DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ preliminary amendment, filed on 03/11/2025, in which claims 41, 50, 52, 55-57, 65-67, 74, and 76-84 are amended, and claims 1-39, 42-49, 51, 53-54, 58-64, 68-73, 75, and 85-87 are cancelled.
Claims 40-41, 50, 52, 55-57, 65-67, 74, and 76-84 are pending and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/IB2022/000781, filed on 12/15/2022, which claims domestic benefit of 63/290,953 filed on 12/17/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 10/15/2024 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the axis labels of Figures 1-24, 26, 28, and 30-36 are illegible due to being low resolution. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 78-79 and 84 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 78-79 and 84 are drawn to a method of treating infection by a sialic acid-binding pathogen wherein the sialic-acid binding pathogen is a virus and wherein the virus is SPDV (claim 78-79) or PMV (claim 84). The instant disclosure does not provide a structure-function relationship which would allow a skilled artisan to recognize whether administration of sialic acid or sialic acid precursors to an aquatic animal with an SPDV or PMV viral infection would result in the claimed method of treating an SPDV or PMV infection.
The instant specification at Example 1 (starting on page 30) provides an example in which 78 days of feeding salmon on an experimental diet of 1 % w/w Neu5Ac resulted in significantly lower ISAV infection rates as compared to a control diet containing 0.02% Neu5Ac. Example 3 (starting on page 31) similarly shows results obtained from feeding salmon a diet containing 1 % Neu5Ac w/w resulted in a reduced infection rate of ISA virus (page 51, lines 25-30). These examples are limited to the administration of Neu5Ac for the treatment of an ISAV infection. It does not provide support for the treatment of all viruses recited in the instant claims, such as SPDV (salmon pancreas disease virus) or PMV (piscine myocarditis virus). The specification does not expressly indicate which aspects of infection by SPDV or PMV are necessary to achieve a method that results in treatment of the infection. The example disclosed does not present a representative number of viral infections to cover all classes of viral infections including SPDV or PMV, nor do the examples demonstrate a structure function relationship which would allow an ordinarily skilled artisan to predict whether SPDV or PMV viral infections would be treated by sialic acids or sialic acid precursors to result the claimed method.
For example, although Neu5Ac was demonstrated to be a suitable sialic acid for the treatment of ISAV, no sialic acids or sialic acid precursors of instant claims 41 and 50 are exemplified in the treatment of SPDV or PMV and have not been demonstrated in the art as suitable treatment in this method.
Furthermore, the state of the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention does not teach a structure function relationship that renders predictable that sialic acids or sialic acid precursors are suitable for treatment of SPDV infection or amelioration of one or more symptoms associated with SPDV infection.
Herath et al. (Vet Res, 2016; PTO-892) teaches that Salmonid alphavirus (SAV) is an enveloped, single stranded, positive sense RNA (+ssRNA), virus belonging to the family Togaviridae and causes pancreas disease (PD) in cultured Atlantic salmon (page 1, paragraph 1). The sequential pathology of PD is characterized by extensive loss of pancreatic acinar tissue and inflammatory infiltration, widespread degeneration and mild to moderate mononuclear cell infiltration in atrial and ventricular myocardium and also in red and white skeletal muscles (paragraph ridging pages 1-2). The replication cycle of alphavirus takes place in the cytoplasm of the host cells. The E2 envelope protein of the virus binds with host cell receptors prior to internalization via clathrin-mediated endocytosis. The low pH in the endosome triggers membrane fusion between the viral envelope and the endosome, releasing the nuclear material of virus into the cytoplasm (page 2, paragraph 1). Many studies have been performed to try and understand the sequential pathology and pathogenesis of the disease, but the tissue tropism of SAV is not well described. So far, sequential histopathology and virus load studies have highlighted the fact that SAV can result in different out comes (page 2, paragraph 2).
Aksnes et al. (Viruses, 2020; PTO-892) discusses Salmonid alphavirus (SAV), formally named Salmon pancreas disease virus (SPDV), which is the causative agent of pancreas disease (PD) in Atlantic salmon (page 1, paragraph 1). Aksnes teaches that the glycosylation of viral proteins increases structural diversity and function, and may impact receptor recognition, viral infectivity and alter recognition by host immune cells. The type of glycan attached to viral envelope proteins depends on the host cell glycosylation machinery, and the variation in the extent and patterns of glycans can be species specific (page 2, paragraph 3). For SAV, the optimal temperature for replication in cell culture is 10–15 C, and virions are not formed at temperatures above 18 C. The critical determinant for this temperature-dependent SAV virion formation is the translocation and presentation of the E2 glycoprotein at the cell surface. The structural proteins, E1 and E2, form a heterodimer that assembles in a trimer that constitutes the viral spikes. During viral entry, E2 is responsible for receptor binding, whereas E1 mediates the fusion of viral and cellular membranes (page 2, paragraph 1). Aksnes specifically studies the effects of the site-directed mutation of glycosylation sites in the SAV3 envelope proteins E1 and E2 regarding virus replication in cell culture (page 12, paragraph 1). Aksnes teaches that binding to cell surface HS can be the initial attachment factor for a virus particle and the first step for viral entry into the cell (page 13, paragraph 3). Askens concludes that substitution in the N-linked glycosylation site in E2 attenuated the virus in cell culture, whereas the mutation of the N-glycosylation motif in E1 resulted in complete viral inactivation (page 14, paragraph 1). Thus Aksnes teaches that SAV is known in the art to have a route of infection involving E2 receptor binding to heparin sulphate followed by E1 mediated fusion of viral and cellular membranes. It is further noted that SPDV is not recognized in the art as a sialic acid binding virus, and the prior art does not teach a connection between the symptoms of salmon pancreas disease and sialic acids. Because the prior art does not provide a method of predictably determining whether sialic acids or sialic acid precursors would be suitable for inhibiting the infectivity, binding, or replication of SPDV, one of ordinary skill in the art would not predictably know whether sialic acids or sialic acid precursors would be suitable for use in the instantly claimed method.
Similarly, the state of the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention does not teach a structure function relationship that renders predictable what sialic acids or sialic acid precursors are suitable for amelioration of one or more symptoms associated with PMV infection. Sandlund et al. (Viruses, 2021; PTO-892) provides a molecular characterization of novel and known piscine toti-like viruses (abstract), which includes piscine myocarditis virus (PMCV) that causes cardiomyopathy syndrome (CMS) in salmon (page 2, paragraph 1). A common characteristic among the recently discovered toti-like viruses infecting arthropods and fish is that they are known or presumed to transmit extracellularly. Specific genomic characteristics are suggested to be related to this, as all have extra protein-coding sequences that may encompass all or some of their cell entry or exit machineries (paragraph bridging pages 15-16). The toti-like virus found in Atlantic salmon, PMCV and the other toti-like virus found in golden shiner, preliminary named PMCV-like virus, have unique genomic characteristics. These two viruses have additional sequences present as a single third ORF (ORF3), which is expected to be related to improving the ability to infect cells of a more advanced host than the standard totiviruses (page 2, paragraph 2). Sandlund states that previous hypotheses describing that PMCV ORF3 encodes a non-structural protein which is related to these virus’s ability to infect and/or is released from cells of a more advanced host, is still valid (page 16, paragraph 1). The encoded protein of PMCV ORF3 has previously been described to have partial homology to CXC chemokine 11, including a chemokine superfamily motif, in the N-terminal part of the protein (page 11, paragraph 1). Recent searches for conserved domains and structure homology modelling of PMCV ORF3 showed, as previously described, similarity to several chemokines of the CXC subfamily (page 12, paragraph 1 and Figure 4). The chemokine-like domains of the ORF3 encoded proteins in these viruses might be present upon infection as secretory small proteins (page 16, paragraph 1). Sandlund concludes that more documentation is ongoing and should also indicate if the similarity to chemokines indicates a role in modulation of the immune response or if binding to a chemokine receptor facilitates viral entry into cells (page 16, paragraph 1). Thus, Sandlund teaches that the state of the art in piscine toti-like viruses generally, and PMV treatment for salmon specifically, did not conclusively know what molecular processes mediated infections but that investigation was focused on chemokine like proteins. It is further noted that PMV is not recognized in the art as a sialic acid binding virus, and the prior art does not teach a connection between the symptoms of cardiomyopathy syndrome in salmon and sialic acids. Because the prior art does not provide a method of predictably determining whether sialic acids or sialic acid precursors would be suitable for inhibiting the infectivity, binding, replication, or symptoms of PMV, one of ordinary skill in the art would not predictably know whether sialic acids or sialic acid precursors would be suitable for use in the instantly claimed method.
It is not evident by the disclosure or the prior art that applicant was in possession of a method of treating SPDV infection or PMV infection as claimed in the instant claims. Furthermore, as discussed above, there is no disclosed or art recognized correlation between structure and function which would allow for the predictable identification of viruses suitable for the claimed method. Therefore, the instant claim does not meet the written description requirement of 35 USC 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 40-41, 52, 55-56, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iregui Castro et al. (WO 2017/109587 A1, IDS 10/15/2024).
Iregui Castro discloses a method of blocking adherence of Streptococcus to the intestinal epithelium of farmed tilapia, teaching that this method has potential medical and industrial use to treat Streptococcosis in fish (abstract). During the course of infectious diseases, adhesion is the first step in the interaction between host and pathogen, this is a crucial survival step for a pathogen. Many, if not most or all, pathogens bind to specific oligosaccharide sequences on animal cell surfaces. S. agalactiae use specific monosaccharides and oligosaccharides as receptors on the surface of intestinal epithelium for its adherence. These receptors can be blocked by specific sugars that impede the adhesion of S. agalactiae [0003]. Glycobiological anti-adhesive therapy is an alternative to inhibit this first interaction (attachment) between pathogen and host. Such carbohydrate intervention may be considered mild and gentle, and more ecological and safer, compared with present antibiotic treatments [0006]. Iregui Castro discloses a glycoinhibitor to prevent the adhesion of Streptococcus in fish which comprises N-acetylgalactosamine (GalNAc) and the sialic acid Neu5Ac (claim 2), and further discloses the glycoinhibitor in a nutritional supplementation for fish as strategy of Streptococcosis prevention (Claim 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 40-41, 50, 52, 55-57, 67, and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11,246,878 B2; PTO-892).
Wang discloses compositions and methods for treating infectious and inflammatory diseases using saccharide based products and therapies (abstract). Wang teaches that many microbes bind to tissues by recognizing specific saccharide ligands. Thus saccharides and saccharide mimetics can be used to block the initial attachment of microbes to cell surface or block their release thus suppress infection (col. 19, lines 19-23). Wang discloses a method of using sialic acids as an agonist or antagonist to block the natural viral binding sites of pathogens using sialic acids as their binding sites (col. 19, lines 33-36). Desirable effects of treatment include decreasing the rate of disease progression or mortality, of ameliorating or palliating the disease state, and remission or improved prognosis (col. 40, lines 34-44).
Wang teaches that these compositions may comprise a sialic acid, including among others N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-Acetyl-mannosamine, plus at least one other major saccharide component, which include, among others fructose or mannose (col. 11, lines 55-65). Wang teaches that the sialic acid may be in a food or feed, and that the concentrations of N-acetylneuraminic acid are 0.01 mg/g to about 900 mg/g (col. 20, lines 30-34). Wang further describes that the method of treating infectious diseases comprising administering a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid may be used in treating animals, including, among others, livestock, companion animals, and aquatic animals comprising fish, shrimp, oyster, crustaceans, and mollusks (col. 43, lines 36-42).
The teachings of Wang differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Wang does not exemplify administering the sialic acid containing composition to an aquatic animal.
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to administer a composition containing a sialic acid to an aquatic animal such as a fish because it would have been prima facie obvious to administer the known composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid according to the known methods of treating animals including fish to achieve the predictable result of competing with natural viral binding sites of pathogens using sialic acids as their binding sites and thereby suppressing infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches that aquatic animal such as fish are suitable subjects for the methods of blocking infections by administering sialic acid containing compositions.
Instant claim 57 further limits administration of a fish feed which comprises from 0.01 % to 2.0% w/w sialic acid or precursor thereof. As discussed above, the teachings of Wang render prima facie obvious the administration of sialic acid containing compositions to aquatic animals including fish. Wang further teaches that the composition may be a feed and teaches a feed composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid in a concentrations of 0.01 mg/g to about 900 mg/g. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this is equivalent to 0.001% w/w to 90% w/w. Thus the prior art range encompasses the claimed range. MPEP 2144.05(I) states that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. The proportions of Wang are either overlapping such that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties absent any showing of unexpected results or criticality.
Claims 40-41, 52, 67, 74, 76, 78, 80, 82, and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brekke et al. (WO 2016/042154 Al; PTO-892)
Brekke discloses injectable formulations for controlling parasitic infestations, such as infestations with sea lice (page 1, lines 5-6). Brekke further teaches that the parasiticide formulation is suitable for treating sea lice by intraperitoneal injection of host fish (page 3, lines 4-5). Brekke teaches that the formulation comprises a hydrophilic polymer, a non-aqueous poler solvent, and a stabilizer (claim 1). Brekke teaches that the formulation may further comprise a crystal growth inhibitor including, among others, fructose or mannose (page 25, lines 26-31). Brekke teaches that the treatment of parasitic infestations of fish encompasses prophylactic or responsive treatment, such as the control, elimination, protection against parasite infestations in fish (page 9, lines 6-14).
The teachings of Brekke differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Brekke does not exemplify administration of a composition comprising sialic acid or a precursor thereof to an aquatic animal.
It would have been prima facie obvious to formulate a parasiticide formulation comprising fructose or mannose according to the teachings of Brekke because it is prima facie obvious to combine the known elements of the crystal growth inhibitors fructose or mannose with the known element of an antiparasitic composition to achieve the predictable result of a formulation suitable for treating sea lice. It would further have been prima facie obvious to administer the parasiticide formulation suggested by Brekke to a fish in need of treatment for sea lice in order to ameliorate the symptoms caused by sea lice infestation because Brekke teaches and suggests that the taught formulations are suitable for controlling parasitic infestations including infestations with sea lice. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in ameliorating the symptoms caused by sea lice infestation by administering the composition suggested by the teachings of Brekke because Brekke suggests that the formulations are suitable for the control and elimination of sea lice with one of ordinary skill in the art would expect to result in the amelioration of the symptoms of a sea lice infection.
Regarding instant claims 67, 74, 76, 78, 80, 82, and 84, these claims depend from instant claim 40 and recite additional limitations of the sialic-acid binding pathogen. However, instant claim 40 recites the alternative limitations that the health parameter may be, among others, prophylaxis of infection by a sialic acid-binding pathogen, treatment of infection by a sialic acid-binding pathogen, and amelioration of symptoms caused by sea lice infestation. Thus claim 40 does not require a sialic-acid binding pathogen. Thus, the limitations of instant claims 67, 74, 76, 78, 80, 82, and 84 are met by prior art teaching the alternatives, including, among others, amelioration of symptoms caused by sea lice infestations.
Claims 65-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11,246,878 B2; PTO-892), as applied to claim 40, further in view of Heum (KR101902627B1 and English translation; PTO-892).
The teachings of Wang are discussed in detail above.
The teachings of Wang differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Wang does not exemplify topically administering a sialic acid to an aquatic animal.
Heum discloses a method for medicinal bathing fish using a fish health supplement for aquaculture farms [0001]. This method enables fish to recover their health by manufacturing a health supplement that helps farmed fish recover their health and then administering the fish a medicinal bath [0019]. Heum teaches that the method of medicinal bath comprises preparing a certain amount of water into which fish raised in a fish farm are introduced, introducing a certain amount of an animal deworming agent into the water, introducing a certain amount of an aquatic fluke agent into the water, introducing a certain amount of an antiviral agent into the water to remove viruses infesting inside and outside the fish's body; and introducing a preservative into the water, wherein the fish is placed in the water containing the animal deworming agent, the aquatic fluke agent, the antiviral agent, and preservative to be medicinal bathed for a certain period of time [0020].
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the composition of Wang using the bath method of administration of Heum in the method of treating an infection taught by Wang because it is prima facie obvious to use the known method of medicinal bath for the known composition of Wang to achieve the predictable effect of treating an infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches that the methods of blocking infections by administering sialic acid containing compositions are used for the treatment of fish and may be used to treat viruses, and Heum provides a method of administering an antiviral agent into the water to remove viruses infesting inside and outside the fish's body.
Claims 76-77 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11,246,878 B2; PTO-892), as applied to claim 40, 67, and 74 further in view of Eliassen et al. (Journal of Virology, 2000; PTO-892).
The teachings of Wang are discussed in detail above.
The teachings of Wang differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Wang is silent regarding ISAV infection.
Eliassen teaches that infectious salmon anemia (ISA) is a viral disease causing severe problems in the salmon farming industry in Norway and in other north Atlantic salmon farming districts (page 218, paragraph 1). ISA virus (ISAV) has been shown to agglutinate erythrocytes from several fish species but not cells from mammals or birds (page 218, paragraph 3). Eliassen discloses the kinetics for binding and uptake of viral particles in the SHK-1 cell line the effects of various treatments on the infection process (page 218, paragraph 3). To investigate whether the binding of virus to sialic acid-rich glycoproteins occurred, 10 mg of bovine mucin was dot blotted onto immobilon membranes and a virus overlay was performed (page 219, paragraph 11). These results indicate that ISAV binds to sialic acid residues on the cell surface (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to apply the method of treating viral infections taught by Wang to treat the ISAV infection of Eliassen because it is prima facie obvious to apply a known technique of treating viral infections taught by Wang to the known ISA viral infection of Eliassen and thereby achieve the predictable result of treating an ISA viral infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches that sialic acids (including N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-Acetyl-mannosamine) can suppress infection by blocking the natural viral binding sites of pathogens which have sialic acids as their binding sites, and Eliassen teaches that ISAV binds to sialic acid residues on the cell surface.
Claims 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11,246,878 B2; PTO-892), as applied to claim 40, 67, 74, and 76 further in view of Hjalmarsson et al. (Journal of Virology, 1998; PTO-892).
The teachings of Wang are discussed in detail above.
The teachings of Wang differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Wang is silent regarding IPNV infection.
Hjalmarsson teaches that infectious pancreatic necrosis virus (IPNV) is an agent of contagious fish disease causing high mortality among salmonid eggs and fingerlings (page 3484, paragraph 1). Hjalmarsson discloses a sensitive blotting assay in which the outer capsid component of IPNV, i.e., the major structural protein VP2, was shown to specifically bind lectins recognizing sugar moieties of N-acetylgalactosamine, mannose, and fucose (abstract). The extent of glycosylation, revealed as lectin binding, was monitored with the lectins SBA, ConA, and UEA, which recognize GalNAc, mannose, and fucose, respectively. GalNAc is frequently found attached to the hydroxyl group of serine or threonine by O linkage, mannose is detected mostly in inner cores of N linked oligosaccharides, and fucose is a terminal sugar (page 3488, paragraph 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to apply the method of treating viral infections taught by Wang to treat the IPNV infection of Hjalmarsson because it is prima facie obvious to apply a known technique of treating viral infections taught by Wang to the known IPNV infection of Hjalmarsson and thereby achieve the predictable result of treating an IPNV infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches that saccharides and saccharide mimetics, including mannose can be used to suppress infection by blocking the natural viral binding sites of pathogens and Hjalmarsson teaches that IPNV recognizes mannose sugar moieties.
Claims 82-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 11,246,878 B2; PTO-892), as applied to claim 40, 67, and 74 further in view of Finstad et al. (Veterinary Research, 2016; PTO-892).
The teachings of Wang are discussed in detail above.
The teachings of Wang differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Wang is silent regarding PRV infection.
Finstad teaches that Piscine orthoreovirus (PRV) is the causative agent of heart and skeletal muscle inflammation (HSMI), an important emerging disease in farmed Atlantic salmon (page 1, paragraph 1). Recent studies have concluded that PRV is closely related to the Orthoreovirus genus and that it encodes a protein homologous to the MRV ơ1 cell attachment protein. MRV agglutinate erythrocytes via the ơ1 protein, a binding mediated by a sialic acid binding motif.
It would have been prima facie obvious to apply the method of treating viral infections taught by Wang to treat the PRV infection of Finstad because it is prima facie obvious to apply a known technique of treating viral infections taught by Wang to the known PRV infection of Finstad and thereby achieve the predictable result of treating an PRV infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches that sialic acids can suppress infection by blocking the natural viral binding sites of pathogens which have sialic acids as their binding sites, and Finstad teaches that PRV bind is mediated by a sialic acid motif.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.G.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1693