fuel material (FIG. 8, 6:27-8:14, claims, 1, 6). Thus, Applicant’s invention appears to be in the field of cold fusion.
Specifically, Applicant’s invention is directed towards an approach to fusion known as “bubble fusion,” “cavitation-induced fusion,” or “sonofusion” in which sound waves are used to collapse gas bubbles in a fluid, allegedly creating concentrated energy sufficient to induce fusion reactions (see also 3:12-22, claim 1). However, the scientific community’s understanding of the behavior and fundamental physics underlying bubble fusion is extremely limited compared to the established knowledge of the more mature ICF and MCF approaches and attempts to induce fusion using sonoluminescence have been unverifiable and unreproducible7,8,9,10,11,12. For example, Flannigan8 states that “[m]odels of spherical supersonic bubble implosion in cavitating liquids predict that it could generate temperatures and densities sufficient to drive thermonuclear fusion,” however, “[c]onvincing evidence for fusion is yet to be shown” and “[t]here is ... a remarkable lack of observable data on the conditions created during bubble collapse.” Similarly, Crum11 acknowledges “many ... papers that claim that nuclear fusion can be obtained by acoustic cavitation...; again, these claims have been largely refuted” and notes that “[a]t this time, after many papers and many efforts, there have been no independently replicated studies of cavitation-induced fusion.”
Examiner cannot find, and Applicant has not supplied, any reputable and peer-reviewed papers published in which Applicant’s mechanism for fusion has been substantiated. Thus, Examiner cannot find any scientific literature to suggest that the sonoluminescence approach central to the present invention is viewed by the scientific community to be a viable and reproducible approach to achieving nuclear fusion. Further, Applicant provides only theoretical support for the asserted utility. For example, Applicant discloses (emphasis added):
“FIG. 5 illustrates simulated maximum temperature reached in a collapsing bubble containing deuterium and xenon surrounded by a quantum incompressible fluid” (2:26-28)
“The gas inside the bubble is here modelled as an adiabatically compressed ‘fluid’” (3:2-3)
“As a result, the temperature within the cavitating gas bubble may reach maximum temperatures more than a MK” (3:9-10)
“Under the conditions displayed in FIG. 4 a molecular dynamics simulation yields the temperature reached at the center of the bubble as the shock wave focuses to the origin. As seen in FIG. 5 this temperature can reach 100 MK (108 K). In this case the simulated bubble contains a mixture of spheres with the properties of xenon and deuterium” (6:6-9)
“FIG. 7 provides estimates of characteristics crossing in a putative fluid with Γ=15 so that the critical exponent for the bubble collapse is n=0.5” (6:20-21)
“To achieve thermonuclear fusion, the quantum incompressible fluid will operate under extreme conditions with high-amplitude sound waves.... The system described herein may operate at between 1,000K and 2000K, potentially include corrosive materials like lithium and fluorine, and require high amplitude sound field” (6:22-26)
There are no experimental results presented for the record supporting the purported effects and results of the claimed invention. While the specification appears to theorize that the claimed system can produce fusion, the specification does not provide any objective evidence to indicate that the claimed system is capable of inducing fusion via sonoluminescence.
Discussion
According to MPEP 2107, there is no predetermined amount or character of evidence that must be provided by an Applicant to support an asserted utility, therapeutic or otherwise. Rather, the character and amount of evidence needed to support an asserted utility will vary depending on what is claimed (Ex parte Ferguson, 117 USPQ 229 (Bd. App. 1957)) and whether the asserted utility appears to contravene established scientific principles and beliefs. Evidence will be sufficient if, considered as a whole, it leads a person of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the asserted utility is more likely than not true. Based on the above analysis, Examiner concludes that it is more likely than not that a person skilled in the art would not consider the utility asserted by Applicant for the claimed invention to be a specific and substantial utility that is credible. As has been established above, Applicant has not provided sufficient, objective support for the sonoluminescence induced fusion reactions by the present invention. Consequently, the evidence that must be provided to establish a credible, specific, and substantial utility for the present invention must be sufficiently strong to overcome the weight of the mountain of experimental evidence that underpins the conclusion of the scientific community.
Analysis – Specification and 35 USC § 112(a)
As set forth in MPEP 2163, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Additionally, as set forth in MPEP 2164, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in such terms that one skilled in the art can make and use the claimed invention. The amount of guidance or direction necessary to enable an invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art, as well as to the predictability of the art. In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833,839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970); MPEP 2164.03.
As discussed above, there is no evidence that the present invention is capable of inducing fusion reactions using sonoluminescence. There exist no systems or methods to date which have successfully produced fusion in this manner and the specification fails to describe distinguishing and identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Further, to determine whether a given claim is supported in sufficient detail (by combining the information provided in the disclosure with information known in the art) such that any person skilled in the art could make and use the invention as of the filing date of the application without undue experimentation, at least the following factors should be included: (A) the breadth of the claims; (B) the nature of the invention; (C) the state of the prior art; (D) the level of one of ordinary skill; (E) the level of predictability in the art; (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) the existence of working examples; and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. This standard is applied in accordance with the U.S. Federal Court of Appeals decision In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988). See also United States v. Telectronics Inc., 857 F.2d 778, 785, 8 USPQ2d 1217, 1223 (Fed. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1046 (1989).
Reviewing the aforementioned Wands factors, the evidence weighs in favor of a finding that undue experimentation would be necessary to make and use the claimed invention, and therefore, a determination that the disclosure fails to satisfy the enablement requirement. Specifically:
(A) The breadth of the claims: Applicant’s claimed system of inducing nuclear fusion (i.e., Applicant’s asserted utility; see discussion above) by generating an acoustic resonance in a quantum incompressible fluid (claim 1) is extremely broad because it abandons modern nuclear physics such that the alleged results of the recited system cannot be reasonably predicted and measured. See MPEP 2164.08.
(B)-(D) The nature of the invention, the state of the prior art, and the level of one of ordinary skill in the art: The nature of the invention, i.e., the subject matter to which the claimed invention pertains, revolves around cold nuclear fusion. The level of ordinary skill in the art is a skilled artisan who understands the concepts of nuclear fusion and nuclear reactions and would be capable of delving into the scientific literature on the topics and ascertaining how it could be applied to the present invention. As currently disclosed by Applicant, such viability involves a compete departure from accepted and well-tested theories that comprise known nuclear physics and chemistry. Thus, the subject matter to which the invention pertains lies outside the realm of working science. Further, the effects as claimed by Applicant have not been verified by the existing body of scientific work and are, in fact, incompatible with it. See MPEP 2164.05(a).
(E) The level of predictability in the art: Experiments attempting to produce fusion reactions at temperatures significantly lower than those known to be required for these processes and experiments attempting to produce fusion using sonoluminescence have been predictably unable to produce expected, reproducible, or meaningful empirical data as discussed above. See MPEP 2164.03.
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor: The amount of guidance or direction needed to enable the invention is inversely related to the amount of knowledge in the state of the art as well as the predictability of the art. As discussed above, there are currently no known systems capable of inducing fusion using sonoluminescence. As such, the specification would need more detail as to how to make and use the invention in order to be enabling. However, Applicant's underlying theory is speculative at best and no independent experimental results or other persuasive supporting evidence has been provided for the record. See MPEP 2164.03.
(G) The existence of working examples: As discussed above, examples are defined as and explained by theoretical possibilities and are not reliably-reproducible working examples. See MPEP 2164.02.
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure: The quantity of experimentation needed is infinite, as the practical guidance provided is insufficient to enable one to build or operate a working prototype of the invention, and the provided theoretical guidance is insufficient to enable one to understand the underlying sequence of phenomena required to attempt such an endeavor.
Specification
The specification is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement and the enablement requirement. Based on the above analyses, the specification does not provide an adequate written description of the invention and fails to adequately teach how to make and/or use the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is not supported by either a credible asserted utility or a specific and substantial utility for the reasons set forth above. In the above analyses, Examiner has provided substantial evidence that those skilled in the art would reasonably doubt this asserted utility of the claimed invention. “The PTO may establish a reason to doubt an invention’s asserted utility when the written description ‘suggest[s] an inherently unbelievable undertaking or involve[s] implausible scientific principles.’” In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (quoting In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1995)).
Claims 1-10 are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks patentable utility for the reasons set forth in the above analyses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, it is unclear whether the Applicant had actual or constructive possession of the claimed apparatus at the time of filing. As discussed above, there is no evidence that the apparatus of the present invention is capable of causing a fusion reaction at any temperature, including temperatures significantly lower than those required for nuclear fusion, or that the invention is capable of inducing fusion using sonoluminescence. There exist no fusion reactors to date that are capable of such reactions and the specification fails to describe distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention, for the same reasons set forth in the above objection to the specification, which are accordingly incorporated herein. In view of the above presented Wands factors, it is the Examiner’s position that undue experimentation would be required to make and use the claimed invention.
Claims 1-10 are still further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because the claimed invention is not supported by either a credible asserted utility or a well-established utility for the same reasons set forth in the above objection to the specification as well as in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 above, which are accordingly incorporated herein. As set forth in MPEP 2107.01(IV), a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 101 also creates a deficiency under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as discussed further below. See In re Brana, 51 F.3d 1560, 34 USPQ2d 1436 (Fed. Cir. 1995). Citing In re Brana, the Federal Circuit noted: “Obviously, if a claimed invention does not have utility, the specification cannot enable one to use it.” Because the invention as claimed does not have a specific and substantial utility that is credible, a person skilled in the art would not be able to use the invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the phrase “the gas” in claim 8. It is unclear if the claim is intending to refer to the “gas bubble” previously recited in parent claim 1 or something else.
The term “high” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-10, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2005/0135532 (“Taleyarkhan”) in view of “Towards higher energy density processes in sonoluminescing bubbles” (“Putterman2018”) and US Publication No. 2007/0248471 (“Tessien”).
Regarding claim 1, Taleyarkhan (newly cited) (see FIGS. 1-2) discloses a system (100) comprising a crucible (110), the crucible having a fluid (124) and a gas bubble therein ([0073], [0076]), a piston (116, 117) having an end submerged within the fluid ([0076]), and a controller coupled to the piston configured to drive the piston to generate an acoustic resonance in the fluid ([0019], [0023], [0070]-[0071]).
Taleyarkhan does not appear to disclose the fluid is a fluid such as water, rather than a quantum incompressible fluid. Putterman2018 (cited via Applicant-submitted IDS) is similarly directed towards a sonoluminescence fusion system (Abstract) and teaches using a quantum incompressible fluid (p. 5: “We raise here the possibility of carrying out sonoluminescence with fluids where the incompressibility would originate in the repulsion of nearest neighbor electron shells. This would be the case with small molecule molten salts such as molten LiF. We speculate that at high pressure these fluids will be more incompressible than water”). Putterman2018 further teaches this provides the advantages of increasing energy density and the tendency to shock formation (pp. 5-6: “The greater incompressibility of this putative fluid leads to a clear tendency to shock formation inside the bubble”; pp. 6-7: “If we wish to go to even higher energy densities via nonlinear acoustics a different class of less compressible fluids, and fluids with low vapor pressure should be employed”). It would have therefore been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (“POSA”) to employ the quantum incompressible fluid as taught by Putterman2018 in Taleyarkhan’s system, for the benefits thereof. Thus, modification of Taleyarkhan in order to improve shock formation and energy density, as suggested by Putterman2018, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Taleyarkhan does not appear to disclose a heater. However, Taleyarkhan discloses degassing the fluid via various mechanisms including by boiling ([0068]-[0069]). Tessien (newly cited) (see FIG. 1) is similarly directed towards a sonoluminescence fusion system (100) ([0002]-[0005]) comprising a mechanism (127) for degassing a fluid (“cavitation fluid”) contained in a crucible (101) ([0012], [0023], [0027], [0033]-[0034]). Tessien teaches the mechanism includes a heater (127) thermally coupled to the crucible ([0034]). Tessien further teaches the heater provides the advantages of allowing for localized boiling of the fluid in order to accelerate degassing of the fluid ([0034]-[0035], [0037]-[0038]). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to further modify Taleyarkhan’s system to include the heater as taught by Tessien for the benefits thereof. Thus, further modification of Taleyarkhan in order to enhance degassing, as suggested by Tessien, would have been obvious to a POSA.
Regarding claim 2, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Putterman2018 teaches the quantum incompressible fluid is a molten salt (p. 5: “We raise here the possibility of carrying out sonoluminescence with fluids where the incompressibility would originate in the repulsion of nearest neighbor electron shells. This would be the case with small molecule molten salts such as molten LiF”). Thus, Taleyarkhan, modified to include the quantum incompressible fluid as taught by Putterman2018 and the heater as taught by Tessien, teaches the features of claim 2.
Regarding claims 3-5, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Putterman2018 teaches the quantum incompressible fluid is a molten salt such as LiF (p. 5: “We raise here the possibility of carrying out sonoluminescence with fluids where the incompressibility would originate in the repulsion of nearest neighbor electron shells. This would be the case with small molecule molten salts such as molten LiF”). As best understood by Examiner, the instant specification discloses LiF as a suitable material for the quantum incompressible fluid having a strength of singularity n ≤ 0.5, a yield stress B ≥ 5000 atm, and an adiabatic compressibility coefficient is Γ ≥ 9 (4:32-5:18). Thus, Taleyarkhan, modified to include the quantum incompressible fluid as taught by Putterman2018 and the heater as taught by Tessien, teaches the features of claims 3-5.
Regarding claim 8, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Taleyarkhan appears to be silent as to the saturation of gas in the fluid. However, Taleyarkhan discloses degassing the fluid ([0068]) and further discloses reducing the gas content allows for improving neutron production ([0119]). It would have been obvious to a POSA to have a saturation of gas in the fluid in the range of ≤ 5% since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. A POSA, in view of Taleyarkhan, would have been aware that varying the saturation of gas in the fluid would affect the neutron production.
Regarding claim 9, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Taleyarkhan discloses the piston is configured to generate a sound field of up to 10 bar (or approximately 9.8 atm) ([0107]), which falls within the claimed range of ≥ 2 atm.
Regarding claim 10, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Taleyarkhan discloses and Tessien teaches heating the crucible to boil the fluid (Taleyarkhan, [0069]; Tessien, [0035]). In the modified Taleyarkhan, the fluid is LiF (Putterman, p. 5: “We raise here the possibility of carrying out sonoluminescence with fluids where the incompressibility would originate in the repulsion of nearest neighbor electron shells. This would be the case with small molecule molten salts such as molten LiF”), which has a boiling point13 of 1949 K. Thus, the skilled artisan would have recognized that, in order to boil the LiF of the modified Taleyarkhan’s system, the crucible must be heated to a temperature of at least 1949 K, which falls within the claimed range of ≥ 700 K.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien, further in view of US Patent No. 5,659,173 (“Putterman1997”).
Regarding claim 6, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 1. Taleyarkhan discloses the gas bubble comprises deuterium and tritium ([0073]), but does not appear to disclose the gas bubble comprises a hammer gas. Putterman1997 (newly cited) (see FIG. 13) is similarly directed towards a sonoluminescence fusion system comprising a fluid (“liquid”) and a gas bubble therein (1:41-48, 21:2-6). Putterman1997 teaches the gas bubble comprises deuterium, tritium, and a hammer gas (e.g., argon; see instant specification 7:25-26) (2:16-18, 20:59-60, 21:66-22:5, 22:10-12). Putterman1997 teaches the argon provides the advantages of increasing sonoluminescence emission (20:25-29, 21:66-22:5). It would have therefore been obvious to a POSA to include the hammer gas taught by Putterman1997 in the modified Taleyarkhan’s system for the predictable purpose of enhancing sonoluminescence emissions, as suggested by Putterman1997.
Regarding claim 7, Taleyarkhan in view of Putterman2018 and Tessien teaches the system of claim 6. Putterman1997 appears to be silent as to the specific amount of deuterium in the gas bubble. However, Putterman1997 teaches controlling the contents of the gas bubble to that of an appropriate deuterium-tritium mixture (21:45-46) and further teaches varying the amount of the hammer gas, and, therefore, the amount of deuterium, affects the sonoluminescence emission (27:8-11, 21:66-22:5). It would have been obvious to a POSA to have an amount of deuterium in the gas bubble in the range of 10 – 20 mol% deuterium since it has been held that, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering an optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. A POSA, in view of Putterman1997, would have been aware that increasing the amount of deuterium in the bubble gas would result in a decreased amount of the hammer gas, while decreasing the amount of deuterium would result in an increased amount of the hammer gas, thereby varying sonoluminescence intensity.
Additional References
The following references would also appear to be relevant to Applicant’s invention and are therefore cited in the attached PTO-892:
US Publication No. 2006/0193420 (see FIG. 1): discloses a sonoluminescence fusion system (100) comprising a crucible (101) having a quantum incompressible fluid (e.g., liquid metal) and a gas bubble therein, a piston (119) having an end submerged within the fluid, and a controller coupled to the piston configured to drive the piston to generate a shockwave in the quantum incompressible fluid ([0002]-[0006], [0027], [0041], [0043]).
US Publication No. 2010/0254500 (see FIG. 1): discloses a sonoluminescence fusion system (100) comprising a crucible (115) having a fluid (111) and a gas bubble therein, a piston (107, 108) having an end submerged within the fluid, and a controller coupled to the piston configured to drive the piston to generate an acoustic resonance in the fluid ([0019], [0021], [0027]).
WO Publication No. 01/39200 (see FIG. 1): discloses a sonoluminescence fusion system (10) comprising a crucible (11) having a quantum incompressible fluid (e.g., liquid metal or molten salt) and a gas bubble therein, and further discloses generating an acoustic resonance in the quantum incompressible fluid (5:9-20, 6:5-29, 7:20-22).
“Cavitation-Induced Fusion: Proof of Concept” (see FIGS. 15, 17): discloses various sonoluminescence fusion systems using pistons to generate acoustic resonances in a quantum incompressible fluid (e.g., liquid metal) (pp. 7, 8, 10, 13).
“Method of Resonance Overcompression in a Bubble Liquid by a Moderate Aperiodic Action” (see FIG. 1): discloses a sonoluminescence fusion system comprising a fluid having a gas bubble therein and a piston for generating an acoustic resonance in the fluid (pp. 540, 541)
The Applied References
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the applied reference(s) have been cited (as examples) to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety by Applicant, including any disclosures that may teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02(VI).
Application Status Information
Interview Information
Contact Information
Examiner Jinney Kil can be reached at (571) 270-5217, on Monday-Thursday from 8:30AM-6:30PM ET. Supervisor Jack Keith (SPE) can be reached at (571) 272-6878.
/JINNEY KIL/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
1 http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/NucEne/coubar.html
2 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuclear_fusion
3 Griffiths, Thomas, et al. "Progress in Energy." (2022).
4 Pearson, Richard J. and Takeda, Shutaro. “Chapter 2: Review of approaches to fusion energy.” Commercialising Fusion Energy: How small businesses are transforming big science. Bristol, UK: IOP Publishing, 2020
5 https://www.llnl.gov/news/star-power-blazing-path-fusion-ignition
6 Berlinguette, Curtis P., et al. “Revisiting the cold case of cold fusion.” Nature 570.7759 (2019).
7 Yoshimura, Toshihiko, Masataka Ijiri, and Kazunori Sato. “Estimation of nuclear fusion requirements in bubbles during ultra-high-pressure, ultra-high-temperature cavitation promoted by magnetic field.” International Journal of Interactive Mobile Technologies 5.6 (2021).
8 Flannigan, David J., and Kenneth S. Suslick. "Inertially confined plasma in an imploding bubble." Nature Physics 6.8 (2010).
9 Crum, Lawrence A. "Sonoluminescence and acoustic inertial confinement fusion." Fifth International Symposium on Cavitation. 2003.
10 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_fusion
11 Crum, Lawrence A. "Resource paper: sonoluminescence." The Journal of the acoustical society of America 138.4 (2015).
12 Yoshimura, T., et al. "Estimation of Bubble Fusion Requirements during High-Pressure, High-Temperature Cavitation.” Int J Adv Technol 9.206 (2018).
13 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lithium_fluoride