Detailed Action
Overview
This is a first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 38-57 are pending. Claims 38, 45 and 49 are independent and claims 39-44, 46-48 and 50-57 are dependent. Applicant has canceled claims 1-37 by preliminary amendments.
Independent claim 38 is directed to a method of detecting a seismic event.
Independent claims 45 is directed to a method of monitoring a grid framework structure following a seismic event.
Independent claim 49 is directed to a seismic detection system configured for a grid framework structure.
A reference cited by the Applicant meets each of the independent claims 38, 45 and 49 and many dependent for which the application is being rejected, see claim rejections under 35 USC §102 below.
Claim Objection
Claim 51 is objected to because of the following informalities: the items i), ii) and iii) of the claim are already set forth in the base claim 49 from which the instant claim 51 depends. Therefore, if these are new features or these features are added in this dependent claim 51 by a typographic error. If these are new features then the claim should be appropriately amended. Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claims 38-39 and 45-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McClure (US-20180106696-A1).
McClure is a reference of the record cited by the Applicant in IDS1 filed the applicant on 14 June 2024.
Item matchings between the claimed features and prior art, McClure, are shown in the table below.
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
McClure (US-2018/0106696-A1)
38
A method for detecting seismic events, the method comprising:
McClure discloses a method of detecting a seismic event as it determines a seismic response of a man-made structure, see the abstract in McClure.
a) acquiring acceleration data over a given period of time from one or more accelerometers located on a grid framework structure, said grid framework structure including:
McClure acquires accelerations data (vibration data) using sensor 1102 located on a grid framework structure (man-made structure, building 100) over a given period of time (i.e., the claimed given period of time can be any time including a time of a potential “earthquake”).
i) a first set of horizontal grid members extending in a first direction;
In McClure, the building 100 is described to be a concrete structure which implicitly/inherently comprises rebars. One set of rebars in a particular floor can be understood to be arranged in a horizontal grid in particular direction which can be called the first direction.
ii) a second set of horizontal grid members extending in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting with the first set of horizontal grid members at intersections, the first and second sets of horizontal grid members being arranged to form a grid including a plurality of substantially rectangular frames in a horizontal plane, each of the substantially rectangular frames constituting a grid cell;
and
Another set of rebars in the same floor can be understood to be arranged in direction perpendicular to the first direction intersecting the above one set of rebars. So, the rebars in the floor can be understood to constitute rectangular grid cells as claimed.
iii) a plurality of upright columns supporting the first and second sets of horizontal grid members the plurality of upright columns forming a plurality of vertical storage locations for containers to be stacked between the upright columns;
Columns and walls 2023 of the building 100, in McClure, can be equated to the claimed upright columns, see para [0049] in McClure.
The building 100 has many floors (201), and the floors (201) are arranged in the vertical direction; and these floors are stacked between columns and walls; thus, the floors can be equated to the claimed plurality of vertical storage locations.
b) comparing the acquired acceleration data to ground acceleration data from one or more accelerometers located on the ground;
See Fig. 6B, in which McClure depicts multiple sensors 110 that are located on the ground (ground floor 602). Sensors 110 can be accelerometer as explained in McClure, see para [0045] and in other places. When the sensors 110 in McClure are an accelerometer, they obtain acceleration data.
These sensors participate in the process of determining the seismic event the building 100 can sustain.
c) determining a differential acceleration between the acceleration data and the ground acceleration data;
Data obtained from sensors 110 located in upper floors and ground floor are used as claimed including differential acceleration in determining the seismic event.
d) determining displacement data from the differential acceleration; and
McClure can be understood to obtain displacement data from the differential acceleration in a scenario it uses accelerometer which is being one of the choices of the type of sensor 110.
e) determining whether a seismic event has taken place over the given period of time based on the displacement data.
McClure can be understood to determine a seismic event based on the displacement data as it is a routine process in the art to determine a seismic event from measurement of ground displacement.
39
The method of claim 38, wherein the determining whether a seismic event has taken place over the given period of time comprises:
determining whether the displacement data exceeds a predetermined displacement threshold corresponding to an elastic limit of a member of the grid framework structure.
Claim 39 is met by McClure as it discloses exceeding a threshold of displacement will cause complete destruction4 of the grid frame work (building 100), see various places in the text of McClure including para [0063].
Examiner comment: McClure discusses a spectrum of damages including “no meaningful damage” to a “complete destruction” from various levels of displacement.
Complete destruction of the grid structure (100) in McClure will occur when the displacement exceeds a certain threshold, meaning the corresponding displacement exceeds an elastic limit of framework (100).
40
The method of claim 38, wherein the determining whether a seismic event has taken place comprises:
determining a change in a frequency and/or period of oscillation of the displacement data over the given period of time.
McClure doe not meet claim 40 as it does not mention anything about frequency of displacement, even though it mentions natural frequency of the grid structure (100) which is not as same as the frequency of displacement caused by the earthquake.
Examiner comment: Since claims 41-44 depends from claim 40, these claims too are not met by McClure.
45
A method of condition monitoring a grid framework structure following a seismic event, the grid framework structure including:
McClure meets preamble of the claim because the device that detects an effect of an earthquake on a building 100, in McClure, can monitor a grid framework structure (building 100) following a seismic event.
i) a first set of horizontal grid members extending in a first direction;
This feature (i) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
ii) a second set of horizontal grid members extending in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting with the first set of horizontal grid members at intersections, the first and second sets of horizontal grid members being arranged to form a grid including a plurality of substantially rectangular frames in a horizontal plane, each of the substantially rectangular frames constituting a grid cell;
This feature (ii) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
iii) a plurality of upright columns supporting the first and second sets of horizontal grid members, the plurality of upright columns forming a plurality of vertical storage locations for containers to be stacked between the upright columns; and iv) one or more accelerometers located on the grid framework structure; the method comprising:
This feature (iii) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
a) acquiring acceleration data over a given period of time from the one or more accelerometers;
This feature (a) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
b) comparing the acquired acceleration data to ground acceleration data over the given period of time from one or more accelerometers located on the ground;
This feature (b) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
c) determining a differential acceleration between the acceleration data and the ground acceleration data; and
This feature (c) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
d) determining the extent of damage to different portions of the grid framework structure that occurred during the given period of time by determining whether the differential acceleration data exceeded a predetermined acceleration threshold during the given period of time.
This feature (d) is also found in claim 38, see treatment of the feature as it treated in claim 38.
46
The method of claim 45, wherein the predetermined acceleration threshold comprises:
a plurality of predetermined acceleration thresholds, each of the plurality of predetermined acceleration thresholds being indicative of a different level of damage to one or more of the portions of the grid framework structure.
McClure meets this claim feature as it discloses different levels of damages, see para [0063] in McClure.
Similar feature is also found in claim 39, see Examiner comment, in the treatment of claim 39 above, for further explanation.
47
The method of claim 45, comprising:
e) determining displacement data from the differential acceleration; and
f) determining an extent of damage to different parts of the grid framework structure by determining whether the displacement data has exceeded a predetermined displacement threshold.
McClure can be understood to meet claim 47 because it discusses that extent of damages are determined on the basis of an amount of displacement when it disclose a spectrum of damages, see para [0063].
Each level of damage in McClure, has predetermined threshold.
48
The method of claim 47, wherein the predetermined displacement threshold is indicative of an elastic limit, such that a displacement of a portion of the grid framework structure exceeding the predetermined displacement threshold provides an indication that a portion of the grid framework structure has been permanently deformed.
McClure meets claim 48 as level of damages to the building structure is indicative on an elastic limit of the structure.
49
A seismic detection system configured for a grid framework structure including:
McClure meets preamble of Claim 49 as it discloses a seismic detection system for a grid framework (building 100).
i) a first set of horizontal grid members extending in a first direction;
This feature (i) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
ii) a second set of horizontal grid members extending in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting with the first set of horizontal grid members at intersections, the first and second sets of horizontal grid members being arranged to form a grid including a plurality of substantially rectangular frames in a horizontal plane, each of the substantially rectangular frames constituting a grid cell;
This feature (ii) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
iii) a plurality of upright columns supporting the first and second sets of horizontal grid members, the plurality of upright columns forming a plurality of vertical storage locations for containers to be stacked between the upright columns; and
This feature (iii) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
iv) one or more accelerometers located on the grid framework structure; the seismic detection system comprising:
This feature (iv) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
a) one or more accelerometers configured to be mounted on the grid framework structure;
This feature (a) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
b) an input module configured to acquire acceleration data from the one or more accelerometers; and
See Fig. 4 and 5 in McClure which shows an input module (430) that receives acceleration data from the accelerometer (110).
c) a controller in communication with the input module, the controller including one or more processors and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, will cause the one or more processors to:
c) a controller (400) in communication with the input module (430), the controller (400) including one or more processors (420) and a memory storing (410) instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, will cause the one or more processors to:
i) determine whether a seismic event has taken place based on the acquired acceleration data from the one or more accelerometers; and
This feature (a) is also found in claim 38, see above how McClure meets this claim feature in treatment of claim 38.
ii) in response to determining that a seismic event has taken place, send a signal to one or more output devices.
This feature (ii) is met by McClure because the determination that a seismic event has taken place must be communicated to a user via an output device, e.g., audio-visual system or other system that can generate human perceptible signal.
50
The seismic detection system of claim 49, comprising:
one or more accelerometers at a ground location near the grid framework structure.
McClure meets claim 50 because it discloses accelerators (110) on the ground floor (602) which is a ground location near the upper floors.
51
A seismic detection system according to claim 49, in combination with a grid framework structure, comprising:
i) a first set of horizontal grid members extending in a first direction;
ii) a second set of horizontal grid members extending in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and intersecting with the first set of horizontal grid members at intersections, the first and second sets of horizontal grid members being arranged to form a grid including a plurality of substantially rectangular frames in a substantially horizontal plane, each of the substantially rectangular frames constituting a grid cell; and
iii) a plurality of upright columns supporting the first and second sets of grid members, the plurality of upright columns forming a plurality of vertical storage locations for containers to be stacked between the upright columns.
Claim 51 is met by McClure, these same features are found in the base claim 49.
See claim objection for further guidance, elsewhere in this Office action.
52
The seismic detection system framework structure of claim 51, wherein the one or more accelerometers mounted on the grid framework structure comprise:
a plurality of accelerometers arranged along the first direction and/or the second direction of the grid.
McClure meets claim 52 as it discloses multiple accelerometers (110) arranged on grid pattern on a same floor, see Various figures on McClure.
53
The seismic detection system framework structure of claim 52, wherein the plurality of accelerometers are arranged along at least a portion of the periphery of the grid.
McClure meets claim 52 as it discloses multiple accelerometers (110) arranged on grid pattern on a same floor, see Various figures on McClure.
Some of the accelerometers (110) are at the periphery of the floor, see various figure in McClure.
54
The seismic detection system framework structure of claim 51, wherein the one or more accelerometers mounted on the grid framework structure comprise:
a plurality of accelerometers and at least a portion of the plurality of accelerometers are arranged diagonally relative to the first and second direction of the grid.
McClure meets claim 54 as it discloses some accelerometers are (110) to be arranged diagonally on a floor, e.g., see top floor in Fig. 1.
55
The seismic detection system framework structure of claim 51, wherein the grid framework structure is subdivided into a plurality of modular frames, such that the grid extends across the plurality of modular frames.
McClure meets claim 55 as the grid framework structure (rebar framework of a concrete floor and then the whole building) can be modular frames and plurality of modular frames can be used to construct the whole building 100.
56
A multi-story grid framework structure having a seismic detection system according to claim 51, the multi-story grid framework structure comprising:
i) a first grid framework structure at a first level;
ii) a second grid framework structure at a second level, the second level being above the first level; wherein each of the first and second grid framework structures are configured as the grid framework structure.
McClure meets claim 56 as it discloses a multi-story building having a multi-story grid framework structure.
Items i) and ii) are met by McClure, see Fig. 1 in McClure.
57
A storage and retrieval system having a seismic detection system according to claim 51, the storage and retrieval system, comprising:
a) the grid framework structure; and
b) one or more load handling devices remotely operable to move the one or more containers stored in the grid framework structure, each of the one or more load handling devices including:
i) a wheel assembly for guiding the load handling device on the grid framework structure;
ii) a container-receiving space located above the grid framework structure; and
iii) a lifting device arranged to lift a single container from a stack into the container- receiving space.
McClure meets claim 57 as discloses an elevator in the building.
a) The elevator shaft should be a part of the grid framework.
b)The elevator can be remotely operated in a sense that each floor has buttons to call the elevator when the elevator is at a remote location i.e., different floor.
i)Elevators have guiding wheels.
ii) Each floor can accommodate containers.
iii) a person can place a container in the elevator for lifting it to an upper floor for storing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40-44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 40, claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor suggests the method of claim 38, wherein the determining whether a seismic event has taken place comprises:
determining a change in a frequency and/or period of oscillation of the displacement data over the given period of time.
As to claims 41-44, these claims would be allowable if claim 40 is written in independent form because each of these claims depends from claim 40.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 IDS ≡ Information disclosure Statement
2 [0045] In some embodiments, the sensors 110 are motion sensors which are used to measure ambient vibrations of the building 100 and to collect vibration data corresponding to data collection locations. The sensors 110 may be one-dimensional, two-dimensional, or three-dimensional, and can detect displacement, velocity, and acceleration for the location at which each sensor 110 is situated. In some cases, the sensors collect data in more than three dimensions, including, for example, rotational motions, and the like. The sensors 110 can be implemented using any suitable technology, including microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), piezoelectric systems, optical systems, geophones, and the like. In some cases, the sensors 110 are permanently placed within the building 100, such as in the structure of the building. Alternatively, the sensors 110 are temporarily placed at various locations on the floor(s) of the building 100. In some embodiments, the sensors 110 include both permanent and temporary sensors 110. In some embodiments, the sensors are also, or alternatively, used to measure vibrations of the building 100 resulting from forced vibration tests, shock tests, and any other suitable test.
3 [0049] A number of structural elements may be located on the floor 200, including any given number of structural supports 202. The structural supports 202 may run through a floor surface 201, and include pillars, walls, sheer walls, frames, braces, and the like. The particular number and location of the structural supports 202 varies from building to building. Other structural elements, such as staircases 204, may also be located on the floor 200. A floor structure mass is determined as a sum of masses of all the various structural elements, including the floor surface 201. The floor structure mass may be a single value expressing the total mass of structural elements, or may be a series of values associated with coordinates or other spatial information to express the distribution of mass over a surface area of the floor 200. For example, the floor 200 can be partitioned into a grid or array, with each element in the grid being a 1 m.sup.2 subsection of the floor, with each element having a respective mass value indicative of the mass of that subsection of the floor.
4 [0063] At step 360, the computing device can optionally associate a level of destruction to the building 100 as a result of the input earthquake based on the seismic response of the building. In some embodiments, the level of destruction is qualitative, and can be presented on a spectrum, for example from “no meaningful damage” to “complete destruction”. Alternatively, the qualitative level of destruction can be indicative of the destruction of non-structural elements 208 on the floor 200, for example “supply cabinet doors may open” or “furniture not fixed to walls may topple”. In some embodiments, the level of destruction is quantitative, for example a percentage of the floor 200, or the non-structural elements 208 on the floor 200, that are destroyed, damaged, and the like. Alternatively, the quantitative level of destruction may be a score or ranking indicative of the viability of the building 100 following the effects of the input earthquake. The level of destruction may also be expressed in other suitable ways, or as any combination of the ways described hereinabove.