DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/720183 filed on June 14, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 14, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 20170353092).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 below) a rotor (200) for an electric machine (title, Abstract, ¶ 50), comprising:
a rotor shaft (3) (¶ 51),
a laminated core (10, since it is formed of layered steel sheets, see ¶ 57), arranged on the rotor shaft (3) and formed from stacked electrical laminations, with radially outwardly protruding laminated core projections (11) (¶ 56 to ¶ 60),
a first end plate (30), arranged on a first axial side of the laminated core (10), with radially outwardly protruding end plate projections (see annotated fig. 3 below) (¶ 56; ¶ 62 to ¶ 66),
a second end plate (other end plate 30), arranged on an opposite second axial side of the laminated core (10), with radially outwardly protruding end plate projections (see annotated fig. 3 below) (¶ 56; ¶ 62 to ¶ 66),
a plurality of rotor windings (1), which are respectively wound around an end plate projection (see annotated fig. 3 below) of the first end plate (30), an axially opposite end plate projection (see annotated fig. 3 below) of the second end plate (30) and a laminated core projection (11) extending axially between the two end plate projections (see annotated fig. 3 below) (¶ 59; ¶ 62 to ¶ 68),
a pot-shaped first end cap (70), which axially covers the first end plate (30) (¶ 56; ¶ 81 to ¶ 84),
a pot-shaped second end cap (70), which axially covers the second end plate (30) (¶ 56; ¶ 81 to ¶ 84), and
a tubular cooling channel (formed by elements 71 and 53) for a coolant, running axially between two adjacent rotor windings (1) from the first end cap (70) to the second end cap (70) (¶ 83; ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a first axial end
Regarding claim 3/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) the cooling channel (71, 53) is pressed into the end caps (70) (¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 4/2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) the first axial end of the cooling channel (71, 53) has an inlet for coolant and the second axial end of the cooling channel (71, 53) has an outlet for coolant (¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 6/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a plurality of pole separators (63), which are each arranged between two adjacent laminated core projections (11) of the laminated core (10) (¶ 78; ¶ 79).
Regarding claim 8/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above and fig. 4 below) a plurality of cooling channels corresponding to the cooling channel (71, 53), the number of which corresponds to the number of poles of the rotor (200) (fig. 4; ¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 9/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a stator surrounding the rotor (200) (¶ 50; ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 11/9/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a vehicle with an electric machine as claimed in claim 9, which is intended for driving the vehicle (title; ¶ 2 to ¶ 5).
Regarding claim 14/2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) the cooling channel (71, 53) is pressed into the end caps (70) (¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 15/3/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) the first axial end of the cooling channel (71, 53) has an inlet for coolant and the second axial end of the cooling channel (71, 53) has an outlet for coolant (¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 17/2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a plurality of pole separators (63), which are each arranged between two adjacent laminated core projections (11) of the laminated core (10) (¶ 78; ¶ 79).
Regarding claim 19/2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above and fig. 4 below) a plurality of cooling channels corresponding to the cooling channel (71, 53), the number of which corresponds to the number of poles of the rotor (200) (fig. 4; ¶ 82 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Regarding claim 20/2/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a stator surrounding the rotor (200) (¶ 50; ¶ 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 5, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chernogorski (DE 102018220810, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 5/1, Park teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the cooling channel is embedded in a potting compound.
However, Chernogorski teaches (see fig. 2 below) the cooling channel (24) is embedded in a potting compound (25) (pages 3 and 4) in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide the cooling channel is embedded in a potting compound as taught by Park in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
Regarding claim 12/1, Park teaches (see figs. 2, 3 and 5 above) a method for producing a rotor (200) as claimed in claim 1, with the following steps:
arranging the laminated core (10) on the rotor shaft (3) (¶ 57),
arranging the first end plate (30) on the first axial side of the laminated core (10) (¶ 62 to ¶ 66),
arranging the second end plate (30) on the second axial side of the laminated core (10) (¶ 62 to ¶ 66),
winding the rotor windings (1) respectively around an end plate projection (see annotated fig. 3 above) of the first end plate (30) (¶ 59; ¶ 64 to ¶ 67),
an axially opposite end plate projection (see annotated fig. 3 above) of the second end plate (30) and a laminated core projection (11) of the laminated core (10) extending axially between the two end plate projections (see annotated fig. 3 above) (¶ 64 to ¶ 67),
arranging pole separators (63) respectively between two adjacent laminated core projections (11) of the laminated core (10) (¶ 78; ¶ 79),
axially covering the first end plate (30) with the first end cap (70), axially covering the second end plate (30) with the second end cap (70) (¶ 81 to ¶ 88),
arranging the cooling channel (71, 53) between two adjacent rotor windings (1) such that the cooling channel runs (71, 53) axially from the first end cap (70) to the second end cap (70) (¶ 83 to ¶ 85; ¶ 91 to ¶ 93).
Park does not explicitly teach potting the rotor windings with a potting compound such that the cooling channel is embedded in the potting compound.
However, Chernogorski teaches (see fig. 2 above) potting the rotor windings (15) with a potting compound (25) such that the cooling channel (24) is embedded in the potting compound (25) (pages 3 and 4) in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide potting the rotor windings with a potting compound such that the cooling channel is embedded in the potting compound as taught by Chernogorski in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
Regarding claim 16/2/1, Park teaches the device of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach the cooling channel is embedded in a potting compound.
However, Chernogorski teaches (see fig. 2 above) the cooling channel (24) is embedded in a potting compound (25) (pages 3 and 4) in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide the cooling channel is embedded in a potting compound as taught by Park in order to prevent the escape of cooling fluid and provide improved cooling efficiency (Chernogorski, page 3).
9. Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Bockenhoff (US 20210328471).
Regarding claim 7/1, Park teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the cooling channel is produced from a steel alloy, an aluminum alloy or a plastics material.
However, Bockenhoff teaches the cooling channel (19) is produced from a plastics material (fig. 2; ¶ 35; ¶ 16) in order to provide improved structural support for the windings (Bockenhoff, ¶ 35; ¶ 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide the cooling channel is produced from a plastics material as taught by Park in order to provide improved structural support for the windings (Bockenhoff, ¶ 35; ¶ 16).
Regarding claim 18/2/1, Park teaches the device of claim 2 but does not explicitly teach the cooling channel is produced from a steel alloy, an aluminum alloy or a plastics material.
However, Bockenhoff teaches the cooling channel (19) is produced from a plastics material (fig. 2; ¶ 35; ¶ 16) in order to provide improved structural support for the windings (Bockenhoff, ¶ 35; ¶ 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide the cooling channel is produced from a plastics material as taught by Park in order to provide improved structural support for the windings (Bockenhoff, ¶ 35; ¶ 16).
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Endress (US 3241331).
Regarding claim 10/9/1, Park teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a nozzle, which is fixedly connected to the stator and is directed at an inlet of the cooling channel.
However, Endress teaches (see fig. 3 below) a nozzle (69), which is fixedly connected to the stator (38 via housing 16) and is directed at an inlet of the cooling channel (42a) (col. 2: 50-55; col. 3: 58-73) in order to provide improved cooling efficiency (Endress, col. 1: 55-70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Park and provide a nozzle, which is fixedly connected to the stator and is directed at an inlet of the cooling channel as taught by Endress in order to provide improved cooling efficiency (Endress, col. 1: 55-70).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834