DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed June 14, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 26-45 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the first direction" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the first busbar arrangement" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the second direction" in lines 5-6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the second stator portion" in line 7 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "the second direction" in lines 3-4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "the second busbar" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 45 recites the limitation “a second stator portion” in line 10 of the claim. It is unclear whether this “second stator portion” is the same limitation as “a second stator portion” of line 7 of the claim, or a separate “second stator portion”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the second stator portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26-28, 36, and 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deguchi et al. (US 20150001979 A1, hereafter referred to as Deguchi).
Regarding claim 26, Deguchi discloses (see Figures 2 and 6) a stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) for an axial flux electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]) configured for use with a multi-phase power supply, the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) comprising:
a first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]); and
a second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]);
wherein each conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) and the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) comprises at least one pair of active sections (Annotated Figure 6b), wherein each active section (Annotated Figure 6b) extends in a generally radial direction substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]);
wherein the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) and the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) are axially aligned and each comprise spaces between adjacent active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) for receiving flux guides (121, ¶ [0027]), the spaces in the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) being circumferentially aligned with the spaces in the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b); and
wherein each conductive coil (122a, ¶ [0040]) in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) has a corresponding conductive coil (122b, ¶ [0040]) in the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) electrically connected to it to form a set of conductive coils (see Figure 6B, conductive coils 122a and 122b are connected via connector 123).
Additionally, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 27/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Additionally, Deguchi discloses (see Figure 6B above) that circumferentially aligned spaces (Annotated Figure 6B) in the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6B) and the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6B) are configured to receive a common flux guide (121, ¶ [0027]).
Regarding claim 28/27/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Additionally, Deguchi discloses (see Figure 6B above.) a flux guide (121, ¶ [0027]) positioned within each set of aligned spaces.
Regarding claim 36/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Additionally, Deguchi discloses that each active section (Annotated Figure 6B) comprises a plurality of axially and/or circumferentially stacked winding turning portions (Annotated Figure 6B); and wherein the respective active sections (Annotated Figure 6B) in each conductive coil for each set of conductive coils are aligned with one another in a circumferential direction.
Regarding claim 43, Deguchi discloses (see Figures 2 and 6 above) an electric machine (100, ¶ [0028]) configured for use with a multi-phase power supply, the electric machine (100, ¶ [0028]) comprising:
a stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) for an axial flux electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]) configured for use with a multi-phase power supply, the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) comprising:
a first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]); and
a second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]);
wherein each conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) and the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) comprises at least one pair of active sections (Annotated Figure 6b), wherein each active section (Annotated Figure 6b) extends in a generally radial direction substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]);
wherein the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) and the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) are axially aligned and each comprise spaces between adjacent active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) for receiving flux guides (121, ¶ [0027]), the spaces in the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) being circumferentially aligned with the spaces in the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b); and
wherein each conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) has a corresponding conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) electrically connected to it to form a set of conductive coils (see Figure 6B, conductive coils 122a and 122b are connected via connector 123);
the electric machine (100, ¶ [0028]) further comprising:
a first rotor portion (150, ¶ [0028]) disposed at a first axial end of the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]); and
a second rotor portion (150, ¶ [0028]) disposed at a second axial end of the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]).
Additionally, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 44, Deguchi discloses (see Figure 6b above) a conductive coil (122, ¶ [0040]) comprising at least one pair of active sections (Annotated Figure 6b), a first terminal portion (124, ¶ [0040]) and a second terminal portion (123, ¶ [0040]);
wherein the first terminal portion (124, ¶ [0040]) is configured to extend axially in the first direction for connection to the first busbar arrangement; and
wherein the second terminal portion (123, ¶ [0040]) is configured to extend axially in the second direction for connection to a connector (123, ¶ [0040]), the second terminal portion (123, ¶ [0040]) having an extended portion configured to extend beyond the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6B) in the second direction; and
wherein the conductive coil (122, ¶ [0040]) is for use in a first stator portion of a stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) for an axial flux electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]) configured for use with a multi-phase power supply, the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) comprising a first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) and a second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]);
wherein the active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) are configured to extend in a generally radial direction substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the electrical machine;
wherein the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) and the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) are axially aligned and each comprise spaces between adjacent active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) for receiving flux guides (121, ¶ [0027]), the spaces in the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) being circumferentially aligned with the spaces in the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b); and
wherein each conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) has a corresponding conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) electrically connected to it to form a set of conductive coils (see Figure 6B, conductive coils 122a and 122b are connected via connector 123).
Additionally, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 45, Deguchi discloses (see Figure 6b above) a conductive coil (122, ¶ [0040]) comprising at least one pair of active sections (Annotated Figure 6b), a first terminal portion (124, ¶ [0040]) and a second terminal portion;
wherein the first terminal portion (124, ¶ [0040]) is configured to extend axially in the second direction for connection to the second busbar arrangement; and
wherein the second terminal portion (123, ¶ [0040]) is configured to extend axially in the second direction for connection to a connector (123, ¶ [0040]); and
wherein the conductive coil (122, ¶ [0040]) is for use in a second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) of a stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) for an axial flux electrical machine (100, ¶ [0028]) configured for use with a multi-phase power supply, the stacked-winding stator (120, ¶ [0028]) comprising a first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) and a second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) comprising a second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]);
wherein the active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) are configured to extend in a generally radial direction substantially perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the electrical machine;
wherein the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) and the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) are axially aligned and each comprise spaces between adjacent active sections (Annotated Figure 6b) for receiving flux guides (121, ¶ [0027]), the spaces in the first stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b) being circumferentially aligned with the spaces in the second stator portion (Annotated Figure 6b); and wherein each conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils (122a, ¶ [0040]) has a corresponding conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils (122b, ¶ [0040]) electrically connected to it to form a set of conductive coils (see Figure 6B, conductive coils 122a and 122b are connected via connector 123).
Additionally, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-35, and 36-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Lines et al. (WO 2020157501 A1, herafter referred to as Lines).
Regarding claim 29/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Additionally, Deguchi discloses (see Figure 6B above) that the active sections (Annotated Figure 6B) of each pair of active sections (Annotated Figure 6B) are pitched apart in a circumferential direction.
Deguchi does not disclose that circumferentially adjacent conductive coils circumferentially overlap.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 6A-B) that circumferentially adjacent conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) circumferentially overlap.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that circumferentially adjacent conductive coils circumferentially overlap, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 30/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that the spaces include spaces of a first type, each space of the first type being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections of two different conductive coils.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 5E) that the spaces include spaces of a first type (141a-c, Page 12, ¶ 8), each space of the first type (141a-c, Page 12, ¶ 8) being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections (121a-b, Page 14, ¶ 3) of two different conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that the spaces include spaces of a first type, each space of the first type being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections of two different conductive coils, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 31/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not explicitly disclose that each conductive coil comprises a plurality of pairs of active sections connected to each other in series, wherein adjacent pairs of active sections circumferentially overlap and wherein the spaces include spaces of a second type, each space of the second type being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections of the same conductive coil but different pairs of active sections of the conductive coil.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 6) each conductive coil comprises a plurality of pairs of active sections (121a-b, Page 14, ¶ 3) connected to each other in series (Page 15, ¶ 8: “To form the conductive coil 12, two identical conductive elements 120, 120’ are electrically connected together in series at their inner tails 129, 129’.”), wherein adjacent pairs of active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) circumferentially overlap and wherein the spaces include spaces of a second type (142a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9), each space of the second type (142a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections (121a-b, Page 14, ¶ 3) of the same conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) but different pairs of active sections (121a-b, Page 14, ¶ 3) of the conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) (Page 15, ¶ 10 – Page 16, ¶ 1: “Having now described spaces 141a-c of the first type (that is, spaces defined between active sections of different coils) and spaces 142a-b of the second type (that is, spaces defined between active sections of the same coil but different pairs)”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that that each conductive coil comprises a plurality of pairs of active sections connected to each other in series, wherein adjacent pairs of active sections circumferentially overlap and wherein the spaces include spaces of a second type, each space of the second type being a circumferential space between two adjacent active sections of the same conductive coil but different pairs of active sections of the conductive coil, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 32/31/26, Deguchi in view of Lines has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not explicitly disclose that the plurality of pairs of active sections of each conductive coil are either integrally formed or formed by connecting, in series, a plurality of separate elements which each comprise one pair of active sections.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the plurality of pairs of active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) of each conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) are either integrally formed or formed by connecting, in series, a plurality of separate elements which each comprise one pair of active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) (Page 6, ¶ 2: “The plurality of pairs of active sections that make up one coil may be integrally formed or formed by connecting, in series, a plurality of separate elements which each comprise one pair of active sections.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that the plurality of pairs of active sections of each conductive coil are either integrally formed or formed by connecting, in series, a plurality of separate elements which each comprise one pair of active sections, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 33/31/26, Deguchi in view of Lines has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that, in use, current flows in the same direction along adjacent active sections separated by one of the spaces of the second type.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose that, in use, current flows in the same direction along adjacent active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) separated by one of the spaces of the second type (Claim 13: “configured so that, in use, current flows in the same direction along adjacent active sections of the coil separated by one of the spaces of the second type for a flux guide”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi in view of Lines such that, in use, current flows in the same direction along adjacent active sections separated by one of the spaces of the second type, as further disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 34/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that, in use, current flows in opposite radial directions along the active sections of each pair of active sections of each conductive coil.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose that, in use, current flows in opposite radial directions along the active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) of each pair of active sections of each conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5). (Page 5, ¶ 3: “The proximal ends of the winding turn portions may be connected by inner loop sections and the distal ends are connected by outer loop sections such that, in use, current flows in opposite radial directions along the pair of radially extending active sections.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that, in use, current flows in opposite radial directions along the active sections of each pair of active sections of each conductive coil, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 35/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not explicitly disclose that the active sections of each pair of active sections are axially offset from each other.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose that the active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) of each pair of active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) are axially offset from each other (Page 7, ¶ 5: “The second active section is pitched apart in a circumferential direction and axially offset from the first active section.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that that the active sections of each pair of active sections are axially offset from each other, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 37/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that the respective active sections in each conductive coil for each set of conductive coils are offset from one another in a circumferential direction by an integer number of spaces.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 6) that the respective active sections (121a-b, Page 15, ¶ 9) in each conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) for each set of conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) are offset from one another in a circumferential direction by an integer number of spaces (Page 16, ¶ 3: “While a conductive coil 12 with two conductive elements 120, 120’ has been described, it should be appreciated that a conductive coil 12 could have any integer number of conductive elements 120, including more than two. Increasing the number of conductive elements per conductive coil 12 will increase the number of spaces of the second type defined by the circumferentially adjacent active sections of the conductive elements 120, which in turn increases the number of slots per pole per phase in the stator 1”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that the respective active sections in each conductive coil for each set of conductive coils are offset from one another in a circumferential direction by an integer number of spaces, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 38/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that for an N phase power supply each conductive coil in each set of conductive coils are connected to the same phase.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose such that for an N phase power supply each conductive coil (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) in each set of conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) are connected to the same phase (Page 6, ¶ 7: “Circumferentially adjacent conductive coils may be configured to be connected to different phases of the multi-phase supply such that, for an N-phase power supply, the stator comprises a plurality of groups of N conductive coils, each group of N conductive coils comprising one coil for each phase of the N-phase supply, each group corresponding to one pole of the stator.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that for an N phase power supply each conductive coil in each set of conductive coils are connected to the same phase, as disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Regarding claim 39/38/26, Deguchi in view of Lines has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not disclose that the stacked-winding stator comprises a plurality of poles, each pole comprising an integer M multiple of N sets of conductive coils, with M sets of conductive coils for each phase.
However, Lines, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 4) that the stacked-winding stator comprises a plurality of poles (11, Page 11, ¶ 5), each pole (11, Page 11, ¶ 5) comprising an integer M multiple of N sets of conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5), with M sets of conductive coils (12, Page 11, ¶ 5) for each phase (Page 6, ¶ 6-7: “The plurality of conductive coils may be provided in a plurality of groups, each group corresponding to one pole of the stator. --> Each conductive coil may be configured to be connected to a phase of a multi-phase power supply. Circumferentially adjacent conductive coils may be configured to be connected to different phases of the multi-phase supply such that, for an N-phase power supply, the stator comprises a plurality of groups of N conductive coils, each group of N conductive coils comprising one coil for each phase of the N-phase supply, each group corresponding to one pole of the stator.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi in view of Lines such that the stacked-winding stator comprises a plurality of poles, each pole comprising an integer M multiple of N sets of conductive coils, with M sets of conductive coils for each phase, as further disclosed by Lines, in order to improve efficiency, ease manufacturing burdens, and improve cooling (Page 3, ¶ 1: “Embodiments described herein provide a conductive coil and a stator for an axial flux machine comprising a plurality of conductive coils which provide for high machine efficiencies, ease of manufacture and good heat conduction from the coils to the stator housing which aids cooling.”).
Claims 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi in view of Lines as applied to claim 38 above, and further in view of Naginski et al. (US 20130307366 A1, hereafter referred to as Naginski).
Regarding claim 40/38/26, Deguchi in view of Lines has been discussed above.
Deguchi in view of Lines does not explicitly disclose that for each set of conductive coils the conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in series to the conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils by a connector.
However, Naginski, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) that for each set of conductive coils the conductive coil (30, ¶ [0034]) in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in series to the conductive coil (30, ¶ [0034]) in the second plurality of conductive coils by a connector (¶ [0017]: “A further object of the invention is to disclose the windings are connectable to the phase in series or in parallel.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi in view of Lines such that for each set of conductive coils the conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in series to the conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils by a connector, as disclosed by Naginski, in order to improve reliability and ease of production (¶ [0009]: “There is a long-felt and unmet need for ultra-slim brushless electric machine devices characterized by the simplicity of electric circuitry and reliability improvement, which can be easily mass produced”).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Naginski et al. (US 20130307366 A1, hereafter referred to as Naginski).
Regarding claim 42/26, Deguchi has been discussed above.
Deguchi does not explicitly disclose that for each set of conductive coils the conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in parallel to the conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils by one or more connectors.
However, Naginski, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) that for each set of conductive coils (30, ¶ [0034]) the conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in parallel to the conductive coil (30, ¶ [0034]) in the second plurality of conductive coils by one or more connectors (¶ [0017]: “A further object of the invention is to disclose the windings are connectable to the phase in series or in parallel.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the stacked-winding stator disclosed by Deguchi such that for each set of conductive coils the conductive coil in the first plurality of conductive coils is connected in parallel to the conductive coil in the second plurality of conductive coils by one or more connectors, as disclosed by Naginski, in order to improve reliability and ease of production (¶ [0009]: “There is a long-felt and unmet need for ultra-slim brushless electric machine devices characterized by the simplicity of electric circuitry and reliability improvement, which can be easily mass produced”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 41 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 41/40/38/26, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein for each of the N phases: each conductive coil (12) from the first plurality of conductive coils (12) in a first set of conductive coils (12) in a first pole is connected to the first busbar (A1, B1, C1) for the respective phase, and each conductive coil 12 from the first plurality of conductive coils (12) in a last set of conductive coils (12) in a last pole is connected to the star connection of the first busbar arrangement (723); and each conductive coil (12) from the second plurality of conductive coils (12) is connected to the second busbar (A2, B2, C2) for the respective phase, such that a current path is formed from the first pole to the last pole via the sets of conductive coils (12) and the second busbar (A2, B2, C2) for the respective phase. (see Figure 7A) – in the combination as claimed.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brauer et al. (DE 102019215015 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 8-14.
Calley et al. (US 20100109453 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 6-9.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834