DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 7-8 recite “at a center of the barrel part being a center in an axial direction”. The portion of “being a center” should be removed to recite “at a center of the barrel part in an axial direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190207265 A1 (Kim ‘265) in view of Non-Uniform Circumferential Expansion of Cylindrical Li-Ion Cells—The Potato Effect (Hemmerling 2021 – copy provided with the IDS filed 12/22/2025).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kim ‘265 teaches a cylindrical secondary battery (a cylindrical battery casing 100; [0035] & Fig. 1) comprising:
an exterior housing can having a cylindrical barrel part and one end sealed with a bottom plate (the battery casing 100 has a cylindrical battery part at a side surface 101 with a bottom end of the battery casing 100 sealed by a lower surface 120; [0035] & Fig. 1); and
an electrode assembly disposed inside the barrel part (an electrode assembly 130 is accommodated in the battery casing 100; [0037] & Fig. 2), wherein
a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate are wound via a separator in the electrode assembly (the electrode assembly 130 is a jelly-roll type having a structure in which a positive electrode and a negative electrode are wound with a separator interposed therebetween; [0004] & [0012]).
Kim ‘265 further discloses a buffer space 103 between an isolation wall 102 and the side surface 101 of the battery casing 100 ([0035] & Fig. 1). The buffer space 103 accommodates deformation of an electrode assembly when the electrode assembly is expanded ([0035] & Fig. 1). The buffer space 103 may be configured such that a gap W1 defined from the isolation wall 102 with respect to the side surface 101 is in a range of 80 to 110% based on the amount of change in thickness before and after expansion of the electrode assembly 130 ([0038] & Fig. 3). As shown in Fig. 4, the electrode assembly 230 is expanded such that a change in an outer diameter of a central portion thereof is largest with respect to the height direction of the electrode assembly 230 ([0040]).
As presently claimed, the proportion of the outer diameters at the center of the barrel part relative to the outer diameters on the bottom end of the barrel part may be 100% (1/1). As shown in Fig. 2, when the electrode assembly is not expanded, the outer diameters at the center of the barrel part and the outer diameters at the bottom end of the barrel part are equal. Accordingly, the proportion of the outer diameters at the center to the outer diameters at the bottom is 100%.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Kim ‘265 does not disclose that the outer diameter at the center of the barrel part periodically changes relative to a circumferential angle, and a period of change in the outer diameter at the center of the barrel part relative to the circumferential angle is greater than or equal to 0.4π and less than or equal to 1.0π, wherein the period of change in the outer diameter at the center of the barrel part relative to the circumferential angle is greater than or equal to 0.4π and less than or equal to 0.6π.
Hemmerling 2021 discloses that cylindrical lithium ion cells do not expand uniformly (abstract). Depending on the position and orientation of the cell coil, there are different zones of expansion and contraction (abstract). Fig. 4b shows the change of the radius of the respective position over the circumference of the battery cell where, in particular, expansion occurs at those locations where the packing of the jelly roll is significantly tighter than normal and contraction occurs mostly at locations where the jelly roll is significantly looser, which ultimately leads to a potato-shaped cell form (Fig. 5).
Therefore, the periodic change of the outer diameter at the center of the barrel part relative to a circumferential angle is rendered obvious, because Hemmerling 2021 teaches that there are different zones of expansion and contraction depending on the position and orientation of the cell coil, resulting in a change of radius over the circumference of the cell.
Accordingly, the structure of claims 1 and 2 are rendered obvious by the disclosure of Kim ‘265 in view of Hemmerling 201.
Further, in Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (See MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190207265 A1 (Kim ‘265) in view of Non-Uniform Circumferential Expansion of Cylindrical Li-Ion Cells—The Potato Effect (Hemmerling 2021 – copy provided with the IDS filed 12/22/2025), and further in view of US 20190288336 A1 (Park ‘336) and US 20150132625 A1 (Miyata ‘625).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘265 teaches the cylindrical secondary battery according to claim 1, wherein
the negative electrode plate has a band-shaped core (a negative electrode having a long sheet shape; [0004] of Kim ‘265), but does not expressly disclose a mixture layer formed on the core,
the mixture layer is composed of including an active material containing graphite and Si material, and
a proportion of the graphite in the active material is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 94 mass%, a proportion of the Si material in the active material is greater than or equal to 6 mass% and less than or equal to 50 mass%, a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 1.3 g/cc and less than or equal to 1.75 g/cc.
Park’ 336 discloses a lithium secondary battery of a cylindrical type, for example ([0127]). The negative electrode of the lithium secondary battery may include a negative electrode active material containing a metal and a carbonaceous negative active material ([0097]). The negative electrode active material containing a metal may include at least one of silicon, silicon-carbon composite, and silicon oxide ([0098]). The silicon oxide or the silicon-carbon composite may be used as a combination with a carbonaceous material ([0104]). The negative electrode active material composition may be prepared as a mixture ([0108]). For example, about 12 wt% of a silicon-carbon composite and about 85 wt% of graphite, and about 3 wtr% of a binder may be combined as a mixture ([0104]). The negative electrode may have an electrode density of about 1.5 g/cc or greater ([0112]).
Therefore, the 85 wt% of graphite is within the claimed proportion between 50 mass% and 94 mass%, the 12 wt% of silicon-carbon composite is within the claimed proportion between 6 mass% and 50 mass%, and the electrode density of 1.5 g/cc or greater overlaps with the claimed range between 1.3 g/cc and 1.75 g/cc.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Kim ‘265 also does not disclose a material of the exterior housing can is Fe, and a thickness of the exterior housing is greater than or equal to 0.18 mm and less than or equal to 0.33 mm.
Miyata ‘625 discloses a cylindrical battery case 15 ([0026]). It is preferable that the battery case be made of iron and the thickness of a tubular portion of the battery case is 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm ([0017]).
Therefore, the material of the exterior housing being Fe with a thickness between 0.18 mm and 0.33 mm is rendered obvious by Miyata ‘625, because Miyata ‘625 discloses a battery case made of iron with a thickness of 0.1 mm to 0.4 mm, which overlaps with the claimed range.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/720,101 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because the claimed subject matter of claims 1-3 in the present application overlap in scope with the claimed subject matter of claims 1-3 in the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725