DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not sufficiently descriptive. “The title should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive and should contain fewer than 500 characters,” MPEP §606. Specifically, statements concerning the general type or nature of the entire system or its components that are common to many other similar elements or systems that are known in the art are not sufficiently descriptive to provide “informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.,” MPEP §606.01. Examiner recommends directing the title to what Applicant believes is the point of novelty, including key structural features, since it is by the novelty that "indexing, classifying, searching, etc.” is generally accomplished. Nevertheless, it should be noted that, pursuant to MPEP §606.01, “[i]f a satisfactory title is not supplied by the applicant, the examiner may, at the time of allowance, change the title by examiner' s amendment.”
A new title is required that is more clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 8, “the plurality of recesses include recesses include recesses” should be “the plurality of recesses includes recesses”.
In Claim 8, lines 11-12, “shorter than a second rib a portion of” should be “shorter than a second rib in a portion of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha (US 6166788) in view of Martinson (US 20230324952).
Regarding Claim 1, Ha discloses:
An electronic apparatus (Ha: Title – Display Module Having LCD Panel Attached to Front Housing Having an Opening, to be Visible Through the Opening) comprising:
a display unit (Ha: Title – Display Module Having LCD Panel Attached to Front Housing Having an Opening, to be Visible Through the Opening);
and a support member that supports a back surface of the display unit (Ha: col. 2 lines 7-8 – rear case coupled to front case, and a supporting and fixing unit formed integrally with rear case),
wherein the support member includes a plurality of ribs erected on a main surface opposite to the display unit (Ha: Fig. 2: 32a, 32b, 32c – plurality of ribs),
and a plurality of recesses surrounded by the plurality of ribs (Ha: Fig. 2 – plurality of recesses formed between ribs 32a-c),
the plurality of recesses includes recesses of different size (Ha: Fig. 2 – recesses have different sizes and shapes),
Ha does not disclose: and the support member further includes, on the main surface, a hook to which a wire from an electronic component is connected.
Ha and Martinson are related in that they both disclose display panels having structural support members.
Martinson discloses:
and the support member further includes, on the main surface, a hook (Martinson: Fig. 6: 604 - hook)
to which a wire from an electronic component is connected (Martinson: para. 132 – display construct 601 is connected through wiring 603, which is secured by hooks such as hook 604).
The benefit of including hooks which are connected to wiring in a display device would be to secure the wiring and prevent unwanted electrical connections.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to add the hooks of Martinson onto the display support member of Ha in order to secure wiring in the display housing and prevent unwanted electrical connections.
Regarding Claim 3, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6),
wherein the plurality of ribs include a plurality of first ribs (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – ribs pointing in oblique/diagonal directions; see ribs labeled “1st (oblique) ribs” in annotated figure below)
extending obliquely with respect to an up-down direction of the display unit (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c –ribs extend in up-down direction at an angle to a vertical/central axis; see 1st ribs in annotated figure below),
and the plurality of first ribs are asymmetric along the up-down direction (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – ribs 32c are asymmetric along up-down direction, radial lines below center of display are not symmetric with radial lines above center of display; also see annotated figure below for illustration).
(Annotated copy of Figure 2 from Ha (US 6166788). 1st ribs refer to the ribs which form an oblique angle with the central axis. 2nd ribs refer to the ribs which lie parallel with a left-right direction).
Regarding Claim 4, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 3 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6),
wherein the plurality of first ribs have a symmetrical arrangement around a line extending in the up-down direction (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – the plurality of radial ribs 32c on the right side of the center line of the display mirror the position of radial ribs 32c on the left side of a center line of the display; also see the annotated figure above for illustration).
Regarding Claim 5, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 3 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6),
wherein the plurality of ribs include a plurality of second ribs (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – plurality of ribs)
parallel to a left-right direction of the display unit that is orthogonal to the up-down direction (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – there are ribs that are parallel to a left-right direction; see 2nd ribs in annotated figure above),
and the plurality of recesses include recesses defined by the plurality of first ribs and the plurality of second ribs (Ha: Fig. 2 – plurality of recesses formed by 1st and 2nd ribs; see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 6, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6),
wherein the support member contains a resin (Ha: Fig. 4: 6 – light guide plate disposed on support portion containing plurality of ribs; col. 6, lines 6-7 – light guide plate 6 is formed of an acrylic resin).
Regarding Claim 11, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6).
Ha does not disclose: wherein the ribs are not provided at a location of the support member where the hook is provided.
Ha and Martinson are related in that they both disclose display panels having structural support members.
The benefit of providing a hook at a location where there are no ribs in a support structure would be to include would be to allow the associated wiring to reside on the support structure without exerting additional pressure on the ribs of the supporting structure, as taught by Martinson (Martinson: para. 99 – fastener [which comprises the hook 604, as per Fig. 6] allows its associated cabling or wiring to reside in the supporting structure cavity without exerting pressure on the supporting structure).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the ribs of Ha-Martinson to not be provided at a location of the support member where the hook is provided, in order to allow the associated wiring to reside on the support member without exerting additional pressure on the ribs of the supporting member.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Martinson as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of LV (US 20170184908).
Regarding Claim 2, Ha-Martinson discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6).
Ha does not disclose: wherein among the plurality of recesses, the recesses are small and more densely provided toward both ends of the support member in a left-right direction of the display than at a center of the support member in the left-right direction.
Ha, Martinson, and LV are related in that they all disclose display panels have structural support members.
LV discloses: wherein among the plurality of recesses, the recesses are small and more densely provided toward both ends of the support member in a left-right direction of the display than at a center of the support member in the left-right direction (LV: Fig. 1 – plurality of recesses separated by ribs, wherein the left-most and right-most ends show smaller and more densely packed recesses, and the center shows larger and more sparse recesses).
The benefit of configuring a plurality of ribs and recesses on a backplate such that the recesses are more densely provided and smaller near the ends of the backplate in a left-right direction would be to decrease the amount of deformation when subject to stresses and have a higher rigidity, as taught by LV (LV: para. 27 – when a deformation test is performed on the two kinds of back plates [one with ribs and recesses as disclosed by LV, and one without those features] under the same conditions a deformation quantity of the back plate of the present embodiment is decreased by 10%, which has a greater rigidity).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the recesses of Ha-Martinson to be smaller and more densely provided near the ends of the support structure in a left-right direction, as taught by LV, in order to decrease the amount of deformation when subject to stresses and have a higher rigidity.
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Martinson as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Hirabayashi (US 20110194037).
Regarding Claim 7, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 6 (Ha: Fig. 2, 4; Martinson Fig. 6),
the plurality of ribs include a plurality of second ribs parallel to a left-right direction of the display unit (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – there are ribs that are parallel to a left-right direction; see 2nd ribs in annotated figure above).
Ha does not disclose: wherein the display unit comprises a main body portion and a connector portion, the connector portion is provided at one side in an up-down direction of the display unit, the connector portion is spaced further apart from the support member than the main body portion, and the plurality of second ribs have a same length in the left-right direction in a portion of the support member corresponding to the connector portion and in a portion of the support member corresponding to the main body portion.
Ha, Martinson, and Hirabayashi are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Hirabayashi discloses:
wherein the display unit comprises a main body portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1: 10a – image display area)
and a connector portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1: 102 – external circuit connection terminals),
the connector portion is provided at one side in an up-down direction of the display unit (Hirabayshi: Fig. 1: 102 – external circuit connection terminals 102 placed beneath image display area 10a),
the connector portion is spaced further apart from the support member than the main body portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 4: 200 – flexible substrate 200 positioned away from support frame 310; para. 64 – flexible substrate 200 Is joined to external circuit connection terminal 102, drawn to the outside of frame 310).
The benefit of having a connector portion provided at one side in an up-down direction of a display unit would be to provide various control signals which are required for operation of the display, as taught by Hirabayashi (Hirabayashi: para. 64 – flexible substrate 200 connected to external circuit [102] to for supplying various control signals which are required for electro-optical operation of liquid crystal panel 100).
Furthermore, the benefit of disposing a plurality of second ribs of the same length in a left-right direction in a portion of a support member corresponding to the connector portion and in a portion of a support member corresponding to the main body portion would be to provide rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact in both the connector portion and the main body portion, as taught by Ha (Ha: col. 9 lines 23-25 – rib pattern structure provides rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to add the connector of Hirabayashi onto the support structure of Ha-Martinson at one side in an up-down direction of the display panel of Ha-Martinson display panel, in order to provide various control signals which are required for operation of the display. Furthermore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the plurality of left-right rib portions of Ha-Martinson to have the same length in the main body portion and in the connector portion, in order to provide rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact in both the connector portion and the main body portion.
Regarding Claim 8, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 6 (Ha: Fig. 2, 4; Martinson Fig. 6),
the plurality of ribs include a plurality of second ribs parallel to a left-right direction of the display unit (Ha: Fig. 2: 32c – there are ribs that are parallel to a left-right direction; see 2nd ribs in annotated figure above).
Ha does not disclose: wherein the display unit comprises a main body portion and a connector portion, the connector portion is provided at one side in an up-down direction of the display unit, the connector portion is spaced further apart from the support member than the main body portion, and the plurality of second ribs include a second rib in a portion of the support member corresponding to the connector portion that is shorter than a second rib a portion of the support member corresponding to the main body portion.
Ha, Martinson, and Hirabayashi are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels.
Hirabayashi discloses:
wherein the display unit comprises a main body portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1: 10a – image display area)
and a connector portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1: 102 – external circuit connection terminals),
the connector portion is provided at one side in an up-down direction of the display unit (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1: 102 – external circuit connection terminals 102 placed beneath image display area 10a),
the connector portion is spaced further apart from the support member than the main body portion (Hirabayashi: Fig. 4: 200 – flexible substrate 200 positioned away from support frame 310; para. 64 – flexible substrate 200 Is joined to external circuit connection terminal 102, drawn to the outside of frame 310).
The benefit of having a connector portion provided at one side in an up-down direction of a display unit would be to provide various control signals which are required for operation of the display, as taught by Hirabayashi (Hirabayashi: para. 64 – flexible substrate 200 connected to external circuit [102] to for supplying various control signals which are required for electro-optical operation of liquid crystal panel 100).
Furthermore, the benefit of disposing a plurality of second ribs to have a second rib in a portion of a support member corresponding to a connector portion that is shorter than a second rib in a portion of a support member corresponding to a main body portion would be to provide rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact in both the connector portion and the main body portion, as taught by Ha (Ha: col. 9 lines 23-25 – rib pattern structure provides rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to add the connector of Hirabayashi onto the support structure of Ha-Martinson at one side in an up-down direction of the display panel of Ha-Martinson display panel, in order to provide various control signals which are required for operation of the display. Furthermore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to configure the plurality of second rib portions of Ha-Martinson to have a second rib in the main body portion that is shorter than a second rib in the connector portion, in order to provide rapid heat emission and high resistance against external impact in both the connector portion and the main body portion.
Regarding Claim 9, the Ha-Martinson-Hirabayashi combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 8 (Ha: Fig. 2, 4; Martinson Fig. 6; Hirabayashi: Fig. 1, 4).
Ha does not disclose: wherein the hook is provided in the portion of the support member corresponding to the connector.
Ha, Martinson, and Hirabayashi are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels.
The benefit of placing hook in a portion corresponding to a connector would be to allow wiring held by the hook to be electrically connected to circuits and terminals in the connector portion.
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to place the hook of Ha-Martinson-Hirabayashi in a portion of the support member corresponding to the connector of Ha-Martinson-Hirabayashi, in order to allow wiring held by the hook to be electrically connected to circuits and terminals in the connector portion.
Regarding Claim 10, the Ha-Martinson-Hirabayashi combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 8 (Ha: Fig. 2, 4; Martinson Fig. 6; Hirabayashi: Fig. 1, 4),
wherein each of the plurality of ribs is arranged (Ha: Fig. 2 – plurality of ribs has a specific arrangement) based on a result of topology analysis.
Moreover, the further limitations of Claim 10 are directed to method steps of making the device, and it could have been made using an alternative method such as any digital modeling process which involves generating complex textures or meshes. The method limitations are not germane to patentability pursuant to MPEP §2112.02, since it has been held that “'[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.' In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).”
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha in view of Martinson as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirabayashi.
Regarding Claim 12, the Ha-Martinson combination discloses:
The electronic apparatus according to claim 1 (Ha: Fig. 2; Martinson Fig. 6).
Ha does not disclose: further comprising: a first electric component and a second electric component that are arranged on different sides of the support member, wherein the wire connected to the hook electrically connects the first electric component and the second electric component.
Ha, Martinson, and Hirabayashi are related in that they all disclose liquid crystal display panels with structural components.
Hirabayashi discloses:
a first electric component (Fig. 1: 10a – image display area)
and a second electric component (Fig. 1: 102 – external circuit connection terminal)
that are arranged on different sides of the support member (Hirabayashi: Fig. 1, 2 – external circuit connection terminal 102 located below the image display area 10a on the back plate support 10).
The benefit of having a first and a second electric component arranged on different sides of a support member, wherein a wire connected to a hook electrically connects the first electric component and the second electric component, would be to provide various control signals and connectivity which are required for operation of one of the electric components by the other, as taught by Hirabayashi (Hirabayashi: para. 64 – flexible substrate 200 connected to external circuit [102] for supplying various control signals which are required for electro-optical operation of liquid crystal panel 100).
Therefore, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for an ordinarily skilled artisan to add the first and second electric component of Hirabayashi to be arranged on different sides of the support member of Ha-Martinson, where the wire connected to the hook of Ha-Martinson connects the first electric component and the second electric component of Hirabayashi, in order to provide various control signals and connectivity which are required for operation of one of the electric components by the other.
Conclusion
/C.A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/JENNIFER D. CARRUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871