DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/14/2024 and 9/29/2025 has/have been received and complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner, and a copy with initials is attached herewith.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 6/14/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga et al (US 20180323419 A1) in view of Ku Specification No: "Cylindrical Lithium-ion Battery - MURATA US18650VTC5D - Product Specification", 1 December 2018 (2018-12-01), XP093286153, (URL:https://www.nkon.nl/amfile/file/download/file/202/product/3463/) and Masaaki et (WO 2015133568 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, Shiraga discloses a cylindrical secondary battery (10) comprising an exterior housing can (21) having a cylindrical barrel part and one end sealed with a bottom plate and an electrode assembly (16) disposed inside the barrel part, wherein a positive electrode plate (13) and a negative electrode plate (11) are wound via a separator (15) in the electrode assembly (16) [Fig. ; paragraph 00170027-0029].
Shiraga remains silent about the outer diameter as claimed. However, it is known in the art that Murata battery has a proportion of an average value of outer diameters at a center of the barrel part being a center in an axial direction of the exterior housing can relative to an average value of outer diameters on a bottom end of the barrel part is greater than or equal to 100. 10% and less than or equal to 100.50% in the exterior housing can [section 6.1, 6.2]. Shiraga/Murata battery is silent that a standard deviation of the outer diameters at the center of the barrel part is greater than or equal to 0.020 mm and less than or equal to 0.050 mm. However, Masaaki teaches a battery wherein an axial core (7) has a shape in which the external diameter dimension decreases at a predetermined ratio from a central region (R2) in the longitudinal direction toward the two ends (11) and (13) in the longitudinal direction. The predetermined decreasing ratio is set to such a value that no wrinkles occur in the sheet-formed separator (3) during the initial winding in which an electrode plate group (5) is wound around the axial core (7) [Abstract; Fig. 3]. Assuming that the variation of the diameters is focused on the central part, as largely known in art (as taught by Masaaki), this corresponds to a max variation around 100.8%.
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
9. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiraga et al (US 20180323419 A1) in view of Ku Specification No: "Cylindrical Lithium-ion Battery - MURATA US18650VTC5D - Product Specification", 1 December 2018 (2018-12-01), XP093286153, (URL:https://www.nkon.nl/amfile/file/download/file/202/product/3463/) and Masaaki et (WO 2015133568 A1) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Anonymous: "Cylindrical Cells - Battery Design", 1 January 2020 (2020-01-01), XP093286532,
(URL:https://www.batterydesign.net/battery-cell/formats/cylindrical-cells/).
Regarding claim 3, Shiraga teaches the battery as in claim 1 and further teaches the composition of the negative electrode comprises a graphite and a silicon material. And the silicon material in an amount of not less than 4 mass% and not more than 20 mass % of the total mass of the graphite and the silicon material [paragraph 0020-0021; claims 2, 7]. Shiraga teaches that the exterior housing can (21) is made from iron (Fe) [paragraph 0028] remains silent about the thickness of the housing can. However, this is a parameter which the skilled person would easily adjust, depending on the circumstances, without exercising inventive skill, as commonly employed in the state of the art (Wall thickness ~0.22 to 0.28mm) [page 2, Can Housing: models 18650 and 21700].
Therefore, the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (KSR v. Teleflex, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 127 S. Ct. 1727 (2007)) and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized such a substitution without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
11. Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18720197(reference application). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in the instant patent application encompasses the claimed subject matter as recited in the ‘197 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/MUHAMMAD S SIDDIQUEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723